User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2014
    10
    Short, smart, moving, relaxing, it's everything you expected to be, with amazing lyrics and a calming rhythm, this album succeeded in delivering us a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    Wanted to award 9.5 as if there is anything to complain about this album is it feels too short. SVE is one of the best female/musical artists of our generation IMHO. This album is worthy of album 2014 for my ears.

    Overall I love Sharon Van Etten and I think she loves my ears back! X
  3. Mar 23, 2015
    10
    Songs like "Your Love is Killing Me" and "Afraid of Nothing", reinforce the acclaim this masterpiece absolutely deserves. This erie album has the best songs to sit to alone on a rainy day or take a long drive out into the countryside. Beautifully written and Sharon's vocals sound better than ever.
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    3
    There are none of the knockout songs that were on her previous albums. The pace is maddening slow, and the production is overdone. I'd like to hear some of these live with her and a guitar.

    Disappointed.
  5. Aug 3, 2014
    5
    Disappointing, sadly, in my opinion. I do appreciate the instrumental choices and her lyrics are brilliant, but I find the songwriting to be lackluster and a bit dull. Needs a bit more kick to get me fully invested.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    Felt like a breeze. Great music, and the best thing about it is that it makes plenty of room for Sharon's beautiful voice, commanding vocal performance, and the wonderful lyrics.
  7. Oct 9, 2016
    8
    Um álbum muito interessante, que fala sobre a fase atual da cantora sobre seus relacionamentos e todo o sentimento da artista por trás dele. Ela já é conhecida pelo seu público por trazer álbuns que carregam uma base do que ele está a viver no momento e em “Are We There” ela traz o seu álbum com mais maturidade. É um álbum fácil de se identificar por causa de suas composições e um pratoUm álbum muito interessante, que fala sobre a fase atual da cantora sobre seus relacionamentos e todo o sentimento da artista por trás dele. Ela já é conhecida pelo seu público por trazer álbuns que carregam uma base do que ele está a viver no momento e em “Are We There” ela traz o seu álbum com mais maturidade. É um álbum fácil de se identificar por causa de suas composições e um prato cheio pra quem escuta Angel Olsen e Cat Power. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jul 17, 2014
    78
    Self-production and guests like Loudon Wainwright III and the Roches scales back Are We There in all the right ways, letting the drama ooze from vocal performance above all else.
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    82
    Hearing Van Etten’s performance on [Your Love Is Killing Me] and several others are downright shiver-inducing.
  3. Magnet
    Jun 13, 2014
    80
    Her fourth and most accomplished album to date maps a course to know-not-where in the most emotionally direct, imaginative way possible. [No. 110, p.60]