• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Despite their newfound earnestness, [blink] seem incapable of pretension. [21 Nov 2003, p.82]
  2. Spin
    91
    A dark, emotionally intense record, best experienced on headphones. [Jan 2004, p.97]
  3. You can't deny that these dudes are on to something great. Seriously.
  4. Blender
    80
    Blink-182 have found a new, angrier way to never leave junior high. [Dec 2003, p.135]
  5. I miss the penis jokes, I sincerely do, but when life's little fuckups sound like cosmic conundrums--and here I'm referring not just to the new disc's big choruses but, more importantly, to its snaking structures and unrelentingly urgent harmonies--now-and-then comparisons fail.
  6. An unexpected and welcome maturation.
  7. Maturity suits these guys: Five albums into their career, it sounds like they're just getting warmed up.
  8. Blink-182 is a challenging listen, although not for the reasons one usually associates with Blink-182.
  9. The disc does meander in spots, and its most achingly sincere love songs become cloying, but it's easy to both enjoy and appreciate Blink-182's effort and evolution, especially when hooky pleasures continue to function as its primary stock in trade.
  10. Q Magazine
    40
    The majority of material... is forgettable. [Dec 2003, p.118]
  11. Mojo
    40
    The heart of the album sticks closely to their well-tried formula: sing-song melodies and puerile lyrics set against a steady backdrop of numbingly bland riffage. [Jan 2004, p.106]
  12. Someone should put Blink 182 out of their misery.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 226
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Perfect album. All the songs are amazing. Tom Delonge and Mark Hoppus are the best at what they do in their genre. Travis Barker is the worldsPerfect album. All the songs are amazing. Tom Delonge and Mark Hoppus are the best at what they do in their genre. Travis Barker is the worlds best drummer. This album is a lot more insightful and serious than their other work, but could be their best material. Fav songs: asthenia, go, and feeling this. Full Review »
  2. MK
    Nov 24, 2003
    3
    OOOH WATCH OUT THEY'VE "GROWN UP" NOW!!!!
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Definitely different, but I prefer it from anything else they've ever done. It has nothing to do with anything else they did prior, and IDefinitely different, but I prefer it from anything else they've ever done. It has nothing to do with anything else they did prior, and I suspect that's where a lot of the distaste comes from. But the music is pretty darn good for a rock album. Full Review »