• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 7, 2014
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 256
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    From top to bottom, this is an amazing album. Not only is it amazing, but it brings together every essence of what made R&B such a dominant genre in the early 2000s. Not only that, but it’s a modern blueprint for what an album should sound like in 2014, because most people are not releasing albums. They’re releasing 10 songs and a bonus track. This body of work is cohesive from the openingFrom top to bottom, this is an amazing album. Not only is it amazing, but it brings together every essence of what made R&B such a dominant genre in the early 2000s. Not only that, but it’s a modern blueprint for what an album should sound like in 2014, because most people are not releasing albums. They’re releasing 10 songs and a bonus track. This body of work is cohesive from the opening song “Aquarius,” to the “The Storm” outro. And that’s another thing Tinashe learned from the greats like Janet Jackson, who’s albums always transitioned perfectly between songs. Aquarius is smart, it’s dark, it’s deep, it’s club-friendly, it’s guy-friendly, it’s radio-friendly, it has lyrical depth, it blends genres, it’s cohesive yet diverse. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Tinashe's debut album Aquarius is clearly just a glimpse of what the singer/songwriter is capable of. Many people compliment her breathy, whispery vocals however she is capable of more as she proved while singing the National Anthem for the Dodgers. This album is just an introduction and a good one at that. She doesn't let any of the song's beat or bass line take her over and glidesTinashe's debut album Aquarius is clearly just a glimpse of what the singer/songwriter is capable of. Many people compliment her breathy, whispery vocals however she is capable of more as she proved while singing the National Anthem for the Dodgers. This album is just an introduction and a good one at that. She doesn't let any of the song's beat or bass line take her over and glides rightfully so over it, never taking a backseat to any of the songs. The interlude's on the album definitely take you from song to song and makes the transitions much easier than most albums where songs just seem randomly placed. She sounds comfortable with her sound and you can tell a lot of effort went into making the album. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Surprisingly good. Don't be fooled by '2 On', which originally lead me to believe she was a one hit wonder. This album is a solid, cohesive body of work and probably the best urban debut from a female we've seen in years. My favourites include 'Bet', 'Aquarius', 'Cold Sweat' and 'Thug Cry'.
  4. Oct 17, 2014
    9
    I was always support Tinashe before "2 On"came out.This album really showed me all the support was worth it,her voice is so special,I think she can go really far!
  5. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    "Bet", probably the strongest mid-tempo song in the project, gives Beyonce and Solange a reason to sue Blood Orange for not delivering the demo to their managers. "2 on", the first single of the album, is as urban as it can be and a top-30 hit in the Billboard Hot 100. In "All hands on deck" Tinashe delivers a solid vocal performance, accompanied by a flute loop, a raw bassline and some"Bet", probably the strongest mid-tempo song in the project, gives Beyonce and Solange a reason to sue Blood Orange for not delivering the demo to their managers. "2 on", the first single of the album, is as urban as it can be and a top-30 hit in the Billboard Hot 100. In "All hands on deck" Tinashe delivers a solid vocal performance, accompanied by a flute loop, a raw bassline and some killer synths, while "Far side of the moon" is a track that even the duo of Timbaland/Justin could be jealous of.

    If you are a fan of the r'n'b genre, you will adore this album if you haven't already. Tinashe should be the biggest female act of 2015 if there's any music justice out there. And if there's not, oh well... let's count on the Universe's poetic one.
    Read the whole review here: http://www.anartcalled.blogspot.gr/2014/12/tinashe-aquarius.html
    Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    Tinashe debut album 'Aquarius' is so clearly and obscure at the same time. So much feelings and it supposed should be one of the best debuts of the year. An Alternative R&B that sounds like you're in a dream with her love and pain. It really surprises me.
  7. Oct 9, 2014
    7
    This is a solid effort from Tinashe. I got to know her back in the day of her mixtapes but never really gave her a chance. Listened to her tapes, but never replayed any songs to actually get a chance to like anything. But i felt like with this album i had to play it at least twice to know if i could like her, also because of the critical praise it's getting, which quite surprises meThis is a solid effort from Tinashe. I got to know her back in the day of her mixtapes but never really gave her a chance. Listened to her tapes, but never replayed any songs to actually get a chance to like anything. But i felt like with this album i had to play it at least twice to know if i could like her, also because of the critical praise it's getting, which quite surprises me honestly. I feel like she still has a lot of growing to do but this showcases the amount of potential she has as a musician. It's not just another typical R&B album. It has a cohesive dark sound to it and it works for her. I'll rate it a 7 for now. One of the better releases of the year in my opinion. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2014
    7
    The sound of Aquarius—the debut album of Tinashé Jorgensen Kachingwe AKA Tinashe—smells of PBR&B, weeks-old liquor bottles, and lots and lots of cannabis. That's intentional though. Though she initially established her ideal mixture of "urban, rhythmic, and pop" with a hint of "alternative music" on her previous three mixtapes released between 2012 and 2013, her commercial breakthroughThe sound of Aquarius—the debut album of Tinashé Jorgensen Kachingwe AKA Tinashe—smells of PBR&B, weeks-old liquor bottles, and lots and lots of cannabis. That's intentional though. Though she initially established her ideal mixture of "urban, rhythmic, and pop" with a hint of "alternative music" on her previous three mixtapes released between 2012 and 2013, her commercial breakthrough didn't come until her DJ Mustard-produced single "2 On" quietly entered the top 40 in the U.S. earlier this year, becoming the 'crunk' anthem of 2014. Though Aquarius often falters throughout its overall identity crisis and many hit-or-miss interludes ("Indigo Child"'s gloomy melodies and vocoders earns favoritism from me, personally), Tinashe is an artist in the making—her accompanying producers take us further and further into her artistry. The Blood Orange-accompanied "Bet" showcases the technical capabilities of Tinashe's vocals and the Mike WiLL Made-It-produced "Thug Cry" is 2014's "Body Party"—cheesy-as-hell chorus and all. It's an endearing debut. Especially if you're in a hazy basement with your friends with the speakers up. Expand
  9. Jul 14, 2015
    4
    Fortement mitigé sur cet album mais beaucoup de déception. Une voix peu maîtrisée à cause de son attachement à montrer sa voix comme Akon pourrait le faire mais à différence de lui, elle n'a pas assez travaillé sa voix. J'ai grincé souvent des dents. Bated Breath est le seul son à retenir de l'album. C'est un album aussi vite oublié que ses précédentes mixtapes. Tinashe est une artisteFortement mitigé sur cet album mais beaucoup de déception. Une voix peu maîtrisée à cause de son attachement à montrer sa voix comme Akon pourrait le faire mais à différence de lui, elle n'a pas assez travaillé sa voix. J'ai grincé souvent des dents. Bated Breath est le seul son à retenir de l'album. C'est un album aussi vite oublié que ses précédentes mixtapes. Tinashe est une artiste pour l'instant médiocre mais qui progresse.
    J'attend de voir ce que donnera le futur pour elle. Contrairement à la médiocrité sonore de cet album, je la sens capable de progresser et de nous sortir quelque chose de convenable dans ses 10 prochaines années, pas un album bourrés de guest inutiles et ruinant l'ambiance Soul-Lounge de
    Expand
  10. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing.
  11. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    Tinashe's debut album "Aquarius" surprised me with just how graceful this young lady is with her atmosphere, as well as her supple and sweet soprano voice. Tip-toeing just between whispery soul and seductive R&B, this record is much more cohesive than you would think, which is good for such a collection of hits that, as singles, would not seem like they would work together. SlinkingTinashe's debut album "Aquarius" surprised me with just how graceful this young lady is with her atmosphere, as well as her supple and sweet soprano voice. Tip-toeing just between whispery soul and seductive R&B, this record is much more cohesive than you would think, which is good for such a collection of hits that, as singles, would not seem like they would work together. Slinking through the themes of heartbreak, partying, sex and love, Tinashe gives us a hazy soul that was previously missing from much of recent R&B, and we would all be doing ourselves a favor to lose ourselves in the mist. Tracks that standout for me were the whispery introduction "Aquarius," Janet Jackson-flipped "How Many Times," and personally, the 89-second interlude, atmospheric "Indigo Child." Expand
  12. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    amazing, tinashe is the best singer in the modetn world, all tracks/interludes are **** amazing, this girl could be the future queen of the r&b/urban music
  13. Mar 15, 2015
    9
    I think this album is almost perfect, but only two song dislike me but the others songs a really perfect. Fav. songs: Bet, Cold Sweat, Far Side Of The Moon and Feel Like Vegas
  14. Apr 11, 2015
    10
    First of all Tinashe has an R&B mixed with a little electronic/alternative music with dark and gritty beats to her sound. Her mixtapes In Case We Die Reverie, Blackwater and now Amethyst really reflect on her as an artist. This album does not disappoint, carries flow with her interludes and felt quite authentic. Many people probably overlook her because of 2On but do yourself a favor andFirst of all Tinashe has an R&B mixed with a little electronic/alternative music with dark and gritty beats to her sound. Her mixtapes In Case We Die Reverie, Blackwater and now Amethyst really reflect on her as an artist. This album does not disappoint, carries flow with her interludes and felt quite authentic. Many people probably overlook her because of 2On but do yourself a favor and listen till the end of this album. So much is showcased in this album from her variety with songs like 2On and Bated Breath, the instrumental, her messages like the age of aquarius, politics and society/media and her vocals in songs like Cold Sweat. She has come a long way and worked hard, this is real R&B, don't sleep on her. Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    A truly remarkable album. I am continually stunned by this album, I'm still no where near bored of it and I don't think I ever will be. The songs on here are either great singles or are soulful masterpieces suited to be album tracks. The balance is perfect. A definite must buy for R&B fans!
  16. Nov 5, 2016
    9
    Definitely one of the best R&B albums of this generation, enough said.

    We all can't deny that everything on this project is astonishing, from lyrics to production. And the interludes... Holy Goodness! Tinashe never make mistakes when it comes to show her points of view of what's going on around her, not only as an artist, and this is already shown in her mixtapes!
  17. Nov 21, 2016
    7
    From top to bottom, this is an amazing album. Not only is it amazing, but it brings together every essence of what made R&B such a dominant genre in the early 2000s. Not only that, but it’s a modern blueprint for what an album should sound like in 2014, because most people are not releasing albums. They’re releasing 10 songs and a bonus track. This body of work is cohesive from the openingFrom top to bottom, this is an amazing album. Not only is it amazing, but it brings together every essence of what made R&B such a dominant genre in the early 2000s. Not only that, but it’s a modern blueprint for what an album should sound like in 2014, because most people are not releasing albums. They’re releasing 10 songs and a bonus track. This body of work is cohesive from the opening song “Aquarius,” to the “The Storm” outro. And that’s another thing Tinashe learned from the greats like Janet Jackson, who’s albums always transitioned perfectly between songs. Aquarius is smart, it’s dark, it’s deep, it’s club-friendly, it’s guy-friendly, it’s radio-friendly, it has lyrical depth, it blends genres, it’s cohesive yet diverse Expand
  18. Apr 28, 2017
    9
    Tinashe carried out everything necessary to make the album memorable. She showed that she can be sexy (2 On, All Hands On Deck), sensual (Bet, Cold Sweat) and has an incredible voice (Feels Like Vegas, Aquarius). In anticipation of the second studio album, we have nothing else to do but enjoy this album again and again.
  19. Jun 18, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. El mejor álbum que he escuchado de Tinashe.
    Este álbum tiene los mejor interludios que he escuchado en mi corta vida.
    cada canción te transporta a distintos lugares, como Feels Like Vegas, Pretend, Cold Sweat, 2 On...
    pero lo mejor se lo lleva los interludios, cada letra, significado, ritmo, ahhh es perfecto.
    Expand
  20. Apr 29, 2018
    10
    Melhor album R&B da decada parabéns tinashe fazendo historia desde sempre bjs.
  21. Jan 10, 2019
    10
    As Tinashe's major label debut, Aquarius is one of the best R&B albums of this decade. Although the interludes can be a little unnecessary sometimes, all the tracks are stand outs (no skips!). Aquarius (song), Bet and Cold Sweat are incredibly well written songs, and Tinashe's vocals on Bated Breath are out of this world
  22. Aug 3, 2019
    10
    Is the best album of her this album have quality is with confessions on a dance floor of Madonna but in R&B
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 12, 2015
    80
    The production throughout Aquarius is on point, whether it's the infectious, yet odd sound of "Wildfire", or the crashing bongos backing a pseudo-rap switch in to some long notes on "Far Side of the Moon."
  2. Q Magazine
    Nov 13, 2014
    80
    Tinashe's voice is pure and malleable, her lyrics suggestive and assertive. [Dec 2014, p.116]
  3. Oct 21, 2014
    70
    Throughout, Tinashe's sweet soprano sets up a hazy mood that's easy to get lost in.