• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Aug 10, 2004
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DougR
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    this album is great idont know what every one elsem is saying but its good. i mean its not thier best album but no mobb deep album can be bad.
  2. JK
    Feb 5, 2005
    9
    Wicked album, amazing beats, amazing flow.
  3. VinceH.
    Sep 11, 2004
    3
    I have been a harcore Mobb Deep fan since I heard "Hell on Earth" in 1998 at my friend's house. I have all their albums and have seen them twice in concert. So I do consider myself a pretty big fan. Overall this album is not the return to form I was hoping for. A lot of these songs just sound like leftovers or contiunations of stuff off "Infamy" and the mix-tape CD. I realize they I have been a harcore Mobb Deep fan since I heard "Hell on Earth" in 1998 at my friend's house. I have all their albums and have seen them twice in concert. So I do consider myself a pretty big fan. Overall this album is not the return to form I was hoping for. A lot of these songs just sound like leftovers or contiunations of stuff off "Infamy" and the mix-tape CD. I realize they will never make another "Murda Muzik" (still their masterpiece and one of the best hip-hop albums of the 90's) or "Infamous", I was expecting better. Alchemists's production is, except a few standouts, pretty bland and nowhere near as strong as his old stuff like the beats he did for the Prodigy solo album and his Dilated Peoples/underground beats. Havoc needs to try some new things in the studio cause the production is really getting repetitive and Prodigy (who has always been the more lyrically adept of the two) is not impressing me as of late. Overall, there are really no memorable tracks and the whole album merely passes through time offering no rewards or interesting songs. Still like 'em though. Expand
  4. sens
    Apr 5, 2005
    3
    Compare this album to Infamous or something and it's plain for all to see which is better. Overall I was not impressed, and was hoping for something much more... the whole thing is just a bit bland... there's nothing that really sets it apart from a ton of other similar sounding albums.. they even have the track featuring Lil' Jon which seems almost mandatory these days or Compare this album to Infamous or something and it's plain for all to see which is better. Overall I was not impressed, and was hoping for something much more... the whole thing is just a bit bland... there's nothing that really sets it apart from a ton of other similar sounding albums.. they even have the track featuring Lil' Jon which seems almost mandatory these days or something... Bottom Line: Unless you are a really big Mobb Deep fan, don't bother... go and listen to Infamous or something... cos this is pretty bland and doesn't come close to the genius of some of their earlier albums, which is a pity. Expand
  5. alexc
    Mar 9, 2005
    8
    not like their classics but mobb deep is still one of the most slept on groups in hip hop. this is what hip hop should sound like
  6. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.5/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. While it's got to be said 'Amerika's Nightmare' certainly has its moments over the space of a complete album the familiar themes and reference points start to feel a shade tired and predictable.
  2. Blender
    60
    Where they once spun enveloping hood verite, here they just list gangsta signifiers without building a world from them. [Aug 2004, p.136]
  3. There are songs on here so thorough and ill they'll send a chill down your spine and raise the hair on your neck.