Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. The Wire
    Jun 5, 2015
    80
    An album whose sustained brilliance reveals both an artist liberated from the need to try too hard, and finally armed with more to express than sarcastic teenage angst. [Jun 2015, p.55]
  2. Apr 20, 2015
    80
    Juvenile shock tactics persist, but he’s now channelling his puckish energy into some thrilling experiments and the more time-honoured hip-hop touchstones Tyler brings into the mix.
  3. Apr 17, 2015
    80
    Cherry Bomb is his greatest achievement thus far, solidifying his place in the game, with or without the conspicuously absent Odd Future crew.
  4. 80
    Cherry Bomb might be the tightest, leanest Tyler album yet.
  5. Apr 14, 2015
    80
    Musically, he is maturing before our very eyes.
  6. Oct 7, 2015
    70
    At the end of the day, I enjoy Cherry Bomb, both for it's misanthropic noise and for its funkier and jazzier sides.
  7. Uncut
    Jun 3, 2015
    70
    The Los Angeles MC-producer hasn't yet made a definitive record. Cherry Bomb isn't it either, but its chaos is invigorating. [Jul 2015, p.83]
  8. May 4, 2015
    70
    Tyler's self-produced new one flows from the Neptunes tribute "Deathcamp" to the summery whimsy of "Find Your Wings."
  9. Apr 28, 2015
    70
    It takes patience to tag along, but hearing Tyler abandon shock for shock’s sake to explore other sides of his oddness is a sign he’s less interested in being rap’s Quentin Tarantino, and more its Wes Anderson.
  10. Apr 23, 2015
    70
    If anything, the album is held back by his ambition--imprudent testing falls short of his usual standards. There are lessons to be learned here, and as a document of Tyler's growth, this may well be looked back upon as a watershed moment.
  11. Apr 20, 2015
    70
    Returning customers who like Tyler the ringleader, or Tyler the producer, will find this to be too much of a good thing, and can embrace the free-form Cherry Bomb as another freaky trip worth taking.
  12. Apr 17, 2015
    70
    Cherry Bomb is Tyler's greatest creation to date. However, the album is bit of a mess in the beginning, and while Tyler's grown immensely as a producer, his rapping isn't consistently up to par.
  13. Apr 21, 2015
    67
    It’s hard to blame Tyler for indulging his whims. These songs work best when you throw out your own ideas about where they should go.
  14. Apr 17, 2015
    67
    His greatest strength has always been world-building, using a synth-heavy blitz of candy-colored jazz chords taken straight (sometimes blatantly so) from the Pharrell handbook. Cherry Bomb isn’t exactly a hard left turn from this lane, but it is a quick swerve.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 352
  1. Apr 15, 2015
    10
    To no surprise, Tyler changes his style again. However, this album seems to be his largest progression. It is as if he fuses together themesTo no surprise, Tyler changes his style again. However, this album seems to be his largest progression. It is as if he fuses together themes and his musical production from his previous albums. The synth and emotional singing from Wolf, the flow and deep-cutting 808's from Goblin, and the raw and unadulterated flow from Bastard. This album isn't as concise as say Wolf. Wolf, in my eyes, is a masterpiece because of his old style to new beats. Cherry Bomb sounds to me as Tyler states, "Named the album Cherry Bomb because greatest hits sounded boring". It literally has everything any OF fan could want for any album of his. Do you like Wolf? Here's "Find Your Wings", "Blow My Load", "2 Seater", and **** Perfect". Like Goblin? Here's "Buffalo", "Run", "The Brown Stains", and "Smuckers". Like Bastard? Here's "Deathcamp", "Keep Da O's", and "Pilot". There is something for every fan on this record, and it's god level if you loved all three of his previous albums like I did. Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2015
    8
    As I listened to this album I thought, "Tyler changed his style again!". This is something very interesting, to see an artist walk amongAs I listened to this album I thought, "Tyler changed his style again!". This is something very interesting, to see an artist walk among several vertex of Hip-Hop. It can be a very complex and noisy album, but it is still very well done and by far contemporary. Tyler, The Creator: a real rapper that doesn't never fail. Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2015
    0
    hurt my head, my ears felt like bleeding. Probably one of the worse listening experiences i have ever experience din my life. Also shoutouthurt my head, my ears felt like bleeding. Probably one of the worse listening experiences i have ever experience din my life. Also shoutout "Say Wallahi" on ktt that **** is the man. **** wit me Full Review »