• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2002
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 149

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    5
    Half of the cuts are interesting and the other half are just bad versions of the interesting ones. Listening to this from start to finish is a real chore and, basically, it's just too draining for it to ever be an enjoyable record.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    5
    Audioslave's debut is highly flawed. But I think deep down, it's kind of a good album. Chris Cornell's lyrics though are extremely bad. The lyrics suck. "I was standing at the rock, gathering the flock". I mean come on. Soundgarden was an amazing band but Chris Cornell in Audioslave just isn't that great. Rage Against The Machine band members on the other hand are what makes this albumAudioslave's debut is highly flawed. But I think deep down, it's kind of a good album. Chris Cornell's lyrics though are extremely bad. The lyrics suck. "I was standing at the rock, gathering the flock". I mean come on. Soundgarden was an amazing band but Chris Cornell in Audioslave just isn't that great. Rage Against The Machine band members on the other hand are what makes this album slightly ok. Tom Morello's guitar solos are brilliant. Brad Wilk on drums is great, and Tim Commerford is also great. All In All, if you can mind Chris Cornell and really enjoy RATM, Audioslave should be a good album to enjoy. C Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    [4.8] Audioslave doesn't have the unpredictable temper of Rage Against the Machine, and certainly doesn't have the wilder attitude of Soundgarden, and ultimately, don't have enough energy to produce a decent album. Maybe one song on this LP doesn't sound as sluggish, monotonous, and as poorly put together as the rest do. Chris Cornell has the range of a donkey, and the ability of a deaf[4.8] Audioslave doesn't have the unpredictable temper of Rage Against the Machine, and certainly doesn't have the wilder attitude of Soundgarden, and ultimately, don't have enough energy to produce a decent album. Maybe one song on this LP doesn't sound as sluggish, monotonous, and as poorly put together as the rest do. Chris Cornell has the range of a donkey, and the ability of a deaf horse. It may seem harsh, but you could honestly make the connection. The guitars are too distorted, and not in the good way either. The instruments aren't stylized interestingly, and they really sound all over the place. I wouldn't necessarily call this album unimpressive, because collectively the band doesn't have any features that are impressive. Some bands are just better left dead in the nineties. Expand
  4. sds
    Feb 8, 2003
    0
    nah
  5. IanB
    Aug 4, 2004
    0
    Have any of you actually listened to these lyrics? They are so bad, they actually give boy bands some artistic merit as they at least made some iota of sense. "But Ian, lyrics don't count as long as the music is cool" Lyrics always count, but regardless this is some of the most bland and boring recycled music I have ever heard. Honestly, if you want to kill brain cells I suggest Have any of you actually listened to these lyrics? They are so bad, they actually give boy bands some artistic merit as they at least made some iota of sense. "But Ian, lyrics don't count as long as the music is cool" Lyrics always count, but regardless this is some of the most bland and boring recycled music I have ever heard. Honestly, if you want to kill brain cells I suggest doing it the old fashioned way by killing a prostitute and stealing her crack. At least that way you get some exercise. Expand
  6. ohyea
    Apr 3, 2005
    1
    so...big socialism/communism enthusiast tom morello naturally farts out an utter charmless, commercial aspiring piece of third rate grunge schlock...awesome (no wonder de la rocha got the hell away from those guys, they have nothing to say, sans the hypocrisy). and chris cornell further clarifies that he is indeed suffering from ultimate creative bankruptcy. how did two cool bands from so...big socialism/communism enthusiast tom morello naturally farts out an utter charmless, commercial aspiring piece of third rate grunge schlock...awesome (no wonder de la rocha got the hell away from those guys, they have nothing to say, sans the hypocrisy). and chris cornell further clarifies that he is indeed suffering from ultimate creative bankruptcy. how did two cool bands from the nineties join up to make the most drab, unexciting, lousy, crap-rock. it's like what foghat and foregner were to 70's rock, so audioslave is to the rock of the 2000s...very depressing. hey zoran, if by brilliant you mean completely uninspired, unoriginal, well-marketed, cheesy, uninteresting, and downright lazy, then you're right on...so much better music out there right now. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Chris Cornell is this generations answer to Freddy Mercury or Ronnie James Dio. The three albums Audioslave produced are as near perfect as any albums of the more classic era (of which I grew up with and am part of). Critics on this site claim that the lyrics don't mean much...... Are you kidding? Audioslave is PURE emotion. Love, hate, remorse, regret, it is all here. If you skipChris Cornell is this generations answer to Freddy Mercury or Ronnie James Dio. The three albums Audioslave produced are as near perfect as any albums of the more classic era (of which I grew up with and am part of). Critics on this site claim that the lyrics don't mean much...... Are you kidding? Audioslave is PURE emotion. Love, hate, remorse, regret, it is all here. If you skip Audioslave as part of your best bands of the 2000s, then you are completely out of touch with reality. Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2017
    10
    This album is GREAT, awesome lyrics and sounds. Can't understand why so many critics disliked it. Whatever!

    Best tracks: Exploder, Shadow on the Sun, I Am the Highway, What You Are, Like A Stone, Getaway Car, The Last Remaining Light.
  9. mandyf
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Chris cornell has an amzing voice and is so talented playing guitar. This band is for real and one of the best considering all the fake rock bands around now
  10. FernandoF
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    it kicks ass
  11. TonyD
    Jan 31, 2005
    3
    Did I just fall asleep and wake up in the late 70s? This is so reminiscent of bands like Rainbow & Ian Gillan that I felt like crying. I predict a thankfully short career.
  12. PatM
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    It kick ass bitch
  13. joadf
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    this band has such a loveable and raw sound that they cant be denied.
  14. DaveK
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    Well done critics. Once again you have totally missed the mark. Everyone understands that this is not RATM or Soundgarden and that Cornell is no de la Rocha so of course it'll sound different. I never followed Soundgarden but I loved RATM. While I miss the political trashing, Cornell's wailing works well for the evolved band. Album rocks
  15. TheZ
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    Chris Cornell is the best rock singer in the business right now, and has been ever since Soundgarden. When he fronts a band as good as Rage's, you know that it has to be a masterpiece.
  16. JohnG
    Dec 4, 2002
    4
    I'm torn on this album, the Cornell moments are wonderful. You can easily hear the parts Chris wrote vs. the parts Morello and the ex-Ragers created. I've never liked Morello's style. They say he's doing things with a guitar no one else would ever do. This is very true, as no one else would want to sound like that. Chris should go back to his solo career, or at least I'm torn on this album, the Cornell moments are wonderful. You can easily hear the parts Chris wrote vs. the parts Morello and the ex-Ragers created. I've never liked Morello's style. They say he's doing things with a guitar no one else would ever do. This is very true, as no one else would want to sound like that. Chris should go back to his solo career, or at least lose Morello and bring in ex-Soundgarden-er Kim to play guitar and write the music, then, we would have a savior of rock in our pop-owned shallow music world. Expand
  17. RobertF.
    Jan 11, 2003
    7
    Yeah! Cornell + RATM, it´s good combination!
  18. NseE
    Nov 5, 2003
    8
    Great cd full of great songs like the razor sharp 'Like a stone', 'What you are', 'I am a highway', 'Hypnotize' (Which does just that), and the epic 'Getaway car' with Chris Cornell's forlorn voice bleeding throughout. Downside, a couple of ok tracks and songs tend to go on for too long and you feel it.
  19. RonB
    Feb 15, 2003
    9
    fantastic Great rock pure talent the mixture of both bands is oustanding a pure classic
  20. GothicBabe
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable Stuff... This album is just amazing. The combination of Rage Against the Machine's inspirational music and Cornell's remarkable voice is SO refreshing. This album will be remembered as one of the "great ones". *** Orlie ***
  21. RossG
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    Great album. Whats that arsehole from pitchfork on about?
  22. ChrisT
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    Great album
  23. tonyr.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    Critics are just that. They screwed up on Zeppelin and now they are screwing up on Audioslave. Great band. The album does take a couple of listens to grow on you, once it does you cant get it off. Thanks to Audioslave for bringing back what rock was meant to sound like.
  24. AlisA
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    I have been a Chris Cornell/Soundgarden fan since Badmotorfinger. The attraction continued through the Euphoria Morning solo (it was a bit of a surprise but I loved it - expecialy the Pillow Of Your Bones), and it hasn't faded with this album either. Through the years of listening to his music, I can freely say that Cornell never disapointed me with what he had to offer to the world I have been a Chris Cornell/Soundgarden fan since Badmotorfinger. The attraction continued through the Euphoria Morning solo (it was a bit of a surprise but I loved it - expecialy the Pillow Of Your Bones), and it hasn't faded with this album either. Through the years of listening to his music, I can freely say that Cornell never disapointed me with what he had to offer to the world of music. The guy is a true talent, and now combined with Morrelo's guitar (another unique tallent) and one of the best rhytam sections (Timmy and Brad) as a foundation for everything that they create surely gives the audience a unique opportunity to enjoy a good record that will definitely be remembered as one of the best rock records of the decade. This CD is a must-have for any Cornell fan out there. PS: Greetings from Bosnia. Expand
  25. Syko
    May 28, 2004
    7
    Having been a huge RATM fan i have to say this album just doesnt excite me as much as the old band. However, im not putting this band down. They have a few great tracks, but I think they have the potential to make some great albums. This one just one lacks that edge RATM know of. The songs all sound too similar, at the same tempo, and all start with guitar and drums without any cunning Having been a huge RATM fan i have to say this album just doesnt excite me as much as the old band. However, im not putting this band down. They have a few great tracks, but I think they have the potential to make some great albums. This one just one lacks that edge RATM know of. The songs all sound too similar, at the same tempo, and all start with guitar and drums without any cunning build ups or break ins. Still some nice work by morello, but bass and drums arent given any action on this cd. They have tremendous talent, and a great singer, now i'd wish theyd use it. Trust me, they can do a lot better. Expand
  26. JonH
    Jun 7, 2004
    4
    Shockingly bland
  27. Jesse
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Cornell has the best voice in rock, and Tom Morrello does things with the guitar others can only dream about
  28. MarcS
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. This is an album that may take you a while to absorb its full weight; but when it finally hits you, you will feel every song. Chris Cornell's unique voice is perfectly matched with Tom Morello's grooves and anti-guitar hero antics. Don't listen to the critics, if you even remotely liked Rage Against the Machine or Soundgarden pick up this album.
  29. ayush
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    Loved the album... but hey i really had no clue of Soundgarden. And after "superunknown"... kinda okay!
  30. Zoran
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    This album is fantastic. The band show a musical maturity, which can only be achieved from years of songwriting experience. I couldn't do without Audioslave; they're one of the best rock acts in the world today. This album is simply brilliant.
  31. Aj
    May 25, 2005
    9
    If you don't like hard rock - then you won't like this. However, I LOVE hard rock and this is on3e of my favorite albums.
  32. Bob
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    super great cd, except i get tired of The Last Remaining Light- that song is bad.
  33. daniel
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    exellent cd,love all songs....
  34. ughjlh
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    Very solid stuff, however even if Tom's riffs are solid his solos are pathetic wannabes.
  35. [Anonymous]
    Apr 26, 2006
    7
    After 10 stellar tracks, the dull filler takes over. However, in those ten tracks, the guys are making absolutely first rate stuff. So much of this record works so well, you can forgive the few tracks that don't.
  36. MilanB.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    I can honestly say this album is the greatest collection of songs I have ever heard, and easily one of the best albums ever recorded.
  37. theena
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    beg, borrow or steal this album people. It is so worth it.
  38. DeanM
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    I minute i bought this album... i fell in love with each riff...
  39. DominicL
    Feb 21, 2003
    10
    The best rock cd i've ever heard
  40. jacqueline
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    this is one of the best albums of all time! these are all amazing musicians and i commend them on their superhuman abilities. let me also point out, it doesn;t matter what the critics say, its what we say. its what the music fans say by buying the cd and we;ve obviously won that battle
  41. MikeE
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    Afer just reading a critic's entertaining yet caustic trashing of this album, I must say that at times, this album says in certain ways things I've wondered about, tried to figure out, for years. The guy who trased "like a stone", probably never had a contemplative thought in his head his entire life. I felt re-assured.
  42. DebiG
    Jul 14, 2003
    9
    I love the singers voice and this new album has made me very interested in going back and listening to Soundgardens older stuff. I think it is great!
  43. jeffc.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    Havent been this excited about an album since i heard zeppelin2 for the first time. Finally rock fans have a GREAT "new" rock album to listen to. Hope these guys can stick it out together for a few more albums. For the sake of rock music anyway.
  44. debbiem
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    everyone is entitled to their own opinion of Audioslave, I personally think they are great I bought the CD and I listen to it at least 4 times a day, my favorite time is when I'm ready to turn in for the night, I lay in bed with the lights out and my headphones on and crank it up loud I love all 14 songs on the CD can't wait for their next one ROCK ON GUYS
  45. alfonsof
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    a masterpiece... audioslave's first album is just epic.
  46. MartinH
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    This is an amasing cd. Tom Morrelo is just amasing. He plays that gitar like he is thw God of all gitars. I never heard a cd as well as this since Reage Against The Machine.
  47. Mike
    Mar 13, 2004
    7
    Let me just say that i come from the Soundgarden boat. IMHO they are the best mainstream rock band of the 90's. Their song structures, odd timiming, complex time changes, and just unique approach to music was unmatched in their time, period. Chris Cornell is unquestionably one of the 3 greatest singers in rock history, and IMHO tied w/ Freddie Mercury for the best ever. No one, ever, Let me just say that i come from the Soundgarden boat. IMHO they are the best mainstream rock band of the 90's. Their song structures, odd timiming, complex time changes, and just unique approach to music was unmatched in their time, period. Chris Cornell is unquestionably one of the 3 greatest singers in rock history, and IMHO tied w/ Freddie Mercury for the best ever. No one, ever, can belt as powerfully as Chris, no one. On top of this Chris was a brilliant songwriter, the timing and structure of his songs was truly genius, a master composer(yes folks, Chris plays many instrumetns and composed most of SG's music) Matt Cameron(ex Soundgarden, current Pearl jam drummer) is w/ out a doubbt the best mainstream rock drummer of the 90's. A true prodigy of the 90's according to professor Neil Peart(Rush drummer, considered by many the greatest rock drummer ever), and the most accomplished mainstream player in recent memory(w/ danny carey of tool just behind). Now on to Audioslave, how do the Rage boys stack up? well let me just say I am a fan of Rage(no where near the extent of SG). Tom and Tim are both exceptionally taletned musicians. But Tom, ur riffs are getting a little old, seriously dude. Anyways, some of Tom's solos are a little too out there for me and completely distract rather than enhance. But tom is unqiue, u have to give him that. Hes experimenting and in some cases(such as Like a stone) it works. Tim is one of modern rock's best bass players too. Brad is an adequate 4/4 drummer, nothing special. On to the album. It doesnt live up to any of SG's work except maybe their 80's albums(screaming life/fopp, ultramega ok, and louder than love) However, it is a solid(though very predictable debut). The standout tracks are: Gasoline, Set it Off Like a stone, I am the Highway, and the Last remaining light.(notice the last 3 are ballads) The reason I say these are the best songs on the album is b/c they really are. Lord knows I love hard rock, but some of the harder songs such as Cochise, Exploder, and Light My Way are just generic sounding and totally off the mark. I mean these songs are decent but just the same rehashed stuff. thats already been done. However, these guys are an awesome live act. They rip through these songs w/ so much energy it doesnt matter that its not great material. So, my final review is a solid 7. Good debut, but I would have expected better from the incredibly talented Mr. Cornell. We'll just have to see what the future brings for Audioslave Expand
  48. MikeD
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    I get goose bumps when I hear Cornell's voice!! This is one of the most incredible gatherings of talent to date. The drive of this band and they way they come together is over the top. As a devout Soundgarden fan, I never thought it could get better, but this is by far Cornell's best effort! I am a slave to Audioslave.
  49. EricC
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    Well Ian, have fun with the Back Street Boys ;) Chis Cornell's lyrics are deep, and, if you didn't have the emotional range of a rock, you would get that. His lyrics made me think, and they make perfect sense if you listen to them a couple of times (maybe a couple of hundred times for you -.-) I love his lyrics because they make sense to me, so you can stick to "Bye Bye Bye" if Well Ian, have fun with the Back Street Boys ;) Chis Cornell's lyrics are deep, and, if you didn't have the emotional range of a rock, you would get that. His lyrics made me think, and they make perfect sense if you listen to them a couple of times (maybe a couple of hundred times for you -.-) I love his lyrics because they make sense to me, so you can stick to "Bye Bye Bye" if you want, but I'm looking forward to witnessing Audioslave have a long suscessful career. Tom was awesome, Brad's drumming is so powerful, and Timmy's bass playing makes the floor shake! Chris's voice is even better than it was in Euphoria Morning, and his familiar wails are a long awaited arival to this sad generation, hopefully more people will start to listen to Audioslave, then branch out to Soundgarden, Temple of the Dog, and RATM. Eric Corvus P.S. Yes, I'm a BIG Chris Cornell fan. Expand
  50. QuietNiot
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    This record stands in my line of vision as an equal to Soundgarden's more extensively praised outing, "Superunknown." Though not that band's greatest achievement (hello, "Badmotorfinger"), the "Unknown" is indeed a terrifyingly glorious rendition of melodic/metallic/grungallic/whatever, and "Audioslave" is just as startling. Heavy, thick, artistic, surreal; these are where the This record stands in my line of vision as an equal to Soundgarden's more extensively praised outing, "Superunknown." Though not that band's greatest achievement (hello, "Badmotorfinger"), the "Unknown" is indeed a terrifyingly glorious rendition of melodic/metallic/grungallic/whatever, and "Audioslave" is just as startling. Heavy, thick, artistic, surreal; these are where the "Uknown" and "Audio..." are evenly matched, filled with imagination as well as distortion, restoring the triumph of rock to where it once sat clean and shiney for all to see. Witness the glory, witness the beauty, see why Cornell is indeed a musical God... too bad they had to go and blow it on that friggin "Exile" record. For shame! Expand
  51. JasonK.
    Oct 22, 2005
    4
    As we all know that the grunge-rock era is dead and long gone, even some of the bands have given up. The same fate consumed Soundgarden (probably) the first and most certainly the best of them all. They officially disbanded in 1997 which forced vocalist Chris Cornell to enter the solo world. He made one hell of a record by himself and really showed what he's capable of all by As we all know that the grunge-rock era is dead and long gone, even some of the bands have given up. The same fate consumed Soundgarden (probably) the first and most certainly the best of them all. They officially disbanded in 1997 which forced vocalist Chris Cornell to enter the solo world. He made one hell of a record by himself and really showed what he's capable of all by himself, no other news was heard about him since then. After a few years we heard a news about Cornell forming a new band. Some rays of hope fell on the grunge genre. Former R.A.T.M. (Rage Against The Machine) members and Cornell together formed Audioslave. This is their debut album. The result of the two band's joining is a laclustre album trying to copy the legendary Led Zepplin. Where did the hatred of R.A.T.M. disappear, where did the deep depressing and sometimes anger rousing songs of Soundgarden fall off? Chris sould've stuck to his solo career or should've considered a reunion of SG. Guess he really did "fall on black days". I am a diehard fan of SG and hope for another of his solo albums OR weep and hope for a SG reunion. WE BEG TO YOU CHRIS!!! Expand
  52. C.S.
    Mar 16, 2005
    9
    From power grind to slow ballad, this album rocks. I love it enough that when my first copy was destroyed, I bought another one.
  53. ChrisP
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I thought this album was rather good i can listen to it from beginning to end without having to skip a song.
  54. Bruce
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    When I first listened to the album, I was disappointed, but that was only because I was anticipating a heavier cd. After another look, and a closer listen I fell in love with this album. A different sound from Garden or Rage, Audioslave has come into their own.
  55. markg
    Aug 29, 2005
    9
    Edgey, excellent collection of rock tunes. Incredible rythm.
  56. OleH
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    A modern classic. I agree with some of the other comments that it'll grow on you every time you listen to it. Grotesque bad reviews from some of the proffesionals.
  57. RobJ
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    An amazing album! Songs like Cochise and Show Me How To Live just blew my mind away!
  58. BrianD
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    A band that once stood for something has now been taken over by a lead singer who seems content on destroying the band with a mix worthy of a Christian Rock CD.
  59. IanC
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    This albumis quite simply one of the best ever recorded. These songs are some of the best songs out there. Amazing
  60. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    I picked this album up out of a discount bin, not knowing what to expect... what i got was a stellar album that blew me away on almost every single song. Audioslave is one of THE best bands out there, although their follow-up albums have failed to reach this great height. If you buy one Audioslave album, make this IT!
  61. PhilP
    Dec 13, 2002
    9
    Cornell's age is starting to show, a couple of the songs are real stinkers, and the Rage portion of the band isn't the most technically proficient. But... It's still the best thing this year a hard rock fan will listen to. Cornell STILL has the most amazing set of pipes in all of rock. The thriving and pounding back up band brings back memories of Soundgarden's Louder Cornell's age is starting to show, a couple of the songs are real stinkers, and the Rage portion of the band isn't the most technically proficient. But... It's still the best thing this year a hard rock fan will listen to. Cornell STILL has the most amazing set of pipes in all of rock. The thriving and pounding back up band brings back memories of Soundgarden's Louder than Love and Badmotorfinger days. Ironically, though, this album would've been the perfect follow up to Superunkown. The harder stuff will blow you away. The softer stuff can hypnotize you. Although it could be a lot better, it is still superior to most everything out there today. Expand
  62. manuelb
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    This guys are amazing, better than any band out there, it's even better than the album of pearl jam, foo fighter and in the same level with queens of the stone age and system of a down.
  63. daveG
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    The best album I've heard in 10 years. Cornell's social commentary along with some powerful, angry licks from Morello and Co. provide a veritable masterpiece. Unlike most albums, which feature a radio-friendly song and little else, Audioslave has no throwaway songs. In fact, the album doesn't even hit its peak until track 10, the brooding, ``Hypnotize.'' Talk The best album I've heard in 10 years. Cornell's social commentary along with some powerful, angry licks from Morello and Co. provide a veritable masterpiece. Unlike most albums, which feature a radio-friendly song and little else, Audioslave has no throwaway songs. In fact, the album doesn't even hit its peak until track 10, the brooding, ``Hypnotize.'' Talk about a reality check for the wealthy powerstructure and corporate elite!!! While many people think that Superunknown was Soundgarden's best album, I always preferred Badmotorfinger. Superunknown contained four or five of radio hits, but little else. To really gather the flavor of what Soundgarden (and indeed the entire grunge movement) stood for, you need to back up to the 1991 masterpiece which features ``Rusty Cage'' and ``Outshined'' along with obscure, yet important tracks such as ``Somewhere,'' ``Mind Riot'' and ``Drawing Flies.'' I'm recommending it to all my friends, and to all my family young enough to understand... Dave Grumbois Expand
  64. SteveS
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    This Awesome CD Deserves Alot More Than A 10 its been my favourite CD for the better part of this year
  65. holycrap
    Dec 23, 2003
    3
    jesus this is bad. RATM is a great band and the musicians are phenomanal. but on this disc they are stuck playing crappy slow songs, they deserve much better. Chris Cornell brings them down like the zeppelin with his slow drawling lyrics. Not good at all, there are many a band 100 times better than audioslave. dont bother buying it, and if you absolutely have to listen to it, just jesus this is bad. RATM is a great band and the musicians are phenomanal. but on this disc they are stuck playing crappy slow songs, they deserve much better. Chris Cornell brings them down like the zeppelin with his slow drawling lyrics. Not good at all, there are many a band 100 times better than audioslave. dont bother buying it, and if you absolutely have to listen to it, just download it because they dont deserve ANY money for this piece of crap. Expand
  66. ZackDelaRocha
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    audioslave ruleees!!!!! and well... fuck you rap
  67. Cindy
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    What album are the critics listening to??? If you rated it under 9 it can't be this one! The combo of these artists are perfect. What a brilliant sound. Run! Now! and get this CD. You will be glad you did. Highly Recommend you listen to this masterpiece!
  68. GaryS
    Sep 17, 2004
    3
    I've never been lulled to sleep so quickly. This album is the biggest snoozefest of the year, I expected to be rocked but instead was rocked to sleep. If I wanted to listen to some one overdue vocals I'd listen to R&B. Obviosly a non-poitical-we're-in-to-get-laid-so-we're-writing-chessy-ballad-rock- that-the-girls-will-like album. I'm going to break my rusty cage I've never been lulled to sleep so quickly. This album is the biggest snoozefest of the year, I expected to be rocked but instead was rocked to sleep. If I wanted to listen to some one overdue vocals I'd listen to R&B. Obviosly a non-poitical-we're-in-to-get-laid-so-we're-writing-chessy-ballad-rock- that-the-girls-will-like album. I'm going to break my rusty cage and run away from this. Expand
  69. davec
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Sweet !!!!!!!!!!!
  70. Mark
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Audioslave...fucking awesome.
  71. ZachL.
    May 29, 2005
    5
    The start seemed to have some goodness to it (besides the lyrics), but about half way through I was tired of it. This album has the same problem that about 90% of modern rock (by modern rock I mean media-hyped rock) suffers from, and that is monotony.
  72. DaveN
    Sep 28, 2006
    7
    Soundgarden and Rage Against the Machine might be better, but this is a solid debut nonetheless. While its expectations might be higher due to the all-star line up the band has, Chris Cornell most of the time seems comfortable with his new bandmates. They do need to tweek their sound a bit (Out of Exile fixes that error mostly), but this is expected on their first CD.
  73. mkb
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    excellent work, a nice blending of the bands, cornell's style at it's finest
  74. ChrisB
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    This is hands down my favorite album of all time. Chris Cornell proves himself as having one of the best voices in rock. The mix of Morrelo's unequaled guitar work and Cornell's voice makes Audioslave great. They will continue to produce even better albums as they continue to work together. To all you RATM fans who need some liberal crap, Audioslave's lyrics have deeper This is hands down my favorite album of all time. Chris Cornell proves himself as having one of the best voices in rock. The mix of Morrelo's unequaled guitar work and Cornell's voice makes Audioslave great. They will continue to produce even better albums as they continue to work together. To all you RATM fans who need some liberal crap, Audioslave's lyrics have deeper meanings without publicly denouncing our government. Expand
  75. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was great. A lot of good tracks off his album, Chris Cornell is a great vocalist that works will with the RATM style sound. Everyone should check out this album.
  76. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    With Chris and Zack as contributors make a nice combination of mixed tastes, while I don't feel the album as a groundbreaking phenomenon, it is one of the best well made and appealing sound list.
  77. May 24, 2017
    8
    I will give this album an 8 based on their previous superior efforts, but since then, there are very few mainstream rock albums that can apply themselves as a competent fit or contender.
  78. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    This album is revolutionary in the genre of rock, and is one of the best rock albums I’ve heard; with groovy riffs, catchy hooks and a whole lot of variety and personality: with Cochise, Show me How to Live, Gasoline and Set it Off all being some of my favourite rock songs. Chris Cornell is incredible and Tom Morello is almost just as good along with the drummer and bassist, making aThis album is revolutionary in the genre of rock, and is one of the best rock albums I’ve heard; with groovy riffs, catchy hooks and a whole lot of variety and personality: with Cochise, Show me How to Live, Gasoline and Set it Off all being some of my favourite rock songs. Chris Cornell is incredible and Tom Morello is almost just as good along with the drummer and bassist, making a unique and brilliant rocking sound. It may be a little bit inconsistent, but when it has the amount of amazing songs on it that it does that doesn’t matter much.

    Probably one of the best rock albums I’ve heard.

    92/100.
    Expand
  79. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    Very good stuff. Chris Cornell's voice mixed with Tom Morello's guitar sound great, even if I still prefer Soundgarden. Like A Stone is awesome, Cochise, Show Me How To Live and I Am the Highway are great, too.
  80. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Best cd ever!!!!!!!!!!!!...........................................................................................................................................................................................................
  81. Jul 16, 2018
    8
    Not badass as RATM, but it's this way at its manner. Maybe RATM instrumental part gained refinement with Chris Cornell vocals, but it still means simply and generic rock, but with Tom Morello's creativity about riffs and excellent rhythm section plus vocals, which makes this album very nice to listen. A supergroup that works.
  82. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Audioslave's eponymously named album is fantastic. Any rock fan should listen to it. It only has a few niggling problems, such as the fact that all of its singles are lined up at the beginning at the album, and after seventh song or so, there is this "void" of songs that the listener may avoid because no singles are integrated within. Chris Cornell's vocals combined with Tom Morello'sAudioslave's eponymously named album is fantastic. Any rock fan should listen to it. It only has a few niggling problems, such as the fact that all of its singles are lined up at the beginning at the album, and after seventh song or so, there is this "void" of songs that the listener may avoid because no singles are integrated within. Chris Cornell's vocals combined with Tom Morello's stroke of guitar genius creates interesting sound. Expand
  83. Apr 18, 2016
    6
    Audioslave stands as an example of a supergroup that sounds like a good idea on paper (RATM and Soundgarden are both fantastic bands) but, when executed, sounds disappointingly bland and uninspired. A couple tracks such as "Cochise" and "I Am a Highway" show promise, but most of the songs sound the same. Brad Wilk's drumming sounds identical on a lot of tracks and Tom Morello's riffs lackAudioslave stands as an example of a supergroup that sounds like a good idea on paper (RATM and Soundgarden are both fantastic bands) but, when executed, sounds disappointingly bland and uninspired. A couple tracks such as "Cochise" and "I Am a Highway" show promise, but most of the songs sound the same. Brad Wilk's drumming sounds identical on a lot of tracks and Tom Morello's riffs lack passion and, well, rage. On top of that, this album is too long. A 10 track album would have been a slight improvement. I mean, it's not a bad album. It just isn't that good. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Blender
    60
    This is feel-good stuff, the sound of a rejuvenating artistic vacation. [#12, p.136]
  2. A curious idea from its inception, pairing Soundgarden's singer with Rage's musicians promises a unique alchemy it can't entirely deliver, obscuring the latter's politics and distinct sound.
  3. The result isn't a faux Rage album; rather, it's the true follow-up to Soundgarden's ''Superunknown'' that neither that band nor a solo Cornell ever managed.