Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Oct 14, 2014
    88
    Whether imitation is truly the sincerest form of flattery―and other cliches―as it pertains to this third album in the Foxygen catalog is up for debate. If it’s some secret genius, the jury is still decidedly out. Either way, you’ll want to hear this one for yourself.
  2. Mojo
    Nov 6, 2014
    80
    Their star power indeed might be largely borrowed, but they wear it well. [Nov 2014, p.98]
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    The only sore-thumb is lead single ‘How Can You Really’, which feels far too polished for the lo-fi and experimental feel of the album. Apart from that, though, this is a record of magnificent magnitude and one that’s audacious as hell.
  4. Oct 2, 2014
    80
    The album's third side, titled "Scream: Journey Through Hell," isn't quite that, but it's a mostly abrasive collage of disjointed hard-rock riffs that provide only very intermittent pleasures. In one sense, that stretch of music is a detriment to an otherwise astonishing piece of work; in another, like so many double albums of the past, it's all part of the ride.
  5. Oct 2, 2014
    80
    Its songwriting and overall conceptualising is definitely miles above the duo's experimental adolescent triple album. ...And Star Power is not an album - it's an out-of-body experience.
  6. Oct 15, 2014
    75
    The album is full of all kinds of ideas, some magnificent, some raw, but always ideas showing a band looking for new ways to express themselves.
  7. Oct 13, 2014
    70
    In its most fully realized moments, ...And Star Power is the album Todd Rundgren could’ve released between Something/Anything? and A Wizard, a True Star, its best songs striking an uncanny balance between the exquisite balladry of the former and the progged-out fantasias of the latter.
  8. Oct 2, 2014
    70
    It's not as immediately rewarding as Ambassadors, and at times can feel a bit self-indulgent. But It's hard to fault them, because listening to Star Power gives uou the sense that they accomplished exactly what they set out to do. [Sep/Oct 2014, p.75]
  9. 67
    Star Power overwhelms with its personality, one that takes on a wildly different but equally zealous form every three minutes, one that’s exciting for a long while before suddenly making you want to shelve it for a longer while.
  10. Oct 16, 2014
    60
    For all the psychedelic brilliance, though, there is just as much noisy, self-impressed jamming that could have used editing.
  11. Oct 10, 2014
    60
    This new record still finds them wavering. By not taking a side, they fall flat in the middle.
  12. Q Magazine
    Oct 3, 2014
    60
    Willfully meandering yes, but it's an enjoyable shambolic ride that bottles early Pink Floyd, Skip Spence's cracked psych-folk and the ragged majesty of the Stones' own magnum opus. [Nov 2014, p.111]
  13. Oct 21, 2014
    50
    An 82-minute combo plate of half-finished songs, choruses unmoored from verses, bursts of skyscraping beauty and long passages of sonic murk, all vaguely redolent of the Rolling Stones and Jesus Christ Superstar.
  14. Oct 15, 2014
    50
    For a project that’s all about adding more and more dimensions to the Foxygen experience, something pretty basic but essential is missing here, the core of an identity for the band making the music.
  15. Oct 14, 2014
    50
    ...And Star Power is scattered, often silly and mostly inconsequential.
  16. 50
    A misstep, to be sure, but even more troubling is that Foxygen have distended from tight, trim retro-pop to unkempt, unfocused conceptual goo in less than two years.
  17. 50
    ...And Star Power is the sound of record-collection rock having a nervous breakdown.
  18. Oct 13, 2014
    50
    Unfortunately, the final product often feels joyless and manic, and many listeners may give up before sitting through the entire beast.
  19. Oct 9, 2014
    50
    This behemoth double LP is a risk that just hasn’t paid off.
  20. 50
    As it stands though, Foxygen bit off more than they can chew, leaving ...And Star Power as an occasionally interesting failed experiment.
  21. Oct 13, 2014
    40
    This is a mostly meandering, unfocused collection of half-finished sketches.
  22. Oct 13, 2014
    40
    A victory for self-indulgence over quality control.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. bji
    Oct 16, 2014
    10
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums I've listened to in the past few years and worth checking out. There is lots to like.

    Much
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums I've listened to in the past few years and worth checking out. There is lots to like.

    Much of the criticism seems to be centered on the side 3 tracks - its certainly not as bad as people are saying and this section does give the album a sense of flow right through to the final two tracks. Also interested that no one has picked up on how the later half of "Brooklyn Police Station" (also on side 3) essentially rips off Brian Jonestown Massacre's "Here it comes"...

    All aside, the album's imperfections - and let's be honest we are talking about a double album here (Revolution No. 9 isn't exactly a fan favorite on the White Album) - actually help make it great.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2018
    10
    lo fi masterpiece. songs like Brooklyn Police Station, Cosmic Vibrations, and You & I are among their best.
  3. Dec 25, 2016
    0
    This is one of the worst albums I've heard this decade. I've never been a huge Foxygen fan (or just a Foxygen fan), but I've got to enjoy someThis is one of the worst albums I've heard this decade. I've never been a huge Foxygen fan (or just a Foxygen fan), but I've got to enjoy some of their creations in the past. Their 2012 EP was interesting, and kept me interested to see what they would do in the future. Their 2013 album (that has a long title that I cannot bother to write here) was decent. I liked it, but not as much as their 2012 EP. The album still showed some hope in Foxygen, and still kept me excited for the future.
    Now this album almost drains every hope that I had in this band away. From overstretched ideas, huge chunks of filler, forgettable songs and horrendous songwriting, this album is truly dreadful. The best track in this album is the seventeeth track here, which kicks off with a lo-fi vocal sample and then proceeds to a noisy drone piece. And that drone piece is actually the best moment in the entire album. The entire track isn't great, since its start is rocky and its ending is not the greatest as well. But it is certainly the best track here.
    The rest of the album is absolutely horrendous. It is one of those albums that is so bad that it's intriguing. You should not listen to it. I don't recommend you to listen to it.
    Full Review »