User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 242

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EmilyR.
    Jul 24, 2008
    9
    This was a good C.D. .. VERY grown up fly on the wall especially the only thing was , was all the songs.. well almost sounded like break-up songs and it kinda got annoying cause can she write one about not breakups ..(i know she did but ) All in all a GREAT C.D.
  2. PrudenceK.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    The crown jewel of a fine year in music. Cyrus has proven to stand out with the great ones, like The Beatles, The Velvet Underground, and Joanna Newsom. This is an important album, as much as it is eternally listenable. A true testament to the perseverance of the soul. Prepare to be moved.
  3. GabbyG.
    Aug 13, 2008
    9
    Yes this is still generally teen pop, but if you ask me she sounds much older and mature in this album. Theres a variety of sounds, and good ones none-the-less.
  4. DontWorryAboutMyName
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    Miley's voice has very well matured, and almost all her songs were written, or co-written by her, I think that's is really amazing, for a 16, actually 15 year old when she released this album! Her songs were written to be reliable to girls her age, and most people reviewing this are over the age of 20, so of course they're going to give it a bad rating, for someone Miley's voice has very well matured, and almost all her songs were written, or co-written by her, I think that's is really amazing, for a 16, actually 15 year old when she released this album! Her songs were written to be reliable to girls her age, and most people reviewing this are over the age of 20, so of course they're going to give it a bad rating, for someone who's Miley's age, like myself I love this album very much & I am looking forward to other albums by this lovely gal. Expand
  5. NickS
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    I loved this cd well at least it was better than anything of hers preceding this. she's gonna be huge and she doesn't need Hannah Montana.
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    All these songs are lovely, and her vocals are hardly autotuned. She's a real singer, and an amazing songwriter, too. She better changed how she did with "Can't Be Tamed" though, many songs like the "Breakout" ones may sound dull after a while.
  7. Jul 16, 2016
    9
    As a tween, I loved the album, and even as a young adult now, "Breakout" is still enjoyable. It is, perhaps, my favourite album released by Miley. It has stand-outs like "7 Things," "The Driveway," "Goodbye," "See You Again," and "Someday." Overall, still enjoyable, even if some of the songs do seem a little juvenile to me now.
  8. Jan 14, 2015
    7
    I'm obsessed with Fly On the Wall, Goodbye and See You Again. Every song are beautiful even though some are less. Hovering and Simple Song are the songs I like the less.
  9. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    The album is very beautiful, I love the lyrics and rhythms that are very catchy, to be 16 years old at the time, it was good writer,honestly this album
  10. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Best album by Miley. No autotune and absolutely great vocals. She's really confident in the pop-rock. The best songs are Breakout, 7 Things, Fly On The Wall These Four Walls and Hovering (the last one you find it in the deluxe edition)
  11. ChrisC
    Jul 24, 2008
    0
    Ugh. All this annoying obsession over some girl the record company picked up off the street and manufactured into a pop icon. Her music isn't about the music, it's about selling the performer to hoards of sheepish teenagers. I long for the day I can walk into a CVS and not see her face ten dozen times by the time I walk out.
  12. RobK.
    Jul 24, 2008
    0
    As Comic Book Guy would say:Worst Album Ever! She's even worse than Souja Boy. Don't buy the album,the only people who would buy it is the Disney Whore Fangirls. This Disney Whore don't have talent at all.She's the worst Disney Whore,so far since Britney Spears started it.
  13. SteveO
    Aug 2, 2008
    0
    I really, really thought about maybe giving this a one... it just doesn't deserve it. Maybe if you're a 12 or 13 year old girl you'll appreciate this... but just maybe.
  14. Mar 19, 2011
    1
    This album is horrid. Anyone who signs up with Disney is guaranteed to have the remainder of their career ruined. Props to Miley for being another worthless chapter in the corporate evolution of the music business. Bugger this, time for some OK Computer and Suburbs.
  15. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    Let's be honest she has the best production team money can by Rock Mafia and etc. This album I will name good songs: Fly on the Wall (Her best song in my opinion. EVER), Bottom of the Ocean (Her voice is a little whinny). See You Again (Why not little girls can sing along to it). Someday (Sweet sound). Hovering (Her brother makes it a little annoying but its straight). Breakout (SummerLet's be honest she has the best production team money can by Rock Mafia and etc. This album I will name good songs: Fly on the Wall (Her best song in my opinion. EVER), Bottom of the Ocean (Her voice is a little whinny). See You Again (Why not little girls can sing along to it). Someday (Sweet sound). Hovering (Her brother makes it a little annoying but its straight). Breakout (Summer song). The Driveway and Simple Song (Nice sounds). Goodbye. You know what all the production and lyrics are straight its her voice. I think the production is the only thing that keeps her alive cause she aint the best singer. Almost every other female besides Raven, Bella, Debby, and anyone younger then 14 (Not including the McClain Sisters cause they got a really good voices). Her voice is pitchy and winny like Bella Thorne. Bella and Miley if Disney never existed You two would have never made one profesional song. And yeah I liked the last 2 seasons of Hannah Montana. Yeah I like a few Hannah and Miley songs just cause they catchy dont make them good. Party in the USA (Catchy her voice not). Miley is only so popular because of Hannah who personally I dont know how just does, but she sounds better I may be crazy there, but eh. Hannah also looks better then Miley in the last 2 seasons. Miley used to look good before she cut her hair and dyed it. Want my advice listen to the actual song (a.k.a. Instrumental) over the actual song (Lyrically). Only listen to Fly on the Wall and Someday with the lyrics because there guilty pleasures of mine. But everything else. No. Expand
  16. CraigC.
    Jul 24, 2008
    8
    Miley's unique, raspy voice stands out best on Bottom of the Ocean and These Four Walls. The remaining songs are fun and showcase her song writing ability. Quite an album for a 15 y.o.
  17. Oct 16, 2015
    9
    Excelente álbum. Letras ótimas, ritmos envolventes. Um dos melhores momentos da Miley, sem dúvidas. Breakout, 7 Things, The Driveway, Full Circle, These Four Walls, Simple Song e Goodbye são os destaques.
  18. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    The essense of this album is so good, what it brings to us is a feeling of all will be always good. We need that feeling. Past seven years of the release and it still so powerful. So good to listen.
  19. Apr 19, 2020
    7
    Breakout 6/10
    7 Things 8/10
    The Driveway 7,5/10
    Girls Just Wanna Have Fun 8,5/10
    Full Circle 6/10
    Fly on the Wall 8,7/10
    Bottom of the Ocean 7/10
    Wake Up America 7,5/10
    These Four Walls 8,3/10
    Simple Song 6,5/10
    Goodbye 7/10
    See You Again (Rock Mafia Remix) 9/10
  20. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    MARAVILHOSO RAINHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaAAAAAA
  21. May 4, 2015
    1
    ecaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuitoooooooooooooo chatoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  22. Sep 29, 2017
    9
    Great album, good for a broken heart, good for beeing in love, good for naturelovers, good for have speace, nice voice, good for a short age. Go ahead Miley.
  23. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    An excellent album, with very good letters and rhythms. Simply excellent.
    Some songs are really very good, and some (although they are less) they are not so good, but in general it is an excellent album
  24. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
  25. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    Catchy pop songs with some rock and roll elements makes this an exceptional work by Miley Cyrus, it accomplishes that teenage dream of becoming a superstar and also some good messages for the young generation, while not letting down the older ones.
  26. Nov 16, 2017
    10
    This is a decent authentic album of teen pop. A star singing infectious songs to her young listeners. A perfect job for the target audience. Miley Cyrus is ready on this album
  27. Jun 3, 2019
    10
    este album me inspiro mucho enserio merecía muchos puntos positivos enserio , te amo miley cyrus eres la mejor vales mucho
  28. Jun 3, 2019
    10
    Este como o primeiro álbum de Cyrus sem a conexão de Hannah, foi bem conseguido. Um álbum que a alguns anos atrás fiquei realmente viciado. Um álbum pop/rock com músicas incríveis e maravilhosas!
  29. Aug 8, 2020
    10
    It is time we acknowledge the genius of Miley Cyrus’s 2008 album Breakout. This album has only aged **well**. The Driveway remains vocally and emotionally one of Miley’s best tracks. From the perspective of 2020, Wake Up America seems almost prophetic about the rise of the youth climate action movement. Miley has successfully built on the themes of Bottom of the Ocean with her 2019 trackIt is time we acknowledge the genius of Miley Cyrus’s 2008 album Breakout. This album has only aged **well**. The Driveway remains vocally and emotionally one of Miley’s best tracks. From the perspective of 2020, Wake Up America seems almost prophetic about the rise of the youth climate action movement. Miley has successfully built on the themes of Bottom of the Ocean with her 2019 track Slide Away. And we still are intrigued by her best friend Leslie even 12 years later. And it would be a shame to not acknowledge the impact of Fly on the Wall on 2020 hyper-pop culture. Expand
  30. Jan 12, 2020
    10
    The Albums is a 10/10 in my opinion, nothing I didn't like it was perfect pop, I highly recommend the title track, 7 things, the driveway, bottom of the ocean, fly on the wall, these four walls Goodbye and see you again the rock mafia remix
  31. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Um album legal, divertido, feliz, triste e romântico para todas as idades!!!
  32. Nov 30, 2020
    10
    Has great covers such as Girls Just Wanna Have Fun! I love it!!
  33. Dec 1, 2020
    10
    Esse álbum é minha pré-adolescência todinha, maravilhoso. Letras ótimas, vocais ótimos. Amo. Minhas favoritas são 7 things, full circle, goodbye, the driveway e these four walls. Normalmente só pulo fly on the wall.
  34. Dec 15, 2020
    10
    This is a masterpiece from Miley. Amazing songs and lyrics. I'm in love with these songs.
  35. Dec 14, 2020
    10
    This album still slaps in 2020, the best song in this album is by far ''Fly On The Wall'', an electro-rock song that is about the paparazzi and how they don't let celebrities live, oh and I didn't mention that she was 15 at this time.
    This album obviously is more for teens of the 2000s, but it doesn't change the fact that it is solid rock-pop album.
    The other songs that I recommend are
    This album still slaps in 2020, the best song in this album is by far ''Fly On The Wall'', an electro-rock song that is about the paparazzi and how they don't let celebrities live, oh and I didn't mention that she was 15 at this time.
    This album obviously is more for teens of the 2000s, but it doesn't change the fact that it is solid rock-pop album.

    The other songs that I recommend are ''7 Things'', ''Full Circle'', ''Simple Song'', ''Hovering'' and ''These Four Walls'
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. While it's still age-appropriate for minors, Breakout is for the big kids too.
  2. After all this fun, Breakout's second half gets overly ballad-heavy--guess that's where the growing up factors in--although, impressively, she's a dead ringer for the Dixie Chicks' Natalie Maines on the mournful 'These Four Walls.'
  3. For teen-pop (despite what Annie Leibovitz would have us believe, Miley is only 15, after all), your kid could do worse.