User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 198
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    If you’re intentionally tanking this album’s score, grow up. Taylor, Ariana, or whoever your “fave” is would be horrified to learn you’re using their name to tear down other women.
  2. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    here, angel olsen proves that she is an icon indie musician on this decade. for me, this is the continuation of my woman, a powerful and cohesive record with simple lyrics but they really are
    strong, raw and even ambiguous. the mix of the album accompanies this in points of being even scary, that perfectly embodies the album. maybe this is the album of the year.
  3. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece, album of the year contender, the arrangements and her vocals are other worldly
  4. Oct 5, 2019
    9
    Not consistent enough to be a perfect album, but strong enough to be an excellent album. Angel Olsen isn't Adele rip-off, or someone who'll top the charts. She is unique, super talented and more so she just made this album better than most of the mainstream, even better than any of her catalog. All Mirrors is a pure indie pop gem with slight, inconsiderable amount of dullness.
  5. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Pretty shameful to see the swifties rating this masterpiece with a zero only because their fave can't do something like this
  6. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Seriously? People are ripping on this album and comparing it to Lover by TS? Get the **** out. Stop talking about who has “the” album of the year and realize all of these artists are in completely different fields. So if you don’t like this go listen to Lover and drink your cotton candy-blended drinks. Now if you want to listen to one of the most innovative artists of our time, stay here!Seriously? People are ripping on this album and comparing it to Lover by TS? Get the **** out. Stop talking about who has “the” album of the year and realize all of these artists are in completely different fields. So if you don’t like this go listen to Lover and drink your cotton candy-blended drinks. Now if you want to listen to one of the most innovative artists of our time, stay here! This album is cool! Elusive and instrumentally experimental! Takes you somewhere else. Between this and Lana’s album, this has been an amazing season for albums, in my opinion. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    this album is great, sad how “stans” of other artists are mad because this is getting a high score, grow up.
  8. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Beautifully made. I thought it would be difficult to surpass My Woman, but I think she just might have.
  9. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece that doesn't deserve this hateful and surreal reviews from generic popstars fandoms. This is a well-crafted pop album that stands as the best of Olsen's career and one of the best of the year along with Titanic Rising and NFR!
  10. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Wow. This album is so amazing. The strings are a beautiful addition. I loved all the songs and I have nothing but great things to say about it! I’ve started to try and make my own music and Angel is one of the very few artists I look up too! Her lyrics are truly amazing and I hope to be a great artist and songwriter like her one day! Can’t wait to see her in December!
  11. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    her best album yet. maybe if y’all actually listened to the album you’d think twice about giving it a 0. stay pressed swifties
  12. Oct 4, 2019
    8
    It's quite an incredible pop album in my opinion. Certainly one that stands out for me this year as well as at least getting into the top 50 albums of the decade for sure. Absolutely enamored by it. Great job, Angel!
  13. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Really an amazing album, stands right up there with My Woman. The people tanking the score aren't even trying to hide that their reviews are not constructive at all. Middle school marching band with shouts and moans? Does anyone really hear that? If Metacritic scores really mean that much to you, it must really hurt to see Taylor Swift fail to break out of that 78-80 range...
  14. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Her best record yet! The production is sublime and her voice sounds better than ever.
  15. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    AOTY Angel has shown growth and is probably going to be remembered decades on
  16. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    how can this have only 5,9 in the user score? this website is full of little kids who only listen to taylor swift. no wonder why she said "hey kids spelling is fun " lmao
  17. Oct 10, 2019
    10
    What an extraordinarily beautiful album. I came to Angel Olson through her fantastic Shut Up, Kiss Me (thanks iTunes for recommending her to me) but I found "My Woman" to be better than the sum of its parts. The first half was excellent but it kind of lost me when the second half of the album kicked in.

    What Angel Olson (and her producer John Congleton, Ben Babbitt and Jherek Bischoff)
    What an extraordinarily beautiful album. I came to Angel Olson through her fantastic Shut Up, Kiss Me (thanks iTunes for recommending her to me) but I found "My Woman" to be better than the sum of its parts. The first half was excellent but it kind of lost me when the second half of the album kicked in.

    What Angel Olson (and her producer John Congleton, Ben Babbitt and Jherek Bischoff) have created here is other-worldly. From the way the songs are structured, to the mature lyrics that appeal to the more literate of us, to the sublime symphonic orchestrations and strings and then finally to the synths that can revive a failing heart, Angel Olsen is now my most favorite person on this very planet.

    Personally, after having this album on repeat for a week, they have created an aural experience that will soon move out of the realms of masterpiece and into legendary status to join the only other 6 albums that occupy this list for me:-

    1. Vespertine (Björk)
    2. Have You In My Wilderness (Julia Holter)
    3. All Mirrors (Angel Olsen)
    4. Vulnicura (Björk)
    5. In Rainbows (Radiohead)
    6. About U / Saves the World (MUNA)
    7. Chris (Christine and the Queens)

    Well done Angel, you are now in an elite group of musicians I keep a very close eye on and whose new music I anticipate with the thrall of a young child on the night before Christmas and who I will spare no expense to see perform live

    All things considered, this has been an incredibly strong decade for really good music. While i have no doubts that Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Katy Perry deserve their place in popular music, their jams are just not for me but I can appreciate that they tailor to a certain segment that fawns and adores them. If you want to find me. This is where I am at.

    Personal favorites : Lark, All Mirrors, Tonight, Chance, New Lovers Casette (although the entire album is fantastic as there are no real misfires on this one).

    i have to shout out to "Tonight" though. That song with its violin's, viola's and cello's brings me to tears near the end much like the synths and electronic strings in Björk's "Family" from Vulnicura (which for me personally is her best song).
    Expand
  18. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    If immature stans could stop hijacking this album's user score for petty reasons, that would be great. Anyway: this is Angel Olsen's best and richest record so far. Such a beautiful expansion of her characteristic style, the strings are splendid. Deserves all the praise it's been getting.
  19. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    This is a baptism of love and emotions. Just the string arrangement itself will blow your mind and make all your “idols” ashamed of making generic pop fillers. Grow up kids, it’s time to learn to accept love and appreciate the art, enough for the spelling game.
  20. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    A Masterpiece, Album Of The Year, This Is Art and Magnific excellent music, total
  21. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Seems that some Ariana stans are pressed here for giving the lowest score to this absolute masterpiece. Get a life and some taste I guess
  22. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    One of the best albums this year. Beautiful, lush musical backdrops and absorbing lyricism that’s always changing itself up.
  23. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Her best album yet. This woman is doing incredible and unique things. This new album
    Is no exception.
  24. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    Perfect, a marsterpiece album, this album is a fine example of perfect piece of art.
  25. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    Near perfection. She's pushing herself musically and the results are haunting and beautiful.
  26. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some of the best production on a record i’ve heard in a long time. Her vocal skill has improved immensely as well ! Her best record by far. Expand
  27. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    Complete masterpiece. Cohesive, ripe and delicate. The best album of her career.
  28. Oct 6, 2019
    8
    After her critically acclaimed 4th Album 'My Women' I was curious what direction she would go for with the follow up LP.

    All Mirrors shows a side of Olsen all sets of music lovers can appreciate. A well balanced album with pop roots but still manages to capture the audience with the nostalgic arrangements and her vocal delivery. The production on this LP is amazing. The synth leads and
    After her critically acclaimed 4th Album 'My Women' I was curious what direction she would go for with the follow up LP.

    All Mirrors shows a side of Olsen all sets of music lovers can appreciate. A well balanced album with pop roots but still manages to capture the audience with the nostalgic arrangements and her vocal delivery.

    The production on this LP is amazing.
    The synth leads and the layering of vocals in union with the arrangements really set a dark ambience on the record.

    Olsen always finds a way to reinvent herself and this record is one example of that.

    a bold and powerful record
    Expand
  29. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    To be honest, this album is the first one I’ve ever heard from her discography. But I’m so impressed with lyrics and especially music production. Can’t find words to describe how much this record impressed me and it’s just a pure pleasure to listen. Big shout out to Pitchfork for introducing me to this magical women!
  30. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Favorite album of the year so far! Brilliant and deeply emotional. Angel has evolved her sound in ways I couldn't have imagined!
  31. Oct 9, 2019
    5
    I don't hear the hype around this album. I like MY WOMAN, and I'm open to see Olsen evolve as an artist. But I've listened to this thing 3 times now and I've just come to acknowledge that it's a pretty drab listen. I get that it's gothic and a more low-key effort this time around. Maybe there's something to marvel at within the details. I mean the production value sounds lavish and mulledI don't hear the hype around this album. I like MY WOMAN, and I'm open to see Olsen evolve as an artist. But I've listened to this thing 3 times now and I've just come to acknowledge that it's a pretty drab listen. I get that it's gothic and a more low-key effort this time around. Maybe there's something to marvel at within the details. I mean the production value sounds lavish and mulled over. Its probably worth multiple listens. It's probably her lyrics that are the selling point here as she's big on that female empowerment wave. Either way, the first three listens felt like a slog. I'm gonna try again, as there has to be something else of note here. Expand
  32. Oct 4, 2019
    4
    I should have know when Pitchfork gave it a good review it would be boring and unlistenable. It’s like every time they write a review they ask themselves, if the music sucks and if it sucks, they give it a good review while they give good music mediocre or bad reviews. Lark sounds disorganized shouts and moans set to middle school band practice.
  33. Oct 4, 2019
    0
    This is the perfect description of how not to make an album. So generic y basic, sorry i did not like it.
  34. Oct 5, 2019
    3
    the old creatively was original now it's time to earn money and another copy Adele come into the world.
  35. Oct 14, 2019
    0
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울 생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
    생중계카지노세종(乐⌠ OPPA3。COM ⌡乐)생중계카지노서울
  36. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This is an absolute masterpiece and the best album to come out in at least two years. Taylor Swift has the saddest fan base in music.
  37. Oct 17, 2019
    9
    On All Mirrors, the woodsy, echoing folk-rock of Wolf Alice meets sharp, stringed instrumentals, gritty mid-90s punk, and 1960’s melodic tendencies to form a dreamy and captivating listen — a perfect “cloudy-day, stay-in, pour some tea” LP. There’s hints of The Beatles, Grimes, and Hole, but with these influences channeled through her own voice, Angel Olsen has created a truly uniqueOn All Mirrors, the woodsy, echoing folk-rock of Wolf Alice meets sharp, stringed instrumentals, gritty mid-90s punk, and 1960’s melodic tendencies to form a dreamy and captivating listen — a perfect “cloudy-day, stay-in, pour some tea” LP. There’s hints of The Beatles, Grimes, and Hole, but with these influences channeled through her own voice, Angel Olsen has created a truly unique record and truly unique statement that is one of 2019’s strongest musical offerings. Expand
  38. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Amazing! The best album of the year!!! Extremely emotional, complex and poetic! Angel Olsen always perfect!
  39. Oct 5, 2019
    9
    One of the albums of the year for sure. Angel is a masterful songwriter who brings something fresh to the table with every album. She expands upon her wistful sound even further on her fourth full-length, bringing baroque pop vibes to the foreground. Tracks like "Spring" and "What It Is" prove that she can evoke influences such as The Beach Boys and Sparks and whip them up into somethingOne of the albums of the year for sure. Angel is a masterful songwriter who brings something fresh to the table with every album. She expands upon her wistful sound even further on her fourth full-length, bringing baroque pop vibes to the foreground. Tracks like "Spring" and "What It Is" prove that she can evoke influences such as The Beach Boys and Sparks and whip them up into something magical, with excellent lyricism to boot. This once more proves that Angel Olsen is one of the most important songwriters of this era.

    On a separate note, why are people giving this album such a low score? She doesn't deserve this low of a user score, I'm very confused...
    Expand
  40. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Estou em êxtase, depois de Norman **** Rockwell esse álbum me fez delirar.
  41. Oct 13, 2019
    10
    A truly masterpiece. Angel Olsen pulled out one of the best albums of my life. I tend to do walks in parks to listen new albums and when Tonight played tears start falling fro my eyes while the Autumn leaves were falling, pushed by the wind. It was truly a magic moment to me.
    We tend to relate more when the music mimics our momentary feelings and maybe that's way it moved me to much. The
    A truly masterpiece. Angel Olsen pulled out one of the best albums of my life. I tend to do walks in parks to listen new albums and when Tonight played tears start falling fro my eyes while the Autumn leaves were falling, pushed by the wind. It was truly a magic moment to me.
    We tend to relate more when the music mimics our momentary feelings and maybe that's way it moved me to much. The strings are magnificent, coming forward and backward on each music to give space to words and sentiments, making it a moment between Rock and Classic (it was a moment that remembered me of Homogenic from Bjork, the way two different spaced mixed so well in a rare moment).
    I've read some of the negative comments and I was shocked in seeing so many people hating the album. For me, it's her best yet and I'm profoundly in love.
    Expand
  42. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Perfección, del track 1 al 11 angel nos brinda un álbum acogedor, melancólico y misterioso, me alegro mucho que sigan lanzando discos así en una era en donde el mainstream y auto-tune es más importante que un verdadero talento
  43. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Say hello to the album of the year! No point in crying Swifties and Arianators, your low ratings will not affect in anything! Stop thinking that your favorites are better than the rest of the world.
  44. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Taylor Swift and Ariana Grande combined don't have the talent that exists in Angel Olsen's pinky toe
  45. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Perfeito, apenas isso. Um álbum com letras incríveis pensadas nos mínimos detalhes.
  46. irs
    Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Fantastic album! Angel Olsen definitely shoot high for this one and it really went paid off! The strings arrangements and synths all over the album came really great with the great sadness that inspired the songs, while also not losing Olsen's original folk sound form her previous albums. AOTY to me for sure!
  47. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This is my new favorite thing in the entire universe. So soft and sweet, yet at times so demanding and powerful. Angel Olsen is an artist to keep an eye out for.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 15, 2019
    92
    Olsen has created an undeniable stunner that should go down as one of the strongest folk albums of the year.
  2. Oct 15, 2019
    90
    All Mirrors belongs in the canon of essential break-up albums, but more Exile in Guyville than Rumours or Blue. ... The resulting instrumentation is impressively cohesive and resoundingly huge.
  3. Oct 14, 2019
    80
    The one-time folkie’s fourth album exorcises romantic demons by taking another bold leap forward.