• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Kerrang!
    Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Bad Religion are still capable of holding on to their defiantly secular edge. [9 Nov 2013, p.53]
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    80
    A stinging reprise of ’93’s ‘American Jesus’ serves as a timely reminder that these perennial bastions of articulate dissent haven’t gone soft on us quite yet.
  3. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jan 2, 2014
    70
    There's a delicious, deliberate irony to this atheist band putting their own 100mph spin on carols. [Jan 2014, p.115]
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    It’s mostly Bad Religion just doing their bone-punks-n-harmony thing, allowing us to acknowledge the music behind “Angels We Have Heard on High” wouldn’t be all that out of place on New Maps of Hell.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    This EP might be a surprise to some, but it is in keeping with the puckish spirit that has underpinned the quintet's nearly 35 years together.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    63
    The album is definitely tongue-in-cheek but suggests a real affection for these standards, putting Bad Religion in a long line of acts that find religion interesting even if they don't believe in it for a second.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    60
    All songs are played relatively straight--nary a jingle bell in earshot--which is a good choice, as it offsets the devotional aspects of more traditional carols like ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’ and ‘Angels We Have Heard On High’.
  8. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    Bad Religion’s Christmas album is one of the most unusual in recent memory.
  9. 60
    Christmas Songs is a fun enough, but ultimately non-essential piece of the Bad Religion canon.
  10. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    Rather than subverting culture, the band goes one step further, subverting the expectations of listeners by performing the songs without irony. Most surprising, however, is how well these songs work with Bad Religion's driving and melodic style and Greg Graffin's distinctive voice.
  11. 50
    The nine tracks here turn to the old-school and the classic, making the carols you sung at school into something better suited to a night doing shots of eggnog in Fat Mike’s shed.
  12. Dec 19, 2013
    50
    Brett Gurewitz’s buzzsaw guitars sound cool, but the blend of punk rock and carols turns out to be too predictable, so you know whether you need to hear this one even without hearing it.
  13. Dec 16, 2013
    40
    As a Bad Religion record, it’s certainly not gold and you won’t be demanding myrrh.
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    40
    It's very much a lump of coal in the stocking.
  15. Magnet
    Dec 18, 2013
    30
    Despite valiant efforts at punking up "O Come, O Come Emmanuel" and "White Christmas," this is starting to sound like a bad joke. [No. 105, p.52]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    This is about the only Christmas album I like. While it may not be exactly what you are looking for when you go searching for a Bad ReligionThis is about the only Christmas album I like. While it may not be exactly what you are looking for when you go searching for a Bad Religion album, they do a great job of translating their style to the holiday genre. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    One of my favorites come Christmas time. Bad religion knocks it out of the park. I secretly start listening to this in November when i'm in myOne of my favorites come Christmas time. Bad religion knocks it out of the park. I secretly start listening to this in November when i'm in my car so my wife doesn't yell at me! Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2014
    2
    A very bad album, avoid it at all costs. If you're a big fan of this band, I advise to steer clear of it because you'll lose almost all hope for it..