User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 469
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2020
    0
    R.I.P. mac but this album still sucks awful it shouldn't b considered hip hop its dumb as f
  2. Jan 23, 2020
    1
    I mean it's hard to put into words how bad this album is. I guess people are just being nice because the dude died....but this album is not good at all.
  3. Jan 23, 2020
    1
    His worst album.. lyrics are not good at all..its not mac miller.. production is rough
  4. Jan 23, 2020
    1
    Who the **** is working on those reviews?!
    Are these guys working from a retirement home or wtf?
    Any time some body goes out with a boring record to death, with some existential birdshoot, it gets 80 or more. Just go hang yourself on the nearest tree ffs!
  5. Jan 17, 2020
    3
    Due to a large majority of the songs consisting of Mac doing more singing than rapping, It comes off as more of a folk/R&B album with production that's almost lo-fi like. Lots of acoustic guitars and minimalistic beats. The music is very intimate with Mac really pouring out his emotons in a lot of the tracks. But man, it's hard to get through...Not a bad album by any means but It's aDue to a large majority of the songs consisting of Mac doing more singing than rapping, It comes off as more of a folk/R&B album with production that's almost lo-fi like. Lots of acoustic guitars and minimalistic beats. The music is very intimate with Mac really pouring out his emotons in a lot of the tracks. But man, it's hard to get through...Not a bad album by any means but It's a little on the boring side for me personally. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2020
    0
    Very bad album method and bust up songs are just finished with this album that is probably not his best
  7. Jan 17, 2020
    0
    I do not like it when somebody dies but they continue to release album which even NOT GOOD. You guys have to let fans have good memories of the artist.
  8. Jan 22, 2020
    0
    What a horrible situation for mac this is the worst album I've ever heard in my life
  9. Dec 10, 2020
    0
    9/12

    This album is very relaxing and calm. It feels exhausted. It feels posthumous. RIP Mac Miller. You were a beautiful artist. We hear the depression in your voice. "Good News" is the key song here and means so much more coming out this year. We all need and want to hear good news. Everything is going wrong. I also listened to the deluxe version and couldn't miss the unmistakable
    9/12

    This album is very relaxing and calm. It feels exhausted. It feels posthumous. RIP Mac Miller. You were a beautiful artist. We hear the depression in your voice.
    "Good News" is the key song here and means so much more coming out this year. We all need and want to hear good news. Everything is going wrong.
    I also listened to the deluxe version and couldn't miss the unmistakable bass riffing of Thundercat. Happy to hear that legend on the album.
    The only problem with the album is that it all blends together and is a bit forgettable. But, that also compliments the chill vibe of album and serves as a great album to put on in the background or as something to just relax to.

    ALBUM ARTWORK: I love this cover. It's a beautiful and depressing portrait of Miller in monochrome. The photograph is iconic and memorable as it is. But, the doubled overlay makes the cover seem so much more concerned and confused and absent from the world. Just as he is absent from the world literally, the feeling of the music is out-of-body. Like we're chilling on a cloud or floating around like the low-opacity Miller on the cover. With the same spiritual theme, even though he's gone, it goes to show he lives inside us and still exists in spirit.
    Artwork rating: 11.5/12
    Expand
  10. Jan 22, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My review doesn't have any spoilers. But the album is straight wack. "Music to be murdered by" is a gem Expand
  11. Jan 29, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Meh maybe he should of made a rock album cause rap was really never his thing kind of a whack album Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 3, 2020
    80
    Despite the sadness that clearly surrounds this project there is plenty of positivity: the production of the album is impeccable, and the overwhelming message that shines through is of hope for the future.
  2. Jan 30, 2020
    85
    Mac’s sixth studio album is a surreal experience that’s filled with opaque contemplation and tragic connotations. ... Loneliness may be our greatest fear other than death. Mac was able to explicitly re-establish this idea through reflective songwriting and gentle crooning. His genius and thoughtfulness will always be remembered. “Circles” is a stark reminder of that.
  3. Jan 21, 2020
    80
    He finds beauty and peace in allowing himself to experience his own emotions. It’s an honest, matter-of-fact account of the grey areas of his life and mind. On Circles, Mac shows the unexpected joy that can be found in the darkest of times.