User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 352
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2015
    9
    I absolutely love this album, Tyler steps away from his dark themed lyrics and turns to something more joyful. And surprisingly... does it VERY well. It took me a couple listens to get used to the bad mixing the distortion, and overall inconsistency of this record, but after that. I love every song on this thing. The production is also a plus for this record, songs like SMUCKERS andI absolutely love this album, Tyler steps away from his dark themed lyrics and turns to something more joyful. And surprisingly... does it VERY well. It took me a couple listens to get used to the bad mixing the distortion, and overall inconsistency of this record, but after that. I love every song on this thing. The production is also a plus for this record, songs like SMUCKERS and OKAGA, CA show a more type of light hearted type of production for Tyler, and it fits well. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2017
    8
    From beautiful to distorted, and back again. Cherry Bomb may be Tyler's most hated album. That is totally understandable. When I listen to the beautiful chords and xylophone provided by Roy Ayers on FIND YOUR WINGS, or the epic string bridge in the middle of 2SEATER, or the sexy and funky BLOW MY LOAD, all the way to the long and kaleidoscopic love-ballad that is OKAGA, CA. I can't sayFrom beautiful to distorted, and back again. Cherry Bomb may be Tyler's most hated album. That is totally understandable. When I listen to the beautiful chords and xylophone provided by Roy Ayers on FIND YOUR WINGS, or the epic string bridge in the middle of 2SEATER, or the sexy and funky BLOW MY LOAD, all the way to the long and kaleidoscopic love-ballad that is OKAGA, CA. I can't say anything except that I love this album. Colorful, Pharrell-influenced tracks are what make Cherry Bomb great, and really show Tyler is a force to be reckoned with when it comes to interesting production. It's fire, basically. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2015
    8
    As I listened to this album I thought, "Tyler changed his style again!". This is something very interesting, to see an artist walk among several vertex of Hip-Hop. It can be a very complex and noisy album, but it is still very well done and by far contemporary. Tyler, The Creator: a real rapper that doesn't never fail.
  4. Apr 15, 2015
    8
    Cherry Bomb showed Tyler's progression and maturity rising musically wise. The final product turned out to be a poor man's N.E.R.D 2.0 but it was still a nice album
  5. Apr 15, 2015
    10
    To no surprise, Tyler changes his style again. However, this album seems to be his largest progression. It is as if he fuses together themes and his musical production from his previous albums. The synth and emotional singing from Wolf, the flow and deep-cutting 808's from Goblin, and the raw and unadulterated flow from Bastard. This album isn't as concise as say Wolf. Wolf, in my eyes, isTo no surprise, Tyler changes his style again. However, this album seems to be his largest progression. It is as if he fuses together themes and his musical production from his previous albums. The synth and emotional singing from Wolf, the flow and deep-cutting 808's from Goblin, and the raw and unadulterated flow from Bastard. This album isn't as concise as say Wolf. Wolf, in my eyes, is a masterpiece because of his old style to new beats. Cherry Bomb sounds to me as Tyler states, "Named the album Cherry Bomb because greatest hits sounded boring". It literally has everything any OF fan could want for any album of his. Do you like Wolf? Here's "Find Your Wings", "Blow My Load", "2 Seater", and **** Perfect". Like Goblin? Here's "Buffalo", "Run", "The Brown Stains", and "Smuckers". Like Bastard? Here's "Deathcamp", "Keep Da O's", and "Pilot". There is something for every fan on this record, and it's god level if you loved all three of his previous albums like I did. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    One of the most multifaceted hip-hop records this year. In both meanings of the word it is really inspired. Tyler, The Creator presents his most beautiful production skills ever on the table, one time he brings in a beautful soul song, the next track is a heavy Death Grips-esque banger. Great record, together with To Pimp A Butterfly one of my favorite hip-hop records this year! :)
  7. May 2, 2015
    8
    8/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  8. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    Even if Tyler changed style. It isn't for bad. This album is a true masterpiece that is gonna make you have dreams with its sudden beat changes and chill parts sometimes and raw parts other times.
    This is definetly in my 2015 top 10 best albums list. I liked his raps but sometimes the music were too loud and Tyler's voice too low. only bad point. I absolutely love this. Tyler better stay
    Even if Tyler changed style. It isn't for bad. This album is a true masterpiece that is gonna make you have dreams with its sudden beat changes and chill parts sometimes and raw parts other times.
    This is definetly in my 2015 top 10 best albums list. I liked his raps but sometimes the music were too loud and Tyler's voice too low. only bad point. I absolutely love this. Tyler better stay like this instead of some Goblin **** Cherry Bomb> Wolf> Bastard> Goblin
    Favourite tracks: **** young, smuckers, 2seater, deathcamp, buffalo
    Worst track: Keep da o's

    And cherry bomb isn't that bad. It's a great song to rage too.
    Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2016
    10
    This album is Tylers best work, whilst at first confusing many listeners with songs like Cherry Bomb and Keep Da O's I feel that this album and particularly these songs need several listens before you start to truly get a feel for it. Songs like Find Your Wings and 2Seater are beautifully composed whilst deterring from what we are used to with Tyler in Bastard and Goblin. His change inThis album is Tylers best work, whilst at first confusing many listeners with songs like Cherry Bomb and Keep Da O's I feel that this album and particularly these songs need several listens before you start to truly get a feel for it. Songs like Find Your Wings and 2Seater are beautifully composed whilst deterring from what we are used to with Tyler in Bastard and Goblin. His change in style with the increasing use of muted jazz instruments in songs like Smuckers, 2Seater and Find Your Wings are perhaps what many people do not enjoy about this album as it isn't as hard hitting as some of his older works. I think Tyler can truly can master most genres and shows that in this album. Whilst I do find it lacks a common sound that most albums may cover I think that certainly doesn't deter it from being an amazing piece of work Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2021
    7
    this album is a 7 this album is a 7 this album is a 7 this album is a 7 this album is a 7
  11. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    This album utilizes all of the best aspects of Tyler's music. The chord changes are beautiful, the synths sounds just as mesmerizing as ever, it has the best features out of any Tyler album with Kanye, Wayne, and Keli Ulchis all here. Overall just a beautiful project.
  12. Apr 17, 2015
    7
    Cherry Bomb has an entirely different sound and subject matter as his 3 previous albums. This is great as it feels fresh and new rather than continuing where Wolf left off. The whole message behind the album is positivity and finding your purpose/what makes you happy in life which Tyler refers to as "Finding your wings". The first 3 tracks of this alum are fantastic with unique beats andCherry Bomb has an entirely different sound and subject matter as his 3 previous albums. This is great as it feels fresh and new rather than continuing where Wolf left off. The whole message behind the album is positivity and finding your purpose/what makes you happy in life which Tyler refers to as "Finding your wings". The first 3 tracks of this alum are fantastic with unique beats and an angry/hungry flow from Tyler. Deathcamp and Smuckers are definitely the stand out tracks of this album with great production, lyrics and two amazing features from Kanye and Lil Wanye. The lows of the album are the over-distortion on some tracks making it hard to understand Tyler even while reading lyrics, especially on the track Run even though I enjoy the overall message of the song. Another low are the songs **** Young/Perfect and Blow My Load which were underwhelming compared to the rest of the tracks. Overall I enjoy this album and is a solid release from Tyler. I would recommended any fan of Tyler, the Creator or new school hip-hop/alternative fan to give it a listen. Expand
  13. Apr 18, 2015
    8
    Cherry Bomb marks Tyler's total departure from his original music, which I enjoy as well. Tyler is able to keep his aggressive and in your face vibe, while tackling more advanced issues and improved lyrical reliability. He has improved his production with more jazz inspired songs, and is not afraid to take leaps of faith throughout the LP.
  14. Sep 22, 2015
    7
    The Boy T, open your eyes about this guy, he's a creative musical genius, but to an extent where his experimental lyrics, production and themes go over the top and make listeners confused by why he presents these. Tyler's goal of using excessive and over the top lyrics is to desensitise certain words. If you look into the lyrics he paints a pretty important message about lifestyle themes.The Boy T, open your eyes about this guy, he's a creative musical genius, but to an extent where his experimental lyrics, production and themes go over the top and make listeners confused by why he presents these. Tyler's goal of using excessive and over the top lyrics is to desensitise certain words. If you look into the lyrics he paints a pretty important message about lifestyle themes. The reason for a 7 not higher or lower is that there are songs where I just cannot play without getting a headache or skipping. The reason for not lowering is because Tyler is doing what he does, his art and he's doing well, his fans are happy and he frankly doesn't give a 'f**k' about critics (doesn't really care too much about being banned from countries). I am excited for Tyler to continue as an artist and keen for his new work as much as I enjoyed Cherry Bomb. ODD FUTURE for life. Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2017
    7
    I really liked this album, I don't get all the hate. Is it because tylers music changed again, is it because of the production, or is it because he 'matured'. No **** you, that is exactly what tylers music has been about since the beginning, change, odd production, and the progression of his life. It's not as good as WOLF and Goblin but it's not a 6.1. If you really think this album is aI really liked this album, I don't get all the hate. Is it because tylers music changed again, is it because of the production, or is it because he 'matured'. No **** you, that is exactly what tylers music has been about since the beginning, change, odd production, and the progression of his life. It's not as good as WOLF and Goblin but it's not a 6.1. If you really think this album is a 6.1 you must think that only 5 songs on this album were worth listening to. Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2018
    10
    this album is really good every song is amazing. production is amazing, flow is amazing everything just sounds amazing. everyone calls this album trash but i love it, yeezus is also my favorite kanye album
  17. Feb 24, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album, evident to practically every Tyler fan whether it'd be casual or hardcore, was an outlier compared to the gritty and edgy works that Tyler, The Creator has put out before Cherry Bomb. While it seems apparent on some tracks such as the title track, CHERRY BOMB, the controversially-intent BUFFALO, and the uncanny premise of ******* YOUNG/ PERFECT, most of the album is undoubtedly reaching out to the jazz genre. Orchestration, synthesizing production, and gorgeous vocals is what makes this album stand out not as the typically expected Tyler, the Creator album, but as a truly musical art-piece. On the other side, there is not much of a clear intention in this album, only that it is just art in the making. Don't get me wrong, I love the effort that was put towards the production and the composite series of sound, but its not clear what made this album come to fruition, and what it was made to show. It's very intriguing when thinking of these questions, but nevertheless, it is a very carefully constructed and touching music album. Expand
  18. Apr 6, 2018
    10
    I love this album. I don't love the distortion on a lot of the tracks, but it is still enjoyable. My favorite songs are OKAGA, KEEP DA O'S, SMUCKERS, BROWN STAINS, FIND YOUR WINGS, and 2SEATER. Those are all fantastic songs. 2SEATER has got to be my favorite song ever. I don't know what about it compels me so much, but it is soooo good. This album for sure has its flaws, but I still reallyI love this album. I don't love the distortion on a lot of the tracks, but it is still enjoyable. My favorite songs are OKAGA, KEEP DA O'S, SMUCKERS, BROWN STAINS, FIND YOUR WINGS, and 2SEATER. Those are all fantastic songs. 2SEATER has got to be my favorite song ever. I don't know what about it compels me so much, but it is soooo good. This album for sure has its flaws, but I still really like it. Expand
  19. May 22, 2019
    9
    Cherry Bomb is of peak importance to Tyler's progression and discography. The massive style change is the first indicator that Tyler is more than a rapper, the first hints at what he will become.
    With the brash, aggressive, in your face production, this album is LOUD. The first few listens can be tough because of how abrasive the album is, but it grows on you more and more with each
    Cherry Bomb is of peak importance to Tyler's progression and discography. The massive style change is the first indicator that Tyler is more than a rapper, the first hints at what he will become.
    With the brash, aggressive, in your face production, this album is LOUD. The first few listens can be tough because of how abrasive the album is, but it grows on you more and more with each listen, as you are more prepared for the album.
    Expand
  20. Apr 12, 2019
    9
    Every song (except for CHERRY BOMB) in this album is great. My personal favorite is 2SEATER and BLOW MY LOAD but every song in this album is marvelous in its own way.
  21. Apr 6, 2019
    10
    One of Tyler's maturing works ever. I feel like this album is more underappreciated in his fanbase and in the community. This album led us to one of his greatest album ever. This song had a ton of great songs. All the tracks were great. It only took me several listens to get used to the songs.

    Favorite tracks: All of them.
    Least favorite: None.
  22. Nov 16, 2019
    8
    Cherry bomb is by far the most unique album within Tyler’s discography. With its heavy influence of jazz and abrasive use of synths it creates a listening experience that keeps you on edge the whole way through. The transition between “find your wings” and the title track “cherry bomb” is the best example of this albums unpredictable nature. Lyrically this album does lack in substance withCherry bomb is by far the most unique album within Tyler’s discography. With its heavy influence of jazz and abrasive use of synths it creates a listening experience that keeps you on edge the whole way through. The transition between “find your wings” and the title track “cherry bomb” is the best example of this albums unpredictable nature. Lyrically this album does lack in substance with Tyler rapping from everything from rainbows on ”find your wings” to statutory rape on “f*****g young” which is a very uncomfortable topic to write about but in comparison to Tyler’s earlier work it appears rather tame. For me the album really shines with its wonderfully put together instrumentals across every track, with Tyler acknowledging this and realising a instrumental version of this album years later. With that being said I still do prefer the the original album as Tyler’s raspy voice and the featured artist vocals such as Kali Uchis and Roy Ayers adds an extra layer of intricacy to the tracks. Overall I fell this album is very underrated in Tyler’s discography and I highly recommend anyone who hasn’t listened to it to give it a listen. Expand
  23. Mar 17, 2021
    7
    I love Tyler and i like this album, but it's just at some points unlistenable and at some points perfect.
    You have to listen it many times to like it.
    Worth the listen? Maybe.
    7/10
  24. Jul 14, 2020
    7
    This album simultaneously includes some of Tyler's weakest and strongest cuts in the entirety of his discography. For instance FIND YOUR WINGS is a lush and uplifting song with very good instrumentation - a service to neo-soul- but CHERRY BOMBs distorted and abrasive productions makes it basically un-listenable. This great song-bad dichotomy song continues throughout the LP... Upon firstThis album simultaneously includes some of Tyler's weakest and strongest cuts in the entirety of his discography. For instance FIND YOUR WINGS is a lush and uplifting song with very good instrumentation - a service to neo-soul- but CHERRY BOMBs distorted and abrasive productions makes it basically un-listenable. This great song-bad dichotomy song continues throughout the LP... Upon first listen at least. After allowing this album more listening time, i enjoy it much more and appreciate it much more. However, songs like RUN and CHERRY BOMB still are hard listens.
    Best songs- BUFFALO, SMUCKERS, FIND YOUR WINGS
    Worst songs- CHERRY BOMB, PILOT, RUN
    7/10
    Expand
  25. Dec 6, 2020
    9
    absolutely crazy. Without this, flower boy or Igor wouldn't have been a thing. I get how peoples can dislike the album, the distortion, the way every track feels different... The amount of work that was put into this album is absolutely amazing, I strongly advise peoples to listen to the instrumentals too. 9 only cause the sounds in blow my load are pulling you out from the immersion sadlyabsolutely crazy. Without this, flower boy or Igor wouldn't have been a thing. I get how peoples can dislike the album, the distortion, the way every track feels different... The amount of work that was put into this album is absolutely amazing, I strongly advise peoples to listen to the instrumentals too. 9 only cause the sounds in blow my load are pulling you out from the immersion sadly i cant show it to my dad lol Expand
  26. Dec 28, 2021
    7
    The best way to describe Cherry Bomb is those fatal car crashes that we can't stop ourselves from staring in awe. Beginning with the startling "DEATHCAMP", we are already reminded of Tyler's influence, from Kanye West's Yeezus to Black Sabbath's Paranoid. Most will complain that Cherry Bomb is loud, random, and rebellious... but it's what makes it great. Perhaps Tyler wasn't at his peak inThe best way to describe Cherry Bomb is those fatal car crashes that we can't stop ourselves from staring in awe. Beginning with the startling "DEATHCAMP", we are already reminded of Tyler's influence, from Kanye West's Yeezus to Black Sabbath's Paranoid. Most will complain that Cherry Bomb is loud, random, and rebellious... but it's what makes it great. Perhaps Tyler wasn't at his peak in his lyrics and now methodical production than his rather noisy past massively featured on this album, but he says mesmerizing and enjoyable. Expand
  27. Apr 8, 2022
    10
    In 2022 I am still convinced that this album is my favorite one. Tyler is seeking a new style and this album is an experiment. For me, it is a completely successful experiment.
    FIND YOUR WINGS, CHERRY BOMB, 2SEATER, F***KING YOUNG/PERFECT - these songs were created out of their time.
    I am loving those small songs injected in the ends of bigger ones - e.g. FIRECRACKER, HAIR BLOWS, and
    In 2022 I am still convinced that this album is my favorite one. Tyler is seeking a new style and this album is an experiment. For me, it is a completely successful experiment.
    FIND YOUR WINGS, CHERRY BOMB, 2SEATER, F***KING YOUNG/PERFECT - these songs were created out of their time.
    I am loving those small songs injected in the ends of bigger ones - e.g. FIRECRACKER, HAIR BLOWS, and PERFECT. It is genius.
    Expand
  28. Jun 1, 2022
    8
    Peak weird Tyler. This album takes a lot of risks and most of the time they pay off. The intro track Deathcamp never fails to make me bounce in my seat, Buffalo is a more lowkey track, and smuckers is a banger. My biggest criticisms are the wonky mixing at some points and Find your wings. I get that the point of this album is to be all over the place, but Find your wings seems completelyPeak weird Tyler. This album takes a lot of risks and most of the time they pay off. The intro track Deathcamp never fails to make me bounce in my seat, Buffalo is a more lowkey track, and smuckers is a banger. My biggest criticisms are the wonky mixing at some points and Find your wings. I get that the point of this album is to be all over the place, but Find your wings seems completely out of place as a moment of peace and calm in the album. This would be fine, but the problem is that it's at the beginning of the album. If it was near the end, it would make more sense. I really enjoy this record, and I really don't get why some don't like it. Expand
  29. May 5, 2022
    7
    This album didn't deserve the hate it got on release. Tyler is able to blend jazz and R+B into the project while still maintaining his smug attitude. It has some fantastic songs (SMUCKERS, F-ING YOUNG/PERFECT, 2SEATER), but is mixed poorly and has multiple weak tracks. The track 'CHERRY BOMB' feels like a weak imitation of Death Grips' style. While I do consider some tracks on this albumThis album didn't deserve the hate it got on release. Tyler is able to blend jazz and R+B into the project while still maintaining his smug attitude. It has some fantastic songs (SMUCKERS, F-ING YOUNG/PERFECT, 2SEATER), but is mixed poorly and has multiple weak tracks. The track 'CHERRY BOMB' feels like a weak imitation of Death Grips' style. While I do consider some tracks on this album to be 10/10, as a whole it just isn't perfect. Expand
  30. Aug 9, 2023
    10
    This album is actually great. It accompanied me my whole graduation year and I have a huge amount of memories when I hear any song of it. Perfect / find your wings are my favorites.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Oct 7, 2015
    70
    At the end of the day, I enjoy Cherry Bomb, both for it's misanthropic noise and for its funkier and jazzier sides.
  2. Mojo
    Jun 10, 2015
    60
    Listen too close to the lyrics and you'll often detect a dispiritingly autopilot misanthropy.... Lose yourself in the music, though, and Cherry Bomb reveals a fevered charm. [Jul 2015, p.89]
  3. The Wire
    Jun 5, 2015
    80
    An album whose sustained brilliance reveals both an artist liberated from the need to try too hard, and finally armed with more to express than sarcastic teenage angst. [Jun 2015, p.55]