User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 8 out of 68

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. robertm
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    this is their greatest cd
  2. JasmineT
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    this music was somthing i realy could relate to , there's no song that i couldn't say that there is one song i don't like , they are all exalent like my feelings were written down for me , the music in every way is exeptionaly brilliont there is no critisism i could say for this band , Stained u rule never give it up .
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    This is emotional music with great vocals from Aaron Lewis. This music has meaning and feeling, contrary to the crap most people listen to these days.
  4. Orpheus11
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    I really hope the people that made this CD were thinking, "Let's make a piece of trash and call it music!"
  5. jj
    Aug 31, 2002
    0
    a dull piece of garbage. That lead singer is fat, ugly, and annoying
  6. JacobS
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Orpheus11 is a dushbag, he probably listens to Usher
  7. -Xile-
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    Great cd.......if u like metal rock.....or stuff that pertains to that.....add it to your cd collection! Its great
  8. justins
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    one of the greatest albums (ever)
  9. EmilM
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    If you're into depressing lyrics with an alt-metal melody, you're going to like this. Altough the rest of the world disagrees with me, I really find this CD enjoyable, and very easy to relate to. Yes it has some of the worst rock songs in history. Take Epiphany for example, a song I entitle the worst ballad ever, only topped by Nashville country ballads. But if you look away If you're into depressing lyrics with an alt-metal melody, you're going to like this. Altough the rest of the world disagrees with me, I really find this CD enjoyable, and very easy to relate to. Yes it has some of the worst rock songs in history. Take Epiphany for example, a song I entitle the worst ballad ever, only topped by Nashville country ballads. But if you look away from that, and focus on the better songs like For You, Fade and Can't believe, you might even like this album. 8/10 Expand
  10. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Aaron Lewis' angst ridden lyrics completely capture so many of my own feelings. From "all alone, I can't mend" to "it's always raining in my head", the anguish is perfectly expressed. A great cd. Less angry than Dysfunction but just as good.
  11. v
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    one of da best albums, i own!
  12. leticiaf
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    well.. this album is very good and its songs like safe place,epiphany,outside give me all the pice that i nedd to carry on! i gave it a 9 cause i think that chapter v is better. and fuck u orpheus11 you mind suck.
  13. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    Some classic tracks on here
  14. JamesP.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    I thought this album rocked because I can totaly relate to what they write about in there music,and if they come out with another album anything like this one,I will have it.
  15. calvinhobbes
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    this cd is fucking awesome! every song is good and is meaningful.
  16. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    Not a great fan of somewhat Metal genre , but this is one of my favorite Metal bands out there. Love the vocals of Aaron Lewis are nice, the guitar really sounds cool etc.
  17. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This is Staind best yes all songs on this album could have been singles, The lyrics on this album are so heart felt i believe that this album is an all time great. Aaron Lewis is a one of a kind and there will be none like him enough said.
  18. Dec 29, 2016
    7
    I like this record. Compared to bands like Fuel, Puddle of Mudd, and Nickelback, Staind packs a punch, although I personally dislike some of the lyrics. Everything else? Molto Bene!
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 60
    Pedestrian? Sure. But in '01, it's doubtful you'll find a more apt soundtrack to a summer of skyrocketing gas prices and stock market tumblings.
  2. Set to a backdrop that brings to mind Creed, Pearl Jam and Tool but still uniquely stands on its own, the album tackles subjects of suicide and basic alienation with relative control and directness.
  3. With Lewis' weighty, tuneful voice and Mike Mushok's meaty, anthemic guitar, Staind recall the Soundgarden/Alice in Chains era of early-'90s rock. Free of phony posturing, DJ scratching and over-reliance on vapid thrash riffs, they're almost like an alternative version of today's mainstream metal.