Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Feb 19, 2021
    82
    Wild Pink’s third full length sees them at their most fluent, achieving a compositional and performative apex.
  2. Feb 22, 2021
    76
    If A Billion Little Lights doesn't always awe quite like it should, given its considerable zeal and craftsmanship, it's because of that familiarity. The album has a big heart and big ambitions to match. The only thing missing is the very thing these songs long for the most: the thrill of discovery.
  3. Feb 22, 2021
    70
    He's faithful to his musical vision, even as he expands its scope, though there's a fair degree of sameness throughout that makes it a somewhat monochrome listen. Still, it never feels like a chore to weave through Ross' honest, personal songwriting.
  4. Uncut
    Feb 19, 2021
    70
    Lyrical references to stargazing, sprawling jasmine and the passage of time paint a picture of the infinite, and our small place in it, that is heightened by the band's soaring melodies. [Mar 2021, p.39]
  5. Feb 19, 2021
    70
    While A Billion Little Lights as a whole is not as elegantly cohesive as Wild Pink's past work, the starry-eyed melodies shine stronger and more confidently than ever.
  6. Feb 25, 2021
    60
    The melodies go exactly where you want them to, as do the emotional beats, resulting in a lovely travelogue that avoids steering down any seasonal roads, and in doing so quickly fades from memory.
  7. 60
    The execution isn’t quite perfect - at times, you can feel the record trying, as if it’s labouring under its own weight. But the band, and particularly Ross, deliver it with such honesty that that much can be forgiven.
  8. Feb 19, 2021
    60
    A Billion Little Lights is a good album when heard in isolation, but it pales in comparison to those albums that inspired its creation.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 23, 2021
    10
    I'd been waiting for this to come out since the video for The Shining But Tropical starring Annie Murphy dropped. I'm blown away. Each songI'd been waiting for this to come out since the video for The Shining But Tropical starring Annie Murphy dropped. I'm blown away. Each song has wow moments and details that get better with every listen. I need live music back, can't wait to see these songs in a proper venue with all the added instruments Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2021
    10
    If I could only describe this album in one word it would be lush. The layering sounds both meticulous & effortless, and the lyrics are topIf I could only describe this album in one word it would be lush. The layering sounds both meticulous & effortless, and the lyrics are top notch. It is instantly appealing with catchy tunes and melodies, but repeat spins also reveal new treasures you missed the previous go-rounds. Perfect for a long drive, a cold day shuttered indoors, or a pontoon boat on a lazy summer afternoon. This will be hard to top for me in 2021 and it's only February Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2021
    0
    I’m really not enjoying this album AT ALL. How is this the highest rated album