User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 195
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2016
    10
    This album is Death Grips's most accessible and at the same time, their most energetic. By far, the songs and the hooks are as catchy as those of The Money Store, while keeping that abrasive energy of Jenny Death, the second half of The Powers That B. To add on, production quality has definitely improved a lot, especially since after Jenny Death. Hands down, this album is a great recordThis album is Death Grips's most accessible and at the same time, their most energetic. By far, the songs and the hooks are as catchy as those of The Money Store, while keeping that abrasive energy of Jenny Death, the second half of The Powers That B. To add on, production quality has definitely improved a lot, especially since after Jenny Death. Hands down, this album is a great record and probably the trio's best by far. And for first time listeners, this is a great album to start off with.

    BEST TRACKS: Giving Bad People Good Ideas, Hot Head, Spikes, Eh, Bubbles Buried In This Jungle,Trash, BB Poison, Three Bedrooms In A Good Neighbourhood, Ring A Bell
    NOT SO GREAT TRACKS: 80808
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2016
    10
    This album is a culmination of all the progress Death Grips has made over the past 5 years. It pulls you in from the very beginning with, "Giving Bad People Good Ideas," and it never lets you go until the closer, "Bottomless Pit." I've never seen such sustainability with a band's discography. While this band has some of the catchiest hooks to ever appear in a Death Grips song (see: Eh,This album is a culmination of all the progress Death Grips has made over the past 5 years. It pulls you in from the very beginning with, "Giving Bad People Good Ideas," and it never lets you go until the closer, "Bottomless Pit." I've never seen such sustainability with a band's discography. While this band has some of the catchiest hooks to ever appear in a Death Grips song (see: Eh, Ring a Bell, Houdini), it also has some of the harshest, most violent music we've ever heard from them (Hot Head, Three Bedrooms in a Good Neighborhood, Bottomless Pit). There is not a single low moment for me in this entire album. Expand
  3. May 12, 2016
    7
    Its alright but not as good as their previous albums, all of which have been fantastic. I hope it grows on me but I kind of doubt it will considering the production is unfortunately a bit one dimensional during the middle part of the record and by that I mean there's a few dull synths just blaring out (see BB Poison), lacking some of the glitchey techniques used so well by the bandIts alright but not as good as their previous albums, all of which have been fantastic. I hope it grows on me but I kind of doubt it will considering the production is unfortunately a bit one dimensional during the middle part of the record and by that I mean there's a few dull synths just blaring out (see BB Poison), lacking some of the glitchey techniques used so well by the band previously. There's a few great tracks though like Three Bedrooms, 8080808 and Houdini, as well as the opener and closer, two songs bursting with an unbelievable amount of energy. Regardless of my feelings towards this album, I still think Death Grips are the best band of the decade so far by a long shot. I might even go as far as to say the 21st century, although they have fierce competition with bands like Queens of the Stone Age and Sleater-Kinney. I doubt Death Grips would care about not being as good as Sleater-Kinney anyway though, considering Zachs worked with Janet Weiss on the Drumgasm LP which was an absolutely legendary collaboration, even just as an idea. Anyway thats what I thought of the album. If you're new to Death Grips definitely give it a listen because its fairly accessible but I'd suggest Exmilitary or The Money Store would be a better starting point.

    I have nothing more to say byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee xoxox
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2016
    8
    Another ultra solid effort from the almighty Death Grips. It has more in common with albums like "The Money Store" and "No Love Deep Web" than "The Powers That B" but takes the aggression of those aforementioned albums to the very next level.
  5. May 11, 2016
    7
    Probably the most consistent stream of songs Death Grips have produced since No Love Deep Web, the opening 2 hardcore punk-inspired songs are superceded by a sequel of high-tempo catchy synth-punk hip-hop gems that feel very reminiscent of The Money Store in style. A fantastic album
  6. May 13, 2016
    9
    They just keep making great records. Better than Jenny Death, and much more accessible. Catchy hooks, tight production, and more rapping from Ride makes the album sound a lot more like The Money Store than anything else they've done.
    If you don't dig Death Grips, you probably won't like this one either, but it would be a good album to get acquainted to them with.
  7. May 21, 2016
    8
    Death Grips definitely surprised me and the rest of their fans with this new album. I am confused on how they even get their ideas in the first place. There first mix-tape talked about the monster a human can become to now, just plain threats to the fans listening to this album. The first track, "I Keep Giving Bad People Good Ideas" can't just be explained by the title. Although it mayDeath Grips definitely surprised me and the rest of their fans with this new album. I am confused on how they even get their ideas in the first place. There first mix-tape talked about the monster a human can become to now, just plain threats to the fans listening to this album. The first track, "I Keep Giving Bad People Good Ideas" can't just be explained by the title. Although it may explain a small portion of just the surface of this track, the song cannot be defined without its performance. The next track, "Hot Head" felt a slight weirdness for me. I know that is what Death Grips initially wants, but the delivery felt out of the ordinary. With the intro and the verses, just "BLO." But I can't say that I didn't want this track to be on the album or be presented first to the fans. Well even the whole album is catchy for an average Death Grips fan. [xD Meme] Expand
  8. May 20, 2016
    9
    The perfect mix of Death Grips' at their most chaotic and their most accessible. It's the natural next step. Takes the best qualities of " The Powers that B" and blends it with best qualities of "The Money Store". For fans of hectic rap/rap rock/punk rap. If you are trying to get into Death Grips, do not start here. Listen to "Exmilitary" or "The Money Store", first. An overall fantastic album.
  9. Dec 7, 2016
    10
    Their best album to date, it is definitely up to standards with The Money Store. They have done what I didn't think was possible. Make an album better than The Money Store. Props to Death Grips, they have done a wonderful job!
  10. Jun 21, 2016
    0
    I don't like this album, it sounds bad to me. I prefer other bands to play more melodic music so that I can feel relaxed instead of stressed out while listening to it.
  11. May 27, 2016
    7
    I was not a big fan of Death Grips before. Too noisy, too incoherent, i just didn't understand it. With this one, they definitely won me over. Insanely catchy, so many vibes and synths that are just pure earcandy and the vocals for the most part add up really nice to the overall setting. From beginning to end, this album just kicks every ass there is. If you are willing, this album pullsI was not a big fan of Death Grips before. Too noisy, too incoherent, i just didn't understand it. With this one, they definitely won me over. Insanely catchy, so many vibes and synths that are just pure earcandy and the vocals for the most part add up really nice to the overall setting. From beginning to end, this album just kicks every ass there is. If you are willing, this album pulls you in and does not let you go. For me, i still don't like Hot Head, because i don't get, how you really can enjoy this autistic babbling by MC Ride. But tracks like the opener, Spikes, Ring A Bell, Three Bedrooms In A Good Neighbourhood, BB Poison....like **** dude. Expand
  12. Aug 7, 2016
    9
    BROOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Death Grips have done it again. They are one of the most consistent producers of music, of pure quality and creativity. Their structure and instrumentation are defying what is structurally sound to music.

    Fav tracks: Giving Bad People Good Ideas, Hot Head, Spikes, Eh, Bubbles Buried In This Jungle
  13. May 14, 2016
    9
    Death Grips is at it again with the album bottomless pit. The whole album sounds like an electronica rock circus. If you really liked Government Plates and The Money Store you will love Bottomless Pit.
  14. Aug 17, 2016
    9
    This albums slams favorite band sence 2012 when TMS came out glad to see another album like it:). Song writing is lacking but still a great record cant wait to see how this band continues. NOIDED!!!!!!
  15. Apr 6, 2017
    8
    From the very start of this record, you get mindblowing production quality from the sweet vocal samples on Giving Bad People Good Ideas to the punching drums on Eh. Death Grips are a force to be reckoned with.
  16. Sep 19, 2018
    9
    In this album, Death Grips perfects their signature progressive sound which they have been uniquely building upon for several commercial albums thus far. Each track on Bottomless Pit brings a different thick flavor of gorgeous, gut-wrenching production accompanied by MC Ride's abstract and often times off-the-wall lyrics. The experimental trio fuses a healthy blend of chilling compositionIn this album, Death Grips perfects their signature progressive sound which they have been uniquely building upon for several commercial albums thus far. Each track on Bottomless Pit brings a different thick flavor of gorgeous, gut-wrenching production accompanied by MC Ride's abstract and often times off-the-wall lyrics. The experimental trio fuses a healthy blend of chilling composition and raw intensity, while still maintaining excellent song structure and thematic cohesiveness. Expand
  17. Jan 14, 2019
    9
    One of my most favorite albums from the group. With their opening track "Giving Good People Bad Ideas", it sets the feel for the entire album by starting off with an intense guitar and chaotic feeling vocals (as is tradition with MC Ride). I feel each track has its own unique taste, with "Spikes" kind of emphasizing the over-the-topness of the album, or with the track "Trash", where MCOne of my most favorite albums from the group. With their opening track "Giving Good People Bad Ideas", it sets the feel for the entire album by starting off with an intense guitar and chaotic feeling vocals (as is tradition with MC Ride). I feel each track has its own unique taste, with "Spikes" kind of emphasizing the over-the-topness of the album, or with the track "Trash", where MC Ride seems to be embracing the hate he gets from people who don't understand his flow of music, and with tracks like "Ring A Bell", it manages to work in a few tone changes along with the flow, pulling it off in at a minimal 2:26. In fact, many songs on this album are short, sweet, and to the point, with the longest track being "Hothead" at 4:19, followed by "80808" at 3:17, and with the rest being somewhere around 3 minutes, with a few exceptions. And in my opinion, it fits it perfectly, as I can't imagine some of these songs being longer. Overall, I very much enjoyed this album, very little to complain about. Expand
  18. May 14, 2019
    9
    close to a 10 but not quite a money store this is an amazing album though it sound a lot like its a sequel to the money store but with it having a lot of the powers that b mixed in with it i love three bedrooms in a good neighborhood possibly being my fav death grips songs of all time next to hacker
  19. Jan 9, 2021
    5
    Despite a very good 2nd act starting from "eh" and ending on "houdini" the other two acts become either a little dull or a little to over the top

    Fav tracks: Three bedrooms in a good neighborhood, Bubbles buried in this jungle, Eh, Houdini, Trash

    Least fav tracks: Hot head, Bottomless pit, Spike
  20. Jun 18, 2021
    9
    This project has an exciting energy. Probably Death Grips most easy album to get into. Imo, it is better than "The Powers That B" to be honest. In fact, this is everything an experimental album has to be. Great production, great lyrics, great instrumentation. Amazing vibe, this is an excellent album choice to listen by yourself.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 3, 2016
    67
    Radical rap, strained through absurdity and grotesqueness, Death Grips' fifth full-length effectively services--and disrupts--both punk and hip-hop.
  2. Aug 2, 2016
    80
    Ultimately, for all the different genres it consumes and spits back, it sounds like no other band on earth.
  3. Jul 7, 2016
    80
    Everything sounds so precise, crisp, hard-hitting, and indomitable. For that exact reason, Bottomless Pit is an ideal effort for longtime fans and newcomers alike. Needless to say, whatever the type of listener, it won't be forgotten.