• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sctask
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Oh people - people PLEASE!! To think there are legions swarming around albums as capable of recreation as 'The Arcade Fire' [Funeral] or any twangy leather jacket & 3 guitarists from the NYC (both examples such the 180 from Wolf Eyes!) means you are missing the point. Wolf Eyes is the ANTI- in rock music. See.
  2. DonW.
    Nov 8, 2004
    8
    It's pretty insane that a band like Wolf Eyes has an album out on SubPop and even crazier that it's being discussed on Metacritic. This stuff isn't for everybody to say the least. That said, I find their music to be utterly without pretense. There's nothing to "understand" or "get". You either enjoy this kind of brutality or you don't. It doesn't matter It's pretty insane that a band like Wolf Eyes has an album out on SubPop and even crazier that it's being discussed on Metacritic. This stuff isn't for everybody to say the least. That said, I find their music to be utterly without pretense. There's nothing to "understand" or "get". You either enjoy this kind of brutality or you don't. It doesn't matter whether or not this kind of music is "easy" to make or whether Wolf Eyes are "good musicians" in the traditional sense any more than that mattered with early punk bands. (As it happens, Wolf Eyes manage to manipulate a variety or instruments - some of which they've built themselves - and found gadgets with remarkable cohesion.) What matter is that they really mean it, and I really like it. Expand
  3. ScissorShock
    Mar 4, 2005
    9
    Really good. In a lot of ways, life-changing. My advice is to just put on headphones, turn this up, and soak up the sound.
  4. Nick
    Sep 12, 2006
    5
    This is actually pretty weak as far as noise goes in my opinion. I just don't like the textures they bring to the table. I would recommend Prurient, Mouthus, Double Leopards or Birchville Cat Motel. Wolf Eyes aren't that great. I don't know what the deal is.
  5. jaredh
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This album is for the ages. A noise masterpiece. In a post-apocalyptic world, this is pop music. Like Sonic Youth's first masterpiece, Evol, Burned Mind blends fun with noise. Except here the fun is found in the rhythms and loud-as-hell dynamic, not in pop hooks. Certainly not in pop hooks. Most definitely not in pop hooks. But who needs pop hooks?
  6. FrankB
    Oct 25, 2004
    0
    The emperor has no clothes. All this band does is make noise. Any kid with a synthesizer can do this.
  7. BogusBoyBarlow
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    What an effluvial pile of crap! This is not art, it is not music, it is what a monkey could create with his or her two hands on a minimoog and its posterior resting upon a fader. Utter drivel and not worth the time to even sample.
  8. s.roberts
    Mar 31, 2005
    8
    evil, cold. extremly primitive, in a very good way. i love how every one who has something against this band is like "i could do this with a synth and a guitar!"...no, you couldn't, and niether could anyone else you know
  9. JohnF
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    "Burned Mind" is the best Ja Rule/Snow Patrol mash-up you've never heard. Period.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. The Wire
    70
    A genuine sense of danger and trepidation stalks through these tracks. [#249, p.63]
  2. Every track is a pure battle, with searing bursts of abrasion chopping at lava flows of insane density.
  3. Take[s] their haunted-house shtick to frightening extremes.