User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
An  Introduction to Elliott Smith Image

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

  • Summary: The compilation contains tracks from the Heatmiser singer's previous eight solo albums.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Kill Rock Stars
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Lo-Fi, Indie Pop, Alternative Singer/Songwriter, Sadcore
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Between the Bars
Drink up baby, stay up all night With the things you could do You won't but you might The potential you'll be that you'll never see The promises... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    An Introduction to Elliott Smith constitutes a worthy glimpse and gateway into a discography that has enchanted so many over the years. There are 14 songs here; 14 finer you'll seldom hear.
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    It's a fine starting point for someone looking to discover Smith, but even if you have all his albums, it serves as a greatest-hits collection of sorts and only confirms just how awful not having him here truly is.
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    he point is that there are lots of people who haven't yet had the occasion to discover Elliott Smith, and ultimately this gives them a chance to scratch away at the bittersweet reality of his work, at how conflicted he sounded, at how bitterly unresolved his career remains, and how every single song still somehow feels like both a confection and a dagger.
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    Smith remains stubbornly entrenched in a perpetual slough of despond. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem he had much to laugh about during his short, unhappy life, but over an entire record, his maudlin musings are rather hard work for all but the most introspective of listeners.
  5. Q Magazine
    Dec 20, 2010
    Like so much of his troubled catalogue, it disarms you with its beauty. [Dec 2010, p.124]
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    By concentrating heavily on this former and earlier part of Elliott Smith's career, the compilers of An Introduction To... have gathered some of his best songs into a starkly beautiful and coherent album.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    An Introduction to Elliott Smith [is] a compilation that maybe would have made some sense in 1998 but has no place in 2010.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of