• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    As with everything in Tool's oeuvre, 10,000 Days packs enough beauty, heartache and triumph that it will be dissected, studied and envied by younger bands for years to come. [Jul 2006, p.196]
  2. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  3. It's probably the most engagingly brilliant heavy metal album that'll be released on a major label all year.
  4. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    It's clear this group have ways of getting beneath your skin. [20 May 2006, p.33]
  5. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.
  6. Los Angeles Times
    75
    If "10,000 Days" lacks the absolute intensity and focus of 2001's "Lateralus," the new album at least stands as a stirring repeat of the Tool musical manifesto. [6 May 2006]
  7. Rolling Stone
    70
    On 10,000 Days... Tool maintain a level of craftsmanship and virtuosity unparalleled in metal. [15 Jun 2006, p.92]
  8. Spin
    70
    Essentially a synthesis of the various phases of the band's career. [Jul 2006, p.85]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 504 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 504
  1. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Full Review »
  2. MikeP
    Apr 21, 2008
    5
    Your comments are meaningless ..beware the new world order.
  3. RichardG
    Oct 21, 2006
    3
    I find it laughable that people clamour to tool, like a flock of mindless sheep.