User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    Flatbush ZOMBiES first full-length album proves to be everything that was expected, and more. With the tightly produced tracks that included no samples (apart from self sampling previous tracks of theirs) Erick Arc Elliot develops a production sound that proves to be their own, rather than above average aggressive drug rap instrumentals that were wowing the crowd on their previous twoFlatbush ZOMBiES first full-length album proves to be everything that was expected, and more. With the tightly produced tracks that included no samples (apart from self sampling previous tracks of theirs) Erick Arc Elliot develops a production sound that proves to be their own, rather than above average aggressive drug rap instrumentals that were wowing the crowd on their previous two mixtapes. This is the Zombies as refined as ever, with Meechy Darko bringing dangerous flows with an unprecedented monstrosity to them. As well as Meech, Zombie Juice also ups the ante, bringing vocal melodies like he has never delivered before, as well as an even more cartoonish double-time flow. Erick "The Architect" also brings his usual lyrical prowess with an amazing flow accompaniment that tightly fits the beats that he produces.

    Fav Tracks: This is it, The Odyssey, R.I.P.C.D., Smoke Break, Bounce, Your Favourite Rap Song
    Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2016
    8
    The Flatbush Zombies debut album hits with a certain audience. For me, it was a good experience, featuring rock solid lyricism, storytelling, and some of the greatest rhythms I've heard in a long time.
  3. Mar 28, 2016
    7
    This album had a lot of build-up, and for many fans, I think this album will come through for them. These guys are really comfortable with each other, and I see a very bright future for this group. The rapid wordplay and rhymes are very impressive, but I do think they could touch it up a little bit more, and also put deeper meanings behind their lyrics as well. I think they need to go backThis album had a lot of build-up, and for many fans, I think this album will come through for them. These guys are really comfortable with each other, and I see a very bright future for this group. The rapid wordplay and rhymes are very impressive, but I do think they could touch it up a little bit more, and also put deeper meanings behind their lyrics as well. I think they need to go back and forth more whenever they’re rapping to show even more comfort between themselves, I think that would help them a lot. The production was a bit sloppy a few moments on this project, but I do like the same tone played throughout the album. Also, if you’re a fan of albums with big collaborations and features on it, you won’t really be into it on that specific aspect, but it’s still an enjoyable project. My favorite songs are A Spike Lee Joint, Bounce, and Good Grief, I felt that those outputs really stood out against the other tracks on the album. Some of the weaker songs on the other hand for me were Fly Away, Ascension, and Trade-Off. I feel that this was a project specifically for their die-hard fans, and I do think they have the potential of becoming big in the future. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2016
    9
    88/100. Flatbush Zombies are the best rap trio out there right now and it's because of the production, the verses, and the feel. Nothing else compares and this album does not disappoint.
  5. May 23, 2017
    8
    Great album from a great group although I prefer Better Off Dead this album is still quite nice and i would recommend it to any hiphop fan.

    Best songs: Ascension / New Phone, Who Dis? / Trade-Off
  6. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    Great album from start to finish, no filler songs, great production and excellent raps
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 4, 2016
    80
    An excellent debut that flows perfectly and offers something new with every return.
  2. Mar 22, 2016
    80
    A journey into their liberated, tie-dyed consciousness and their best project to date.
  3. Mar 16, 2016
    72
    3001: A Laced Odyssey does an adequate job of reminding us all of Flatbush Zombies’ smart, sharp lyrics. What they lack in hit-single potential, they make up for in talent, but without a calling-card song it's hard to know what their next move is.