Bring on the Sun Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eight-track release from the Philadelphia multi-instrumentalist features his electric zither was mixed by Carlos Niño.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The Wire
    Dec 11, 2017
    The mainstreaming of yoga, mindfulness and other pursuits of spiritual enrichment in our digitally distracted, permanently anxious modern reality might have tipped the balance, as Laraaji pulls in listeners who aren’t necessarily collectors of forgotten, strange or otherwise outsider music. [Nov 2017, p.58]
  2. Oct 13, 2017
    Bring On The Sun’s fascinating sonic tensions never make the listener feel tense. This is cure-all musical therapy for the ages.
  3. Sep 26, 2017
    Bring on the Sun is the more interesting release, one that sounds as if Laraaji has jumbled up 600 years of music from every part of the world--medieval plainsong, Javan gamelan, Hindustani classical music and so on--and arranged it into eight pieces of minimalism.
  4. Mojo
    Oct 24, 2017
    The album's eight, unusually varied essays largely eschew sonic wallpaper stereotype, invested as they are with playfulness and a genuine sense of Eastern-flavoured spiritual uplift. [Dec 2017, p.92]
  5. Sep 26, 2017
    Laraaji brings a broader array of compositions to the eccentric Bring on the Sun. Where Sun Gong is dark and improvised, Bring on the Sun is made of weightless hypnotic loops (one is called “Laraajazzi”) and contemplative vocal tracks with standard song structures.
  6. Uncut
    Sep 26, 2017
    Bring On The Sun is a sprawling collection, encompassing everything from euphoric zither washes to jazzy beat poetry, without ever losing sight of its mood of sunny positivity. [Nov 2017, p.30]
  7. Sep 26, 2017
    The album's low point comes over top of the solo acoustic guitar performance of "Change," in which Laraaji croons, "Change, by any other name is still change." ... These profundities continue for more than seven minutes--a rarely accomplished exercise in irony, given the song's title.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of