User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2072 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    Taylor finally ends up assuming totally Pop on her new album "1989" which ended up being his most daring and intuitive disk. We have some great surprises, the biggest of them being 'Blank Space' which perfectly combines a fast, steady pace with a letter and vocal incredibly interesting. 'Shake It Off' and 'I Wish You Would' not left behind providing exciting moments. At the end, the albumTaylor finally ends up assuming totally Pop on her new album "1989" which ended up being his most daring and intuitive disk. We have some great surprises, the biggest of them being 'Blank Space' which perfectly combines a fast, steady pace with a letter and vocal incredibly interesting. 'Shake It Off' and 'I Wish You Would' not left behind providing exciting moments. At the end, the album disappoints only for their ballads, with their weak, predictable and bland lyrics.
    '1989' is a great pop album, Taylor may have lost a bit of their cuteness and feeling, but it makes up for in boldness and energy to give air at 16 tracks.
    Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    I absolutely loved this album. I was already expecting to be good, but not on this level. This is a pop masterpiece. She not only brings a pop original, that has nothing to do with this mainstream pop out there, she brings ferocity in her work. The lyrics for this album are good, and it gets even better when you realize that this is a pop record and it's not full of **** lyrics. And it'sI absolutely loved this album. I was already expecting to be good, but not on this level. This is a pop masterpiece. She not only brings a pop original, that has nothing to do with this mainstream pop out there, she brings ferocity in her work. The lyrics for this album are good, and it gets even better when you realize that this is a pop record and it's not full of **** lyrics. And it's perfectly produced as well. Her best work ever. Album of the year.

    Best ones: Style, Bad Blood, I Know Places, This Love, You Are In Love and New Romantics.
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    This is the best album Taylor Swift has released, and that is a very big accomplishment. Swift's ability to tell a story in any music genre is well highlighted here. 1989 also is the BEST album of 2014 by a long shot. It just does not get any better than this
  4. Oct 27, 2014
    0
    Some albums are grossly overrated. Thus why I am giving this album a 0 although I believe it deserves about a 7. The albums is being overrated, so I am going to underrate it. I know Taylor Swift fans are either excited about this release, or are upset by the genre transition that is evident in this release. Frankly, I'm not too concerned with the genre of the album, but the timeless valueSome albums are grossly overrated. Thus why I am giving this album a 0 although I believe it deserves about a 7. The albums is being overrated, so I am going to underrate it. I know Taylor Swift fans are either excited about this release, or are upset by the genre transition that is evident in this release. Frankly, I'm not too concerned with the genre of the album, but the timeless value it presents. Every pop album released in the last decade has had several catchy hooks peppered throughout; so to simply have catchy hooks is not enough to call this album great. 1989 presents nothing new. It provides nothing for its listeners other than catchy hooks and new songs to bump with your girlfriends(or metro-sexual friends, as the case may be). The songs are nice and all; but its nothing ground breaking. I would like to see the critic score in the 60s and the user score around 7. Taylor just simply isn't an "artist," she's a singer--if you can even call her that. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2014
    1
    So after hearing about how amazing this album was I decided to listen to it myself and boy was I surprised. Not only was it boring it was bloated with pointless filler that felt like a chore to get through. I was just waiting to be impressed yet I wasn’t, Taylor obviously needs to work on creating better pop music. She brought nothing new to the table, even Prism had more depth, she shouldSo after hearing about how amazing this album was I decided to listen to it myself and boy was I surprised. Not only was it boring it was bloated with pointless filler that felt like a chore to get through. I was just waiting to be impressed yet I wasn’t, Taylor obviously needs to work on creating better pop music. She brought nothing new to the table, even Prism had more depth, she should stick to her own lane. We already have enough half-baked pop albums coming out like clockwork, please Taylor don’t make us suffer more. Your lyrical content suffered massively while you attempted to be inspired by the dull and insipid beats supplied to you by pop music’s most generic producer. Don’t expect much from this album otherwise you’ll be sorely disappointed, but I’m sure her army of fans called the “swifties” will try to convince everyone this failed attempt was actually decent. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2016
    10
    Red is one of my favorite cd's of all time, and I am a 48 year old man. And, I love Taylor's pure country songs. I did not buy into the initial love of this cd. However, my husband bought it for me, for Christmas, because he knows I am such a big fan. And, after four or five listens, this is also one of my favorite cd's of all time, even though most of it is truly pop. Taylor is aRed is one of my favorite cd's of all time, and I am a 48 year old man. And, I love Taylor's pure country songs. I did not buy into the initial love of this cd. However, my husband bought it for me, for Christmas, because he knows I am such a big fan. And, after four or five listens, this is also one of my favorite cd's of all time, even though most of it is truly pop. Taylor is a truly brilliant song writer, capturing all of the emotions that go with love and break up's and in a fun, sexy, catchy and thoughtful way. I think Taylor Swift is one of the most brilliant song writers of this century and I can't wait to hear more from her. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2016
    10
    One of the best albums of pop music. 1989 Taylor Swift's album has too much to say through her lyrics. I love her music because they transmit lived and real sense compering like others lyrics which are completely childish and repetitive.
  8. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    This is a great album. There are upbeat songs, relatable songs and songs about love! Track by Track Review:
    Welcome to New York: 8/10
    Blank Space: 9.5/10 Style: 8.5/10 Out of the Woods: 9/10 All You had to do was Stay: 8/10 Shake it Off: 9/10 I wish you Would: 8.5/10 Bad Blood: 10/10 Wildest Dreams: 9.5/10 How you Get the Girl: 8.5/10 This Love: 9/10 I Know Places: 8/10 Clean:
    This is a great album. There are upbeat songs, relatable songs and songs about love! Track by Track Review:
    Welcome to New York: 8/10
    Blank Space: 9.5/10
    Style: 8.5/10
    Out of the Woods: 9/10
    All You had to do was Stay: 8/10
    Shake it Off: 9/10
    I wish you Would: 8.5/10
    Bad Blood: 10/10
    Wildest Dreams: 9.5/10
    How you Get the Girl: 8.5/10
    This Love: 9/10
    I Know Places: 8/10
    Clean: 8/10
    Wonderland: 8.5/10
    You Are In Love: 8.5/10
    New Romantics: 9/10

    Highlights: Blank Space, Out of the Woods, Bad Blood, Wildest Dreams, Shake it Off, New Romantics
    Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2016
    9
    I try not to listen to popular/radio music for whatever reason (I think most of it is crap and I like to find music myself), but I still like good pop music. I just listened to this nearly 2 years after it was released, and I'm very impressed. This is perfect pop! Taylor's melodies, voice, and her vocal production are awesome. I'm not in love with all the instrumentals/beats, but they'reI try not to listen to popular/radio music for whatever reason (I think most of it is crap and I like to find music myself), but I still like good pop music. I just listened to this nearly 2 years after it was released, and I'm very impressed. This is perfect pop! Taylor's melodies, voice, and her vocal production are awesome. I'm not in love with all the instrumentals/beats, but they're better than most "super pop" artists'. I love that Taylor sold out and went pure pop! My girlfriend made me listen to her first album years ago and I only liked one or two songs, I just didn't like that country stuff as much, but this is awesome. I would love to hear Taylor on some Banks or Sylvan Esso type instrumentals.
    I'm embarrassed by how much I like this. I'm glad I decided to finally listen to it. I can't think of a better "super pop" album in the last 15-20 years.
    Expand
  10. Jun 13, 2016
    8
    melhor álbum dela empatado com o Red, por isso o sucesso que é.

    os primores são: Blank Space, All You Had to Do Was Stay, How You Get The Girl e New Romantics.
  11. Sep 18, 2015
    10
    I loved this album, from beginning to end, I have probably listened to it a 100 times and will continue to do so, the style and how well balanced this album is amazing, the lyrics are powerful and fun and she just entertains on this album! My favorite tracks are "Out of the woods", "Shake it off", "Wildest Dreams", "New Romantics", "Style" and "Blank space" - I think my entire householdI loved this album, from beginning to end, I have probably listened to it a 100 times and will continue to do so, the style and how well balanced this album is amazing, the lyrics are powerful and fun and she just entertains on this album! My favorite tracks are "Out of the woods", "Shake it off", "Wildest Dreams", "New Romantics", "Style" and "Blank space" - I think my entire household knows every lyric from every song! LOVE this album! !!! Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    1989 is one of the greatest pop albums of the new millennium. It lives in the lifeline of the nostalgic 80's tune with the mix of Swift's personal and lyrically magical songwriting. It is a bright and brilliantly crafted album that puts pop back into the game. Welcome to New York is a great opening for the album, it gives a light and shimmering entrance to the soundtrack. Blank Space and1989 is one of the greatest pop albums of the new millennium. It lives in the lifeline of the nostalgic 80's tune with the mix of Swift's personal and lyrically magical songwriting. It is a bright and brilliantly crafted album that puts pop back into the game. Welcome to New York is a great opening for the album, it gives a light and shimmering entrance to the soundtrack. Blank Space and Shake it Off gives the album it's fire and fuel to stay in the heads of listeners, With Space's lyrical beauty, soft upbeat tunes and a new take on putting experiences in songwriting and Shake's strong sound and message. Style and Wildest Dreams gives a hypnotic side to Swift's unique way of writing. All You Had To Do Was Stay's bright and bratty background gives the album a strong but meaningful approach. But the most important song on the album is one called Clean. It's mellow tune fused with story telling kind of approach gives the most light and life to 1989. It really deserves it explosive sales. Expand
  13. Sep 8, 2015
    10
    Taylor se ha ido superando con el pasar de los años. Este álbum es un gran ejemplo de como ella ha evolucionado. Mis mas sinceros deseos y éxitos para ella. Adoro su álbum, sus músicas y la forma como ella trasmite los sentimientos cuando lo canta. Es fenomenal ;-)
  14. Feb 9, 2016
    10
    Taylor proved to us that she can reinvent her in all of the matters in her own way. The highlights are "Blank Space" and "Clean". Although some songs are clearly made for the radios (Shake it Off and Bad Blood), the album represents a new direction Pop music can go further than 80's tunes.
  15. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Os haters choram com esse sucesso estrondoso da Taylor, álbum incrível! Vem grammy, o álbum está cheio de hits, como Blank Space que ficou sete semanas em #1na Hot 100, Bad Blood, Shake It Off esem falar em muitas outras músicas boas que não são singles
  16. Jan 22, 2016
    10
    Taylor Swift takes a risk crossing over from country to pop music and it PAYS OFF. You have hits like Shake It Off, Out of the Woods, and I Know Places on the album that are very smart. However, Taylor has hit a GRAND SLAM in Blank Space. 1989 was one of the best albums of 2014 and deserves every Grammy it is nominated for.
  17. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    1989 é, de fato, o melhor da Taylor Swift. Suas letras impressionantes e a variada produção fazem dele um dos melhores álbuns pop da década, e, curiosamente, de uma artista recém-saída do country.
  18. Jun 19, 2016
    10
    Such a good pop album, is full of hits and don't use this basic and boring pop sounds. The vocals are almost all on point and every song has perfect words that only Swift can give us in this way. It isn't boring or basic like PRISM by Katy Perry. The best album to show what pop is.
  19. May 11, 2015
    7
    Is Shake It Off a Ramones song? It is definitely a punk song right? And why do I hear monsters in the background during the bridge? It's scary stuff but T thankfully keeps it moving.
  20. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Tayllor made a great marketing leaving the country music and going to pop music. With the 80s theme, the singer achievement in with melodies and lyrics full of love and indirect.
  21. Mar 10, 2017
    10
    This album is so good. I was skeptical when I learned Taylor has gone full on pop. I was like I don't think she has what it takes to make a transition successfully but oh my God this album is pure Pop Goodness.
    All songs are really catchy. The Max Martin singles are well produced and has some simple yet clever lyrics. Over-all this is an amazing album that will stand the test the time and
    This album is so good. I was skeptical when I learned Taylor has gone full on pop. I was like I don't think she has what it takes to make a transition successfully but oh my God this album is pure Pop Goodness.
    All songs are really catchy. The Max Martin singles are well produced and has some simple yet clever lyrics. Over-all this is an amazing album that will stand the test the time and will be remembered as one of the iconic pop albums of the 21st century.
    Expand
  22. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    A concept album. Great tunes, Awesome lyrics.
    My least favorite songs off this album are "Bad Blood" &"Shake it off" because I think they sound a bit childish.
    But they're just 2 songs. 1989 was the best Pop album of 2014 by far.
  23. Jan 10, 2015
    10
    É um ótimo álbum, simplesmente não é enjoativo, desde Welcome To New York até You Are In Love, não é aquele álbum que as 5 primeiras músicas tem potencial para ser smash hit, mas sim aquela que desde a primeira até a última música tem potencial de hit, minhas favoritas são Blank Space e Out Of The Woods, a Taylor realmente mostrou que o lugar dela é no POP
  24. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was sincerely impressed with this work of Taylor , she was generous of truth ... songs like " Out Of The Woods " " New Romantics " "Shake It Off" "I Know Places" & " How You Get The Girl" are masterpieces awesome, I advise everyone to hear this "story" wonderful... Expand
  25. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This album is very good have god vocals and have a good songs,Taylory is a very good singer and songwriter and this album is your best album is increble and fantastic!!!Taylor
  26. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    Oh my. This is the greatest album of the year. Taylor Swift has always been great. But 1989 has turned her into a century defining artist. She has got to release another album like this. She is on a roll.
  27. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop The queen of pop
  28. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    Este album é perfeito mas não como o Fearless #voltaTaylorSertaneja #cachofã, mas o album incrivel, a melhor musica é this love claro e you are in love, YOU CAN HEAR IT ON THE SILENCEEEE
  29. Jun 11, 2015
    10
    ótimo, Taylor Swift está de parabém esse albúm é realmente incrivel, cheio de canções que fazem você refletir e uma música que mostra como se vingar das pessoas falsas, não tem nenhuma música que eu não goste claro estamos de Taylor Swift então isso já é meio comum
  30. May 21, 2017
    9
    .......................................................................................................................... Masterpiece Pop Album with great Ballads too.
  31. Oct 11, 2015
    9
    Kaliteli bir albüm ve popa başlangıç olarakta çok başarılı, 2014'ün şüphesiz en iyi albümü. En iyi şarkılar Style, Out Of The Woods, I Know Places, Wonderland ve New Romantics.
  32. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    Rainha mesmo gente, resta aceitar! Escreve muito bem, canta com perfeição e ainda tem as melhores performances. Ela se destaca muito entre os artistas atuais.
  33. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best albumBest album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Best album of 2014. Expand
  34. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    Best pop album ever!! I don't think that Taylor's change from country to pop was bad... I was completely in love with her country musics but I love so much this album too. It was amazing musics like Style, Blank Space, Out Of The Woods, Wonderland and All You Had To Do Was Stay and all the others! I'm one of Taylor's super fan but I think my review is fair. This album really deserves a 10Best pop album ever!! I don't think that Taylor's change from country to pop was bad... I was completely in love with her country musics but I love so much this album too. It was amazing musics like Style, Blank Space, Out Of The Woods, Wonderland and All You Had To Do Was Stay and all the others! I'm one of Taylor's super fan but I think my review is fair. This album really deserves a 10 because of the melody the rhythm and the lyrics. Taylor is doing and amazing job. She and her album are dominating the world . 1989 World Tour has been being and amazing Tour too Expand
  35. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    One of the very few abums around these days that is strong from beginning to end. Taylor succeeded in conjuring a perfect mix of retro and contemporary sounds that leaves a permanent mark thanks to her acclaimed songwriting skills
  36. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    The best work of Taylor Swift congratulations have created an excellent album I feel that it has been one of their best work
    There are several songs that are very good
  37. Apr 25, 2016
    10
    OMG FANTASTIC ALBUM!!! The lyrics are good, and I absolutely loved this album. My faves are Blank Space, How You Get the Girl, New Romantics and Clean. Congratulations Taylor, i'm a swiftie and this is a pop masterpiece.
  38. Dec 10, 2016
    10
    It's a great album, a lot of good compositions. Taylor did a great job on pop music! There's so much lovely songs, great beats and Taylor's voice is angelical. Loved 1989!
  39. Jul 18, 2017
    10
    If there is to be a defined list of album which everyone should listen to before they die- THIS ALBUM WOULD BE AT THE TOP! Many people were sceptical when they heard Shake It Off. Taylor had gone from country to pop. But that is not a bad thing. Beyoncé went from making radio friendly Pop/R&B hits to making a somewhat Alternative/Soul piece of work. Yet everyone still loves her. Shake ItIf there is to be a defined list of album which everyone should listen to before they die- THIS ALBUM WOULD BE AT THE TOP! Many people were sceptical when they heard Shake It Off. Taylor had gone from country to pop. But that is not a bad thing. Beyoncé went from making radio friendly Pop/R&B hits to making a somewhat Alternative/Soul piece of work. Yet everyone still loves her. Shake It Off is such an uplifting and inspiring song in the sense that we must not let bullies get to us. To summarise this album in one word would be reinvention. This shown from the album opener Welcome To New York which is all about starting life in the big city to New Romantics- an anthem to which EVERYONE can embrace themselves. The album itself is timeless, but a particular stand-out track would be Blank Space. It was this track which made the undeniably talented Swift the credential of being the first female artist to replace herself upon the Billboard Hot 100, as well as giving her biggest seller and having the quickest amount of views to 1,000,000,000 for a music video for a female artist (prior to Adele's Hello). The song is all about putting atrocious rumours to bed by feeding them with their own pills. All in all this album is flawless. It is very rare to find a flawless album (which is not Swift's). The last was Gaga's The Fame Monster in 2009, and it has taken 3 years for Dua Lipa to create another flawless album with her debut. TAYLOR WE LOVE YOU!!! Expand
  40. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Taylor did it better than the definition of perfection. 1989 goes on selling 10 million albums worldwide, scoring 5 BB #10 hits including 3 #1 hits and wins 3 grammies, including Album of the year. Definitively a masterpiece of the 21st century!
  41. Jun 16, 2017
    10
    “There Once Was A Girl Known By Every One And No One”
    “Existia uma garota que era conhecida por todos e por ninguém”
    “Her Heart Belonged To Someone Who Couldn’t Stay”
    “Seu coração pertenceu a alguém que não podia ficar“.
  42. Aug 3, 2017
    10
    Her best of her best! 1989 is serving bops, and hits. Also, 1989 is one of the few albums EVER in history have gained success. Massive success. I think 1989 is one of Taylor's BEST album.
  43. Nov 10, 2017
    8
    GOOD POP ALBUM.

    I'm not a Taylor Swift Fan so I was skeptical before listening to this album. I must say I was surprised how good it was and I really enjoyed it. TOP NOTCH PRODUCTION first of all. Fun catchy dance songs (Shake It Off, New Romantics). Emotional lyrics ( This Love, Clean) full of hits. Most songs bops except 1. Solid 8.5/10
  44. Nov 22, 2017
    10
    This album is so good. I was skeptical when I learned Taylor has gone full on pop. I was like I don't think she has what it takes to make a transition successfully but oh my God this album is pure Pop Goodness.
    All songs are really catchy. The Max Martin singles are well produced and has some simple yet clever lyrics. Over-all this is an amazing album that will stand the test the time and
    This album is so good. I was skeptical when I learned Taylor has gone full on pop. I was like I don't think she has what it takes to make a transition successfully but oh my God this album is pure Pop Goodness.
    All songs are really catchy. The Max Martin singles are well produced and has some simple yet clever lyrics. Over-all this is an amazing album that will stand the test the time and will be remembered as one of the iconic pop albums of the 21st century.
    Expand
  45. Jan 13, 2018
    7
    The lyrics on this album are never deep and have little substance; its a pop album, what did you expect? "Wildest Dreams" and "Style" are the biggest offenders when it comes to lyrics, with shallow, artificial love song lyrics. "Welcome to New York" is more intresting, and "Shake It Off" has lyrics that are fun the first few times. Now, the music and production on this album is completelyThe lyrics on this album are never deep and have little substance; its a pop album, what did you expect? "Wildest Dreams" and "Style" are the biggest offenders when it comes to lyrics, with shallow, artificial love song lyrics. "Welcome to New York" is more intresting, and "Shake It Off" has lyrics that are fun the first few times. Now, the music and production on this album is completely different story. The music on most of the songs on this album is really good and enjoyable. The music is where 1989 really shines. "Out of the Woods" has really interesting music. "Blank Space" is really catchy with great production. "Bad Blood" has an epic chorus, but the rest of the song is weak. "Clean" has an original sound and good lyrics. Overall, 1989 is nothing special lyrically, but the production makes this album stand out. Expand
  46. Nov 27, 2018
    9
    Evolutionary. Change the whole pop culture. A milestone. The instrumental throughout the album is amazing. However, there are still some tracks that are not good enough.
    Welcome to New York: 9.5/10(positive vibe)
    Blank Space: 10/10(a huge bop) Style: 9.5/10(love the instrumental) Out of the Woods: 9/10(the second-half of the song is great) All You had to do was Stay: 7/10(the chorus
    Evolutionary. Change the whole pop culture. A milestone. The instrumental throughout the album is amazing. However, there are still some tracks that are not good enough.
    Welcome to New York: 9.5/10(positive vibe)
    Blank Space: 10/10(a huge bop)
    Style: 9.5/10(love the instrumental)
    Out of the Woods: 9/10(the second-half of the song is great)
    All You had to do was Stay: 7/10(the chorus is kind of weird for me)
    Shake it Off: 7.5/10(bridge is awful, some parts are good but others are just so so)
    I Wish You Would: 8/10(the end is messy)
    Bad Blood: 9/10(good but not perfect)
    Wildest Dreams: 10/10(gorgeous and wonderful)
    How you Get the Girl: 7.5/10(not a skip but not my type)
    This Love: 7/10(too flat for me)
    I Know Places: 8/10(chorus is good but verse is bad)
    Clean: 9.5/10(beautiful)
    Wonderland: 9.5/10(gleaming)
    You Are In Love: 7/10(vocal is a little out of control)
    New Romantics: 9.5/10(great upbeat song)
    Expand
  47. Dec 6, 2019
    10
    I love this album unconditionally. It's iconic and a pop perfection. "Wildeast Dreams" and "Out Of The Woods" are the best song in the album.
  48. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    the vintage, 80s sound periodt! fav songs are wildest dreams, clean and i know places
  49. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best album I've heard. The country superstar who turned pop in this album proved she's not going to make some trash pop record. 1989 is bold, upbeat and emotional and sounds exactly like her. the best album of the year. Every individual track on the record is perfectly crafted. Must buy, Must listen Album.
  50. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    love this album so much, better than girl pop icon lately like lea, katy, selena, miley, and demi... super catchy and really easy to hear... blank space, i know places, styles, and clean are the most fave from this album... love it.. good job taylor.. :)
  51. Nov 15, 2014
    10
    Track-by-track review:
    1. Welcome to New York - 7.5/10
    | 2. Blank Space - 9.5/10 | 3. Style - 8/10 | 4. Out Of The Woods - 9/10 | 5. All You Had to Do Was Stay - 7/10 | 6. Shake It Off - 9.5/10 | 7. I Wish You Would - 6/10 | 8. Bad Blood - 8/10 | 9. Wildest Dreams - 10/10 | 10. How You Get the Girl - 6/10 | 11. This Love - 8/10 | 12. I Know Places - 9/10 | 13. Clean - 9/10
    Track-by-track review:
    1. Welcome to New York - 7.5/10
    | 2. Blank Space - 9.5/10
    | 3. Style - 8/10
    | 4. Out Of The Woods - 9/10
    | 5. All You Had to Do Was Stay - 7/10
    | 6. Shake It Off - 9.5/10
    | 7. I Wish You Would - 6/10
    | 8. Bad Blood - 8/10
    | 9. Wildest Dreams - 10/10
    | 10. How You Get the Girl - 6/10
    | 11. This Love - 8/10
    | 12. I Know Places - 9/10
    | 13. Clean - 9/10

    || Bonus tracks:
    14. Wonderland - 8/10
    | 15. You Are In Love - 8.5/10
    | 16. New Romantics - 9/10

    || Highlights: Blank Space, Wildest Dreams, Style, New Romantics |
    | Potential singles: Style, Wildest Dreams, New Romantics, I Know Places, Bad Blood
    Expand
  52. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    Ndryshuar .. por përtë mirë . Swift na tregon një anë të saj se shumica prej nesh nuk ishin pritur . Sa më shpejt si " Welcome To New York " luan ju e dini që ju jeni në për një trajtojnë të një album narrativ .

    7/10
    e rekomanduar
  53. Dec 15, 2014
    7
    I thoroughly enjoyed 1989 from start to finish. Taylor’s musical transition from country to pop proves successful as seen vocally & lyrically in the album.
    1989 track list is also very well structured. The album starts off with ‘Welcome to New York’, a repetitive, yet fun synth-pop anthem which sets the tone & atmosphere of 1989. Other tracks such as ‘Shake It Off’, ‘Blank Space’ & ‘Bad
    I thoroughly enjoyed 1989 from start to finish. Taylor’s musical transition from country to pop proves successful as seen vocally & lyrically in the album.
    1989 track list is also very well structured. The album starts off with ‘Welcome to New York’, a repetitive, yet fun synth-pop anthem which sets the tone & atmosphere of 1989. Other tracks such as ‘Shake It Off’, ‘Blank Space’ & ‘Bad Blood’ shows Taylor’s newly-built confidence to address the rumors about her highly published feuds & love-life with other famous people, which as been portrayed negatively by the media. Taylor has also shown no signs of separation from her infamous love songs & ballads about her past relationships. Differentiating from her past albums & songs though, she has unusually shown both a reflective & mature manner as shown in songs ‘Out Of The Woods’ and ‘I Wish You Would’. The album’s tracks altogether have a lot of potential to thrive commercially.
    Surprisingly, Taylor has no featuring collaborations on any of the tracks, compared to her previous release Red. Many artists (such as Katy Perry & Lady Gaga) in the pop-culture industry tend to thrive off collaborations to build popularity & enhance musical content, but Taylor has shown & proven that you can express & showcase music independently with effect.
    However, Taylor could have possibly linked and combined both of her abilities in the country & pop genre effectively in 1989, as seen in her last album Red, instead of abolishing her well-built & perfected abilities in folk music. Another criticism would be the monotonous nature during some of the tracks, such as ‘Welcome to New York’ & her smash hit ‘Shake It Off’, which can come across as very aggravating & disconnecting.
    None of the less, Taylor has dazzled the music industry once again with 1989 and has fully radiated her passion & admiration for her newly-founded genre.
    Expand
  54. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    amazing! all tracks are are perfect.this album deserve lots of grammys! Blank space,clean,style,wildest dream & I know places are my faves.
    Track-by-track review: 1. Welcome to New York - 7.5/10 | 2. Blank Space - 9.5/10 | 3. Style - 8/10 | 4. Out Of The Woods - 9/10 | 5. All You Had to Do Was Stay - 7/10 | 6. Shake It Off - 9.5/10 | 7. I Wish You Would - 6/10 | 8. Bad Blood - 8/10 | 9.
    amazing! all tracks are are perfect.this album deserve lots of grammys! Blank space,clean,style,wildest dream & I know places are my faves.
    Track-by-track review: 1. Welcome to New York - 7.5/10 | 2. Blank Space - 9.5/10 | 3. Style - 8/10 | 4. Out Of The Woods - 9/10 | 5. All You Had to Do Was Stay - 7/10 | 6. Shake It Off - 9.5/10 | 7. I Wish You Would - 6/10 | 8. Bad Blood - 8/10 | 9. Wildest Dreams - 10/10 | 10. How You Get the Girl - 6/10 | 11. This Love - 8/10 | 12. I Know Places - 9/10 | 13. Clean - 9/10

    || Bonus tracks:
    14. Wonderland - 8/10
    | 15. You Are In Love - 8.5/10
    | 16. New Romantics - 9/10

    || Highlights: Blank Space, Wildest Dreams, Style, New Romantics |
    | Potential singles: Style, Wildest Dreams, New Romantics, I Know Places, Bad Blood
    Expand
  55. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Without a doubt, the most anticipated album of the year is 1989. Touted to be Taylor's best work so far, if we put all the albums side by side and judge, we may say, this is the most mature album she has composed. The elements of surprise in terms of lyrics or musical intellect or instruments used are plenty. There are adamant anthems (Shake It Off), selfish transitions (Welcome To NewWithout a doubt, the most anticipated album of the year is 1989. Touted to be Taylor's best work so far, if we put all the albums side by side and judge, we may say, this is the most mature album she has composed. The elements of surprise in terms of lyrics or musical intellect or instruments used are plenty. There are adamant anthems (Shake It Off), selfish transitions (Welcome To New York), soulful Ballads (Wildest Dreams), quirky jokes/taunts (Blank Space), Lyrical masterpieces (Clean), Magical Thrills (I Know Places) and a lot more that this album offers.

    Swift had come of age, seen it all, by the time RED came out, this album shoves off her boy-dependent image and shows bold self dependence. Where "Welcome to New York" is unavoidable, irrational, forgettable and slightly irritating opener, "Blank Space" is a genius. How? I won't spoil it for you, hear a few times and you would find out how comical it ACTUALLY is! "Style" is ultimately catchy and isn't as silly-party as '22' was. "Out Of the Woods"may not be a masterpiece, but it surely it quite a good song to listen to. "All You Had To Do Was Stay" reminds of some of the golden hits of 80s era. "Shake it Off" by this time has hit the ears so many times that it has become a bit avoidable, yet when it comes up on a whole-album-play it reminds of the excitement and journey of 2 months to the date,when the album is in our hands. "I Wish You Would" is a dramatic fast-paced song that at one go reminds of Miley Cyrus songs, but on another go, we discover how it is the old-Swift at heart, slightly boycentric that is. Everyone expected "Bad Blood" to be 'Better Than Revenge' part II, but rather than a stormy guess-the-celebrity song, it is more generalized and 'relatable'. Swift offers her fans a song they could dedicate to their enemies. "Wildest Dreams" is by far the most mature song on the album. It is soulfully absorbing both lyrically and musically. If you have been in a relationship, there is all chances that you would be reminded of the good-times you had had with your counterpart and the times when you were afraid, if this ends, how would you survive. "How You Get The Girl" goes back to Speak Now times (did I hear guitar?),it is funny and a sly guide for the boys to get their girls back. It is silly, yet a fun listen (like Stay Stay Stay from Red), but ultimately forgettable. "This Love" is a genius ballad. No more words, you must just listen to this strongly confessional song written and composed by Swift alone(the only song on the album). "I Know Places", is, sonically, the most different song on the album. It has some intense imagery, could be called as one of the most memorable songs on the album. It takes you to places you might have never been. This may go down in the history. "Clean" is the perfect end, the album could get. It comes directly out of the conscience and has some hardcore intense and 'real' lyrics. All Too Well part II, lyrically because it doesn't narrate a relationship but talks about finally being clean. It also, very truly, says, if you have [finally!!] moved on over some relationship or phase in life, it doesn't mean you don't remember it.

    The deluxe edition songs are more of the party songs, I consider the voice memos as the real jewels there. Buy deluxe version for those voice memos and the catchy pop songs. It is recommended.

    Overall, this is 'one of the' best works of Taylor Swift and she could definitely be proud of it. It has got some of the best songs and makes a smooth track-to-track transitions. It has got some real masterpieces and very few forgettable sounds, making the album, yet another contribution to making the Swift a legend.
    Expand
  56. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    OK so its not a perfect pop album. Not all pop albums are. I'm not a fan of Taylor Swift, and I won't be buying the CD to add to my collection, but that doesn't mean I don't think she can knock up a fair few great tunes. So shut up people, give Taylor some space, and chill out.
  57. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    When she said she is not gonna do country music anymore,I was pretty upset,but now the whole album drops,I actually like this album,I never thought that TRaylor can do this good,Really like this album,of course there's some song like Out of the woods etc are kinda bad,but I still like it
  58. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is gold, ehwn you heard at the first time you keeped in love !!!! Es un gran album para ser su primer to mas antigu odel pop hasta lo mas actual. An amazing mix Expand
  59. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    Is still a weak pop to Taylor Swift continues letters about boyfriends, something that should not be a pop album, Taylor needs to improve in pop, to please a general public
  60. Nov 4, 2014
    8
    It is one of the best pop albums of the decade. taylor's voice gets better every time more. in composition lacks such a good song like All too well yet their songs have good lyrics.
  61. Nov 6, 2014
    9
    When Taylor Swift released new songs, I knew I would love it because it was from her. And this album proves me right! When Taylor released the first single "Shake It Off", my first thought was "this is different Taylor" considering she will leave her country style. But whether it was different or not, I'll still love it like her other previous songs. My first impression on this album wasWhen Taylor Swift released new songs, I knew I would love it because it was from her. And this album proves me right! When Taylor released the first single "Shake It Off", my first thought was "this is different Taylor" considering she will leave her country style. But whether it was different or not, I'll still love it like her other previous songs. My first impression on this album was she still the same Taylor, minus the acoustic guitar and plus dub-step. The sounds and the lyrics still the same. It's funny when some critics said that Taylor mimic the other artist on some songs. When you listen to her previous songs, the heart of her music still the same and not like any other artist. Example of that is when they connected the song Wildest Dreams to Lana Del Ray when it reminded me of Haunted, Enchanted, The Lucky One and Safe And Sound. The other songs reminds me of I Knew You Were Trouble and 22. So this album is definitely Taylor Swift and not a cover of other artist style. Anyways, I'm a fan of miss Swift but I want to know the history, if there is, about New Romantics being on bonus tracks not in the standard version. Overall, I like it very much knowing it's the only album I'll play at the end of the year. I score it 9, I just love the New Romantics so much that I deduce it with 1. Expand
  62. Dec 23, 2015
    10
    Such a powerful album. This is a solid pop album, and Taylor did her best in creating this. Most of the songs has the same ''sequence'' of her last ones, but the melodies, the lyrics and even Taylor changed.

    Welcome to New York 4/10 Blank Space 10/10 Style 9/10 Out of the Woods 8/10 All you had to do was stay 6/10 Shake It Off 7/10 Bad Blood 6/10 Wildest Dreams 9/10
    Such a powerful album. This is a solid pop album, and Taylor did her best in creating this. Most of the songs has the same ''sequence'' of her last ones, but the melodies, the lyrics and even Taylor changed.

    Welcome to New York 4/10

    Blank Space 10/10

    Style 9/10

    Out of the Woods 8/10

    All you had to do was stay 6/10

    Shake It Off 7/10

    Bad Blood 6/10

    Wildest Dreams 9/10

    How you get the girl 7/10

    This Love 9/10

    I Know Places 8/10

    Clean 10/10

    Taylor's songs has been doing well in the charts and I hope she gets another Grammy in ''Best Pop Album'' and ''Record of the year''.
    Expand
  63. Oct 18, 2015
    9
    Taylor Swift realmente surpreendeu nesse álbum. Sim, isso é a primeira coisa que se pode notar no 1989. Saindo das suas raízes country, a cantora mostrou um tipo de conexão passada em suas músicas, nunca vista antes.
  64. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    Um dos melhores álbuns POP femininos dos últimos anos, Taylor é uma grata surpresa, ela mostra versatilidade boas canções e melodias incríveis, Seu POP oitentista é de sacudir!
  65. May 7, 2016
    10
    1989 of Taylor Swift is a revelation. It deserved to win Album of the Year. My favorite song is New Romantics.

    “New Romantics” is a satirical song discussing how “new romantics” view love and life. It addresses the nonchalant and whimsical nature of the way young adults approach love. Notably, Taylor doesn’t segregate herself from these young adults. Her constant use of personal
    1989 of Taylor Swift is a revelation. It deserved to win Album of the Year. My favorite song is New Romantics.

    “New Romantics” is a satirical song discussing how “new romantics” view love and life. It addresses the nonchalant and whimsical nature of the way young adults approach love. Notably, Taylor doesn’t segregate herself from these young adults. Her constant use of personal pronouns such as “we” and “I” indicate that she has also embraced this mindset.

    In past albums, Taylor approached love from very extreme stances namely:

    Extremely idealistically i.e. “Love Story”
    A bitter or angry reponse to breakups i.e “Picture to Burn”
    An extremely heartbroken, torn apart stance i.e. “Dear John”

    However, this album introduces Taylor’s new mindset and approach towards love. We see her transition through a breakup and making the discovery that love is not a fairytale, and the chances of a happy ending is very unlikely – so it’s better to live life freely and not take relationships too seriously. Notably, the album begins with “Welcome to New York,” which marks the beginning of her transition, and this song, as the last track on the deluxe edition, indicates how she will be heading into the future – free falling.
    Expand
  66. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Taylor had to grow up someday, and this one was the perfect moment, with a totally new sound, nice lyrics, and new style, Taylor shows us her best until now, this album left me speechless.
  67. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    I would have to agree with the others that said there are no bad songs on this album. However, some songs don't seem very genuine to me. And personally, I haven't connected with any of the songs (yet). Fyi, I have listened to it twice now.

    It is has a very cohesive sound (and theme) all the way through. Surprisingly rare for albums these days. Bonus points for that. I still don't
    I would have to agree with the others that said there are no bad songs on this album. However, some songs don't seem very genuine to me. And personally, I haven't connected with any of the songs (yet). Fyi, I have listened to it twice now.

    It is has a very cohesive sound (and theme) all the way through. Surprisingly rare for albums these days. Bonus points for that.

    I still don't really like that T Swift went full pop, but at least she does it really well.

    Also I hope she does acoustic performances of these eventually.
    Expand
  68. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    Todos conocemos a Taylor gracias a su música country, el genero que la catapulto al éxito y por el cual gano nuestro amor en cada una de sus delicadas canciones de amor y otros quetales. Tras 3 álbumes de Country, salió Red, que se estaco por fusionar su ritmo country con géneros Pop y Rock, combinación que como músico con trayectoria que es Taylor, salió muy bien... Ahora Taylor abandonoTodos conocemos a Taylor gracias a su música country, el genero que la catapulto al éxito y por el cual gano nuestro amor en cada una de sus delicadas canciones de amor y otros quetales. Tras 3 álbumes de Country, salió Red, que se estaco por fusionar su ritmo country con géneros Pop y Rock, combinación que como músico con trayectoria que es Taylor, salió muy bien... Ahora Taylor abandono Country para explorar un territorio casi desconocido por ella, el pop, un sitio donde la música te puede tragar vivo o enviarte a lo alto del mundo, y Taylor ha hecho un excelente trabajo, pues no se ha quedado en un solo estilo pop o en cliches, sino que realmente se tomo el trabajo de explorar y experimentar, y como album experimental, es excelente. Expand
  69. Nov 28, 2014
    9
    So she CAN show us incredible things. Her lyricism really hit me like a glove to the face this time around, and yet I loved it. Perhaps the only turn-off is I Wish You Would, an unfocused, cluttered and ultimately mediocre number.
  70. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    Deserves 10/10 stars! Absolutely stunning album and it reminds me of Katy Perry's album "PRISM" as it is such a hit album! Her voice really shines in "Wildest Dreams" and " This Love". I really enjoy this album.
  71. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Throughout her short but accomplished career, Swift has shown the world that versatility is her strongest asset. 1989 is further testament to this. No one song feels repetitive or trite - a praiseworthy feat for a pop record. However, the music offered in 1989 is not quite as compelling as it could have been, especially when compared to some of Swift's best works. For instance, 'Out of theThroughout her short but accomplished career, Swift has shown the world that versatility is her strongest asset. 1989 is further testament to this. No one song feels repetitive or trite - a praiseworthy feat for a pop record. However, the music offered in 1989 is not quite as compelling as it could have been, especially when compared to some of Swift's best works. For instance, 'Out of the Woods' never really hits a climax that a song of its sound can. The synth instrumental backing to several songs also has much avenue for expansion, notably for 'Bad Blood' and 'Clean'.

    Nevertheless, there are some gems here, the best songs being 'Welcome to New York', 'Shake It Off', 'Wildest Dreams', and 'This Love'. Thus, while 1989 is a very good album, its unfulfilled potential limits it to a score of 7/10.
    Expand
  72. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    As a friend of Swift said: '' It's like four albums were just training for this new '' (1989).

    Highlighting the songs: Blank Space, Out of The Woods, Wildest Dreams, How You Get The Girl, I Know Places, and Clean.
  73. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    LOL at the Katy stans rating negatively this album. The critics and the numbers are saying otherwise. This album is AMAZING from beginning to end, this is a purely POP album, a good pop album. These past years, Pop music has became more predictable, but this album isn't it gives you life when you're listening to it, you wake up thinking about 1989 and you go to sleep thinking about 1989.LOL at the Katy stans rating negatively this album. The critics and the numbers are saying otherwise. This album is AMAZING from beginning to end, this is a purely POP album, a good pop album. These past years, Pop music has became more predictable, but this album isn't it gives you life when you're listening to it, you wake up thinking about 1989 and you go to sleep thinking about 1989. Not only Swifties. but casual fans and listeners are really loving this, she's going to make many new fans with this album. The switch genre has make her a better musician. Haters gonna hate I guess... Expand
  74. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Best Album Of The Year this album was so good i think taylor cant grow in pop genre now i believe that she can do anything i really enjoy this album and i gave her album 10
  75. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    1989 may not be as deep as Speak Now, but is definetely a very consistent album. Her songwritting is in one of the best phases.
    The highlights are: "Blank Space", where she tells a tale using the point of view that the media created; "Style", which comes right after BS, the song starts really calm, but then the album's best chorus starts; " I Know Places", where she tells us the story of
    1989 may not be as deep as Speak Now, but is definetely a very consistent album. Her songwritting is in one of the best phases.
    The highlights are: "Blank Space", where she tells a tale using the point of view that the media created; "Style", which comes right after BS, the song starts really calm, but then the album's best chorus starts; " I Know Places", where she tells us the story of people trying to hide, probably from the media, it sounds a lot like her BFF Lorde; "All You Had to do was Stay","I Wish You Would" and "Clean" are Definetely other songs worth listening. Also, the Deluxe Version of the Album is excellent, "Wonderland", "You Are in Love" and "New Romantics" are song that should be on the Standard version.
    Anyway, 1989 is the best mainstream album released this year, and proves that Taylor never disappoint us, even when she completely changes her sonority.
    Expand
  76. Oct 29, 2014
    6
    When listening to this album you have to keep in mind that it is a pop commercial album so you can't hope for a great album.
    I listened it that way and for a commercial album it's not bad, in the way that the beats are well produced and addicting, some songs do have really good "backing music".
    The negative part is that the construction of the songs are really really "cliché", it's
    When listening to this album you have to keep in mind that it is a pop commercial album so you can't hope for a great album.
    I listened it that way and for a commercial album it's not bad, in the way that the beats are well produced and addicting, some songs do have really good "backing music".
    The negative part is that the construction of the songs are really really "cliché", it's commercial pop, there ain't no creativity, and for music it's kind of sad.
    This album does certainly not bring pop to a next level, it's just what people are used to listen.
    To conclude i'll just say that it's a good album considering why it was made, it's clearly more a cash machine than a piece of art, you have to consider it while listening to "1989".
    Expand
  77. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Ótimo álbum, foge do pop estilo Katy Perry, Rihanna e outras estrelas pop, tem músicas chicletes, batidas dançantes mas todas com letras realmente bonitas e significativas, ouvir esse cd é como estar em um filme com trilhas sonoras para todas as ocasiões, cada dia Taylor Swift surpreende mais, cada álbum uma evolução. ótima cantora, ótima compositora, ótima intérprete, precisamos de maisÓtimo álbum, foge do pop estilo Katy Perry, Rihanna e outras estrelas pop, tem músicas chicletes, batidas dançantes mas todas com letras realmente bonitas e significativas, ouvir esse cd é como estar em um filme com trilhas sonoras para todas as ocasiões, cada dia Taylor Swift surpreende mais, cada álbum uma evolução. ótima cantora, ótima compositora, ótima intérprete, precisamos de mais Taylor's hoje em dia. Expand
  78. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Taylor Swift shifts into a new genre, but not without the things that make her loved by millions of fans. Here is is just as evocative as in her previous works and in the end, it's her most mature effort to date. Yes, many songs make you want to dance but they do not lack substance as found in many pop albums. She is doing her own thing and is not afraid to.
  79. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Welcome To New York – The Track did what it was supposed to do. Introduce ‘1989’ to the world as Taylor’s first documented pop record.

    Blank Space – Ms. Swift’s Contemporaries will probably have to either change their release dates or be content with #2 when this song becomes a single (and it will). It’s lyrically her best POP song; the carefully paced verses mixed with the quick witted
    Welcome To New York – The Track did what it was supposed to do. Introduce ‘1989’ to the world as Taylor’s first documented pop record.

    Blank Space – Ms. Swift’s Contemporaries will probably have to either change their release dates or be content with #2 when this song becomes a single (and it will). It’s lyrically her best POP song; the carefully paced verses mixed with the quick witted transitions make this a highlight on the entire album.

    Style – After hearing the chorus for the very first time via Target commercial, I assumed the song would evoke the same ‘Fairytale’ aura Taylor usually enjoys. (wrong) Under four minutes, the song is a sinister track with high hopes but acknowledges the cons outweigh the pros.

    Out Of The Woods – The lyrics are probably one of the most honest in the entire record. It has her signature songwriting style she frequently enjoys. The echoes you hear throughout the song are a nice touch.

    All You Had To Do Was Stay – If RED had Starlight, 1989 has this. General speaking, it’s a fun, catchy, light pop song with a repetitive hook. It gets the job done.

    Shake It Off – Went Number One and is currently enjoying its throne on top of the iTunes charts. Whether you like it or not, you didn't pass Swiftober without hearing this song at least once a week. Basing the entire album on this song would be foolish, simply because it’s probably the weakest track on the album.

    I Wish You Would – A definite standout track. I had to catch up to the song, maybe it’s just me but the song blew me away. ‘Impact-ful’ would be the word I would use to describe this Track.

    Bad Blood – Probably the most awaited song from the entire album. Who knew Taylor would be able to pull off a song that you’d think would be created for the likes of Avril Lavigne or Katy Perry. Only, part of her appeal is that she creates her own music. So, even if the sound changes, it still sounds like Taylor Swift.

    Wildest Dreams – A very Lana Del Rey inspired track and Taylor knowingly did that on purpose. The song manages to entrance you without having to put much effort. She could have spiked each verse with more diverse words or syllables that made you want to pick up a dictionary but she didn't. Why? The simplicity of the lyrics was meant to match the lazy-esque melody. Something Lana often does.

    How You Get The Girl – Ah, this was refreshing. Take out Max Martin and this song could have easily made the final cut to any of her past albums (assuming she wrote it in ‘07). It sounds the closest to her previous work, groundbreaking? Probably not; appreciated? Very Much Yes.

    This Love – Swift teams up with her Go-To-Guy (and my personal favorite), Nathan Chapman. You can feel the genuine and familiar chemistry between the two, especially after 1:40 mark. If ‘Innocent’ from 2010 had a baby, this would be it.

    I Know Places – Impressive; especially after hearing the voice memo, where you realize that Taylor came up with the melody. I automatically assumed Swift took the back seat on this song when I first heard it but once again, she managed to surprise me.

    Clean – The Best song on the entire record. Big contributor, Imogen Heap did an incredible job. Her distinct sound is evident throughout the song. Clean does exactly what it sets out to do, provide us with a Clear sounding, Mind settling record that evokes the Crispness of Heap’s abilities and favored rawness of Taylor’s voice and her signature Songwriting style.

    Wonderland – Deluxe edition Tracks usually disappoint me but the first track ‘Wonderland’ does what it sets out to do and proves that Swift IS very much capable of re-creating her “I Knew You Were Trouble” success if she wanted to.

    You Are In Love – Every Swift Record has that ONE song that manages to make your heart twist itself in every possible direction all at once. How she enunciates every word, every lyric, the way she purposely quivers her voice. The vulnerability evident from start to finish is why “You Are In Love” makes for a perfect Love song.

    New Romance – What ‘Welcome To New York’ should have sounded like, but didn't. This track screams ‘Rooftop Party Anthem in your Apartment Building.’

    Best of the Bunch: Blank Space, This Love, Clean, New Romance. '1989' proves to be the only pop record this year worthy of going 'Platinum'.
    Expand
  80. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    It's her "first documented, official pop album" and although the many, many Max Martin and Shellback-tailored hooks and synths suggest it contrasts that noughties Nashville country girl with teardrops on her guitar and celebrity ex-boyfriends out in the dog house, it's still Taylor to the core: hanging up on exes and then calling them back to tell them she, well, regrets hanging up onIt's her "first documented, official pop album" and although the many, many Max Martin and Shellback-tailored hooks and synths suggest it contrasts that noughties Nashville country girl with teardrops on her guitar and celebrity ex-boyfriends out in the dog house, it's still Taylor to the core: hanging up on exes and then calling them back to tell them she, well, regrets hanging up on them. It's disguised in contemporary synthpop melodies. But it's sure as hell still there though.

    After scoring her very first number-one on the U.S. Hot 100 with 2012's "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together", it's no surprise that Max Martin and Shellback make an appearance on her anticipated successor--seven times, actually. And as far as contemporary top 40 tunes go, 1989 hardly comes up short. The playfully self-aware "Blank Space" has Swift stirring up her haters' comments about her multitude of alleged celebrity exes and turning them into a whirlwind of irresistibly catchy pick-up lines ("I want the players/And you love the game") and self-confessionals ("'Cause darling, I'm a nightmare dressed like a daydream"). "Style" immediately latches onto the current trend of faux-disco made popular again by French duo Daft Punk and it'll surely land itself onto the profiles of over one million girls on Tumblr with it's instantly quotable chorus ("You got that James Dean daydream look in your eye/I got that red lip classic thing that you like").

    But with any Taylor Swift record, her longest, more vulnerable numbers are her highlights. Though she never quite reaches--or tries to reach--the melodrama found in her previous songs like "Enchanted" or "All Too Well", her collaboration with her longtime co-producer Nathan Chapman on "This Love" comes the closest: electronically manipulated yet twangy guitars backing up Swift's soothing voice singing about "silent screams" and what not. And finally, her hotly anticipated collaboration with English singer-songstress Imogen Heap clocks in at 4-and-a-half minutes of a toy box-esque instrumental and Heap's harmonic backing vocals and sighs decorated with lyrics like "You're still all over me like a wine stained dress I can't wear anymore".

    Her accomplishments of achieving a thoroughly pop album come at a cost though and her weakest links are the filler moments that are squeezed into an overall memorable moment of mainstream music in 2014. The introductory ode to NYC has well-intention lines like "You can want who you want/Boys and boys, and girls and girls", however, safe-pop producer Ryan Tedder's far-too-familiar melodies and almost insultingly impersonal lyricism turns it into one of Swift's most disappointing promotional singles to date. And although anyone on planet earth can tell you over and over again how infectious "Shake It Off" is, that saxophone left in Max Martin's studio from his previous session recording Ariana Grande's "Problem" has become a bit less charismatic this time around.

    1989 is the work of a woman who has already molded herself into pop culture "like a wine stained dress". It's not made to be universally acclaimed. It's experimental. And that's just exactly what an artist does, especially one at the caliber of Swift. Her fans are going to be disappointed in the shortage of her signature vulnerability and her detractors are going to snarl at her tongue-in-cheek continuation of boy-obsessed lyricism. But at the end of the day, there's a song or three you're going to jam to in your car with your friends and there'll be another one or two for the nights you'll spend snuggled up in your teardrop-stained sheets thinking of an ex.
    Expand
  81. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Your faves could never. 10/10 poor everyone.

    Queen of pop and country does it again. You are not ready. So many hymns. Her best bible yet!!!!!!!!!!!
  82. Oct 27, 2014
    9
    I’ll admit. This album is not a masterpiece compared to Taylor Swift’s previous album efforts Red and Speak Now. But I would say that this is Taylor’s happiest album she ever made. I can sense during the entire production of this record, Taylor was in a happier place. Even though she reflected on the times when she was in an upsetting situation when she was writing her songs, she was muchI’ll admit. This album is not a masterpiece compared to Taylor Swift’s previous album efforts Red and Speak Now. But I would say that this is Taylor’s happiest album she ever made. I can sense during the entire production of this record, Taylor was in a happier place. Even though she reflected on the times when she was in an upsetting situation when she was writing her songs, she was much in a happier mood, she is just learning from it and she delivered it through her songwriting.

    Also, this album also reminded me why I loved 80s pop music as well as pop music in general. I can also sense that she is really influenced by the music in the 80s while creating this album. Even though there were a few songs where it’s not quite sounded like the 80s, this album felt like a tribute to the 80s music from Taylor Swift. I guess this is why I love this album because of what type of music influenced Taylor to make this album.

    Taylor’s songwriting in this record felt a bit matured since her previous album Red. What I loved about her songwriting in this record is that even though it’s entirely pop, it still felt like Taylor wrote and sang the songs by heart. Her songs belong to Taylor. Not Ariana, not Rihanna, not Katy Perry and not any other pop artists. These songs belong to Taylor herself and that’s what I loved about this record. It still felt like Taylor despite the musical change.

    The music production of this album is excellently well done. The producers of this record managed to delivered what both Taylor and her fans wanted for this record. This experimental music production gave Taylor another opportunity to step out of her comfort zone and Taylor made the right decision.

    The tracklisting of this album could contribute why it wasn’t a masterpiece in my opinion. It’s still great but it’s not very spectacular compared to Speak Now and Red. The first song Welcome to New York is a perfect song to start off this 80s influenced record. Blank Space, Style, Out of the Woods and All You Had to Do Was Stay were the songs that may be about Harry Styles. Any other songs about love and break-ups in this record could be more of a general point of view from Taylor and it’s not necessarily about Harry Styles Blank Space is one of my favorite songs in the record because Taylor poked fun of herself while also poking fun at the tabloids and this felt very fresh to listen from her. The last three songs in the standard edition of this record is when Taylor gets a bit personal. Overall, I felt like Clean is a nice way to end the record without getting too emotional or too melodramatic.

    The deluxe edition tracks were worth the money. Wonderland felt like her new matured take on one of her older songs Enchanted. You Are In Love is obviously a love song told in a point of view from Taylor about her two friends who are in love with each other. I can tell that this is about Jack Antonoff and Lena Dunham, which the former is one of the producers in this record. I find this really cute to think about. And the last deluxe edition track of this record New Romantics is a great, better way to end the record. It felt really like a classic 80s pop song and it’s one of my favorite tracks in this record.

    Overall, if you’re a Swiftie who is skeptical about this record, don’t expect it to be great as Speak Now or Red but you’re not going to disappointed, rather you will be happy that Taylor is happy in this record. This record is a nice transition for Taylor from country music to pop music. This record is the reason why I love 80s pop and pop music in general.

    The 1989 era is here and Taylor Swift is running the world once again.
    Expand
  83. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    When I heard that she was doing a pure Pop album, I was bit disappointed. After hearing Shake It Off, I had my doubts whether she will be able to leave up to the expectation of delivering a quality pop album. After hearing the album, I can easily say she has surely surpassed my expectations. This record is pure genius. Its Taylor most cohesive and consistent album yet. Wildest Dreams, IWhen I heard that she was doing a pure Pop album, I was bit disappointed. After hearing Shake It Off, I had my doubts whether she will be able to leave up to the expectation of delivering a quality pop album. After hearing the album, I can easily say she has surely surpassed my expectations. This record is pure genius. Its Taylor most cohesive and consistent album yet. Wildest Dreams, I Know Places, Blank Space, Style, Clean, How You Get the Girl, Out of the Woods are simply masterpieces. Even the bonus tracks, Wonderland, You are in Love and New Romantics are superbly crafted. The three voice memos gives a brief glimpses of how Taylor write, composes and produces a melody. Simply speaking This is the Pop record of the Year. Congratulations Taylor for making another well crafted album, you never disappoint. Expand
  84. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Perfect transition from country to pop..

    Songs like Blank Space & I Know Places are extremely wonderful. It's great to see an artist growing in such an excellence like this. Well done Ms. Swift!
  85. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    An amazing and enthralling album. I liked all the songs, I think it was the first album of any artist that happened. Production, sound, lyrics, everything is perfect. People should know better that job and enjoy it all, because it is a wondrous album. Has many songs that we can see the moment how this woman is talented, Wildest Dreams, Style, Blank Space are the best for me.
  86. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Best Pop album of 2014! It's good, fresh, and sound nothing like Taylor Swift have ever done. But at the same time, sound exactly like her. Blank Space, Out Of The Woods and Wildest Dreams are the best ones. Long live Taylor. Haters gonna hate!
  87. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    Best pop album I've heard in the last few years.
    Sounds a little like classic pop of 80 's but still has it's own persona.
    All the songs are extremely catchy and the lyrics are so deep.
    Her vocals just gets better and better over the years.
    Taylor Swift just proved again that she is one of the best artists of the last decade.
  88. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    This is a great album. Taylor shows a new side, maturity and a refreshing attitude towards love, all the whilst singing along to catchy and fresh sounding beats
  89. Feb 18, 2015
    4
    Inconstant album with minimal instrumentals where the ballads are sleepy and the pop tracks are cloying and kind of stupid, showing another bit of the Swift's country essence has gone to **** off. The first track ('Welcome To New York') is very simple and fails out inductive album with his irritating repetition. 'Blank Space' and 'Style' are actually two quite good pop songs, wisely chosenInconstant album with minimal instrumentals where the ballads are sleepy and the pop tracks are cloying and kind of stupid, showing another bit of the Swift's country essence has gone to **** off. The first track ('Welcome To New York') is very simple and fails out inductive album with his irritating repetition. 'Blank Space' and 'Style' are actually two quite good pop songs, wisely chosen as singles, but spoiled by a trivial lyric. 'Out Of The Woods' and 'All You Had To Do Was Stay' sound both like a slightly better version of 'Welcome To New York', and the piano elements in them are appreciable. 'Shake It Off' is as catchy as stupid, and it completely disrupts the relaxing atmosphere barely created with previous tracks. Rest of the album is pretty boring, with 'Bad Blood' as the worst song. Expand
  90. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    After a whole year of back-to-back radio hits, 1989 is, without a doubt, T-Swift's biggest album EVER. Synth-pop sweetness spread throughout an album, but songs that sound completely different from one another, is what makes 1989 so special. Previously hailed as "Princess of Country Pop", Swift sure surprised an entire industry to how slick and sophisticated her first "official,After a whole year of back-to-back radio hits, 1989 is, without a doubt, T-Swift's biggest album EVER. Synth-pop sweetness spread throughout an album, but songs that sound completely different from one another, is what makes 1989 so special. Previously hailed as "Princess of Country Pop", Swift sure surprised an entire industry to how slick and sophisticated her first "official, documented" pop album turned out to be. Lyrically, the album is toned down, compared to songs from "Speak Now" or "RED", which both feature a set of Swift's lyrically powerful songs to date. But that doesn't make it her worst album she's ever wrote. It's actually the opposite because even though she didn't go full detailed with this album, that doesn't mean this isn't her best in forging an album with actual meaning, depth and a hint of playfulness, like her previous albums. The production was another surprise, considering it was mostly done by Max Martin and Shellback. When Max Martin comes to mind, I automatically think of the dozens of generic pop songs that's ruled the radio but surprisingly, he (and Shellback, Ryan Tedder, etc.) helped Taylor achieved an actual pop album that makes sense to her and her fans, and defy the music industry. 1989 was her way of figuring out what she liked and what she didn't liked. And I'm glad I liked what she liked.

    Some highlights would be: "Style", "Out Of The Woods", "All You Had To Do Was Stay", "This Love", "New Romantics"
    Expand
  91. Apr 14, 2017
    5
    Swift presenta un quinto trabajo discográfico totalmente alejado (o casi) de su característico country, y quizá no es el mejor camino que pudo tomar. 1989 es un álbum en su totalidad pop con muestras o influencias de subgéneros del mismo, como synthpop o teen pop; líricamente no va más allá que los típicos temas clichés del pop, como las relaciones amorosas o divertirse con amigos, y enSwift presenta un quinto trabajo discográfico totalmente alejado (o casi) de su característico country, y quizá no es el mejor camino que pudo tomar. 1989 es un álbum en su totalidad pop con muestras o influencias de subgéneros del mismo, como synthpop o teen pop; líricamente no va más allá que los típicos temas clichés del pop, como las relaciones amorosas o divertirse con amigos, y en algunos casos las letras son repetitivas o poco convencionales. Algunas canciones se sienten realmente vacías. Swift no se luce vocalmente en el álbum, no presenta grandes melodías, pero sí un montón de ganchos pegadizos. Lo que hace al álbum uno más del montón es el uso excesivo de clichés y sonidos teen pop, su producción es poco elaborada y está conformada por melodías simples. Temas como ''Bad Blood'' se sienten insípidos, mientras otros como ''Shake It Off'' son un poco irritantes. Y es que el álbum en su mayoría suena igual. Por otro lado temas como ''Clean'' o ''Style'' brillan completamente, muestran una Swift más segura y original. 1989 no es uno de los mejores álbumes del año, pero tampoco de los peores, Swift puede hacer algo mejor, y quizá incursionar en el mundo pop le haga perder la gracia y originalidad que tiene.

    Mejor track: Clean
    Peor track: Bad Blood
    Expand
  92. Jul 18, 2015
    7
    There isn't anything particularly new or special to be found here, but it is a fun enough time and even has one or two tracks that actually have some emotion and hopeful sweetness to them. Aside from that, Taylor Swift's beautiful voice works surprisingly well with the pop beats. Anyone who is into fun and not horridly inappropriate pop music should give this one a listen.
  93. Feb 22, 2016
    6
    I don't even like Taylor swift. But it's not a bad album that I would have expected. Of all the albums of hers that I've listened to with my sister and my girlfriend I dislike this one the least.
  94. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Best mainstream album of the year. It proves to show that a pop album can contain depth as well. Once again, Taylor set herself apart from all the other pop stars by creating a juggernaut album that took over the charts ever since its release.
  95. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    I'm really in love with this Taylor's work , he really showed that she is not only Country , and he can do very well in other genres , an album where even the most boring songs are good, an album where no music can be characterized bad, this album does not contain so-called " farofas music " but songs with real lyrics, and prove that Taylor can get along without writing about relationshipsI'm really in love with this Taylor's work , he really showed that she is not only Country , and he can do very well in other genres , an album where even the most boring songs are good, an album where no music can be characterized bad, this album does not contain so-called " farofas music " but songs with real lyrics, and prove that Taylor can get along without writing about relationships ( with the exception of some songs ) . This album can be characterized one of the best of the year , not only for its quality but also for its sales, even in a year where the industry was " problems / difficulties " did very well with sales
    With this unique work in this genre can already say that Taylor was consecrated in Pop royalty
    This album is incredible
    Congratulations
    Expand
  96. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    she was awesome in country style , but now she blows my mind in pop , she absolutely brings all the experience she got with country to another level in pop , those who criticize this album and put 0 to 3 are surely Katy Perry's fans ( who is Taylor's enemy ) ( personally both are great singer-writer-composer ) so don't let your allegiance disturb your judgement . she fully became matureshe was awesome in country style , but now she blows my mind in pop , she absolutely brings all the experience she got with country to another level in pop , those who criticize this album and put 0 to 3 are surely Katy Perry's fans ( who is Taylor's enemy ) ( personally both are great singer-writer-composer ) so don't let your allegiance disturb your judgement . she fully became mature vocally on this one , awesome Lyrics , Beats fit with each song , very nice sound mixing and some smooth songs to spiced it , this album deserves a 10 for me considering it is her 1st in this kind of music and how she did it . I love you my eternal teenager , stay as you are !!! Expand
  97. Feb 24, 2015
    10
    I've absolutely adored Taylor's previous albums and her whole country sound so when I heard she was releasing a full pop album I was quite disappointed.
    I bought it anyway, and I've got to say, it's her best album yet, in my opinion. It's been out for four months now and I've lost count of how many times I've listened to it since then. 'New Romantics', 'Blank Space', 'Wildest Dreams' and
    I've absolutely adored Taylor's previous albums and her whole country sound so when I heard she was releasing a full pop album I was quite disappointed.
    I bought it anyway, and I've got to say, it's her best album yet, in my opinion. It's been out for four months now and I've lost count of how many times I've listened to it since then. 'New Romantics', 'Blank Space', 'Wildest Dreams' and 'All You Had To Do Was Stay' are the stand out songs for me, but they're all fantastical.
    I'm glad Taylor proved me, and everyone else who doubted the album before release, wrong.
    Expand
  98. IGa
    Jan 31, 2016
    4
    The fun theme suggested by "Shake It Off" and "Blank Space" unfortunately is discouraged by very similar beats and lyrics. Some melodies may even be tasty to hear, but the proposal of the album does not go much beyond music to ex-boyfriends or not very successful attempts to laugh at herself. With the exception of singles like "Shake It Off", "Blank Space" and "Bad Blood" (which can becomeThe fun theme suggested by "Shake It Off" and "Blank Space" unfortunately is discouraged by very similar beats and lyrics. Some melodies may even be tasty to hear, but the proposal of the album does not go much beyond music to ex-boyfriends or not very successful attempts to laugh at herself. With the exception of singles like "Shake It Off", "Blank Space" and "Bad Blood" (which can become extremely annoying without the participation of Kendrick Lamar), the album features tiring derivations of "Style". Expand
  99. Apr 14, 2016
    10
    A flawless album from start to finish, 1989 is a high point in all of pop music. Taylor Swift has outdone herself time and again, and her first foray into pop is no exception. Her vocal abilities have vastly improved since her last album, and Swift uses her new power to its full extent, melding gorgeously with the upbeat, delightful tracks of each song. 1989 will make a Swiftie out of theA flawless album from start to finish, 1989 is a high point in all of pop music. Taylor Swift has outdone herself time and again, and her first foray into pop is no exception. Her vocal abilities have vastly improved since her last album, and Swift uses her new power to its full extent, melding gorgeously with the upbeat, delightful tracks of each song. 1989 will make a Swiftie out of the most pessimistic, jaded listeners! Expand
  100. Jun 4, 2016
    6
    to be honest i prefer her as a country artist than a pop artist but she didn't do such a bad job either. 1989 Is a good album that you listen all day but then you get board with it and never listen to it again.
    my score:
    1.welcome to New York 7/10 2. Blank space 8/10 3. style 5/10 4. out of the woods 7/10 5. all you had to do was stay 6/10 6. shake it off 6/10 7. I wish you would
    to be honest i prefer her as a country artist than a pop artist but she didn't do such a bad job either. 1989 Is a good album that you listen all day but then you get board with it and never listen to it again.
    my score:
    1.welcome to New York 7/10
    2. Blank space 8/10
    3. style 5/10
    4. out of the woods 7/10
    5. all you had to do was stay 6/10
    6. shake it off 6/10
    7. I wish you would 6/10
    8. bad blood 8/10
    9. wildest dreams 7/10
    10. How you get the girl 5/10
    11. this love 7/10
    12. I know places 8/10
    13. clean 7/10
    14. wonderland 7/10
    15.you are in love 7/10
    16. new romantics 8/10
    overall: 68
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 1, 2014
    80
    With 1989 she has succeeded in leveraging the most cordial and familiar of pop music outpourings to something that feels like a statement, a work of note and the sinew of some kind of emotional connective tissue–binding tastemakers, rock critics, guys I work with and my 12 year old cousin; irrevocably and unexpectedly.
  2. Nov 6, 2014
    60
    What stands out more than the production is how consistently solid the album is, and how effective the lyrics and songwriting.
  3. Nov 6, 2014
    60
    1989 is full of cliches, but the truth is that we wouldn't expect them to not be present anyway.