Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Feb 5, 2015
    80
    If Conduit was the warm-up for their come back, then Chapter & Verse sees them break into a full sprint.
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Feb 6, 2015
    70
    It sounds like just another FFAF album. [Mar 2015, p.91]
  3. Feb 5, 2015
    70
    Having been immersed in the changing tides of independent hardcore and emo since 2001, the band makes nods to its seasoned pedigree with the song title "The Jade Tree Years Were My Best," referencing Delaware record label Jade Tree, which reigned supreme in emo circles during the late '90s.
  4. Kerrang!
    Feb 5, 2015
    60
    It's an uneven album. [10 Jan 2015, p.53]
  5. 60
    Chapter and Verse misses the mark in the sense that what it tries to achieve, Conduit already did in 2013. This album feels like a repetition of that and loses steam along the way.
  6. Feb 5, 2015
    60
    Granted, Chapter and Verse isn’t rewriting the book, but it is yet more proof that Funeral For A Friend still possess that same fire, that same determination, to keep making great records.
  7. Q Magazine
    Feb 5, 2015
    40
    Aside from 1%'s hushed moments, they're stuck in a rut. [Feb 2015, p.109]
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Jun 1, 2016
    0
    Quite frankly, this is a bad album. As someone who has been with FFAF since Seven Ways to Scream Your Name, I have absolutely nothing positiveQuite frankly, this is a bad album. As someone who has been with FFAF since Seven Ways to Scream Your Name, I have absolutely nothing positive to say about this album other than it's not the worst thing I've heard. That said, it's the worst thing I've heard from FFAF. This being their last album, I was hoping for a good sendoff, and perhaps a return to form for the band. I've heard this being compared to their early work, however that couldn't be further from the truth. If I'm comparing this to Casually Dressed, Hours, or even Memory and Humanity (probably their most underrated work), it sounds like none of those. The hardcore bits honestly sound bad with rough vocals, whereas the clean melodic parts are nowhere near the highs of their old work. Listen, I'm all for change, but this isn't evolution, nor is it sticking with what had worked so well in the past. As a fan of the band, it hurts to write this, but this is just a bad album with not a single memorable track. Even Conduit had a few tracks that I somewhat liked. The band just sounds tired at this point. If they hadn't called it quits, I would've said to put less of an emphasis on the screaming and more on the melodic sound since it's obvious the former isn't working for them. FFAF, I love you guys, and I'll always love your earlier albums, but this one is without any merit to really speak of. If you ever reunite, go back to what worked so well. I don't know what happened to FFAF since it's obvious that they know how to make good music given their past. :( Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2015
    4
    Their aged and tuneless post hardcore reflects how little they have progressed. It’s all noisy bluster and fevered activity where nothing isTheir aged and tuneless post hardcore reflects how little they have progressed. It’s all noisy bluster and fevered activity where nothing is either resolved or achieved. Shouting through a microphone will never disguise an alarming lack of quality. Full Review »