• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2003
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrandonV
    Jun 19, 2003
    0
    terrible, boring. what a yawn
  2. jordans
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    cave in kills me
  3. MaraO
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    I like Cave In a lot, and this album is really great, my favorites.. anchor and jupiter
  4. jorisV.
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    It sounds clean, and I don't care with such great songs. Joy Opposites brings the songcraft of Radiohead to mind, Inspire would be a hitsingle in a perfect world and Lost In The Air reminds me of Smashing Pumpkins' "Muzzle"... But in fact the whole album is a gem
  5. MEANS
    Sep 25, 2003
    9
    this album rocks, it is not as spacey as jupiter and not as happy as tides of tomorrow. all 3 are great albums however, better than most of the crap out there today
  6. JayS
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    I have and will most likely always be a cave in fan. Brodsky and the boys have done an amaing job with this cd. quite possiblytheir best yet.
  7. BrianM
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    Excellent album . . . they have quickly become one of my favorite bands. Also get Jupiter and Tides of Tomorrow.
  8. Chris
    Aug 24, 2004
    7
    This album would get a 10 if it was unpolished... it sounds too clean, and too refined. Try it as a live album... do it again without Rich Costey! Please... if not for me, for everyone who shares my disappointment. thanks. Chris
  9. Jun 13, 2011
    7
    I'm okay with bands changing their sound as long as the result shows soul and imagination. That's mostly true here, even on songs that at first blush sound fairly generic ("Stained Silver", "Beautiful Son", "Youth Overrided", "Breath of Water"). Too much of the rest is generic radio rock ("Inspire", "Anchor", "Joy Opposites", "Lost in the Air", "Woodwork") that is competent but passionless.,
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mojo
    70
    Their most accessible, and arguably best, long-player yet. [Apr 2003, p.112]
  2. Blender
    70
    The songs transform emo's search for truth and its vivid angst into great drama. [#15, p.122]
  3. The group has abruptly cashed in a good deal of its personality for an unflattering, generic modern-rock sound.