• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: May 27, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 6 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2020
    10
    Una joya total, esto merecía ser tan exitoso y masivo como lo fue She is so Unusual ya que cada canción suena a un potente hit y es muchísimo mejor que Hard Candy (Madonna), The Fame (Lady Gaga) y One of the Boys (Katy Perry), los cuales salieron al mercado el mismo año.
  2. tomyche
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Her best album since her debut. Into the nightlife will definitely be a dance hit and could possibly be her first chart hit since I Drove All Night.
  3. DarrenM.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Best cd I've heard so far this year. Love it!
  4. BarryG.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic! Great fun pop songs with great mixes, beats and sense of fun. Her voice is superb!
  5. [Anonymous]
    May 30, 2008
    10
    it's a rhytmic album folks; it's not meant to be marketed as a dance album...cyndi states it's a record with a lot of rhythms. Grab a Hold and Rain on Me rekindle the unusual/true color days. it's a treasured gem like Hat Full of Stars.
  6. CarlosR.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    A great surprise. Maybe two or three songs need some remixes to be improved. Same Ol' story and High and mighty are too long. My favourites songs are Set your heart, Rain on me, Rocking chair and Same Ol' story as well. Anyway the album is wonderful.
  7. ClovisL.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    I love it!!!!!!
  8. Seli
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Her best since her epic debut. Practically no fillers here. People who like good song-writing combining meanigfull lyrics and catchy melodies will without doubt be addicted to this album.
  9. SteveB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    WOW!!! This album is in my top 5 so far this year, what a nice come back.
  10. TomH.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing, Cyndi's back!
  11. JimF
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Absolutely one the best Cyndi Lauper album to date.
  12. AlexP.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Best album in 2008. Great songs, sound, voice and lyrics.
  13. MaxxM.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Great CD and great songs. Cyndi is the best. The pop and rock queen knows what she is doing. Great vocalist and great lyrics. Best cyndi!
  14. DavidM.
    May 30, 2008
    9
    This ablum is the ablum Madonna wanted to make. It makes you wanna dance while giving you someithing to think about, without being preachy. I love to different styles and sounds on the album, Unfortunately my favorite song on the whold album is one of the bonus tracks "Can't Breathe" it is truly one of the most beautiful haunting ballads Cyn has ever done. But it's all about This ablum is the ablum Madonna wanted to make. It makes you wanna dance while giving you someithing to think about, without being preachy. I love to different styles and sounds on the album, Unfortunately my favorite song on the whold album is one of the bonus tracks "Can't Breathe" it is truly one of the most beautiful haunting ballads Cyn has ever done. But it's all about getting you up on your feet and Bringin' ya To The Brink. So I guess that only makes sense. Dance you will with terrific electro moments like Grab a Hold, and Into the Nightlife. I Say try it you might like it. Expand
  15. AugustoZ.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    The best ever...lyrics and voice! She ever found her way...no matter what people say. Not a product...just a great singer and composer.
  16. GilmarL.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Cyndi Lauper has a great voice and she is still unusual. This new album is a return to the her beginning: fun!
  17. FranciscoM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    The best! Great album!! Surround and power sound! Simply I love Bring ya to the bring!
  18. ALexH.y
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    Cyndi takes on all comers of the dance music world, fusing trance, house, pure pop, R'nB effortlessly, and while some of the really full on hi-energy leaves me a bit cold, the album is a great antidote to the over-egged oap in crotch tight spandex.
  19. TS
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This woman has the most incredible vocals ever! Cyndi's music has always gets the top slots in my CD racks!
  20. MarcioLG
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    The new Cyndi's fulldance album is a surprise. Never expect the 80's sound revival so welldone like in "Rain on Me" and "Raging Storm" (a lost Pet Shop Boys discotrack).
  21. TyZ.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best cd of the summer SONY deserves its financial problems if they do not promote the hell out of it will do everything for Cyndi that SHINE should have!
  22. Cal
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome!!!! The Queen has returned!
  23. PatrickP.
    Aug 14, 2008
    9
    Finally good stuff from Cyndi Lauper to listen to with great pleasure. This cd will bring her news young fans, not just the old ones from the eighties!
  24. Anonymous
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    I've had the honor of knowing Ms. Lauper for many years. She is incredibly talented and a true artist. This album is one of her best. Among my favorites are "Raging Storm" and "Rain On Me", a haunting ballad reminiscent of "Time After Time". Please support her by buying this album. I assure you it will quickly become one of your favorites.
  25. aalo
    May 31, 2008
    10
    This is a wonderfull album. of course is not the same as a confessions on the dance floor. at least cyndi is more original she didn´t use any sample cover for any of her songs. and she can sing, we cannot say the same of Madonna.
  26. SteevenS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Sounds like a newer version of she's so unusual, new vibe and very up to date. My younger friends are enjoying it, their comments were "and who would of thought? Cyndi Lauper?
  27. SueD.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Awesome return...puts Kylie and Maddie to shame...learn ladies learn!! ...One or two minor fillers but allowed for in scoring by containing some absolute scorching soon to be classic top toons... All bow before the altar that is Ms Cyndi.
  28. FrankL.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Great Album! The best in the 2008!!
  29. May 17, 2011
    10
    One of Lauper's best albums yet. Such a shame it didn't do as well as it should have. :(
    Oh well, that's the music buisness for you. Personally my fav track is Into The Nightlife.
  30. May 26, 2011
    9
    Such an amazing album, not just catchy it has meaning, every song has it's very own soul and the beats are so special, Into The Nightlife is such an incredible song.
  31. Feb 14, 2022
    10
    Completamente inovador e a frente do seu tempo, queria mais músicas pop e eletro assim
  32. Jul 5, 2018
    9
    A surprising release and a rebirth of the artist. Lyrics are fun, the production is on point, and Lauper sounds as young as ever. Highlights: "Into the Nightlife", "Echo", "Same Ol' F*ckin' Story".
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. There's an overall retro feel to the production that will no doubt delight minions, but those same faithful are old enough to appreciate meaning behind the melodies.
  2. Brink never reaches a full serotonin explosion like "Confessions on a Dancefloor," but at least Lauper has taken after the competition and found a new groove.
  3. If still a bit too far from the mainstream to make for a full-fledged commercial comeback (which "The Body Acoustic" might have provided if not for Sony's "rootkit" debacle), Bring Ya to the Brink recaptures Lauper's artistic relevance and stands as a hipper alternative to Madonna's "Hard Candy."