Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Jan 30, 2017
    90
    C U L T U R E propels the Migos three into the mainstream with a collection of woozy trap gems that is a peak in their young careers thus far.
  2. 83
    Quavo, Takeoff, and Offset breeze through it all with a contagious confidence that makes for a fun and surprisingly accessible album.
  3. Jan 30, 2017
    83
    On Culture the band stakes a claim as the most important rap group to come out of Atlanta since Outkast. That it even seems fathomable is proof of the album’s success.
  4. Jan 31, 2017
    81
    On Culture, their world is richly rendered, full of hopes and paranoia and unbridled joy.
  5. Feb 6, 2017
    80
    C U L T U R E is that rare work, one where an artist’s aesthetic is funneled into every track, where you can sense the trajectory from their previous works to this one.
  6. Feb 3, 2017
    80
    Culture is a tour de force of all that makes Migos great while showcasing all of the group’s strengths--the gift for catchy hooks and melodies, unique flows, incredible group chemistry and phenomenal one-liners.
  7. Jan 31, 2017
    80
    Migos see no need for a limit to the fun, and invite you in with familiarity, guiding you right into the consistency that follows throughout the album.
  8. 80
    Migos never try to recreate anything they’ve already done, but simply deliver more music that reflects their contagious, unadulterated flow. Culture is an album where they seize a moment of much-deserved success.
  9. 75
    Backed by production from Murda Beatz, Purps, Cardo, Zaytoven and Nard & B, co-pilots Quavo, Offset, and Takeoff sustain the hubris, excess, and immediate gratification adored by fans of gutter rap machismo while somehow bottling the very particular charm necessary for them to capture the hearts of pop-loving teens across the globe and carry rapping children’s lit live on the radio.
  10. Feb 21, 2017
    74
    Releasing a handful of incredible singles ahead of an album sets a pretty lofty standard that the rest of the LP doesn’t always meet. In spite of its drawbacks, Culture showcases Migos at the top of their artistry and there’s no indication that it’s their peak either.
  11. Feb 14, 2017
    70
    CULTURE may be limited in its scope, but it delivers in spades everything one might have hoped for from “the Beatles of this generation.”
  12. Feb 13, 2017
    70
    Migos prove here that they are worthy of our attention, building a formidable set of songs that demand to be taken seriously.
  13. Feb 7, 2017
    70
    Offset has developed into a charismatic storyteller who holds your attention when he keep the stories on wax rather than behind bars.
  14. Feb 1, 2017
    70
    The subject matter isn't new, but the trio's knack for delivering humorous one-liners, tasteful adlibs and memorable hooks in impressively technical fashion remains a winning formula here.
  15. Jan 30, 2017
    70
    If you gauge artistic success by innovation, you can just filter the best of Culture, a very decent group of Migos songs, into a playlist. But if you appreciate Migos and the sound they ushered into contemporary rap as being one of the genre’s most basic, essential natural resources, it will be easier to let the whole album--a drama of perseverance--ride out.
  16. Jan 30, 2017
    70
    Culture also sees Migos upping their game musically, working with some of Atlanta's hottest producers (Metro Boomin, Zaytoven) to cook up stickier melodies than ever.
  17. Jan 30, 2017
    60
    Like their increasingly musical, but still weird, productions, Migos’s triplet-heavy, robotic non-flows have come on leaps and bounds, while retaining the group’s core starkness.
  18. Feb 13, 2017
    40
    It’s impressive in small doses, but as Culture progresses you get a strong sense of deja vu, where each track upends the next with a petty familiarity that is just frustratingly repetitive.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 187
  1. Jan 30, 2017
    10
    I hate trap music. So much. With that said, I don't understand how I like this album so much. I honestly don't. But it's perfect. MusicallyI hate trap music. So much. With that said, I don't understand how I like this album so much. I honestly don't. But it's perfect. Musically beautiful, with eerie beats and melodic (dare I say) autotune. Lyrically amazing. Especially "Out Yo Way" (A beautiful track straying away from normal rap objectifying of women and talking about the women who are beautiful people and go out of their ways to help people), "Deadz" (Pure flames, a cypher rap for the ages) and "What the Price" (Describes their history of dealing drugs). With other hot singles such as "Bad and Boujee" and "T Shirt", this album has everything, and vibing to every infectious track is a given. Starts of 2017 on a beautifully hot note. Full Review »
  2. Jul 20, 2017
    0
    mini review

    this album reminds me of a mountain range. some parts are very high but others are extremely low culture: 4/10 forgettable
    mini review

    this album reminds me of a mountain range. some parts are very high but others are extremely low

    culture: 4/10 forgettable
    t shirt: 6/10 quavo kinda sucks
    call casting: 8/10 woww
    bad and boujee: 4/10
    get right whicha: 6.5/10 ok
    slippery: 4/10 gucci sucks
    big on big: 4/10 eh
    what the price: 2/10 stop
    brown paper bag: 4/10 eh
    deadz: 5/10 why is he even on here
    all ass: 1.5/10 why
    kelly price: 0/10
    out yo way: 4/10 eh

    worst: kelly price, all ass, what the price
    best: call casting, get right wicha, t shirt

    62/130

    light 5
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2017
    9
    This is a fantastic trap album. The lyricism presented by Migos is above average, while their cadences and flows are top tier. The way theyThis is a fantastic trap album. The lyricism presented by Migos is above average, while their cadences and flows are top tier. The way they use autotune is very melodic, and is done well without going over the top with it. The beats are interesting, eerie sometimes, and just flat out fun to listen to. Full Review »