• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Changes Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first full-length studio release in nearly five years from the Canadian pop singer-songwriter features guest appearances from Clever, Kehlani, Lil Dicky, Post Malone, Quavo, Travis Scott, and Summer Walker.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 14, 2020
    His voice and the production are flawless, and his soul is in the right place — but there’s something airless about the album, too, like he could have left the window open a crack to let some sunshine in. For a Valentine’s Day album about love in bloom, it sounds surprisingly serious and dark, with a one-track-mind.
  2. Feb 14, 2020
    On “Changes,” he finally stakes his claim, honing a vocal approach that’s soothing, tender although maybe slightly tentative, a middle ground between comfort and reluctance. It is an effective album, and also a deliberately unflashy one — Bieber is consistent and confident, and also not drawing too much attention to himself.
  3. Feb 28, 2020
    While Bieber's voice still sounds like that of a mid- to late-teen, singing seems to come more naturally to him, and his falsetto pleas are neither bitter nor entitled, strictly genuine and adult.
  4. Feb 13, 2020
    It just feels subdued and unassuming, which are curious things for mainstream pop to be. It’s a tentative, rather than all-guns-blazing, return, with a by-any-means-necessary bubblegum single dutifully tacked on to throw his record label a bone.
  5. Feb 18, 2020
    It’s a record in total lust and fealty to Hailey; you’ll probably want to duck out to use the bathroom halfway through.
  6. Feb 18, 2020
    Scattered bright spots come from guests—on “Forever,” Post Malone injects his destabilizing energy, singing with the urgency of someone in dire need of a bathroom. Kehlani’s appearance on “Get Me” enlivens the muted, Noah “40” Shebib-type beat. Otherwise, the only appealing moments appear in the last third, when Bieber sings over minimal accompaniment.
  7. 40
    This isn’t so much an album that would rile you to the point of turning it off. Rather, it washes over you, with its mostly average beats (“Forever” is a rare exception) and seemingly random cluster of guest features.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 14, 2020
    His voice has never sounded so good, every song has its own vibe to it and I just can’t get enough - there are no skips for me. Second emotionHis voice has never sounded so good, every song has its own vibe to it and I just can’t get enough - there are no skips for me. Second emotion is my favourite! Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2020
    i don't even know how to feel omg i'm so happy omg omg omgo m justin did that ok
  3. Feb 14, 2020
    O álbum é muito bom, é legal ver o justin trabalhando fora do pop... Tô doida para comprar a versão física
  4. Mar 19, 2021
    Un álbum fenomenal. Las vocals de justin bieber son de otro nivel, necesito más números para calificar como se lo merece.
  5. Jul 25, 2020
    really depressed by this album..just full of un-grown-up kids stuff. boring boring boring...
  6. Feb 14, 2020
    Purpose always the best. Sorryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
  7. Jan 9, 2021
    what great about this album is how it perfectly displays the worst aspects of both the pop and r&b genre. when the monotonous almostwhat great about this album is how it perfectly displays the worst aspects of both the pop and r&b genre. when the monotonous almost cartoonishly unoriginal single 'yummy' dropped all of us who had seen exactly what JB was capable of from his Purpose era collectively laughed and said: is this a joke? well unfortunately this reaction can be used to describe the entire project.it is so extremely forgettable that i couldn't write this review fairly without playing it in the background which unfortunately reminds me how lackluster the parts i could remember are. the title track ironically felt most like a filler whilst the track yummy wasn't outshined as the worst track of this album, his career and year. the intro begins nicely enough with his exemplary r&b vocals and clichéd production but is brought down b the saccharine lyrics and stupid adlibs. this continues through out most of this record taking a reprieve only at ''take it out on me'' the only good track in this album. i felt like this album wasn't an artistic effort more than it was a bid to sell and top charts which it did. if that is considered ALONE it would be a success but since those aren't the only criteria's for records its an abysmal out put created to be used in viral tik tok dances and cringe food commercials. Justin could and should've done better than this . Expand

See all 2384 User Reviews