Cave Rave

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 28, 2013
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Jun 18, 2013
    60
    What could have been overly esoteric instead recalls Vampire Weekend playfulness, albeit with 4/4 beats. [Jul 2013, p.96]
  2. It's bright and brash, sometimes almost life-affirming, but leaves you wondering two things (the influence of Graceland and singing in a comedy "foreign" accent).
  3. A few tunes--like the Afro-flecked ‘LA Calling’ or ‘Everywhere’--pass muster, but the whole thing is about as cosmic as a hairdresser who’s just read in Grazia that hippies are ‘in’ this summer.
  4. Q Magazine
    Jun 17, 2013
    40
    They can still write a tune but they've done away with much of what made them unique. [Jul 2013, p.101]
  5. May 30, 2013
    40
    On the whole it feels a little dated and overcooked.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    While not everyone may dig the underlying spirituality the Crystal Fighters claim to have behind Cave Rave, there is no denying that this is aWhile not everyone may dig the underlying spirituality the Crystal Fighters claim to have behind Cave Rave, there is no denying that this is a very solid, summery album. It is not as new or refreshing as Star of Love was, but instead, Cave Rave is more polished and easier on the ear. Tracks like ''Separator'' and ''Wave'' offer uplifting summer vibes, while tracks like ''Bridge of Bones'' show the Fighters' softer sides. An absolute summer anthem is ''You & I'', Cave Rave's version of ''Plage''. Meanwhile, the Fighters also opt for something different, with some drum and bass on ''These Nights'', and Basque instruments spread across the album. Overall, this is a very solid feel-good album, and a great way to kick off your summer. 9/10 Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    If this is advertised one more time to me on youtube I swear .........
    Its an alright album though although everything kind of ends up
    If this is advertised one more time to me on youtube I swear .........
    Its an alright album though although everything kind of ends up sounding the same
    Full Review »