Paramount Pictures | Release Date: August 20, 2004
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
12
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SteveP.Apr 15, 2006
I don't understand why critics hate this type of film. It was fun, comidic, and at times suprisingly exciting. The meaning, thought light, is not a half bad one. The action was good. Thought it was not a roll on the floor comidy, like I don't understand why critics hate this type of film. It was fun, comidic, and at times suprisingly exciting. The meaning, thought light, is not a half bad one. The action was good. Thought it was not a roll on the floor comidy, like Dodge Ball, it was funny. Give this film a chance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
awesomefastguyJul 18, 2014
Matthew Lillard is a good actor (see Scream) and Seth Green is quite a good voice actor (see Family Guy, Robot Chicken ect.) and yet both (especially Green) acted horrifically. It's painful to watch; I think I smiled weakly once.

Just a
Matthew Lillard is a good actor (see Scream) and Seth Green is quite a good voice actor (see Family Guy, Robot Chicken ect.) and yet both (especially Green) acted horrifically. It's painful to watch; I think I smiled weakly once.

Just a badly made, terrible film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JoshuaH.Oct 22, 2005
Despite it's shortcomings, this is truly a good movie. Not only is there a buddy film here, but a couple of good lessons, a couple of hotties in a tree, and a couple of gruesom redneck villians. Poop jokes and potfields aside, I enjoyed Despite it's shortcomings, this is truly a good movie. Not only is there a buddy film here, but a couple of good lessons, a couple of hotties in a tree, and a couple of gruesom redneck villians. Poop jokes and potfields aside, I enjoyed the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DLWilsonSep 29, 2013
This is one of many examples where the "users" the viewing public loves a movie and the critics hate it. You are entitled to conclude that in such cases, the critics tag onto one of their smartass, snooty brethren and diss the hell out ofThis is one of many examples where the "users" the viewing public loves a movie and the critics hate it. You are entitled to conclude that in such cases, the critics tag onto one of their smartass, snooty brethren and diss the hell out of an otherwise enjoyable movie. "Without a Paddle" is definitely one of those.

Another issue is plausibility always a challenge for writers: How far can you stretch reality without the audience going "Oh, man, that's just not real!" There are a number of events in this movie that are not real but they're close enough to buy them, and doing so gives you a good feeling. It's in the category of, "You know, by god, it just might have happened that way." And when accompanied by some laughs, as here, it works just fine.

So hats off to the "Without a Paddle" crew, and a royal razzberry to the critics. I give it a solid Seven.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJun 2, 2013
Is it a stupid movie? Absolutely but it's a freakin hilarious movie and so very memorable. It's the kind of movie that really sticks into your head, Even if it's been years since you have seen it. If it airs on TV or something, I wouldIs it a stupid movie? Absolutely but it's a freakin hilarious movie and so very memorable. It's the kind of movie that really sticks into your head, Even if it's been years since you have seen it. If it airs on TV or something, I would happily sit down and watch it because it suprisingly is able to retain most of it's value despite having seen it a good 7-8 times. It's a cult classic and that's pretty rare to see now-a-days. Critics got this movie dead wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's seriously one of the funniest movie i have seen in years and the actors were actually pretty good.The best moment was when Seth Green's character was stuck with the bear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ydnar4Jul 22, 2015
Without a Paddle is a great movie to watch while you are hanging out with your friends, but it a good movie? I don't really think so. The film has three supporting comedy characters as stars and I think they do pretty well but the film isWithout a Paddle is a great movie to watch while you are hanging out with your friends, but it a good movie? I don't really think so. The film has three supporting comedy characters as stars and I think they do pretty well but the film is missing a true strong commanding comedy presence. I did get some enjoyment out of the film because I could make some connections with it, but the characters were pretty clich├ęd and I thought that the film was not laugh out loud funny. I had maybe two good laughs in the film and that was it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews