IFC | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 215 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
147
Mixed:
19
Negative:
49
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DaveC.Jan 4, 2006
The relationship between the two male protagonists is often insipid and Cuaron fails to make them sympathetic to the audience and muster up enough quite tha mount of homoerotic tension it appears he is opting for. Leaving that aside however, The relationship between the two male protagonists is often insipid and Cuaron fails to make them sympathetic to the audience and muster up enough quite tha mount of homoerotic tension it appears he is opting for. Leaving that aside however, Y Tu Mama Tambien is a beautiful film and in spite the obvious of nouvelle vague influences and jump-cuts, every scene has an amazingly convincing and natural fluidity to it. Difficult not to recommend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnaP.Jun 4, 2003
Beautiful film about people discovering their personalities. Breath-taking pictures and love scenes. A panorama of the Mexican people from different social classes. Amazing and very erotic...Really worth seeing it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveS.Jan 16, 2006
My favourite movie of all time. The writing is second to none, and Maribel Verdu's performance is a revelation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NealMay 26, 2006
Pure captivation!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TyeN.Aug 7, 2006
This is an excellent film and, like Maria Full of Grace, is almost too real in it's subject. The actors, along with the excellent script, convey these characters and these situations with such authenticity it's almost a This is an excellent film and, like Maria Full of Grace, is almost too real in it's subject. The actors, along with the excellent script, convey these characters and these situations with such authenticity it's almost a documentary. Gael Garcia Bernal and Diego Luna are great, but Maribel Verdu is fantastic as the glue that holds the film together. Her performance is stunning. Alfonso Cuaron's direction is amazing, and this film is most definitely a must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
tonys.May 10, 2006
Excellent film. spontaneous acting, fun and riveting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Jun 13, 2007
Very good film. Better than I thought it would be. Storyline is excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EduardoR.Nov 8, 2005
One of the best films of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
brent2ownAug 24, 2011
F ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
RegOzApr 5, 2012
I cannot believe this movie has this high score! It is soooo overrated! I mean, there is no real story, it is just sex and the end is so corny! This is the type of Spanish movie that in Europe (especially Spain) is known as 'made to sell,I cannot believe this movie has this high score! It is soooo overrated! I mean, there is no real story, it is just sex and the end is so corny! This is the type of Spanish movie that in Europe (especially Spain) is known as 'made to sell, because sex sells' but of course in our Anglo-Saxon countries, we believe that just because a movie comes from Europe -especially Spain, or France- is good, but that way of thinking is so naive!!!. Honestly, this movie is so disappointing! If I give him a 2 is because well, because ...I don't even know why, perhaps there are worse movies that I don't manage to finish watching, and I did finish watching this one! Anyway, I have no intentions to ever watch this movie again. It is slow, and doesn't have a good storyline. The performances are plain, so is the photography; and even the actors's looks (male and female) were nothing but plain...so absolutely nothing to enjoy, or applaud! PS: Did you know that many Spaniards- I mean many- avoid watching Spanish movies precisely because the abuse of sex and the lack of argument...?and many of those movies that there are considered movies for the taste of the 'masses' (and by 'masses' they do not mean, merely 'working class', but has more of a 'cheap' 'vulgar' connotation) are praised outside Spain! Embarrasing! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
AugustG.Dec 30, 2005
You call this a movie? It's hardcore/softcore porn with a plot. If the director added a few more sex scenes this movie would've premiered on the Spice Channel. The director might as well said "We're gonna film two Mexican boys You call this a movie? It's hardcore/softcore porn with a plot. If the director added a few more sex scenes this movie would've premiered on the Spice Channel. The director might as well said "We're gonna film two Mexican boys getting their brains screwed out by a 28 year old harlot as they traypse across Mexico in search of a beach that doesn't even exist." which is wrong from the get go. If I want to entertain myself with something like this nature I'd read Madame Bovary than watch this sexed up piece of crap. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
SpangleMar 3, 2016
Wow, this was horrific. Alfonso Cuaron is a decent director and he does his best here, but man oh man does this movie suck. The story is horrible and poorly written, as evidenced by the needless narration that serves as purely unnecessaryWow, this was horrific. Alfonso Cuaron is a decent director and he does his best here, but man oh man does this movie suck. The story is horrible and poorly written, as evidenced by the needless narration that serves as purely unnecessary exposition, as well as rambling on about past/future events that are not depicted in the story at all. The characters are grating and entirely unenjoyable. Honestly, the movie is pretty much just hardcore porn. It is an hour and 40 minutes long, but at least an hour and 30 minutes of that is probably sex. Only a minor exaggeration. This movie does have some interesting thoughts on growing up, marriage, and sex, but it just gets drowned out in a sea of immaturity and annoyance. I honestly feel violated by this movie and have no idea how it is so acclaimed. Call me a prude, but sex is not a story. It felt like it was on the same level as some pornographic film in terms of its commitment to following a narrative when, in reality, everyone was just there to get laid and the plot was coincidental. I am not a huge fan of Cuaron's work and, well, this one will not convince me I have erred on my previous assessment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
rahuliamFeb 7, 2016
Life is like the surf
so give yourself away like the sea
Alfonso Cuarón direction and Maribel Verdú's best performance makes this movie so much perfect....this is one surely one of my best movie i ever seen....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gNov 12, 2016
An intelligent film of two boys on their journey of hope and reality. Alfonso Cuaron puts some effort to make this film not the worst. But some of it's beauty does do a lot of greatness and sharing a life about Mexico. I rate it a 94/100.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
trustyslothJan 8, 2018
Probably the best film of director Alfonso Cuarón. Packed with all kind of emotions and philosophies. I wouldn't grade it with a ten because of the unnecessary amount of sexual scenes in the movie. Asides from that, it is one of the mostProbably the best film of director Alfonso Cuarón. Packed with all kind of emotions and philosophies. I wouldn't grade it with a ten because of the unnecessary amount of sexual scenes in the movie. Asides from that, it is one of the most powerful movies ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeFeb 21, 2019
Hitchhiking On Demand.

Y Tu Mama Tambien Cuaron's language is so smart that it is practically silly. His quest for the philosophical challenges that life and death pins down in a moment, comes involuntarily. His vision so pure in its reach
Hitchhiking On Demand.

Y Tu Mama Tambien

Cuaron's language is so smart that it is practically silly. His quest for the philosophical challenges that life and death pins down in a moment, comes involuntarily. His vision so pure in its reach that he is basically crafting himself on screen, there is a version of him, a piece of him residing on the screen that ignites the forest fire. The conversations between these more than three dimensional characters doesn't seem scripted at all. There is no cinematic arc or an antic in here, maybe that's his home run. His words are simple, easy and adaptive, he starts of smooth and takes everything for granted, all a tomfoolery and yet perfectly balanced on the concept it explores.

He uses his frame wisely, like when Luisa played by Maribel Verd confronts her husband on a phone, in the background Julio (Gael Garcia Bernal) and Tenoch (Diego Luna) are goofing around. Declining to compromise the writing in order to shift the tone into serious hard facts, the co-writer and director, Alfonso Cuaron wisely chooses to pour it all on the narrator, which steals some of the best moments of the film like when it describes a history of the location or the future trajectory of the characters, it helps him project the intensity of that current moment.

Aforementioned, the cast has done an amazing work especially all the long one take shots where there is a lot of content to cover up and is done effortlessly. The Cuaron brothers that wrote this script together has beautifully painted the equation of the brotherhood with a hint of silliness of a young teenage mentality that we all can resonate with easily. Y Tu Mama Tambien works only for its rigid nature of not surrendering itself to the corrupt cinematic aspects, it grows less and less cinema-alike and feels more and more cinematic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BladeLover2049Aug 22, 2018
A new way of telling two periods of Mexico: the future of a tyranny at the beginning of the new millennium, and a free interpretation of the Spanish conquest. The film takes us along roads of life, where each path leads us to a destinationA new way of telling two periods of Mexico: the future of a tyranny at the beginning of the new millennium, and a free interpretation of the Spanish conquest. The film takes us along roads of life, where each path leads us to a destination that we will not know how to be the same again. Places where the hidden before our eyes is revealed, and where you can also find what we have always sought ... just need to get lost and find the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews