User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 56
  2. Negative: 8 out of 56
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2015
    8
    Napalm Death have lost none of their punch over the years. They're still as brutal as ever. As good as this album is I'd still take Smear Campaign or Time Waits For No Slave over it from the more recent albums. That I still give this an 8 out of 10 just goes to show how good Napalm Death are.
  2. Feb 24, 2015
    10
    massive intensity, a lot of experimentation, very interesting and insane songwriting and lyrics, perfect production. napalm death yet reached another highpoint in their career.
  3. Jan 27, 2015
    10
    Grindcore monsters has once made a killing album, Apex Predator - Easy Meat is already the best of 2015 and I'm pretty sure He will be the best Grindcore album until the end of the year.
  4. Jan 28, 2015
    8
    Apex-Predator - Easy Meat is a triumph of production. If you want to see technical mastery on display, Napalm Death gives you a virtual feast. Everything is meticulous and excellent and packed with so much ferocity and grime and just overall repulsiveness its VERY hard to not start banging your head to the intense drum snares and righteous riffs.
  5. Jul 29, 2015
    9
    Haven't enjoyed a metal album this much since The Satanist last year. Truly epic and relentlessly powerful, Napalm Death have still got it. Some songs are mildly forgettable but nonetheless, it remains a visceral listen.
  6. Nov 1, 2015
    10
    I think this is the first album I've given a solid 10 to since I started reviewing. Let me be the first to say that I LOVE Napalm Death. I don't think they have a single release that I don't like. Though of course some releases are weaker than others (example: Diatribes would only hold a 5 or 6 if I were to review it here). This is the best release by the band since my absolute favoriteI think this is the first album I've given a solid 10 to since I started reviewing. Let me be the first to say that I LOVE Napalm Death. I don't think they have a single release that I don't like. Though of course some releases are weaker than others (example: Diatribes would only hold a 5 or 6 if I were to review it here). This is the best release by the band since my absolute favorite album by the band, Smear Campaign. Utilitarian was a little weak and Time Waits For No Slave was aggressive but fell short in many aspects. When Apex Predator came out I was expecting a Utilitarian and TWFNS amalgamation but oh how wrong I was. This album is grind to the max. This is one of the few Grindcore albums I would use to judge the genre as a whole. It is an industry leading landmark release by a band who just refuses to die. Anyone who like grind or enjoys extremely fast and brutal punk/death metal crossover music should really enjoy this listen! And if you're anything like me I have already almost worn my copy out. Expand
  7. May 23, 2017
    7
    This album is handbanging relentless force to be reckoned with. It's intensity really got me going and made me wish for a mosh-pit. While the songs in Apex Predator are fierce and harsh, they have a very relevant message and are complimented by some actually nice melodies. Napalm Death is as good as ever.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 16, 2015
    70
    Apex Predator: Easy Meat is a pummeling listen that doesn't get old.
  2. The Wire
    Mar 4, 2015
    80
    So here they are in 2015 with Apex Predator sounding as powerful and uncompromising as their debut. [Feb 2015, p.55]
  3. Classic Rock Magazine
    Feb 26, 2015
    70
    Decidedly queasy listening throughout. [Apr 2015, p.98]