• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2015
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 11, 2015
    50
    Four-and-a-half decades on from the original band’s formation, Lynne’s voice is as warm and comforting as ever, his ear for a hook still sharp and his production is as shiny and gorgeous as a celebrity model’s hair from a shampoo advert. But still, there’s something missing.
  2. Dec 15, 2015
    50
    The best of these 10 tidy songs are fun and uncannily recognizable, even the first time you hear them, as songs by Lynne. The worst are still uncanny, but less hooky, and earn the biggest insult you can throw at any ELO song: They're colorless.
  3. Nov 19, 2015
    60
    Alone in the Universe bobs along pleasantly, but you can’t help but notice the lack of any song as strong as Mr Blue Sky, Don’t Bring Me Down or Livin’ Thing.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    I thought this album was very instant and there wasn't a song that I didn't like on first playing. Normally there's one or two song on pastI thought this album was very instant and there wasn't a song that I didn't like on first playing. Normally there's one or two song on past ELO albums that have had to grow on me but this one was a winner right away. Over time I suspect it will be a real favourite with ELO fans. It's taken different elements from different phases in Jeff Lynne's style development and blended them into a very pleasing album. My only criticism is that it is too short - but, I'd rather that than a CD that outstays it's welcome. Definitely get the deluxe edition though, the extra tracks are good and it makes for a better length of album. Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2015
    8
    "When I Was a Boy" is perhaps Lynne's best song ever. Most ELO songs, beautiful as they may be with harmonies and orchestral arrangements"When I Was a Boy" is perhaps Lynne's best song ever. Most ELO songs, beautiful as they may be with harmonies and orchestral arrangements mixed with rock guitars, have no real meaning, but this song does, and it's touching and very, very catchy, and beautiful. Not sure about the other songs, save for "Ain't It a Drag," another nice one! But, "When I Was a Boy" is like a masterpiece in 3 minutes, so it's hard to compete with. It's not New World Record or Face the Music, but f you love Lynne, and ELO, you'll have to have this, too. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    I have just bought and listened to this album (Alone in the Universe).
    At 67 I still love Jeff Lynns music, some songs I like more than
    I have just bought and listened to this album (Alone in the Universe).
    At 67 I still love Jeff Lynns music, some songs I like more than others but their is not a bad song.
    Well done Jeff and thank you, a really good album that sits well aside the others.
    I think some of these lyrics may be about Jeff Lynns experience of life and I am sure the lyrics will strike many a chord with the listening public.
    10 out of 10 from me.
    Judd123 on the 19th of November 2015 at 15.55 hours.
    Merry Christmas to you all.
    Full Review »