• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Apple Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release in 2020 for the British electronic producer features contributions from Hannah Diamond and Caroline Polachek.
Buy On
  • Record Label: PC Music
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Ambient, Pop/Rock, Indie Electronic, Alternative Dance, Experimental Ambient, Left-Field Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 18, 2020
    It's all delivered with such fresh energy and so many original production ideas that it's honestly hard to gripe too much. If you've been vibing on Hannah Diamond's Cook-produced debut Reflections recently and were somewhat baffled by 7G, look no further than Apple, a bold and exciting album that boasts focus as well.
  2. Sep 21, 2020
    At times, its tonal shifts cause whiplash, but the real magic appears when Cook manages to coalesce these two sides in the same song.
  3. Sep 18, 2020
    Slimmed down to forty minutes split between ten tracks, Apple has the feel of one cohesive whole when compared to 7G’s daunting monolith.
  4. Sep 21, 2020
    Though Cook creates both of Apple's sides ably, juxtaposing them keeps the album engaging and makes it a successful entry point to his music. Happily bridging the gap between synthetic and organic, Apple is one of Cook's most satisfying obliterations of the borders between genres, authenticity, and artifice.
  5. Sep 24, 2020
    A staggering and potent amalgamation of numerous genre influences, but it also has moments of information overload, where its boundarylessness becomes too much.
  6. Sep 25, 2020
    With Apple A. G. Cook shows plenty of potential, but ultimately more consistency is needed with his songwriting if he is to really make his mark.
  7. Oct 16, 2020
    You will hear the first song five times on this album and the second song twice. Some might argue that mellow synthpop brain-emptiers of “The Darkness” and “Lifeline” constitute independent third and fourth songs, but these are such bland re-re-ree-renditions of A. G.’s longstanding crusty pop Cookbook that flattering them as autonomous entities demands a greater creative effort on your part than the man himself was ever minded to put into them.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 1, 2020
    we couldn't ask for much more from mr. cook after the 4 hour long masterpiece that was 7G. i think APPLE, besides having some good songs, waswe couldn't ask for much more from mr. cook after the 4 hour long masterpiece that was 7G. i think APPLE, besides having some good songs, was far from being as interesting as his previous album. some songs just sound like fillers and it's not an album that i'll be revisiting for now, even tho i will be listening to some of the songs repeatedly.

    while most songs here lack the best from A. G. and some song's lyrics are basic and effortless it's still a nicely produced album with some sounds worth exploring.

    fav songs: airhead, stargon
    least fav: animals