User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1181 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    4 years of waiting and this clear emotional album states Ocean's frustrations with social anxiety. Personally one of the best albums of 2016 but go ahead and listen for yourself
  2. Aug 29, 2016
    10
    Easily the best album of the year. Surpasses Channel Orange and I was skeptical of that happening. I was terrified that he would turn into another money grubbing pop star with no substance. So far he's stayed true to the art form. This album is nothing short of genius and I'm very happy to be living in an era where we have artists like Frank Ocean.
  3. Aug 28, 2016
    10
    Most contemporary musical artists will do damn near anything to chase - and then maintain - relevance. In an industry of declining record sales and infinite musical choices a click away, major singers and bands are prone to hawk their product and brand incessantly across social media, corporate promotions, and ad campaigns. The fear of overexposure has been replaced by the fear of beingMost contemporary musical artists will do damn near anything to chase - and then maintain - relevance. In an industry of declining record sales and infinite musical choices a click away, major singers and bands are prone to hawk their product and brand incessantly across social media, corporate promotions, and ad campaigns. The fear of overexposure has been replaced by the fear of being forgotten entirely, and artists have reacted by shoving themselves in their audience’s face to the point of exasperation and passivity.

    It’s safe to say at this point that Frank Ocean is not like most artists today. In the four years preceding the release of Blonde, Frank drifted steadily further from the spotlight, hiding himself away in the studio and avoiding nearly all social media, and virtually any public appearances - musical or otherwise. Frank’s sabbatical from public life shot expectations into the stratosphere for his follow-up to Channel Orange, and after a protracted and unorthodox rollout, one of the key themes of listening to Blonde is how it twists and subverts those very expectations to create a sparse, insular masterpiece.

    As an opener, “Nikes” is both a promise and an affirmation. By beginning his long-awaited follow-up with three minutes of dramatically pitched-up vocals, Frank sends an immediate message that the album to follow was made on his own terms, and he is not beholden artistically to anything other than his own vision. The song shouts out the late A$AP Yams and Pimp C, who both died of drug overdoses including codeine - and the beat itself is a chopped-and-screwed downtempo haze reminiscent of codeine-fueled works of many Southern rap artists. But the most poignant remembrance is the one that follows: “RIP Trayvon, that **** look just like me” - one of the few times Blonde’s opaque reminiscences coalesce into a definitive social statement.

    When Frank’s unaltered voice finally reveals itself in the final two minutes of “Nikes”, adorned with a gently strummed acoustic guitar, it is as if the drugged-out haze has been parted by the sun. “We’ll let you guys prophesy”, he sings, setting up Blonde’s recurring rumination on the passage of time, memory, and an uncertain future. “White Ferrari” is a double entendre, reminiscing on both a drug-addled car ride and the highs and lows of a past relationship. “Solo” switches from present to past tense, with the first verse recounting tales of youthful innocence, and the second verse looking back from a jaded, melancholy perspective. “Seigfried” is an existential crisis masquerading as a love song, with a reference to solar flares that could extinguish civilization - a reminder to live in the moment with a future that can’t be controlled.

    These truths are revealed in a decidedly sparse manner, as Channel Orange’s expansive compositions are largely replaced by bare-bones arrangements, frequently consisting of little more than Frank’s voice and a single guitar. This sparsity is at first disarming, as it often seems upon first glance that these tracks could be home demos rather than professional studio recordings. Yet upon repeat listens, the power of this minimalism to reveal the underlying beauty in the songwriting becomes clear. Frank’s voice, as stunning and versatile as it has ever been, takes center stage throughout, and his lyrics cut through the guitar feedback with breathtaking emotional precision. As for the instrumentation itself, the dominance of guitars throughout Blonde gives the proceedings an indie rock edge rarely felt so strongly in R&B. A variety of studio collaborators, including Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, grace the record with diverse and subtle guitar work that perfectly fits each track. “Seigfried” is a particular standout, with a riff that feels straight out of classic rock ballads, pushed back in a haze of echo and reverb to appear as if broadcasting into the track from a distant stratosphere.

    Perhaps most striking on Blonde is the way that the variety of musical collaborators who contributed rarely make their presence explicitly known. Rather, their contributions serve as a means of achieving Frank’s singular vision, from which the album never wavers. Kendrick Lamar’s only vocal contribution to “Skyline To” is a few softly spoken words in the background, and even Beyonce is limited to harmonizing with Frank at the end of “Pink + White”, contributing very little lead vocals of her own. Tellingly, the only true guest vocal feature on the entire album is in many ways the best summation of Frank Ocean’s approach to artistry.

    For Frank and Andre, who have “stumbled and lived every word” in their songs, pure artistic expression is its own reward. Both men have carved out careers filled with bursts of brilliant creativity and long absences, and have lived intensely private lives outside the spotlight. And now, Frank Ocean has created a modern masterpiece that can stand tall with the best works of Outkast and others.
    Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2016
    10
    Trippy like Nirvana! When last has music made you feel high without actually getting high? Such raw emotion, such beautiful vocals, every lyric, every guitar strum made me feel out of this world. To love Frank is to know him and if u claim to be a music lover it is your duty to get to know him by listening to Blond(e).
  5. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    Very infrequently can I say that it takes one listen-through to see that an album will undoubtedly be one day seen as a classic. It has all the trappings of a modern masterpiece, from its creative sonic exploration, to its unorthodox, but very cohesive, song structures. Ocean has absorbed, reflected, and refined, creating an album that it is totally, and unquestionably, original.
  6. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    Blonde requires a few listens before it starts to sink in, but when it does you'll be hooked. From my first listen I was very impressed by the sheer attention to detail. But it wasn't until after listening back to the lyrics, revealing a whole new side to the record that I had previously overlooked, did I really start to appreciate this album. Ocean has really blurred boundaries with thisBlonde requires a few listens before it starts to sink in, but when it does you'll be hooked. From my first listen I was very impressed by the sheer attention to detail. But it wasn't until after listening back to the lyrics, revealing a whole new side to the record that I had previously overlooked, did I really start to appreciate this album. Ocean has really blurred boundaries with this record showing that he is not afraid to speak his mind, and really leaves you thinking after every track. Although a lot of people may not see eye-to-eye with this record due to its lack of conformity, it is a prime example true self expression which is something a lot of popular modern artists are seemingly yet to discover. Overall a gorgeous, thought provoking album full of emotion, by an artist way ahead of his time. Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    This is an incredible album! Definitely one of the best this year. Frank Ocean got even better with his vocals. The production is great too. A lot of songs feel stripped down but this gives him the chance to take center stage. Nikes works as a great intro and gives the listener a general feeling of what to expect through the rest of the album. Other standouts for me include: Ivy, SelfThis is an incredible album! Definitely one of the best this year. Frank Ocean got even better with his vocals. The production is great too. A lot of songs feel stripped down but this gives him the chance to take center stage. Nikes works as a great intro and gives the listener a general feeling of what to expect through the rest of the album. Other standouts for me include: Ivy, Self Control, Nights, Solo and it's Reprise (Word to Andre 3000!!!), White Ferraris and the gospel sounding God Speed. Only time will help us decide whether this surpasses Channel Orange. But what is certain is that this is a modern day classic! Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2016
    10
    Blonde is what happens when Channel Orange and Nostalgia Ultra have a baby. lol but seriously tho, how has Frank managed to keep his signature sound in an age where everything sounds so alike? Maybe thhat is what happens when you stay aloof and off social media. I love it.
  9. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    This album is dreamy and while you can let it play as background music, when you focus in, the pure genius of Frank Ocean shows. Personally, I was not the biggest fan of Chanel Orange, so this release I was skeptical- but Frank blew it out of the water. The album is quiet, self reflecting, and modest - and you need to hear it.
  10. Aug 31, 2016
    10
    Easily the best album of the year. Surpasses Channel Orange and I was skeptical of that happening. I was terrified that he would turn into another money grubbing pop star with no substance. So far he's stayed true to the art form. This album is nothing short of genius and I'm very happy to be living in an era where we have artists like Frank Ocean.
  11. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    It's not channel orange but its was worth the 4 year wait with beautiful vocals from Frank and features from Beyonce, an amazing verse from Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar. Frank did something totally different from his previous masterpiece and experimented with different sounds than Channel Orange. Honestly i don't have a favourite track because the whole album is a beautiful journey thatIt's not channel orange but its was worth the 4 year wait with beautiful vocals from Frank and features from Beyonce, an amazing verse from Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar. Frank did something totally different from his previous masterpiece and experimented with different sounds than Channel Orange. Honestly i don't have a favourite track because the whole album is a beautiful journey that you have to listen to more than 1 time Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2016
    10
    We all waited years for another Channel Orange by Frank Ocean, but Frank gave us something different, something better. Every single song you can just listen and vibe out to, and when the album switches tone halfway through, that just proves how genius this album is.
  13. Sep 20, 2016
    10
    Top 3 AOTY in no order: 1.Radiohead: A moon shaped pool 2. Frank Ocean: Blonde 3. Nick Cave: Skeleton Tree. For me this three albums are masterpieces!
  14. Dec 16, 2016
    9
    The album answers the hiatus-long question: How do you top Channel Orange? The answer: By stripping the production back and laying on the sentiment. I wish I could go full Robert Christgau and just post a couple words instead of 150 character minimums, but instead I'll just leave with this: IIIII WILL ALLLLLLWAYYYYS LUUUUUUUUV YOUUUUUUU
  15. Jul 3, 2017
    10
    Este disco es un mar de emociones, Frank es tan honesto y crudo en su musica, como cantante se hace muy exclusivo con su arte pero vale la pena mover mar y tierra para tener su musica este disco es como una bocanada de aire fresco un R&B esquisito. Uno de mis discos favoritos de esta decada sin duda.
  16. Sep 3, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a beautiful and a broken-into-pieces album. It records Ocean's blur attitude toward his sexual orientation and his personal life. I really love this. I do love this. Coda makes me wanna cry Expand
  17. Sep 4, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the best 2016 albums for me. I dont really do a lot of reviews but after purchasing this from itunes and listening to it for 2 weeks, i just felt I needed to put in writing how this makes me feel. I discovered Mr Ocean back when he was on twitter after he released Nostalgia Ultra (which was a really good mixtape)
    I fell deeply in love with his music when I listened to CO which became my soulmate album for years. I was so scared that I wouldnt like the current project as much as I love CO but wow wow wow!! Blonde speaks to me.
    Its very subtle then it just punches you!!
    I went in not expecting NU or CO and thats the best way to approach this, I also read the lyrics as I listened.
    Wow!! Wow!! Wow!! Wow!!
    Self Control is my favorite especially the 2nd part, the beat drop in Nights is THE BEST beat drop I have ever heard. Top 5 are
    1.Self Control
    2.Nights
    3.Solo
    4.Ivy
    5.White Ferrari
    Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2016
    10
    After 4 years, he makes a triumphant return with amazing minimalist production, soulful vibe and touching lyrics. You can't deny that Frank Ocean is a powerhouse on this generation's R&B!
  19. Mar 28, 2017
    10
    This album is beautiful front to back. The instrumentals and the vocal performances are incredible. He has matured as a song writer and as an artist overall. A clear upgrade from Channel Orange (Both great albums)
  20. Apr 10, 2017
    10
    This album is living proof that you don't have to sacrifice your art for mainstream success, Frank creates one of the most beautiful albums I've heard in a long time. He sings too his social anxiety, insecurities, and lost love. Many of these songs will move you to tears. This is one of the greatest, if not the greatest R&B album ever made.
  21. Apr 16, 2017
    9
    Frank Ocean is the **** man. You would think that the amount of hype and impatience he substantiated would hinder the ability for people to see this album through a clear, unbiased light. False. he **** murdered this album in the most soft, expressive, Frank Ocean way possible. You all know the rest of the details. This album kills.
  22. Jun 21, 2017
    9
    In the four years since Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange, the lines between hip and hop and R&B have continued to blur- Rappers are “singing” (Auto-tune, sigh) while contemporary R&B artists are opting for a more thuggish delivery. Ocean’s newest release, Blonde, is content to further obscure our perception of a genre with an unexpected emphasis on surreal synth chords, lush guitar strumming,In the four years since Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange, the lines between hip and hop and R&B have continued to blur- Rappers are “singing” (Auto-tune, sigh) while contemporary R&B artists are opting for a more thuggish delivery. Ocean’s newest release, Blonde, is content to further obscure our perception of a genre with an unexpected emphasis on surreal synth chords, lush guitar strumming, and echoed vocals.

    The setting of these tracks is an intimate one, but not in the typical sense of sounding “live”- with its stream of conscious lyrics, and dreamlike echo of vocals, it’s as if the listener is swimming through Ocean’s thoughts. In contrast to the narrative structure of Channel Orange, tracks like “Pink and White” find Ocean collecting fading memories from past relationships, and assorting them into cryptic collages. He is more forward on “Ivy” when he exclaims, “I thought I was dreaming when you said you loved me;” the accompanying guitar bubbles and pops, conveying this moment of wonder.

    The floaty nature of these reflective love songs is grounded by the more soulful, gospel numbers of the album. Whereas the hopeful tone of “Godspeed” follows its somber organ play, “Solo” juxtaposes this instrumentation with eccentric lyrics about drug use, with Ocean singing from several different perspectives. Whether he’s singing as himself, a crackhead, or just a guy trying to get by, the rock-bottom-desperation in Ocean’s voice is impossible to escape as preaches, “Inhale, inhale, that’s heaven."

    Structurally, Blonde is scattered- songs can be quick to switch tones, go off on tangents, or drift into unexpected bridges. “Nights” seems more conventional on this nearly percussion-less album, with its ticking hi-hats and crisp backbeat, but glitches out in the verse as it interchanges stop-go guitars with what seems to be sampled xylophone(??). Ocean is more aggressive here as he raps the frustrations of man seeking solitude from the “every night **** every day **** A brief moment of escape is sonically conveyed by an abrupt switch, in the last third of the track, to a tranquil atmosphere, where wandering piano follows Ocean’s contemplative mood.

    Blonde plays like passing daydreams, ones that seamlessly slip in and out of consciousness on long car rides. Like Radiohead’s latest release, A Moon Shaped Pool, this album isn’t something you can pop on and listen to at any given time. The most rewarding listens are experienced in a reflective state, or while slightly distracted (working on a project, reading, taking a shower, drinking a cup of coffee with friends). For the hardcore fans that find themselves constantly annotating lyrics online, I leave you with some lines from “Seigfried” that’ve been cycling around in my head for about a week now-

    Dreaming a thought that could dream about a thought

    That could think of the dream that thought

    That could think of dreaming and getting a glimmer of God

    I be dreaming a dream in a thought

    That could dream about a thought

    That could think of dreaming a dream
    Expand
  23. Oct 15, 2017
    10
    the best album I've heard this decade miles ahead of chanel orange and all his peers, his stories are more compelling emotions more clearly articulated I honestly think Frank Ocean is the future of music.
  24. Feb 3, 2018
    10
    It's not immediately evident that Blonde is a masterpiece unlike Frank's debut studio album, but boy is it.
  25. Jul 27, 2019
    10
    I don't have the words to explain how well-produced and thought-out this album is. Raw emotion, mesmerizing beats, and insanely well-written lyrics. MASTERPIECE
  26. Sep 5, 2020
    10
    Pppppppppprrrrrrrreeeeeeeeee daaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  27. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    a true masterpiece with this new beautiful sonic effect and legendary team that worked on this album
    gorgeous inside out just brilliant. i really loved where this album takes you it's his most ambitious album to date .
  28. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    I have never had an album hit me so hard on first listen. This project beats out when I first heard MBDTF, Yeezus, GKMC, and so much more. It's truly a masterpiece. The melodies, lyrics, and especially PRODUCTION are all beautiful. It's truly the peak of music so far and I can't wait to look back on this era of my life with Blonde. It's truly magical. I can't explain it. It's the only timeI have never had an album hit me so hard on first listen. This project beats out when I first heard MBDTF, Yeezus, GKMC, and so much more. It's truly a masterpiece. The melodies, lyrics, and especially PRODUCTION are all beautiful. It's truly the peak of music so far and I can't wait to look back on this era of my life with Blonde. It's truly magical. I can't explain it. It's the only time I've been speechless for an album. Expand
  29. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    This is Ocean's most visceral and heartbreaking work yet, resulting in a devastating collection of masterful songs that leave you absolutely breathless
  30. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    AN incredibly beautiful album that carries you along its melodic waves through unchartered territory, in which you immerse yourself into the rawest of Ocean's emotions. Truly art.
  31. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    This is not what I was expecting at all, but Frank has a way of giving us music that feels vital. He's an artist and I respect his artistry enough to trust his direction. Blonde is not an easy listen. But if you're patient, the way we have to be with great art, it's extremely satisfying after repeated listens.This is one of the most beautiful albums I've ever heard hands down.
  32. Aug 22, 2016
    9
    After four years of waiting, anyone hell bent on hearing a "Channel Orange Part 2" album will most likely be disappointed. An collection of mostly completely original music that relies on subtle, smooth alternative production with a healthy mix of rapping and beautiful vocals is the result of this long wait. While deceptively simple at first, repeated listens will unearth a gold mine ofAfter four years of waiting, anyone hell bent on hearing a "Channel Orange Part 2" album will most likely be disappointed. An collection of mostly completely original music that relies on subtle, smooth alternative production with a healthy mix of rapping and beautiful vocals is the result of this long wait. While deceptively simple at first, repeated listens will unearth a gold mine of emotions and lyrics that are Frank's most dense yet. Another album that is as fully in love with summer as Nostalgia, Ultra and Channel Orange, except with a different blend of temperature and sunshine.

    9.0/10
    Expand
  33. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    I do not think that people looking for singles will find much here. While there are certainly songs that are able to be put on and enjoyed at any time out of order, this is meant to be consumed as a full album. The way it builds and falls without reaching a climax, all the while still demanding the listener's attention, is virtuosic.

    The subject matter can be compared to the self-titled
    I do not think that people looking for singles will find much here. While there are certainly songs that are able to be put on and enjoyed at any time out of order, this is meant to be consumed as a full album. The way it builds and falls without reaching a climax, all the while still demanding the listener's attention, is virtuosic.

    The subject matter can be compared to the self-titled album from American emo band American Football. Frank's take on adolescent romance is, however, his own. Rather than a sense of longing and melancholy that AF uses, Frank tends to look at things in a more gentle, reminiscent light.

    Of course, having this album come out at the end of summer, before I go off to university, seems to be a match made in heaven. I'm sure I'm not alone in the unique resonance this album sets with me, and I know that I will look back on this time with Frank Ocean's Blonde as one of the radiating memories
    Expand
  34. Aug 22, 2016
    9
    Well, Mr. Ocean lives up the hype and his sophomore effort Blonde is a stunning achievement in every way. His growth as an artist is becoming more evident and this time there's a more intimate sound that accompanies powerful, personal lyrics. Definitely one of the best albums of 2016.
  35. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    In a time when mainstream music is average to say the least, records like this remind us that good music can still be produced. After 4 years of absence, Frank Ocean returns with easily the best album of the year and one to be remembered for the forthcoming years. Gorgeous instrumentals and flawless production combined with Frank's undisputed songwriting skills and his best vocalIn a time when mainstream music is average to say the least, records like this remind us that good music can still be produced. After 4 years of absence, Frank Ocean returns with easily the best album of the year and one to be remembered for the forthcoming years. Gorgeous instrumentals and flawless production combined with Frank's undisputed songwriting skills and his best vocal performance to date offer us a true modern times masterpiece. I'm still absorbing this wonderful album and it still has so much to offer in over time. A truly worth channel ORANGE successor. Expand
  36. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    It's honestly too difficult to put into words how amazing this album is. I believe this album will go down as a classic. It's interesting to note that he drew a lot of his inspiration from The Beatles and Beach Boys while making Blond.
  37. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Well worth the wait. Raw emotion and personality on every track and I've just missed Frankie's voice, one of the best in today's R&B. Best album I've heard so far in 2016 and definitely another classic from him
  38. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Simply Amazing. it took me a few listens through but I think that this is his best album yet. It's such a new sound, and everything about it is aesthetically pleasing.
  39. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Brilliant Album
    Has such a glossy overall vibe its hard to describe the feeling it gives but its a masterpiece no doubt, even the interludes are more developed and thought out than most other songs you will hear this year
  40. Aug 22, 2016
    9
    Blonde is subtle and odd compared to its accessible predecessor, and while it may not reach the legendary highs of Channel Orange, its minimal and organic approach to pop songwriting makes for an experience that transcends the immediacy of the genre it inhabits- particularly on album highlights Solo and White Ferrari.
  41. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    This is Frank's best album, let's face it. The production, the features and the lyrics are pure gold. The wait was worth it for sure. This is classic Frank, if you like his stuff, you'll like this album.
  42. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    After the first time through I was left with goosebumps and in shock . After the second time through I was left feeling wonder and joy, and after the third, forth,fifth, and sixth times through I was left Blonde. Blond (for fans of Frank) is the culmination of years of patience,frustration,anxiety, and forgiveness. Forgiveness for what? Forgiveness for the wait. This album is a tripAfter the first time through I was left with goosebumps and in shock . After the second time through I was left feeling wonder and joy, and after the third, forth,fifth, and sixth times through I was left Blonde. Blond (for fans of Frank) is the culmination of years of patience,frustration,anxiety, and forgiveness. Forgiveness for what? Forgiveness for the wait. This album is a trip through dreamy landscapes, White Ferraris', and Quaaludes, with some love and sex sprinkled in. From the first song "Nikes" where Frank pitched up his voice about three octaves to the final masterpiece of the album "Futura Free" Blonde leaks out hit after hit after hit. Expand
  43. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    After a long 4 year wait, Frank's new album shows it similarities and differences to the former success, Channel Orange, however it lives up to the hype presenting a thorough album which keeps its stride all the way to the end.

    First thing to note is that the album strides away from the drum beats of the hip-hop influenced Channel Orange and steps more into the territory of pop with the
    After a long 4 year wait, Frank's new album shows it similarities and differences to the former success, Channel Orange, however it lives up to the hype presenting a thorough album which keeps its stride all the way to the end.

    First thing to note is that the album strides away from the drum beats of the hip-hop influenced Channel Orange and steps more into the territory of pop with the instrumental melodies consisting of mainly piano, guitar and strings. This transition shows the diverseness between the two albums with the upbeat nature of the former compared to the more mellow aspects of Blonde.
    The album starts with the single "Nikes", released in a music video a day prior to the release of the album, a song which the majority is taken up a few pitches however the highlight of the track is the lush 2 minutes of Franks pure singing towards the end which leads a fantastic entry into the album. This consistency continues throughout the entire album, with songs such as "Pink + White" and "Nights" adding in the drum beat and songs such as "Self Control" taking the exact opposite approach by using a simple tune such as a guitar chords with just Franks voice on top, which works just as well.

    The production for this album is absolutely outstanding, with every single bar tweaked to perfection. Whether its the echos on "White Ferrari" or the strings on "Seigfried" it's clear that the full 4 years have been spent in perfecting this album, and it was a good ass job.
    The only complaint I would have with this album is that the ending could be slightly better with a track like the opener, however hearing the previous years (even before CO) through audio clips in the final minute containing members of Odd Future and even his younger brother makes you realise how much he has come these few years and how much Frank has transformed.

    If you are going in for a Channel Orange 2.0, you may be disappointed. However, if you are looking for pure Frank and a step in another direction you will absolutely be satisfied with this new release.
    Expand
  44. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    O álbum do ano foi lançado. Depois da longa espera (4 anos desde o primeiro álbum de estúdio) Frank Ocean voltou, porém dessa vez pra se auto afirmar na indústria musical, e tornar-se um dos próximos nomes mais fortes do cenário popular americano.
  45. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Amazing album. From Start To Finish Frank Shows Us What He Has In His Little Finger, And Frankly, He Left Us Thinking About Everything From This Album. He Strikes Again. No Complaints With This. Simply Amazing.
  46. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Frank Ocean has dropped a true masterpiece. From start to finish, this album is wonderful. And after 10 listens, I can safely say this album is a major contender for album of the year. The production is fantastic, the lyricism is fantastic, the melody is fantastic, everything about this project is just fantastic.
  47. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    A dreamer dreams a dream and takes us with him or their are just thoughts? A perfect complex album. Nothing for the radio, but for every individual who wants to listen.
  48. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    This album is beautiful. Definitely worth the wait. It is complex and well thought out and just amazing. I really loved where he took this album. It was definitely, definitely worth the wait!!!
  49. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Depois de lançar um álbum transitório (Endless) do também ótimo Channel Orange para o Blonde, em que ele se firma como um escritor maravilhoso, um álbum que tem nomes como Beyoncé, Kendrick Lamar, Andre 3000 e entre outros, mas esses nomes não tiram os holofotes de Frank Ocean, só enaltecem mais ele, um álbum ambicioso mostrando para o que ele veio.
  50. Aug 25, 2016
    10
    A beautiful blend of love, lost, nostalgia and everything in between over eclectic beats. Frank Ocean never fails to deliver quality music to his fans.
  51. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Complex, reflective and somber. This is "arguably" Ocean's best music to date. It resonates to they key demographic and plays lushly within a stratosphere that jumps from experimental pop to alternative r&b. The interesting thing with Ocean is that even though there are some profound artists that have assisted with their talents throughout this production, they don't play key focus as withComplex, reflective and somber. This is "arguably" Ocean's best music to date. It resonates to they key demographic and plays lushly within a stratosphere that jumps from experimental pop to alternative r&b. The interesting thing with Ocean is that even though there are some profound artists that have assisted with their talents throughout this production, they don't play key focus as with some other LP's thats released. Whats more, Ocean seems to be showing a matured angst within his music, often playing towards his strengths and downfalls which then allow for some incredibly magnificent music. One of this best this year. 10/10 Expand
  52. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Wow. I've been a fan of Frank since 2013 and have been waiting for this album since. This album is a modern day masterpiece. The instrumentals, the vocals, the production, all perfect. This is a must listen for Frank fans and everybody quite honestly.

    Favorite Tracks: White Ferrari, Solo, Seigfried, and Ivy

    10/10
  53. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    This is Frank's best album, let's face it. The production, the features and the lyrics are pure gold. The wait was worth it for sure. This is classic Frank, if you like his stuff, you'll like this album.
  54. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    With "Blonde", Frank Ocean uses the album platform to do things he has never done before. The project shows maturity within Ocean's music at the forefront and updates you as to what has changed during his 4-year departure both sonically- ambient influenced instrumentals with the lack of percussion show progression in the artist's sound- and vocally, with Ocean's deep digs intoWith "Blonde", Frank Ocean uses the album platform to do things he has never done before. The project shows maturity within Ocean's music at the forefront and updates you as to what has changed during his 4-year departure both sonically- ambient influenced instrumentals with the lack of percussion show progression in the artist's sound- and vocally, with Ocean's deep digs into consciousness. With "Blonde', fans can expect a difference in style from the 2012 album "Channel Orange", but not in the quality of the music. This project just gets better listen after listen, as you unwrap layers from the music and the lyrics behind it. Alongside visual album "Endless", it seems as if Frank Ocean has already dominated 2016. These two albums are easily my favorites of 2016, with "Blonde" being first on my list of best albums so far this year and "Endless" being second. Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    One day, and another. Dropped off in the midst of the routine, randomly and without notice, the divine. It always seems to come with a tinge of nostalgia, even when happening for the first time, as if one knows something so perfect will never come along again. It's why we call it classic, and this is it. This will **** live inside of so many of us for the rest of our existence and it willOne day, and another. Dropped off in the midst of the routine, randomly and without notice, the divine. It always seems to come with a tinge of nostalgia, even when happening for the first time, as if one knows something so perfect will never come along again. It's why we call it classic, and this is it. This will **** live inside of so many of us for the rest of our existence and it will shape it and shape our kids as well... this **** lit Expand
  56. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    I think the beauty in Blonde simply comes from the staggering complexity it hides behind the genre label of 'Pop'.

    The first three tracks show that complexity by traversing the genres of the trap-inspired beats in "Nikes" to the dream pop and shoegaze of "Ivy" to the unapologetic neo-soul funk of "Pink + White". Ocean shows an aptitude for grabbing inspiration and sounds from the
    I think the beauty in Blonde simply comes from the staggering complexity it hides behind the genre label of 'Pop'.

    The first three tracks show that complexity by traversing the genres of the trap-inspired beats in "Nikes" to the dream pop and shoegaze of "Ivy" to the unapologetic neo-soul funk of "Pink + White".

    Ocean shows an aptitude for grabbing inspiration and sounds from the furthest reaches of the musical world and molding them into a cohesive record that is united by his greatest instrument, his voice.

    Ocean ventures deeper into the musical experiment that he began on "Channel Orange" and finds himself reaching greater heights and lower emotional lows. The music may be more subtle, but the feeling is just as strong, if not stronger.

    Choice Tracks: "Pink + White", "Nights", "White Ferrari", "Seigfried"
    Expand
  57. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Una excelente pieza de trabajo, la espera realmente valio mucho la pena, no es tan bueno como Channel Orange pero aun asi es un excelente album. Frank se tomo su tiempo y realmente se noto su evolucion y su madurez lirica y musical.
  58. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Have been playing this album non-stop since it came out. Frank really doesn't disappoint. At first listen I didn't find songs as catchy as some in Channel Orange but those would very big shoes for anyone to fill. I'm trying to appreciate the beauty of this album on its own without many comparisons and it is absolute magic. I think that the energy of the album is dreamy, bold and theHave been playing this album non-stop since it came out. Frank really doesn't disappoint. At first listen I didn't find songs as catchy as some in Channel Orange but those would very big shoes for anyone to fill. I'm trying to appreciate the beauty of this album on its own without many comparisons and it is absolute magic. I think that the energy of the album is dreamy, bold and the experimentation was absolutely spot on. That dissonant falsetto in Nikes had me on the floor. This is still a very crude and early opinion but I am really enjoying the feelings this album is bringing out. Anyways, thank you, Frank. Please don't let us starve for another 4 years.

    Favourite tracks: Nikes, Self-Control, Solo, Nights and Seigfried
    Expand
  59. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    An incredible album overflowing with emotion and maturity. "SELF CONTROL" is the best song on the album and do yourself a favour and listen to the song's last few minutes and be blown away. The boyfriend poem in the magazine is also a marvellous piece of work
  60. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Beats channel orange by miles, and that's a difficult feat. i loved the the more subtle nature, more live instrumentation, and more patient and sweet melodies.
  61. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Amazing work of art. This album is a showcase more than a marvel piece. Franks story telling and vocal performance has increased and he simply keeps it real on this album. He tells how his life has advanced and changed to what we are now hearing. This album is more of a theme of his life and his growth since coming out and exploring new but intriguing things and sounds. This is notAmazing work of art. This album is a showcase more than a marvel piece. Franks story telling and vocal performance has increased and he simply keeps it real on this album. He tells how his life has advanced and changed to what we are now hearing. This album is more of a theme of his life and his growth since coming out and exploring new but intriguing things and sounds. This is not 'Channel Orange Part II' and he never intended it to be... instead frank chose to please himself and prove he is still capable to do what he does best but in a more unique and personal approach. The feelings of this album are what makes frank ocean a true artist. Expand
  62. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    Frank is clearly the best artist in the world! Silmply amazing. Is the best album of the year and i think it would win too many Grammys next year! Is innovative!
  63. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Frank's latest album is spot on. Each song has been composed to carry the listener on a journey through Frank's poetic thoughts. It is an album that grows on you every single time. Beautiful.
  64. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Nostalgia, Ultra is a solid rap mixtape with spitfire storytelling. Channel Orange is a pure Masterpiece. Endless/Blonde is a stripped back creative, [personal art project that is intoxicating on so many levels. 9/10
  65. Aug 25, 2016
    10
    BEAUTIFUL. This album was worth the wait. Frank Ocean is truly one of the best, original artists out there right now. His storytelling and beats are incredible and ENDLESS.
  66. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Like a lot of people figure, the album is more of a grower, as the first listen only had a few stand out tracks for me. But each new listen breathes something new, as I'm sure my future plays of Blonde will still bring. The more you listen the more surprises you find
  67. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    I have been waiting for this way too long but it was worth it. Every song was on point and most of them gave me chills. The only thing that disappointed me was to see Kendrick featured without doing a verse or a hook but I'm ok with that.
  68. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    This album is incredible. It is very detailed and there is a wide spectrum of hidden beauties within! Wonderful production, glorious vocals, and much more. Well worth the wait.
  69. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Thank You Frank for existing. This is the best álbum of the Year for me. A beautiful and true masterpiece. Wait for your grammys, they are coming for sure
  70. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    rewarding.and adventurous.worth the four year wait.frank managed to craft one of the most anticipated albums in recent years with effort.already a future classic.
  71. Sep 14, 2016
    10
    With Blonde, Frank Ocean dramatically strips down the the grand and intricate production of Channel Orange, instead opting for low-key, guitar heavy instrumentals. The result is stunning. Frank Ocean delivers some exceptional vocal performances and lyrics (tracks like Ivy and Self Control are great examples of this), as well as complex emotionally charged subject matter. Ocean plays theWith Blonde, Frank Ocean dramatically strips down the the grand and intricate production of Channel Orange, instead opting for low-key, guitar heavy instrumentals. The result is stunning. Frank Ocean delivers some exceptional vocal performances and lyrics (tracks like Ivy and Self Control are great examples of this), as well as complex emotionally charged subject matter. Ocean plays the role of a scorned lover on Seigfried, one the the outstanding songs on the album, with an incredible level of sincerity and vulnerability. On this album we get a deeper look into the wide range of emotions and ideas Ocean has always displayed in his previous works, and the stripped down production forces the listener to engage with this to an even greater extent. One of the best albums this year. Expand
  72. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    I am loving this album. I felt like I was floating in a dream when I was listening to it. Songs like Nike, Skyline To, Nights and Solo made me swoon and pine for more. Andre 3000 absolutely killed it with Solo (Reprise). Really, this entire album has some of the most pleasing, elegant, and nostalgic sounds. I would definitely say that it was worth the investment on I tunes.

    It truly is
    I am loving this album. I felt like I was floating in a dream when I was listening to it. Songs like Nike, Skyline To, Nights and Solo made me swoon and pine for more. Andre 3000 absolutely killed it with Solo (Reprise). Really, this entire album has some of the most pleasing, elegant, and nostalgic sounds. I would definitely say that it was worth the investment on I tunes.

    It truly is a masterpiece, like Channel Orange before it.
    Expand
  73. Aug 23, 2016
    9
    Frank Ocean shows to the world because he is the best of today. Blonde is a masterpiece of modern music. Beyoncé take care. Frank can drink your lemonade.
  74. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    Blonde is a much needed album in music at the moment. What it lacks in pandering to a low attention span the album makes up for in complexity and honesty. There is nuance and flaw from this record that nobody could've predicted. This record transcends genre and crushes the common form of the repetitive verse chorus. While it can be difficult to pick up for your average listener orBlonde is a much needed album in music at the moment. What it lacks in pandering to a low attention span the album makes up for in complexity and honesty. There is nuance and flaw from this record that nobody could've predicted. This record transcends genre and crushes the common form of the repetitive verse chorus. While it can be difficult to pick up for your average listener or anyone listening for a hooky pop chorus, the record teases you back over to Frank's world of cars and spiritual Beatles-inspired melody lines. Expand
  75. Feb 18, 2018
    10
    I'm still trying to figure this one out, but so far it's really hard to tell why everyone is so smitten with this album.

    All of the songs really sound to me like tracks that should be on the end of the album as winding down tracks, I still don't get it. To explain a little, I'm not one to get too caught up in lyrics, so for all I know this might be a lyrical masterpiece, but I'm
    I'm still trying to figure this one out, but so far it's really hard to tell why everyone is so smitten with this album.

    All of the songs really sound to me like tracks that should be on the end of the album as winding down tracks, I still don't get it.

    To explain a little, I'm not one to get too caught up in lyrics, so for all I know this might be a lyrical masterpiece, but I'm about the music and this album doesn't catch my attention much at all.

    Hopefully after some more listens I will come around, but for now I have to go back and listen to Channel Orange to get my fix.

    EDIT: I've figured it out, and I love it!
    (changed from a 4 to a 10)
    Expand
  76. Dec 26, 2016
    7
    Pink + White, Solo, Nights, White Ferrari re all brilliant songs. The rest of the album ranges from okay to annoying. A lot of chipmunk voices and odd interludes. The album has great song and some brilliant movements but is mostly inconsistent. Worth a listen because some of these songs are great. As an overall album it's okay.
  77. Aug 23, 2016
    8
    I had never heard of Frank Ocean until this was suddenly on the front page of Reddit the other day. so I checked it out. Glad I did. The highlights for me are Self Control and White Ferrari, but there are a lot of really good tracks here.
  78. Aug 23, 2016
    8
    I think a big problem for me was a got too hyped for the album during the buildup and just waiting for more material. I wanted some faster paced songs and a few catchy hooks, but in a vacuum it's a good album.
  79. Sep 26, 2016
    7
    Pretty good album overall. It seems a little experimental compared to his old stuff. The lyrics are much more personal but a lot of the music doesn't really settle on a really catchy beat.
  80. Jun 6, 2017
    7
    So what with the whole visual album too, I believe this adds to that effect of the art of emotion and life. Frank single-handedly puts together an album for life everytime he composes and writes one. Ok, chart wise, it’s not amazing, but we’re missing the point that Frank does this for the people, and not particularly for the money, and I honestly do believe that he will be remembered forSo what with the whole visual album too, I believe this adds to that effect of the art of emotion and life. Frank single-handedly puts together an album for life everytime he composes and writes one. Ok, chart wise, it’s not amazing, but we’re missing the point that Frank does this for the people, and not particularly for the money, and I honestly do believe that he will be remembered for his honesty and raw emoton in his music for decades to come. I can see Frank Ocean being mentioned for years and years, for giving so much to music, in which we don’t see much of anymore. Expand
  81. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    im not gay but this is v good 9/10
    im not gay but this is v good 9/10
    im not gay but this is v good 9/10
  82. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    this album is a 10 this album is a 10 this album is a 10 this album is a 10
  83. Aug 26, 2016
    9
    Following an album as good as channel Orange is no easy task. and I'm usually a little suspicious when an album receives so many positive reviews. But I must say Ocean pulled it off beautifully. Stripped down and simple but yet every bit as ambitious as channel Orange. Pink + White is as good as it gets... a driving beat, acoustic guitars, piano, beautiful background vocals...great production
  84. Oct 3, 2016
    10
    Talvez 2016 seja o melhor ano da música nessa década e com certeza o Frank Ocean está contribuindo para que isso aconteça. Qualquer demora para o sucessor do “Channel Orange” é justificável, ainda mais quando Frank não nos entrega simplesmente um álbum, mas sim dois: “Endless” e “Blonde”. “Blonde” é um álbum rico em samples, detalhes e estilos que o Frank mistura. A intenção dele não é deTalvez 2016 seja o melhor ano da música nessa década e com certeza o Frank Ocean está contribuindo para que isso aconteça. Qualquer demora para o sucessor do “Channel Orange” é justificável, ainda mais quando Frank não nos entrega simplesmente um álbum, mas sim dois: “Endless” e “Blonde”. “Blonde” é um álbum rico em samples, detalhes e estilos que o Frank mistura. A intenção dele não é de maneira alguma se acomodar e trazer mais do mesmo, e muito menos se render as tendências das rádios pop. Em “Blonde”, Frank quer imprimir novos estilos e por isso o álbum é um verdadeiro experimento e a gente percebe em algumas músicas como “Nikes” suas alterações de voz. Vale ainda lembrar o esforço que o Frank teve pra reunir grandes nomes da música atual como Jamie xx, Kendrick Lamar, Jazmine Sullivan, Sampha, Arca e outros já carimbados nomes como Beyoncé, Tyler The Creator e André 3000. O mais interessante de tudo isso é que até mesmo a participação da grandiosa Beyoncé em “Pink + White” acaba por se tornar apenas mais um detalhe no meio de uma de tantas músicas do álbum ricas em personalidade, sons e estilos. Em um ano com álbuns aclamados como “Lemonade”, “Coloring Book”, “The Life of Pablo” e “ANTI”, “Blonde” consegue saldo mais que positivo e se mantém como um dos melhores lançamentos do ano. Expand
  85. Jan 30, 2020
    10
    Aug 9, 2018 - 6/10
    "Good album, but isn't too tasteful and intense than "channel orange". it would say it is even more slow-flowing and tiring than its predecessor."

    Blonde is a beautiful, full of lays, experimental and intense (yeah, I was wrong 1 and a half year ago). Sutile walls of guitars, minimalistic beats, mini-detalis combines with intimistic atmosphere, letting work even more human.
  86. Sep 2, 2016
    9
    Great art isn't always immediate, in fact, it often isn't. This album takes time to sink in, revealing itself slowly over repeated listens. Like a couple other high profile releases this year, (Life of Pablo, and A Moon Shaped Pool) this album has a distinctly fractured quality, yet is meticulously crafted and tightly packed with beautiful moments. There are quick, seeminglyGreat art isn't always immediate, in fact, it often isn't. This album takes time to sink in, revealing itself slowly over repeated listens. Like a couple other high profile releases this year, (Life of Pablo, and A Moon Shaped Pool) this album has a distinctly fractured quality, yet is meticulously crafted and tightly packed with beautiful moments. There are quick, seemingly insignificant bits of the album that stick with you. "16, how was I supposed to know anything?" (White Ferrari) Parts, you have to scour the whole album for because you can't remember what track it was.

    This very well could end up being the best album released this year. Some songs are instant classics, "Solo", "Ivy" and "Self-Control" rival anything on Channel Orange.
    Expand
  87. Sep 7, 2016
    8
    We don't know which ways Frank took to get to Blonde, but for sure, there wasn't a easy one. Blonde is a fortress made of Ocean's flesh and bone, where he exposes every single bruise of every corner of his soul.

    Best Tracks: Ivy; Solo; Nights.
  88. Aug 31, 2016
    9
    The long wait played out perfectly for everyone that awaited this release. I can say that this is his masterpiece, and I believe that this will go down as one of the modern-day greats. The cohesiveness and quality that Frank gives us is so satisfying that I'm glad we waited this long for it. The album starts out kind of on a bump with "Nikes", I wasn't a big fan with the song the firstThe long wait played out perfectly for everyone that awaited this release. I can say that this is his masterpiece, and I believe that this will go down as one of the modern-day greats. The cohesiveness and quality that Frank gives us is so satisfying that I'm glad we waited this long for it. The album starts out kind of on a bump with "Nikes", I wasn't a big fan with the song the first time listening to it, and I'm still not completely sold on it. Although it doesn't start particularly great, right after it comes one of the best runs of songs that I've heard in a while. From the chilling "Ivy" to the grandiose "Futura Free", we get almost near perfection in song crafting that I just want to shake Mr. Ocean's hand for a job well-done. The creativity and the diverse topics that he touches on shows a more mature state of Frank, and I'm glad that we've arrived at that stage in his career. He uses many different sounds and structures that make you want to fall in love with it instantly if you're a music fan in general. The production is top-notch, and the songwriting is impeccable. We saw a lot of the same praise in "channel ORANGE", but I believe that the instrumentation and cohesiveness is slightly better than his predecessor. Along with the structure, I believe that the more mature themes and sounds also give this project an advantage over his last album. I believe that fans of very solid works of musical projects will fall in love with this like I did, and I am very pleased with what Frank gave us in the end. The wait was completely and utterly worth it, and I believe that "Blonde" will age like a fine wine. Expand
  89. Aug 27, 2016
    9
    Frequently heartbreakingly beautiful and showcasing constant lyrical strength,this album is very different from Channel Orange in many ways but is equally as impressive and Frank shows a maturity in his songwriting on this record.Ivy and Self Control are the most emotional and instantly likeable tracks on the album but it is in the less immediate tracks such as Siegfried and White FerrariFrequently heartbreakingly beautiful and showcasing constant lyrical strength,this album is very different from Channel Orange in many ways but is equally as impressive and Frank shows a maturity in his songwriting on this record.Ivy and Self Control are the most emotional and instantly likeable tracks on the album but it is in the less immediate tracks such as Siegfried and White Ferrari where we see a real maturity in his song writing. Expand
  90. Sep 13, 2016
    8
    It's a very good album, it's very sticky, the production is 11/10 and I don't usually enjoy this music genre that much. I started hearing his music just for curiosity and I got caught!
  91. Sep 6, 2016
    8
    After the first time through I was left with goosebumps and in shock . After the second time through I was left feeling wonder and joy, and after the third, forth,fifth, and sixth times through I was left Blonde. Blond (for fans of Frank) is the culmination of years of patience,frustration,anxiety, and forgiveness. Forgiveness for what? Forgiveness for the wait. This album is a tripAfter the first time through I was left with goosebumps and in shock . After the second time through I was left feeling wonder and joy, and after the third, forth,fifth, and sixth times through I was left Blonde. Blond (for fans of Frank) is the culmination of years of patience,frustration,anxiety, and forgiveness. Forgiveness for what? Forgiveness for the wait. This album is a trip through dreamy landscapes, White Ferraris', and Quaaludes, with some love and sex sprinkled in. From the first song "Nikes" where Frank pitched up his voice about three octaves to the final masterpiece of the album "Futura Free" Blonde leaks out hit after hit after hit. Expand
  92. Aug 30, 2016
    8
    80/100.

    This album really slows you down and lets you experience it all. The best songs are "Nikes", "Ivy", "Pink + White", Nights" and "Futura Free".
  93. Aug 24, 2016
    9
    Even though the skits had no real meaning and the end of futura free was also unnecessary, Frank delivers strongly and tries to step through boundaries, switching his sound unpredictably and without much effort. Although a big part of the part seems simple, it is complex simplicity and simply perfectly timed as well as balanced. A very good album overall
  94. Aug 26, 2016
    9
    This is one of the best albums of this year and Frank has done really good job. Maybe I have found 1-2 songs which I don't like, but i think I need to listen them again. Well done, like always.
  95. Sep 12, 2016
    10
    This album is really special. This is probably going to be album of the year for me personally. I damn near had an out of body experience listening to this. This album is certainly a must listen that is overflowing with emotion and deep artistic expression
  96. Sep 22, 2016
    10
    A lot of people wonder whether Blonde was worth the wait? Following his critically acclaimed debut album that took the world by a storm, Frank Ocean releases a very unorthodox and minimalistic project after a 4-year hiatus. The hype and anticipation for this album were almost "Detox" level for many people, a lot of this had to do with Frank Ocean toying and teasing with our emotions.A lot of people wonder whether Blonde was worth the wait? Following his critically acclaimed debut album that took the world by a storm, Frank Ocean releases a very unorthodox and minimalistic project after a 4-year hiatus. The hype and anticipation for this album were almost "Detox" level for many people, a lot of this had to do with Frank Ocean toying and teasing with our emotions. Blonde reveals a world wind of personal emotions and feelings as Frank discusses a wide array of topics. Besides the heartfelt lyrics, the production was remarkable and very dissimilar to current popular pop music. Over half the tracks do not have any drums, bold move Frank. Besides Ocean's experimenting with chipmunk like vocals and other sound effects, I have noticed Frank's voice has gotten noticeably superior. Blonde challenges the average listener and requires multiple listens and lyrical breakdown. But once you start enjoying and understanding Blonde, you cannot help but realize and criticise other artists for not experimenting and attempt bold artistic career moves. Thank you Frank Ocean, you were sincerely worth the wait. Expand
  97. Dec 12, 2016
    8
    This album is far one of the best of the new R&B scenario. The vocals of Ocean are very relaxing to the ears, he literally have the voice of an angel; there's nothing to complain about this. The songs and the lyrics are full with deep feelings and good vibes; since the intro song "Nikes", I was introduced to the very rest of the album; "Ivy" is one of the best tracks in the record, theThis album is far one of the best of the new R&B scenario. The vocals of Ocean are very relaxing to the ears, he literally have the voice of an angel; there's nothing to complain about this. The songs and the lyrics are full with deep feelings and good vibes; since the intro song "Nikes", I was introduced to the very rest of the album; "Ivy" is one of the best tracks in the record, the melodies are just heartwarming... "Solo" and "White Ferrari" are also high points of the record, same with "Pink + White" and "Nights", these are the songs that will stick into your head. The spoken tracks like "Be Yourself" and "Facebook Story" really helps to set the mood. Different from most artists these days, Ocean knows how to sing with emotion. Though it has to be said that the album is not impeccable as it looks. Some tracks are just easy to forget — maybe because of the astonishing beauty of the memorable ones —, but still, I would rather consider them as underrated, since the lyrics are very pleasant. Particularly, I am not a fan of the genre itself, but I must say that "Blonde" was one of the most beautiful records of this year. Expand
  98. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    HE DID IT AGAIN. No idea how is he able to create such a great masterpieces. THE BEST MALE SINGER. Deserved Album of The Year nomination. Nights......
  99. Mar 27, 2017
    10
    Album of a my life time. This album is so emotionally jarring and addictive it's almost hard to listen to after months on repeat at time because of the emotional context of this album. Frank turned me into a believer. My favorite track vary with each listen but I always come back to Ivy, Self Control, Nights, Close to You, and Futura Free.
  100. Apr 16, 2017
    8
    This album had an unbelievable amount of hype considering Frank's absence for several years. An amount of hype that I feel made this album almost impossible to live up to expectations, and indeed it is by no means a classic, career defining album for Frank. The album is very stripped back, placing the emphasis on Frank's vocals which are stellar throughout. However I feel that a fewThis album had an unbelievable amount of hype considering Frank's absence for several years. An amount of hype that I feel made this album almost impossible to live up to expectations, and indeed it is by no means a classic, career defining album for Frank. The album is very stripped back, placing the emphasis on Frank's vocals which are stellar throughout. However I feel that a few features would have helped to break up the project, past collaborations with Earl Sweatshirt as well as Kanye West have all been hugely successful and there was a distinct lack of hip-hop influence on this album besides the amazing Andre 3000 track. The opening track, 'Nikes' is stunning and an atmospheric song that feels like a acid fuelled journey through Frank's mind. It is certain that Frank is an artist more than just a singer and the video that accompanied this song is also fantastic. 'Ivy' is another highlight along with 'Self Control' which features some of Frank's best vocals on the album. The back end of the album is thought provoking and poetic, 'Siegfried' is a hugely emotional song the songs following it add an extra layer of lyrical depth to the album. However the final track is pretentiously long and uninteresting. Overall, Frank has created a fantastic album that narrowly edged Channel Orange, however it is not the classic album that I and many others hoped for. Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. The Wire
    Nov 8, 2016
    80
    The sum is Ocean’s most thorough reading of his world to date. [Oct 2016, p.65]
  2. Magnet
    Oct 18, 2016
    90
    This is an album of mostly beatless soul whose heart nevertheless pumps vividly and loudly throughout its 17 tracks. [No. 136, p.61]
  3. 80
    This is music that fascinates on first listen but requires multiple spins for its complexities and idiosyncrasies to take hold.