User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 319

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JM
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    One of the essential albums of the year...
  2. sidewinder572
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    I don't know her story. I just bought this on a whim. Gave me chills. One hell of an album.
  3. Anonymous
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    Can anyone even understand what she is saying? I am shocked to see that so many people like this kind of music. And I use the term music lightly, because to me this is just random noises thrown together. If anyone listens to Dane Cook, then they will understand when I say that this is the kind of noise that makes you want to punch a baby.
  4. ivanv
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    awful, how is this getting good reviews. this sounds even worse than kevin federline. i know there a message and all but its awful. not music
  5. PaulPaul
    Apr 10, 2005
    1
    So boring...
  6. allisonk
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    this isn't good music. this is bullshit direct effect/trl/mtv dance music.
  7. DaveR
    May 8, 2005
    2
    I do not understand the hype behind this crap. By any yardstick you use, it comes up short. Maybe if they'd actually review the music instead of some hipster revolutionary object of lust, hey, we'd be getting somewhere. I think only one song I even remotely dug. I'd rather hear a street preacher ranting over a broken 909.
  8. JamieS
    Jun 23, 2005
    3
    doesnt really do very much new, doesnt really say anything of interest. merely average.
  9. Kay
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    it's is completely beyond all reasonable comprehension how anyone could actually enjoy this "music". the beats sound cheap and poorly recorded. there is no melody or real musicality to any of the tracks and i have know idea what she's talking about in any of these songs. honestly listening to this album while reading these reviews makes me feel like i'm in the twilight it's is completely beyond all reasonable comprehension how anyone could actually enjoy this "music". the beats sound cheap and poorly recorded. there is no melody or real musicality to any of the tracks and i have know idea what she's talking about in any of these songs. honestly listening to this album while reading these reviews makes me feel like i'm in the twilight zone. if i could rate it a negative number i would. Expand
  10. MattP
    Jun 5, 2005
    0
    utter garbage. Not a single redeeming quality in this piece of overhyped, monotanous trash.
  11. AaronS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    2
    Incredibly overrated disc. Don't believe the hype on this one. I've tried it two times now and I just don't get it. Her vocal style is irritating beyond belief and there is simply nothing ground breaking about the record. 'Bucky Done Gone' has to be one of the worst songs of the year. Skip it.
  12. Buck65
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    This album is not good and overrated. There are so many albums just like this and are for some reason rated differently.
  13. GarielL.
    May 31, 2005
    5
    After buying the singles for Galang and Sunshowers, I was excited for the full length. It turns out that the album is pretty blah. Those two tracks are on the album with what feels like a very small handfull of other tracks, few memorable. I would dig Bucky Done Gone, but I've got the Brazilian funk track they lift the whole beat from, and I just assume play that. I officially After buying the singles for Galang and Sunshowers, I was excited for the full length. It turns out that the album is pretty blah. Those two tracks are on the album with what feels like a very small handfull of other tracks, few memorable. I would dig Bucky Done Gone, but I've got the Brazilian funk track they lift the whole beat from, and I just assume play that. I officially stopped being a fan when I saw her live with Diplo DJing for her. Her back up singer held her up the whole time, and it seemed like she was just reciting the lyrics along to the CD. There was no charisma or spark. Even worse, after making us wait for three hours with no opening act, they just played the songs off Arular and left. I think this album was all she had in her. If you want some real talent from a British chick, check out Lady Sovereign. Expand
  14. mukesht
    Dec 11, 2005
    3
    Lots of hype, mostly BS. Not a renegade at all, just a media manipulator. The stories of her childhood are mostly rubbish.
  15. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    One look at the cover and you know that this album isnâ
  16. Brendan
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing - and this is coming from someone who's heard stranger things than most of you will ever hear in your entire lifetime. M.I.A. is a consummate artist (which is one of many things her dissenters are NOT), and she wears her weaknesses better than you wear your pretensions. I'm probably strutting to her beats as you're reading this and wondering why you Simply amazing - and this is coming from someone who's heard stranger things than most of you will ever hear in your entire lifetime. M.I.A. is a consummate artist (which is one of many things her dissenters are NOT), and she wears her weaknesses better than you wear your pretensions. I'm probably strutting to her beats as you're reading this and wondering why you aren't either. Expand
  17. Cha7
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    Easily, one of the best albums of the year. I think the last time I checked, Arular was 9th or 11th on the best selling list at Amazon.com. While I don't think that this record will ever get any real big city radio play in American cities (which sucks), except for maybe Galanga or Sunshowers, she definately will be a force to be reckend with come her second album. The only thing that Easily, one of the best albums of the year. I think the last time I checked, Arular was 9th or 11th on the best selling list at Amazon.com. While I don't think that this record will ever get any real big city radio play in American cities (which sucks), except for maybe Galanga or Sunshowers, she definately will be a force to be reckend with come her second album. The only thing that I'm kind of dissapointed is that that while It is really refershing to hear someone as creative as M.I.A., her songs are songs that are not songs that you will be blasting in your ears everyday for the next few weeks. In fact, like good ammo, they should be used sparingly, when you need a good pick me up. What I will like to see from her that this record gains her enough popularity that she collaborate with some of the greatest minds of dancehall and hip-hop. Why you may ask? Because her beats are awesome!! Expand
  18. AlecM
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    With 10K songs on my iPod, i've been listening to nothing else but Arular for three weeks now. I bought Piracy Funds Terrorism, and I'm looking forward to it, just to hear M.I.A's vocals in a new context. I've got my tickets to see her at Coachella, and again with LCD Soundsystem at the El Rey in LA. Obsessesed? Just a bit. Not since the one two punch of Dry and Exile With 10K songs on my iPod, i've been listening to nothing else but Arular for three weeks now. I bought Piracy Funds Terrorism, and I'm looking forward to it, just to hear M.I.A's vocals in a new context. I've got my tickets to see her at Coachella, and again with LCD Soundsystem at the El Rey in LA. Obsessesed? Just a bit. Not since the one two punch of Dry and Exile in Guyville way back in 1992-93, has there been such an intelligent, compelling, and beautiful woman's voice in popular music. I can't wait to hear what she has to say next. Expand
  19. MariP
    Jun 28, 2005
    4
    'Galang' begins to get on my last nerve. SWITCH please, M.I.A...
  20. kammie
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Bliss!!!! This is the most addictive album I ever heard in my whole entire life!!!! They get stuck in your head and you need more, you absolutely need it!!! It's like giving an 80 dollar sample of crack cocaine to a crackhead!!! This is the best cd I ever heard in my life!!!! Pure joy!!! Bliss!!!!!!!!!
  21. Vaal
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    Not really melodic. This is for people who love electro/dance and drum & bass but not really for the hip-hop fans. I reckon it has something, but it's not extraordinary. It just feels different than the ordinary, but that doesn't necessarily means that it is good just for being alternative. Lyrics are okay, but her voice feels repetitive. Even though every song is different I Not really melodic. This is for people who love electro/dance and drum & bass but not really for the hip-hop fans. I reckon it has something, but it's not extraordinary. It just feels different than the ordinary, but that doesn't necessarily means that it is good just for being alternative. Lyrics are okay, but her voice feels repetitive. Even though every song is different I can't help but hearing the same. Expand
  22. MikeC
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in a long time. I love her production, and I think it's the most original and unique blend of genres that actually works well and is a privilege to listen to.
  23. Malini
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    If you like to dance, you'll probably like this. It really makes you want to move. And once you get into it, you dont want to stop playing it.
  24. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Pure fun
  25. Mell
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    It's a unique album, great in the sense that its genre is unexplored by pop musicians.
  26. Sveta?
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    Simple but complex, great party music. Although I am mostly into hard rock, this album is just as addicting as many of my usual listenings.
  27. VladA.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    Damn this is good...
  28. eliasi
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    it could be better, but as a debut, it's outstanding.
  29. Andrew
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Highly original hip hop/dance straight outta London from a Sri Lankan refugee. And that is definitely not your typical dance or hip hop. Definitely not overrated, if anything, there should be more perfect scores! And not like anything else out there. Words cannot suffice to describe how all over the place it is, fusing genres, and doing so perfectly. I have been listening to Arular since Highly original hip hop/dance straight outta London from a Sri Lankan refugee. And that is definitely not your typical dance or hip hop. Definitely not overrated, if anything, there should be more perfect scores! And not like anything else out there. Words cannot suffice to describe how all over the place it is, fusing genres, and doing so perfectly. I have been listening to Arular since it was originally due to be released, but was postponed due to sampling issues, I have no idea if anything was changed. My guess may have been 'Rocky' sounding samples from 'Bucky Done Gone'. Now M.I.A. born Maya Arulpragasam has signed a record deal with Interscope which will see it drop in mid April. Start to finish, a gem of a record! Highly recommened listening. I guarantee it will be in number one in umpteen top ten lists for 2005, and in even more top ten lists overall! Expand
  30. ChrisC
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    A really fantastic dance album. Sure, it's got a lot of repetetive beats and hooks, but it's a totally immersive listen, and M.I.A. just seems to have an instinct for using the right beats at the right times, whatever anyone might think about the depth or lack of in her political insights.
  31. RobH
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    It combines all the elements I could ever wish for in a pop album. It`s something completely new and NOW!
  32. andpola
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    While the beats are insane, and this girl sure knows how to rock out. I think it's too political for it's own good. The saving grace about this is the songs are so hot you can listen to one and completly miss the undertones, but still enjoy the album.
  33. ElliotG
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Mindblowing. Easily the best album of the year so far, destined to become the overall best album of 2005.
  34. Rza
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Magic
  35. annas
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    great and fun!! what else is good out there that's fun? just listened to regina spektor: i'd give it a zero.
  36. RasulS
    Apr 5, 2005
    8
    I am HUGE music Fan - my music interests span from artists such as Ali Farka Toure to Trent Reznor and Nine Inch Nails and M.I.A.'s album is hot geniusness!! The music is paradoxical in a beautiful way (but doesn't that make the most interesting stuff?) Inititally the party aspect of her music hits you, then, if you feel the need to dig deeper, you can explore the complex issues I am HUGE music Fan - my music interests span from artists such as Ali Farka Toure to Trent Reznor and Nine Inch Nails and M.I.A.'s album is hot geniusness!! The music is paradoxical in a beautiful way (but doesn't that make the most interesting stuff?) Inititally the party aspect of her music hits you, then, if you feel the need to dig deeper, you can explore the complex issues of her politics as she spreads them acrross the landscape of here album. This all in turn creates a complex mosaic of good time partying and thought provoking polemics. What an album!! Definitely the sure shot of '05. Pull up the People Pull up the Poor. . . . !!! Rock on M.I.A. Expand
  37. DonG
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    Not ONE of the best, but THE bet album of the year. And likely to remain so.
  38. NathenM
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    After listening the album, and reading her interviews, I tend to see the album title as another one word loud cry like "Mummy" (for Diana by her sons).
  39. vincentx
    May 16, 2005
    6
    Nice enough, but nothing lasting, i'd say. Galang and Pull Up The People are pretty good, but Bucky Done Gone and 10 dollar are weak old-school electro. and her rapping is so-so...
  40. DavisW
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Insanely catchy with powerful lyrics. A great add to anyone's collection. Easily one of the best this year.
  41. HallowS
    May 5, 2005
    9
    it's nice to hear someone willing to skip the production values & head for the dancefloor -w- some raw beats, international flavour & whatever politics-for-tha-people will fit in their pockets. Fun + different! Fk tha cynics! Enjoy - let th world in!
  42. matta
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    Doesn't quite live up to some of the buzz, and a lot of people probably won't really like the style, but it is way catchy and a genuinely fun album to listen to. Like a female version of Dizzee Rascal.
  43. HadizaM
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    This fusion of Bangra melodies and electro beats is a breath of fresh air from the usual dance tracks that are out there today. It is also refreshing to know these very original tunes are coming from a solo artist and not the usual DJ backed with a team of performers. My hands up to this album and this artist, most definately 10 out of 10.
  44. maxpowered
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    all u haters are crazy. world music? wtf? kind of let's you know where that user is coming from. get this cd if you want to look cool? stick to your own pretensions and leave everyone else's alone. This is one of the best albums released in quite a while.
  45. alans
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Who else is making this sound? No one.
  46. janeDoe
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    I'd heard some cuts from this album on npr this year and I thought wow.... I've got to get that record. Needless to say I was not disappointed. Maya's mix of Bhangra, hip hop, and diy beats makes her one of the years stand out artist. Not only is her sound timeless but her lyrics are as well. She is a woman with something to say and on this record she says it loud and clear.
  47. NicholasT
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    There are very few albums that I listen to and love immediately. Arular is one of them. This album is simply put, fun. It begs to be listened to and danced to but there is also so much depth to be found beneath the pop/hip-hop surface.
  48. macky
    Jan 9, 2006
    1
    The Empreror has no clothes! Overhyped rubish. Noise yes, Music No.
  49. kent
    Feb 17, 2006
    6
    If it weren't for the exotic backstory, this deceptively thin slice of subaltern commodification would have likely been whitewashed, so to speak. Obviously this story accounts for a large part of MIA's essence, but that essence is in turn unreflectively sublimated into a packaged aesthetic of rebel-fun for thousands of fickle gringo teenagers. It doesn't help that the If it weren't for the exotic backstory, this deceptively thin slice of subaltern commodification would have likely been whitewashed, so to speak. Obviously this story accounts for a large part of MIA's essence, but that essence is in turn unreflectively sublimated into a packaged aesthetic of rebel-fun for thousands of fickle gringo teenagers. It doesn't help that the "politics" are scattershot ramblings and partial snapshots a la "Global a Go-Go," but without Strummer's encompassing vision and compassion. Compare, for example: "Down at the bauxite mine/You get your own uniform/Have lunchtimes off/Take a monorail to your home" (Strummer), with: "He got Colgate on his teeth/And Reebok classics on his feet/At a factory he does Nike/And then he helps the family" (MIA). One transports you to a tropical perestroika with all the attendant monotony, while the other thinks the post-modern twitch of citing brand names amounts to revolutionary statement, and presumably attempts to acheive some irony about the infiltration of the public and private sphere, and the ultimate interchangability of said brands. Okay, but there is no image here (BYOSweatshop), no conjured sense of place, no real irony, just this reflex of attempting to appropriate corporate symbology while submitting to its strictures in every meaningful way. This is the worst thing about Arular: its affected wisdom. If this is the extent to which pop music can be intellectually engaging and politically engaged, then pop music is bouncing enthusiatically towards its own irrelevance. Taken as a mainstream dance album -- as incoherent and unnecessary as that genre's standards demand -- this is above average: thick, staccatto low-end blasts and hooks a'plenty. The production is big and detailed, if the beats are a bit repetitive . It just isn't a revolution: it's not smart enough. Expand
  50. FIonaS
    Jul 30, 2006
    2
    I'm sorry, but I don't get it. I can see she has lyrical talent, but besides that I'm kind of at a loss. I generally think of myself as an open-minded music listener, but this just does nothing but irritate me.
  51. TyeN.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    This is one of the finest debut albums ever made. Even made on a small budget it contains some of the catchiest beats ever created. And as an artist M.I.A. slings political lyrics and even social ones that are so mind blowingly simple yet amazingly clever (like the line "Lolita was a man eater/Clocked him like a taxi meter/Fuck glod she's pltinum digger/She can dance, makin' This is one of the finest debut albums ever made. Even made on a small budget it contains some of the catchiest beats ever created. And as an artist M.I.A. slings political lyrics and even social ones that are so mind blowingly simple yet amazingly clever (like the line "Lolita was a man eater/Clocked him like a taxi meter/Fuck glod she's pltinum digger/She can dance, makin' moves on the mover/Visa then a plane ride to ya/peace out she'll kill you like Uma"- from the song 10 Dollar). M.I.A. is an outstanding new artist that deserves your attention. I can't wait to here what she can do in a real studio with bigger producers. I'll be first in line when her second album drops. Expand
  52. HaleyT
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    bangin.
  53. MichA
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    This album is a revolutionary one. It's like noting i have ever heard before, from the lyrics to the beats. Absolutely Brilliant. Her history is definately controversal, but i think she means no harm. She is brave and i give her props for making this record. Hope to meet you one day Maya.
  54. VaniK.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Very Good.
  55. cactuar
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Its amazing. But so hard to find, I have to live on the downloads. the tracks are utterly infectious, plus her voice is so addictive. the beats and music are so special, repeated listening is guaranteed.
  56. JasonA
    Nov 5, 2005
    3
    Ok, first off this album is horrible. I see that it was reviewed favorably on this site and ever where else. I know that N.E.R.D made minimalism in music popular ,but this is pathetic. Maybe where M.I.A is from this is great music,but I would hope not. I can say that there might be hope for future releases, but for right now M.I.A needs to stay that way until she adds a little more Ok, first off this album is horrible. I see that it was reviewed favorably on this site and ever where else. I know that N.E.R.D made minimalism in music popular ,but this is pathetic. Maybe where M.I.A is from this is great music,but I would hope not. I can say that there might be hope for future releases, but for right now M.I.A needs to stay that way until she adds a little more substance to her music. Expand
  57. emceea
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    this is one of the most amazing and original albums i have heard in a long time i first i heard "galang" in a london club and everyones ears pricked up as if to say who is that.i live in london but i know this will translate across the globe its original and daring and i guess you will either love it or hate it
  58. W.Haas
    Dec 3, 2005
    6
    Have to admit, its a fun album. But ever notice how the entire album sounds like 1 song?
  59. FábioS
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    perfect
  60. MattB
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    The best album of the decade, so far. Seriously, it's THAT good.
  61. jawz
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    yo buck 65 (funny name son): tell me one album thats like this, you fool. Arular is dope sauce so you can go and tell your bois that JAWZ said so. And tell them that they can get their Galangalang on listening to their new Buck 65 CD. JYEAH JYEAH SON!
  62. badhybrid
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    I already know that this CD will definitely be on my Top 10 list of 2005; it's that damn good! My local alternative radio station (roooot!) started playing her last June (way before the hype), and now they play like half of her album. All of the songs represent a harmonious mix of dancehall riddums and electronic beats - you can't help but get up and "shake ya tailfeather," even I already know that this CD will definitely be on my Top 10 list of 2005; it's that damn good! My local alternative radio station (roooot!) started playing her last June (way before the hype), and now they play like half of her album. All of the songs represent a harmonious mix of dancehall riddums and electronic beats - you can't help but get up and "shake ya tailfeather," even if you don't know how! Some songs sound like you're right smack dab in the middle of the jungle, while others make you wanna put on some Adidas, get out your big piece of cardboard, and bust a few moves! When you get this CD, listen to tracks 3, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 12 (even the skits are 'groovable'). You will not be disappointed! Expand
  63. tecoa
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    One of the best new artist of the year. Arular is strange, fun and brilliant. The single "Galang" makes me wanna dance all the time;
  64. LawrenceP
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    It lives up to all the hype, which is saying alot. Great rhymes with flawless production. Nothing against Missy, but this better than anything she's ever done.
  65. lesd
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    buck65 must be from another planet and on crack!best cd in ages!!!!!!!!!!!
  66. [Anonymous]
    Mar 23, 2005
    0
    for someone who do not enjoy rap in general, listening to this album is a brain damaging experience, I wouldn't even call it music, what a piece of crap
  67. Dana
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    This is an exceptional album. Up until the past couple months I really didn't listen to this type of music (I was more of an alternative rock/trip-hop listener). I'm glad I've broadened my musical horizons.
  68. ChrisK.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Fierce beats + brilliant lyrics = the best debut in a long long looooong time
  69. Tortoise
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Hombre and Galang are interesting tracks.
  70. ClintH
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Perfect!!! Great mix of techno, hip hop, and reggae, with the perfect mix of politics
  71. siljes
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    i love it!!
  72. ElkDog
    Apr 30, 2005
    5
    Wow, this cd was so annoying. It has a lot of forgettable cheap sounding drum beats with this chick going lalala bakka bakka wicka pricka lacka lacka. I have no idea what the hell she's saying. Very annoying. I can't believe the rating it has on this site.
  73. BrianP
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Unquestionably worth all the hype. This artist is wildly original and talented.
  74. Matt
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Anybody who lashes out because they don't understand this should be ignored. You need this.
  75. MightyMouse
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Simply extraordinary! This girl has got a very unique, catchy, powerful sound that just will not let you stand still. It's street, it's dancehall, it's global infusion ... it truely is new music. It's not the typical big label, hollow gloss. The weighty lyrics give is some real value as well.
  76. regiiev
    May 12, 2005
    10
    Excellent Music Revolutionary and terrific , no comparison a must listen . It is a variety to go for.
  77. Lindsey
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Try...just try not to move to this album. If you don't dance to this, its official....you're comatose. This is awesome dance/baile/electro/garage music and is laced with a political message to boot. THIS ALBUM IS AWESOME!
  78. Tra
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Addictive & Amazing, a must own for anyone interested in music and life.
  79. markd
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    Wow. An amazing album. Smart, sexy, and political. It's hard to put in words what a great work this is.
  80. JohnD
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    Let's get some things straight here. First of all, I am not some dude who goes out and buys the latest thing on the market; my money is very valuable to me, and I spend it sparingly. I also do not like to dance all that often (or, I like to spare people around me the sight of me dancing whenever possible). Now, I happen to think that this is one of the best albums of the year so far, Let's get some things straight here. First of all, I am not some dude who goes out and buys the latest thing on the market; my money is very valuable to me, and I spend it sparingly. I also do not like to dance all that often (or, I like to spare people around me the sight of me dancing whenever possible). Now, I happen to think that this is one of the best albums of the year so far, so my opinion could be seen as unusual. If you were expecting production values rivaling those of 50 Cent's albums, you would probably be dissappointed here, since M.I.A. would rather create a true product than an instant hit. Don't expect this to be a rap album, either; this is dance-hall music through and through. If you don't like it, then maybe its just not your taste. I'm not quite sure why I like this album so much, but the fact is that I do like it. Expand
  81. maxpower
    Jul 20, 2005
    4
    it's too bad so many people buy this stuff. I like indie and electronic music but there are no standouts here. Only get this cd if you want to people to think you are cool or you like world music
  82. mirenz
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    the raddest music to come out in awhile...
  83. EdW
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    Stirring, original, punchy and utterly without either the 'street' posteuring of grime or the bling obsession of chart hip hop, M.I.A.'s debut is easily the equal of Dizzee Rascal's, but is a hell of a lot more fun.
  84. salomey
    Sep 3, 2005
    6
    because of the positive reviews i tried to like it but i didn't really though it isn't bad
  85. Belgian-D
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    Downloaded Arular yesterday, bought it today. Belgium is becoming hooked!! Brilliant...
  86. PatDaMan
    Jan 4, 2006
    0
    The most overrated album in years. Every song sounds the same and when someone's music depends on the sampling of someone else's, it proves they are talentless. 100% junk.
  87. AndrewM
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    I cannot stop playing this album! I heard it way before I read a review or knew anything about it, so it can't be the hype. It is definitely like nothing I've listened to before.
  88. seamusm
    Feb 16, 2006
    1
    Unlistenable rubbish.From an open-minded music fan.
  89. MR
    Feb 28, 2006
    1
    I tried listening to the album and could not even get pass track #2. I just could not get anything going on with this album, what a mess. Is the label for real?
  90. MichaelR
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    Amazing!! Those who rate it below 8 kus don't get it. where else do you here a blend of electronic dancehall and rap that works so superbly. Lyrics actually mean something those who don't get it are stupid.
  91. DNAhelix
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    After hearing a single track during a set break at an STS9 show, I asked some kid who was singing with it who it is... I got this album because of how it sounds, not because of the backstory... It's FrEsH, EnGaGiNg, SmArT. You hear it and want to hear more.
  92. DanT
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Smart funny and crazy! socially concious electronic hip hop that stays with you. I love it!
  93. foton
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    one of the best women in hiphop
  94. PenaltyKillah(Jw21)
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Very political if one is experienced in deciphering with lyrics. Whoever who gives a '0' rating didn't really study this album a lot, no?
  95. LukeRathbone
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Never before have I heard something of this nature. It is so original that you can't even compare it with anything else. 10 out of 10, no doubt.
  96. JojoP.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    De la grosse bombasse .... A quand le concert en France ????? /..?/,;:,;,:
  97. SophieB.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Wow. When I first heard this, I would have given it about a 5/10.. it wasn't unbearable, it was unique, but I just didn't get it at all. Now.. after replaying it, this is an AMAZING, ORIGINAL album.
  98. JuliaA.
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    she made the somewhat-meaningless-worthless-look-alike lyrics with brash music,that what makes people said she's just being overhyped...but sometimes the most 'obvious' lyrics could be the most subtle in its own way of deliverance. Sunshowers on you Maya!
  99. Nick
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    I think MIA is a sweetheart. This is good.
  100. nickolettes
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    adore her and love that kind of music. that album was the hymn of the summer to me
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Urb
    80
    M.I.A.'s singsong cadence is both child-like and streetwise, perfectly mirroring the smiley-faced menace of the electro-informed palpitations behind her. [Mar 2005, p.113]
  2. Not for a moment does the violence seem vindictive, sadistic, or pleasurable. It's a fact of life to be triumphed over, with beats and tunelets stolen or remembered or willed into existence.
  3. Fortifying her monstrous singles "Galang" and "Sunshowers" with further molten munitions, Arular is primed for worldwide insurrection.