User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 86
  2. Negative: 2 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LucifertheSeductive
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Thought-Provoking, Disturbed show their versatility with the more contemplative approach. Anyone whos does not look beyond the superficial messages are intelectually challenged. Disturbed - paving the way for great things to come
  2. NickJ
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Probably the most perfect mainstream metal album to come out in a looooong time. Though at times it is a bit monotonous as, quite frankly, there isn't a weak track on the album except for Liberate. It's difficult to sift through them sometimes because they're all awesome, but at the same time it's a really good listen.
  3. DME
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    "Believe" is aCD that gets better with each listen, so be careful not to misjudge it. When I first heard it, every track sounded the same. Now I am able to see the diversity in the album. My favorite tracks are "Prayer", "Believe", "Intoxication", and "Bound". There are no bad tracks. Great album that any hard rock fan will enjoy.
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This album was written in memory of David Draiman's (vocals) grandfather. The entire album contains very deep lyrics and is a little less heavy than Disturbed's other albums, but fantastic nonetheless. I personally recommend "Rise," "Prayer," and "Believe" as my favorite songs off of this album.
  5. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    7
    Not my favorite album, it is at the bottom of my disturbed album list my list goes like this
    1. The sickness
    2. Asylum
    3. 10,000 fists
    4. Indestructible
    5. Believe
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq
  8. matthews
    Jan 6, 2003
    10
    Just plain good
  9. KevinF.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    On disc or live, nothing tops Disturbed.
  10. CV
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    This CD is packed - not a weak song on it.
  11. justins
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    nobody brings it like disturbed the lyrics is what makes them different nobdy has the same lyrics and the music is pretty unique too.
  12. AmyS
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This is the best CD I have ever purchased it has not left my CD player since then. The songs are hypnotic and David Draiman's vocals are edgy and so full of rage that he speaks for an entire generation of angry teenagers and even adults. In these turbulent times their lyrics are more valuable and seem to be speaking the thoughts that we have at one time or another harbored. I hope This is the best CD I have ever purchased it has not left my CD player since then. The songs are hypnotic and David Draiman's vocals are edgy and so full of rage that he speaks for an entire generation of angry teenagers and even adults. In these turbulent times their lyrics are more valuable and seem to be speaking the thoughts that we have at one time or another harbored. I hope there next album is as good or better than this. Expand
  13. GregS
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    Evolve or Die! Disturbed has already chosen to evolve.
  14. PeterF
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    This band rules, there so different from every other band i love it
  15. RichardB
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    I love disturbed and the album, i think this is a very stong followup to the sickness, it has more powerful guitar riffs and lyrics.
  16. shawns
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    the cd is a huge turn from the sickness.i want to say its more melow but its not word. just all good
  17. cotyr
    Oct 4, 2004
    6
    this cd wasnt even near my expectations the sickness was an awesome cd but this cd went downhill alot from their sound when they first came out
  18. lovedisturbed
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    i love disturbed and i love this album. gotta be one of my faves.
  19. riska
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    this cd is so powerful, energiized, and just plain RAH! it lets your anger out when you sing with David. Davids voice has so much rage yet at times it so beautiful with that chello. this cd is just as good and even better then the sickness. i think its great live or on disk. it still blows my mind the way he makes those sounds. the rest of the band does a great job makeing the music this cd is so powerful, energiized, and just plain RAH! it lets your anger out when you sing with David. Davids voice has so much rage yet at times it so beautiful with that chello. this cd is just as good and even better then the sickness. i think its great live or on disk. it still blows my mind the way he makes those sounds. the rest of the band does a great job makeing the music poweful as well. Expand
  20. timmyf
    Apr 28, 2004
    7
    i think that this is a decent album. it gets a little boring, but the double bass drumming is great. i just wish that these guys had even more instrumental talent.
  21. EdgarC
    Dec 21, 2002
    10
    best album I've ever heard, they are true rocker's not like other wanna be rock bands.
  22. AmandaC
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    It absolutely rocks!!! I think it is much better than the last. Being the only "chick" to rate this, as far as I've seen, I'm sure I am not the only one. I find Dave's "way" quite seductive,and very,very,sexy. 'nuff said.
  23. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    well-structured and heavy
    sometimes it looks like a religious band, may looks like a ****
    Draiman is a very talentous singer
    ......................................................................................................................................................
  24. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    This is easily one of the best albums I've ever heard, every song is memorable and full of emotion. I remember listening to it as a kid with my father, so perhaps at least some of it is sentimental. Regardless, It's an album that everyone should give a listen. The quality of the recording isn't the best I've ever heard, but that's not unheard of given the genre.
  25. Sep 9, 2015
    10
    This was absolutely awesome. It's all good, it's all heavy, and a lot of parents will absolutely hate it even though it's pretty clean mainstream music. Trust me. That's all you need to know. GET IT NOW
  26. Apr 8, 2021
    7
    Just pure badassery, I love this album! It's very crude and rough 00's metal and I love it all! It's definitely not their best album in fact it's one of their worst but it is only their worst because the others are so good in comparison
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Blender
    60
    It improves on the debut, slightly. [#10, p.114]
  2. Q Magazine
    40
    Their shift towards a more traditional heavy metal aesthetic seems more a natural progression than an act of desperation. [Nov 2002, p.100]
  3. Frontman David Draiman shows that he is an ample singer, refraining from the quirky vocal squallings that graced Sickness for a more straight-ahead croon.