• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jul 22, 2014
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 151
  2. Negative: 60 out of 151
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2015
    0
    Awfullllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
  2. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    Amazing songs, the best teen band. All songs are lovely, and perfect for teenagers. This band is very good, really love it and ALL songs of this album, really good.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    0
    i don't like this album i only like three songs and those songs are trash and the reasons why they're famous and better is beacuse of one direction other than that they have no reasons to be famous
  4. Oct 29, 2015
    1
    The Australian pop rock band's debut has several flaws which make it just awful to listen to. It feels like Green Day, blink-182 and All Time Low thrown into a blender and then mixed with crap. The band is pretty much a boy band with instruments. And that certainly doesn't help my view of this artist and this album.
  5. Jul 27, 2014
    5
    I do not necessarily have something to criticize, but the absence of any trace of originality is striking. Do not expect much, but for a boyband, they should at least entertaining, and well, they do not. They sound silly, only.
  6. Oct 5, 2014
    0
    I'm sorry, but this is an absolutely terrible record. It's shockingly poor. And the band get pissed over the fact they get called a boyband by people? Why don't they just **** hit out at their label and management, it's the way that their marketed which results in them being called that. I mean appearances in teen magazines and having kiddy merchandise out just goes to show my point.I'm sorry, but this is an absolutely terrible record. It's shockingly poor. And the band get pissed over the fact they get called a boyband by people? Why don't they just **** hit out at their label and management, it's the way that their marketed which results in them being called that. I mean appearances in teen magazines and having kiddy merchandise out just goes to show my point. They're only signed to Capitol because of money. The record label bosses are greedy capitalist pigs. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    3
    "5 Seconds of Summer" it's dumb and cliché. It contains generic pop-punk guitars with stupid lines that let you wondering why is this band popular. Oh, right, this is not a band, this is easy marketing.
  8. Jul 22, 2014
    0
    Yet another ridiculous BOYBAND... Even though their fans on Twitter and the band themselves deny they are such, they bloody well are. They're as equal as their contemporaries such as The Vamps in terms of that for instance. They're better than One Direction at the very least, who are indeed utter ****

    The reasons why they're better? They aren't manufactured like 1D and many other
    Yet another ridiculous BOYBAND... Even though their fans on Twitter and the band themselves deny they are such, they bloody well are. They're as equal as their contemporaries such as The Vamps in terms of that for instance. They're better than One Direction at the very least, who are indeed utter ****

    The reasons why they're better? They aren't manufactured like 1D and many other boybands in the last couple of decades. They formed themselves, and at least they write their own songs, although most of these are pretty crap compared to some artists of the current day. The good thing about them is that they play their own Instruments too, unlike 1D. But this just makes hypnotized hyper fangirls on Twitter consider them a band, yet that isn't what they are.

    I would have actually been more generous in my score, but I don't really want the user score to rise too much if I were to be. But one thing that annoys me most is that fangirls will just write 10/10 reviews because they don't know good music when they hear it, like Burart's review for instance. Also, the fact that at time of writing, the user score's on all of One Direction's album's appear to be higher.
    Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2015
    0
    Muita imagem e pouca música boa de verdade. Apesar de inicialmente um pouco melhores que One Direction, os divos australianos do Allan Patrick ainda precisam provar muito mais que não são apenas mais uma modinha passageira.
  10. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    I have never heard a teenage pop-rock band before.at first, I thought that kind of genre is horrible. But now, I have now figured out that It is really awesome. Favorite tracks, All of them. Great job!
  11. Aug 29, 2014
    4
    They said they're like Fall Out Boy? hAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA No. They're okay, just ANOTHER pop/rock boyband. Nothing more.
  12. Feb 6, 2015
    7
    Não dá pra esperar rock pesado de um grupo que quer atingir um público mais jovem.. eles tem influências punk, mesmo que mais leves, mas as músicas são meio que aquilo que se ouve no rádio no verão americano. Eles podem mostrar mais progressos, principalmente pelo fato de já terem mostrado que são ótimos escrevendo canções.
  13. May 13, 2015
    0
    Awfulllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
  14. Jul 22, 2014
    3
    Honestly, this album isn't bad but it sounds like an album from Green Day but in its pop version. The lyrics are good, but... why their fans are saying they're not like One Direction? The lyrics are similar to One Direction's. The only difference between them it's the "punk" way they act and play.
  15. Aug 4, 2014
    5
    Don't let the mock-All Time Low album cover, alleged Blink-182 influences, and Hot Topic era emo inspired looks fool you, 5 Seconds of Summer are as boyband-ish as an Australian foursome could come. That's not just because the current reigning boyband One Direction recommended them either. Pop-punk hasn't aged that kindly in a decade that's so far fascinated by disco, dubstep, andDon't let the mock-All Time Low album cover, alleged Blink-182 influences, and Hot Topic era emo inspired looks fool you, 5 Seconds of Summer are as boyband-ish as an Australian foursome could come. That's not just because the current reigning boyband One Direction recommended them either. Pop-punk hasn't aged that kindly in a decade that's so far fascinated by disco, dubstep, and apparently folk, why are 5SOS so special? The answer is: they're cute. They're more glitter and gloss than glam. The summer hit, "She Looks So Perfect", has some shameless product placement bedazzled right into its chorus ("She looks so perfect standing there in my American Apparel underwear"). But as forgettable as it is formulaic by any standards, pop or "punk" (lol), there is some catchy ear candy every now and then: "Don't Stop" has a hook-heavy chorus you'll be singing for days until it's on the radio again.

    It's not shocking how overly glamorized -- if Kendall Jenner almost calling them their best-friends/archenemies on live television wasn't embarrassing enough for them, the Billboard music awards made a cringeworthy comparison to the success of the Beatles, despite being months shy of having at least one top-twenty -- and how overly hated the band has become in such a short time, but I'll give 'em another year or two before they fade out of existence. It's the kiddie pool of the music industry: it's shallow and it'll entertain the kids until they inevitably grow out of it.
    Expand
  16. Sep 3, 2014
    3
    Even though they qualify as sticky, one can be smart enough to recognize the album as an absolute absence of unity, as provided with as much nauseating, obnoxious, lines as they stuff people's ears with while climbing their way up in the "teenage cliché in its purest form" rank.
  17. Jul 23, 2014
    7
    I never really liked boybands, I never did. But, 5 Seconds of Summer (or as fans call them, 5SOS) got my attention when they performed their lead single “She Looks So Perfect” for their self-titled album on 2014 Billboard Music Awards. I never seen a boy band using instruments on stage and I thought I would give them a try on listening to their album.

    After a lot of procrastinations, I
    I never really liked boybands, I never did. But, 5 Seconds of Summer (or as fans call them, 5SOS) got my attention when they performed their lead single “She Looks So Perfect” for their self-titled album on 2014 Billboard Music Awards. I never seen a boy band using instruments on stage and I thought I would give them a try on listening to their album.

    After a lot of procrastinations, I finally had the time to listen to the album.

    Even if they have more respect than One Direction, it’s not like 5SOS would be a revolutionary boy band. They won’t will never be the next Beatles, don’t get me started. It’s just a miracle we have a boy band in this generation where they don’t just sing and dance on stage, as far as I know.

    While there are moments when 5SOS sounds like another boy band, what makes them different from other boy bands is their “punk pop” sound, which most boy bands these days use EDM pop. It’s refreshing to hear that and they use their punk pop sound really well.

    This album is more of a collection of songs they wrote, but if you dig deeper a little, the theme of the entire album is the joys and downs of being a teenager. I really liked this theme because being a teenager is actually fun (and moody too) but still fun.

    I did mention they use their punk pop sound well, but I wish they would do more creativity for their next album. But this is a nice debut to introduce themselves to the public.

    As for the deluxe edition tracks, it’s like an extension of the entire album. Worth a listen and worth the extra money to buy more songs.

    While I want them to be more creative for their next album, if you want to give a chance on a boyband that plays instruments which I did, go listen to this album. I suggest you should recall your great, joyful teenage moments while you’re listening for added entertainment. Have fun!
    Expand
  18. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    The pop/rock songs with a pop-punk edge that is present throughtout the album with the ocasional ballad thrown in makes this record great for me. I have always appreciated the genre and 5sos manages to pull it off in a way that seems fresh in todays mainstream music with their overly upbeat energy. Although lyrically nothing revolutionary , the slightly edgy instrumentals which manage toThe pop/rock songs with a pop-punk edge that is present throughtout the album with the ocasional ballad thrown in makes this record great for me. I have always appreciated the genre and 5sos manages to pull it off in a way that seems fresh in todays mainstream music with their overly upbeat energy. Although lyrically nothing revolutionary , the slightly edgy instrumentals which manage to remain radio friendly work great for them. Expand
  19. Apr 3, 2015
    7
    fgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgffgdgdgfgfdgf
  20. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    olha só vc que deram zero deem zero pro meu pau esse album merece dezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz vendeu 2 milhoes recalcados reis compre sgfg on itunes
  21. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    very good album i'm impressed, definitely one of the best ones released this year
    long way home, end up here, heartbreak girl, english love affair >>>>
  22. Sep 24, 2014
    5
    When I heard this album came out, I decided to listen to it and I thought it would sound horrible.

    Surprisingly, it's not that bad, but there are some songs too similar to those of One Direction (for example: "She Looks So Perfect", "Amnesia" etc.), but there are songs too similar to Fall Out Boy, Green Day, blink-182 & Fall Out Boy.

    For a boy band, they're ok - not bad, not good. That's it.
  23. Aug 30, 2015
    0
    Bad, just bad. Honestly one of the worst albums I've ever listened to. The only good song on the album is 'Amnesia' but it can't save the album from this review.
  24. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    Esse álbum é muito bom, quem é fifth harmony? são aquelas que fazem um álbum cheio de farofa ruim, me poupe né? 5sos e little mix >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
  25. Aug 25, 2015
    7
    People think they are bad because of being a teen band. This album is nothing new and is just simple rock-pop but is still fresh and good. They are cute teen but it doesn't mean that they're bad, actually they're very talented.
  26. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    very goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
  27. Nov 9, 2014
    5
    Po kjo është një tjetër i përgjithshëm band djalë pop , por ju nuk mund ta mohojnë se shumë prej këngëve në album janë sheqer , mbi të prodhuar , dhe vetëm dua të bëjë që ju të merrni nga vendi juaj dhe valle . Megjithatë, lyrically kjo LP bie banesë me jo më shumë se melodramës ditës TV .

    5/10
  28. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    I think that people are being prejudiced because of the many labels that the media have given them. Personally I find the album to be a pretty good debut album for 4 teens. I must agree that their album is a touch more pop than I would have liked, and perhaps their next album could be a bit grittier, but the songs mostly fall into the pop punk category. I'm writing this as an unbiasedI think that people are being prejudiced because of the many labels that the media have given them. Personally I find the album to be a pretty good debut album for 4 teens. I must agree that their album is a touch more pop than I would have liked, and perhaps their next album could be a bit grittier, but the songs mostly fall into the pop punk category. I'm writing this as an unbiased teenager, and not just some obsessed fangirl.

    'She Looks So Perfect' was probably one of the stronger tracks in the album. The screaming chants, the staccato notes of Michael's guitar, the melodies and Luke Hemmings' vocals are all what pin the song down to be their best selling song so far. True, the lyrics could have been a bit less cliché in various points, but for the most part it really shows the audience the sound of 5SOS and their personality.

    'Don't Stop' I felt was a little less stronger than the previous track, and is a lot more clichéd than it should have been. Had the lyrics been a bit more original, it could have proven to be an even better track, but luckily the general melody saves it from a despairing fate.

    'Good Girls' was one of the better tracks, with some good melodies, some excellent vocals from Michael and some great lyrics. The Sprechgesang was not in their favour, I feel, but the rest was all fantastic. Had this been released as the second single, I feel like this could have easily kept up the momentum that 5SOS were attaining.

    'Kiss Me Kiss Me' was again a bit of a let down but it had its moments. Written with Alex Gaskarth of All Time Low, the chorus is probably its highest point.

    '18' raised up the momentum again, with quirky lyrics such as 'She's got a naughty tattoo in/A place I wanna get to/But my mum still drives me to school' and a gritty guitar riff. Personally, the lyrics are the highest point for me, but otherwise it's a decent song.

    'Everything I Didn't Say' is now entering the break-up song territory, and is filled with emotional lyrics. The only downside is that it's boring. In my opinion, pop punk should catch the listener at first glance. That's the pop part of it. And unless you have the patience to really sit down and listen to it, this isn't the song to quickly get you hooked.

    'Beside You' is practically the same as Everything I Didn't Say. Spawning from the minds behind Amy Meredith, Beside You is too clichéd and a little too boring for me. The only thing that surprised me was the strings section, really.

    'End Up Here' is a little more interesting, with the vocally powerful chorus and self deprecating manner that is so familiar with punk. Its second chorus claps are sure to keep a stadium going and to raise the energy by miles.

    'Long Way Home' features surprising piano chords at the beginning that fit in quite nicely. This one is a little more lyrically rich, which I like, such as 'We're hiding out in a dream/Catching fire like kerosene' But apart from the lyrics and catchy intro, the song is a bit of a let down.

    'Heartbreak Girl' manages to pick it up a little. I believe this was recorded before the actual album and it's pretty catchy. The guitar riff, the whole theme of the song, Heartbreak Girl doesn't disappoint. It would probably have more attention if it was placed a little higher.

    'English Love Affair' is similar to Everything I Didn't Say in that it's not the catchiest at first glance, but it definitely creeps up on you. Once you have the patience to listen to it more than a few times, it gets better and better with every listen, and the edgy lyrics and chants become more and more endearing.

    'Amnesia' is more pop than punk but it doesn't really matter. Penned by the men of Good Charlotte, Amnesia features really beautiful vocals that do showcase the talents of the boys and lyrics that will possibly drive every one of their fan girls crazy. It's a bit of a shame that its not a little punk but really the lyrics and vocals make up for it.

    'Social Casualty' shocked me, as the riff is pretty much 'Sugar, We're Going Down' from Fall Out Boy, which saddened me. They could do a lot better. The lyrics are interesting, but not enough to grip me. Apart from being a little bit of a rip off of Fall Out Boy, this track isn't enough for me.

    'Never Be' only has good lyrics for me, and otherwise, it's boring. Never Be could have done better, but its stuck with some boring melodies. It's an unfortunately low point to be at near the end.

    'Voodoo Doll' features smooth vocals and nice rhythms and honestly, for the deluxe version, it's a good song to end it on. Of course, the acoustic version of Don't Stop is what it ends on, but Voodoo Doll is the last produced song. It's lyrics are generally interesting, its vocals not too shabby and the melodies are quite catchy.

    Overall, the vocals shine through most of the songs, and generally, the punk in the pop punk is clear. The melodies are infectious - sometimes copied - and the lyrics are sometimes clichéd but original. Well done 5SOS
    Expand
  29. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    Álbum maravilhoso, merecia muito mais! 5SOS são os reis do pop rock/pop punk teen, eles são bem emo goticos, com hinos 100% satanicos, bem roqueiros e super conceituais... Eles são borboletas do punk, literalmente, muito punk.
  30. Sep 30, 2015
    7
    Esse CD é realmente muito interessante, ele não é um album excelente, mas possui musicas ótimas, tem algumas musicas descartáveis, mas para um album inicial ele é ótimo. esses meninos estão de parabéns.
  31. Sep 8, 2015
    5
    5 Seconds of Summer is a boyband that could actually play instruments. In this sense, they are a band. Probably because of contributions made by Alex Gaskarth, this self-titled album seems like a poorer imitation of All Time Low, with little to non-existent individuality. With the exception of a few tracks such as She Looks So Perfect and Don't Stop, most of their songs are mediocre at5 Seconds of Summer is a boyband that could actually play instruments. In this sense, they are a band. Probably because of contributions made by Alex Gaskarth, this self-titled album seems like a poorer imitation of All Time Low, with little to non-existent individuality. With the exception of a few tracks such as She Looks So Perfect and Don't Stop, most of their songs are mediocre at best, with lazy composition and forgettable choruses. Despite their apparent blandness, I would still give the album a 5 because of their attempt to reintroduce the punk-rock genre back into the mainstream. Expand
  32. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    they are amazing, please buy sounds good feels good and watch them on youtube, they deserve a lot and i love them so much 5sos eu escolhi te amar bebes
  33. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    this albums is so good for listen when you'e traveling, to sleep, in a party i love them so mushc and love this album, they are so good idols, REISSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
  34. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    É UM AMORRR, AMO MUITO (ao ponto de gastar 35 reais com o deluxe). Opinião de Harmonizer pra mim é irrelevante, por que se elas gostam de um lixo como aqueles, gostar de coisa boa é o que não vão, né?
  35. Mar 6, 2016
    10
    es un buen album.. me encantaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa c:
  36. May 8, 2016
    7
    Bom disco, mas não ótimo, eu amo 5SOS, mas esse disco faltou realidade, só tem história de amor nesse álbum, mas também tem o hino Social Casualty, que mostra bastante o pop-punk que a banda tem, honrando influências de bandas como Green Day, blink-182 e All Time Low.
  37. Feb 16, 2017
    7
    This review might end up being a bit fangirly because 5 Seconds of Summer are really THE band in my life. Their voices just calm me, I love them so whatever they sing I am a fan of it I guess. But this album is truly not the best thing they could have come up with. Some of the songs are my absolute favorites but other I sometimes don't find that good. This album isn't flawless. It has gotThis review might end up being a bit fangirly because 5 Seconds of Summer are really THE band in my life. Their voices just calm me, I love them so whatever they sing I am a fan of it I guess. But this album is truly not the best thing they could have come up with. Some of the songs are my absolute favorites but other I sometimes don't find that good. This album isn't flawless. It has got so many flaws but considering that this came out of 17-year-olds I can't say that I expected more. Expand
  38. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    5 Seconds of Summer has become my favorite band and one of my top 5 favorite musical performers of all time. This is one of my top 5 favorite albums of 2014 and one of my favorite albums of all time. I loved all of the videos and they were all very fun and done well. I loved the album cover. The songs I loved the most were Amnesia, She Looks So Perfect, Good Girls, Beside You, Kiss Me Kiss5 Seconds of Summer has become my favorite band and one of my top 5 favorite musical performers of all time. This is one of my top 5 favorite albums of 2014 and one of my favorite albums of all time. I loved all of the videos and they were all very fun and done well. I loved the album cover. The songs I loved the most were Amnesia, She Looks So Perfect, Good Girls, Beside You, Kiss Me Kiss Me, Don't Stop, and English Love Affair. Expand
  39. Jan 14, 2018
    7
    The 5SOS boys didn't developed their debut album along with their purpose of a pop-rock band, but it was their introduction in the pop industry, while they were only teenagers. Their lyrics are composed by themselves and they play their own instruments, differently of boybands like One Direction or The Vamps, and that really shows the quality of the the band as musicians.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    63
    Hemmings and his bandmates match these frank admissions with music that’s equally straightforward.
  2. Kerrang!
    Jul 23, 2014
    60
    Although everything is rendered with a high-shine gloss and sanitised precision that makes it more saccharine than Sex Pistols, there's still an enjoyment to be had on a basic level. [5 Jul 2014, p.53]
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    81
    Overall, 5 Seconds of Summer is a delightful debut from a group that cannot be easily pigeonholed, and is worth paying attention to.