Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Spin
    83
    Frank folk-rock songs that are too sketchy to be great but too good to write off. [May 2003, p.116]
  2. Blender
    80
    Shambling and confessional. [May 2003, p.116]
  3. Dando conjures up a combination of The Lemonheads' It's a Shame About Ray, Buffalo Tom's Smitten and Wilco's Summerteeth - fashioning this year's most essential post-rehab record in the process.
  4. A blissful happiness pervades 'Baby I'm Bored', but then that's Evan all over.
  5. Mojo
    80
    Baby I'm Bored's knotty guitars and ramshackle production values recall the Lemonheads' swansong, Car Button Cloth. [Mar 2003, p.94]
  6. Uncut
    80
    While Baby I'm Bored is way too modest to be a masterpiece, it's far more than a join-the-dots account of a life on the rocks, and grows brighter, and more optimistic, with every play. [Apr 2003, p.102]
  7. Even if it seems unassuming and underwhelming upon its first listen, Baby I'm Bored with each spin reveals the uniform strength of the songs and the sweet, understated charms of Dando as a performer.
  8. 'Baby I'm Bored' is the album Dando's fans hoped he would return with.
  9. We don't dislike anything on here, and each time we listen, we like what we hear even more.
  10. Alternative Press
    60
    There's nothing bad here, but also nothing new. [June 2003, p.103]
  11. Q Magazine
    60
    A very understated record, the kind that will be treasured by diehards, pull in one or two casual bystanders and leave the world pretty much unchanged. [Apr 2003, p.106]
  12. The biggest problem with Baby I'm Bored is that getting to the good stuff requires slogging through the initial four tracks.
  13. Thirty-eight minutes of co-writes and covers feels slight for seven years' work.
  14. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    Yawn. [25 Apr 2003, p.150]
  15. As with his last two releases, Baby I'm Bored is gutted by under-worked, inconsequential two-minute ideas.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. PaulaD
    Feb 25, 2004
    8
    I'm giving this an 8. I've been meaning to buy this album for ages now. Evan came to Perth this weekend just gone so I went out and I'm giving this an 8. I've been meaning to buy this album for ages now. Evan came to Perth this weekend just gone so I went out and bought it beforehand so I'd know some of his new tunes. I have always been a huge Lemonheads fan and this album did not disappoint me. I've always found that the Lemonheads managed to balance and mash up between folk/rock/country/pop and even though a few tunes on this album have more of a country feel to what I'd normall like, I still loved it. Maybe I'm biased because I've been a Lemonheads fan for over 10 years. If you get a chance to see Evan live any time soon I'd recommend going because it was one of the best live performances I've seen in a long time. He has an amazingly beautiful and strong voice live and I'd never, ever miss a chance to see the man with just his guitar, ever again. Full Review »
  2. ChrisT
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    This is album is stunning! It hurts its so good! sweet rock and roll
  3. jasona
    Apr 9, 2003
    8
    Hey, maybe its not cool to like Evan Dando anymore but i was never cool in the first place. It takes about 3 listens to really absorb this cd Hey, maybe its not cool to like Evan Dando anymore but i was never cool in the first place. It takes about 3 listens to really absorb this cd and appreciate it. Deeply personal songs or so it would seem, i dig it. Plus the track "waking up" cowritten by that lucky ba#tard who married Liv Tyler is pretty good as well. Full Review »