User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 470 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 470
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Beautiful album & a perfect send off for Mac, Jon Brions production meshes with Mac fantastically.
  2. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    This album was really amazing to me. I was a bit concerned, it being a posthumous album and all. But Jon Brion and the everyone else involved did Mac justice. This is equally live, calming; but more eclectic, experimental and almost indie-like than Swimming. The production is absolutely superb and the lyrics change from relatable, inspiring, and heartbreaking from track to track. TheThis album was really amazing to me. I was a bit concerned, it being a posthumous album and all. But Jon Brion and the everyone else involved did Mac justice. This is equally live, calming; but more eclectic, experimental and almost indie-like than Swimming. The production is absolutely superb and the lyrics change from relatable, inspiring, and heartbreaking from track to track. The production and Mac's soulful performances feel like he delivered them from heaven for his fans one last time.

    At the end of the album it's bittersweet. The idea of 'Swimming', being that as long as you are swimming you can't drown. Now, he's reached a new level of inner peace: no longer is he swimming, barely keeping his head above water as waves come crashing down, but surfing above them. And then he passed. But his music lives on.
    Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. é um album muito bom e tenho certeza que malcom esta feliz de terem lançado ele Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is really his last album we ever get, which is sad. and the fact that the hidden/background vocal in ‘i can see’ is ariana grande’s vocal, made it way more emotional. songs are amazing. this is sooo emotional. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This final piece of art from Mac is the perfect closure to his unfortunate demise. He takes the best elements of swimming and takes it up a notch. Noticeable influence from the Beatles clouds over the project where Mac opens up his soul and expresses his heavily pondered thoughts over an array of casual, eccentric, and enveloping instrumentals. The project ends with you pondering what isThis final piece of art from Mac is the perfect closure to his unfortunate demise. He takes the best elements of swimming and takes it up a notch. Noticeable influence from the Beatles clouds over the project where Mac opens up his soul and expresses his heavily pondered thoughts over an array of casual, eccentric, and enveloping instrumentals. The project ends with you pondering what is next for this brilliant artist, which ironically and unfortunately is the story of Mac Miller. The album will tug at your heart strings and will make you think deeply about how you approach your day to day life, it’s art at its purest form, Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    A beautiful album. It is very emotional considering Mac's life and head space at the time of recording, but doesn't need to rely on it. It's just really damn good. There isn't a single track on it I don't like, and although it continues the departure from Mac's earlier work, it is a very fitting progression. Beautiful.
  7. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That's how to make a posthoumos album. Simply a masterpiece of art! Just balm for the soul... Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    This album created energy I haven't had from music for a while. The rhythm and the lyrics had me vibing out, some songs brought me to a sadness hearing the sadness in his tone. The different and wide variety of music that Mac brought us was something special. From rapping to that soothing singing voice he has. What an artist. Rest in Peace. Your music will forever live on.
  9. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    Beautiful. Thank you so much for finishing this project, Jon Brion, and doing so through Mac’s perspective. Thank you, Malcolm.
  10. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Tjis is an amazing experience especially if you were a long time Mac Miller fan. What a closure for what it has been an amazing carrer!

    Rest easy Malcom
  11. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    Absolutely amazing. Production was spectacular, as well as his vocals. A wonderful send off to the late Mac Miller.
  12. Feb 19, 2020
    8
    Posthumous records are often misguided money grabs or sound so far off from - from what we think - was the artist’s direction. Certainly not the case here - Circles felt pure and authentic.

    The album starts in an incredibly minimalistic& empty space. Each track is a progression out of that empty space with soft-spoken melodies to a layered, folk, Paul McCarthy inspired record. It sounds
    Posthumous records are often misguided money grabs or sound so far off from - from what we think - was the artist’s direction. Certainly not the case here - Circles felt pure and authentic.

    The album starts in an incredibly minimalistic& empty space. Each track is a progression out of that empty space with soft-spoken melodies to a layered, folk, Paul McCarthy inspired record. It sounds like the soundtrack to the journey from depression to self-love and acceptance.

    I didn't really care for the album my first time through - I was just too thrown off by the sharp shift from Mac's usual sound. But once you accept that this is an indie-folk record and not a hip hop album, then you start to hear the blossoming effect.

    Circles in simple and soft, yet captivating and heavy.
    ---

    Or you could watch this review on my YT channel @paijebreaks
    Expand
  13. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Circles is the most beautiful album by Mac Miller. It's a piece of art. The production is so beautiful and mac should be proud in the heaven.
  14. Jan 22, 2020
    8
    Great send-off to an immaculate talent that will be sorely missed. Circles provide sweet and mellow tracks that a very in line with Mac's previous projects.

    Instead of a pure hip-hop album, Mac shares a more chill vibe with slower cuts like the opening track. And with this album representing the work that was to come from Mac, it is a real tragedy to listen to knowing he was only going
    Great send-off to an immaculate talent that will be sorely missed. Circles provide sweet and mellow tracks that a very in line with Mac's previous projects.

    Instead of a pure hip-hop album, Mac shares a more chill vibe with slower cuts like the opening track. And with this album representing the work that was to come from Mac, it is a real tragedy to listen to knowing he was only going to improve and his skills.
    Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2020
    9
    Beautiful sounding and it feels like we’re getting closure for mac. This is how posthumous albums need to be done
  16. Feb 24, 2021
    10
    Best posthumous album of all time 10/10
    Best posthumous album of all time 10/10
    Best posthumous album of all time 10/10
  17. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    this album is a 10 this album is a 10 this album is a 10 this album is a 10
  18. Jan 12, 2021
    9
    Mac Miller at his most musical yet. No genre in particular, possibly his furthest he's ever been from rap. Beautiful, haunting and a Polaroid of musical genius left for us.
  19. Feb 21, 2020
    9
    Though I'm not a fan of the post-mortem releases, this is a true piece of art. It seems that whoever have been responsible for finishing the songs for the album have done an impeccable job. Beautiful, touching, catchy.
  20. Dec 5, 2020
    7
    Circles - 7/10
    Complicated - 7,5/10
    Blue World - 8/10
    Good News - 7,5/10
    I Can See - 6,4/10
    Everybody - 7,5/10
    Woods - 6,5/10
    Hand Me Downs - 7,5/10
    That's on Me - 6,5/10
    Hands - 6,5/10
    Surf - 7/10
    Once a Day - 6/10

    Right - 7/10
    Floating - 6,5/10
  21. Jan 18, 2020
    8
    What a great way to close a very promising and emotionally filled career of an artist. Expanding the boundaries of rap music, renovating its sounds and innovative to its core. Maybe his best work if combined with his second to last album "Swimming". One of the best rappers of the 2010s who will be missed. I hope he will be survived by many artists who will continue his so fine kind of rap music.
  22. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Beautiful as **** feels like a complete album and it goes really well with swimming. I love the chill vibe and he just is real on it. Not a banger but still really special ❤
  23. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Intmate, sensitive. Well produce and written. Every word, flow and instruments talks to each other with beautiful harmony and the feeling put by Mac in the music by the way he sing just flavors the music it self. A beautiful goodbye for one of the greatest musician of the last decade.
  24. Jan 30, 2020
    10
    Don’t pay attention to all the reviews giving this album a 0. If you like genres outside of hip-hop, this album is beautiful, therapeutic and soothing. Great songwriting, beautiful melodies, and very smooth production. Flows well front to back and Mac’s lyrics are introspective, relatable and beautiful at times. Love this album, my favorite project by him, and unlike any other posthumousDon’t pay attention to all the reviews giving this album a 0. If you like genres outside of hip-hop, this album is beautiful, therapeutic and soothing. Great songwriting, beautiful melodies, and very smooth production. Flows well front to back and Mac’s lyrics are introspective, relatable and beautiful at times. Love this album, my favorite project by him, and unlike any other posthumous album. Sounds like a complete finished project. 10/10 easily. Expand
  25. Jan 24, 2020
    10
    Mac Miller's posthumously album Circles is a masterpiece. Listening to Circles makes me feel how we all missed Mac Miller. I the production is a work of art. I Love this album.
  26. Jan 21, 2020
    10
    A beautiful album and a beautiful way to say good bye to us fans. The melodies, the lyrics, everything about this body of work is amazing.
  27. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    The album sounds good, so smooth, cool. He really did with this album, so good. The vocals and his voice... everything
  28. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    forever in our hearts. this album marks a dark period of Mac's eternal absence, but in its melodies a light comfort is transmitted.
  29. May 30, 2020
    10
    Best rap álbum of the year and one of the best in general too, deserves a lot more
  30. Jul 16, 2020
    10
    I didn't use to like Mac Miller's music, I still don't care too much for his earlier stuff. When he died, I tried listening to Swimming, but I just didn't get the appeal. When he dropped Good News a couple of weeks before Circles, I was sceptical, didn't see how I would like that song. Then I listened to it. Such a beautiful song, beautiful instrumental and beautiful, yet sad lyrics. YouI didn't use to like Mac Miller's music, I still don't care too much for his earlier stuff. When he died, I tried listening to Swimming, but I just didn't get the appeal. When he dropped Good News a couple of weeks before Circles, I was sceptical, didn't see how I would like that song. Then I listened to it. Such a beautiful song, beautiful instrumental and beautiful, yet sad lyrics. You can tell from Miller's voice that he is a man full of regret and sadness. After this, I was excited for the album, when it dropped, I stayed up all night and listened to it. Other than the opening track, closing track and I can see, i loved every track. Whether he is rapping, or singing, he really showcased great penmanship on Circles. It's so sad that we will never see another album. Mac truly grew into something beautiful. May he rest in peace. This is one of the best posthumous albums I've ever heard, and a worthy closer for his career. Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2020
    7
    ( 75/100 )

    Después de la triste noticia de su fallecimiento, es un poco inevitable voltear atras un poco y recordar su discografía. "Swimming" del 2018 de repente pareció una advertencia que se tomó con cierto animo gracias a una producción tanto madura como creativa y atractiva. "Circles", gracias a la influencia de Jon Brion, Guy Lawrence, Eric "E. Dan" Dan y DAVID x ELI se siente aún
    ( 75/100 )

    Después de la triste noticia de su fallecimiento, es un poco inevitable voltear atras un poco y recordar su discografía. "Swimming" del 2018 de repente pareció una advertencia que se tomó con cierto animo gracias a una producción tanto madura como creativa y atractiva. "Circles", gracias a la influencia de Jon Brion, Guy Lawrence, Eric "E. Dan" Dan y DAVID x ELI se siente aún más madura, solida y congruente con ciertos toques de personalidad necesarios. Realmente, la música de Miller siempre ha buscado satisfacer sus propias visiones y por eso realmente no aspira a la sorpresa, novedad o creatividad, pero no por eso su música es mala, simplemente es un cool recordatorio de una esencia que era necesaria que existiera en el mundo de la música.

    After the sad news of his decease is a little inevitable to look back a little and remember his discography. "Swimming" of 2018 suddenly appeared as a warning that was taken with certain joy thanks to a mature, creative and attractive production. "Circles", thanks to the influence of Jon Brion, Guy Lawrence, Eric "E. Dan" Dan y DAVID x ELI, it feels even more mature, solid, congruent and with some sparkles of necessary personality. Milles's music always have wanted to satisfy his own vision, and that's why it doesn't really aspirate to surprise, originality or creativity, but that doesn't mean that his music is bad, it's simply a cool remembering of an essence that was necessary to exist in the world of music.
    Expand
  32. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Malcom’s final album, Circles, represents the beginning of something more. Circles is arguably his best album. It’s exciting, yet upsetting, to know Mac had finally found his place in music and had delivered a wonderfully-written masterpiece.
  33. Jan 17, 2020
    8
    I usually dislike posthumous albums, but this... this is something else... It's lovely, Mac's voice compliments the instrumentals so nicely. I'm not sure what Mac wanted this album to be for sure, but I think he would be proud of this. You can tell that there was care and thought put into this album, it wasn't just thrown together like a lot of posthumous albums we see are. It's great.I usually dislike posthumous albums, but this... this is something else... It's lovely, Mac's voice compliments the instrumentals so nicely. I'm not sure what Mac wanted this album to be for sure, but I think he would be proud of this. You can tell that there was care and thought put into this album, it wasn't just thrown together like a lot of posthumous albums we see are. It's great.

    Favorite Tracks: Good News, Blue World, Everybody, Surf, Complicated
    Expand
  34. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    This album is hard to make a review cause is extraordinary in many ways thanks to Mac for this wonderful gift.
  35. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Beautiful. So pure and raw. Wasn't a big fan of Mac but i loved this album! Sad thing we lost him :(. R.I.P Mac
  36. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Es interesante como la muerte de un autor puede cambiar el significado de su obra. Cuando es una obra póstuma ese sentimiento se potencia
  37. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Whole album is full of emotions, thoughts and different feelings... Mac's death really gives this album a strange effect. It's really hard to not weep while you listen those songs. After all, Mac perfectly delivered his message to listener and that's the most important thing in this album, he showed his world, showed what's inside his head and heart.
  38. Dec 7, 2020
    10
    actually that album deserves a solid 90 and more. bc it's a masterpiece. like, the best work from him. still cannot believe he's gone. i hope he's feeling good up in the heaven..... i love u
  39. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    Brilliant record. The fun moments pan out well, but the record is mostly just beautiful. Amazing production and surprising singing, rapping takes a backseat and it works so, so well. RIP my man. I think Mac would be incredibly proud of how this record panned out, and I can only see this record growing on me further in the future. Easily will be the one of the best records of the year, andBrilliant record. The fun moments pan out well, but the record is mostly just beautiful. Amazing production and surprising singing, rapping takes a backseat and it works so, so well. RIP my man. I think Mac would be incredibly proud of how this record panned out, and I can only see this record growing on me further in the future. Easily will be the one of the best records of the year, and I just know that That’s On Me is going to become one of my favorite songs ever and maybe my most played song this year. Awesome record.

    Best tracks: That’s On Me, Blue World, Everybody, Woods, Hand Me Downs

    Least favorite (but still great): Once a Day
    Expand
  40. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    Beautiful, raw and real, his best work in my opinion. I wish other artists went in deep and got this real on there albums like he did. He will be so missed, he is so loved.
  41. Feb 16, 2020
    9
    It takes a few tracks for him to find his footing, but Mac's newfound indie rock/folk sensibilities imbue the record with a rainy-day wistfulness more than straight melancholia, seeing the gone-too-soon rapper out on a haunting but hopeful note as he suggests that, however briefly, he finally found some semblance of the peace he sought for so long.

    Choice Cuts: "Circles", "Good News",
    It takes a few tracks for him to find his footing, but Mac's newfound indie rock/folk sensibilities imbue the record with a rainy-day wistfulness more than straight melancholia, seeing the gone-too-soon rapper out on a haunting but hopeful note as he suggests that, however briefly, he finally found some semblance of the peace he sought for so long.

    Choice Cuts: "Circles", "Good News", "Hand Me Downs", "Surf"
    Expand
  42. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    It’s a very nice and calming album and a great ending album for Mac Miller’s discography, it’s very chill, atmospheric, and dreamy. better than Swimming
  43. May 6, 2020
    8
    Encased in lush, warmingly touching instrumentation, exquisite charm and mellow introspection, Circles is everything a posthumous album should be: fulfilling an artist's intended vision and completing the important final touches to a closing chapter when they're spiritually not with us. With much delicate care, it is truly the appropriate finale of Mac Miller's career.
    As an outsider who
    Encased in lush, warmingly touching instrumentation, exquisite charm and mellow introspection, Circles is everything a posthumous album should be: fulfilling an artist's intended vision and completing the important final touches to a closing chapter when they're spiritually not with us. With much delicate care, it is truly the appropriate finale of Mac Miller's career.
    As an outsider who finds difficulty in truly investing myself in Mac's music, Circles serves as perhaps that rare moment of psychological immersion where I truly feel as if I'm walking in the shoes of the artist: a broken man in trouble, coping with inner demons looking for a safe space to find emotional and mental redemption. I can only imagine just how close to heart this record will really hit with fans, those who may regard him as a hero who've gone through the same experiences, the same struggles, the same pains. On Circles, Mac Miller presents what is perhaps his most confidential, down-to-earth and elegantly intimate set of bittersweet, sentimental songs yet.
    What Circles perhaps demonstrates is a man beginning to find himself again in an alien world and reaching for a light in the distance. It seemed as if things were taking a turn for the better with Circles. Given the context surrounding Mac's untimely death, it makes the story and concept behind the album infinitely more saddening and tragic, to know that in the end, Mac never got to see the light of day.
    Putting aside the tragedy of Mac Miller, I am in awe with the sharp amount of focus and the alluring, unprecedented elegance in the production and aesthetic of Circles. Never before have I been this invested and engaged in a Mac Miller project. Filled with incredible, soulfully immersive funky neo-soul energy and charmingly reminiscent pop-rap style, Circles is an undoubtedly gorgeous and chillingly rhythmic journey. Even in its rather rough and incomplete stage, this record rarely loses its groove and enthralling passion.
    To put it simply, this is a record one cannot take for granted. It is a rare, beyond-the-grave moment of aspirational sincerity, a moment of therapy and "zen" for a man who is perhaps finally at peace with himself. Circles is a fine delicacy of a record that serves as Mac Miller's most focused, undoubtedly mature, beautifully arranged, introspective, and generally, his best work as well in my humble opinion. Respect to Mac Miller, he knew not to leave his fans without a final genuine farewell message.
    Expand
  44. Jan 24, 2020
    8
    I cannot say that I was not terrified by the prospect of another posthumous album after the flailing disgust I felt at the multiple XXXtentacion projects dropped over the past few years. However, I'm very happy to report that this was nothing short of a gorgeous record. The seamless blending of the production and vocals makes the holes left by Malcolm's unfortunate passing unnoticeable,I cannot say that I was not terrified by the prospect of another posthumous album after the flailing disgust I felt at the multiple XXXtentacion projects dropped over the past few years. However, I'm very happy to report that this was nothing short of a gorgeous record. The seamless blending of the production and vocals makes the holes left by Malcolm's unfortunate passing unnoticeable, and the truly chilling and calming words spring to life aboard the fantastic and ear-grabbing synths and orchestras. Truly soaring in stature, it feels as though Malcolm is giving us as the listener, a true goodbye, fitting of a truly remarkable artist. Expand
  45. Feb 2, 2020
    10
    this album makes me cry and be a little sad, it is a great honor to have this work to remember Mac's life and be honored and recorded by all generations.
  46. Feb 13, 2020
    9
    Wow, this album was amazing. Props go to Joe Brion for completing this album after Mac's untimely death. Words cannot explain the emotions that I felt throughout my listen. My favorite track is easily everybody as it captivates the total feel and vibe given off throughout the album. I believe that this album is so close to a 10 it is almost aggravating. The production on this album wasWow, this album was amazing. Props go to Joe Brion for completing this album after Mac's untimely death. Words cannot explain the emotions that I felt throughout my listen. My favorite track is easily everybody as it captivates the total feel and vibe given off throughout the album. I believe that this album is so close to a 10 it is almost aggravating. The production on this album was immaculate and this is easily Mac's best album and, in my opinion, is a "way too early" contender for album of the year. Rest in peace. Expand
  47. Feb 9, 2020
    7
    It's incredibly refreshing to hear a posthumous album that isn't disingenuous, slimy, clearly made to capitalize on the artist's death and completely devoid of the artist's vision. It's obvious Mac knew what direction he wanted to go in before his passing and what's presented here on Circles is undeniably him. A good send off album for sure.
  48. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    When raindrops fell
    down from the sky the day you left me
    an angel cried... ohhhh she cried an angel CRIEEEEEED
    she CRIEEEEEEEDDDDDDDDDDD. RIP angel.
  49. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    A beautiful album by a beautiful person. The songs are smooth but meaningful, and they get better and better after every listen. Rest in peace, Mac. Gone but never forgotten.
  50. Jan 17, 2020
    8
    I was very happy to hear that Mac Miller's estate was releasing a posthumous album. Let's just say it did not disappoint in the slightest. The sound of the album is more laid-back than his previous releases and is very much focused on singing and not as much rapping. The lyrics are hauntingly foreshadowing and predictive which make the album even more powerful. It seems like Miller isI was very happy to hear that Mac Miller's estate was releasing a posthumous album. Let's just say it did not disappoint in the slightest. The sound of the album is more laid-back than his previous releases and is very much focused on singing and not as much rapping. The lyrics are hauntingly foreshadowing and predictive which make the album even more powerful. It seems like Miller is writing from the afterlife which is an almost spiritual experience. If you weren't listening to the lyrics then it would seem almost like easy listening but it is definitely not that if you do. While this is not necessarily my favorite album from Miller (who is one of my favorite artists) it is very impressive and powerful especially since it is a posthumous release.

    Favorite Tracks: Good News, Hand Me Downs, Hands, Once A Day

    Least Favorite Tracks: Surf, I Can See
    Expand
  51. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    this album is a fantastic combination of lyrical content and sweet beats, a final goodbye from mac miller to the world.
  52. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    there's no right or wrong with how this turned out but i sure listen the whole album on repeat and its truly a masterpiece..
  53. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es un álbum magnífico, un paso al antecesor de swwimming pero aún en un círculo perfecto combinado Expand
  54. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Just perfect.
    Hhjíyygikbgggffggggggghjkiytfxddthhvftyhvvftyjjngujhfyhbvujyiojjikjbgyyhju
    Thanks
  55. Jan 17, 2020
    8
    It's good, not insanely new and revolutionary, but it's good. This is not completely a rap album, so you shouldn't expect it to be. It's production is really fresh and atmospheric. The use of strings and synths really portray the mood of the album. The lyrics make it beautiful and depressing knowing that he knew himself well enough and expected the worst from his use of substances.
  56. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Tragic genius; an epilogue of a life lived in excess but not without cares or stresses. 11/10
  57. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    A very emotional conclusion, not only to Swimming as a concept but to Mac as an artist. The album shows a large growth in his singing ability and explores his voice and abilities vocally. The instrumentals are groovy at points, and calm at others, reinforcing the tone of the album, melancholy with an optimistic outlook.
  58. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    it’s amazing, i’m so grateful to get to hear this masterpiece. everybody should listen to it
  59. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    This album made me cry a lot, masterpiece. Didn't dislike a single track. R.I.P. Mac
  60. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Beautiful melodies all across the album, very well thought and put together to honor mac miller's life and career.
  61. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Even after death he gives us good music.this album has beautiful instrumentals that isolate mac and put him like he is talking to you from a place where he found peace
  62. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Such an amazing album, swimming was ok but Circles is on another level, this is some of Mac's greatest music ever released.
  63. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    I really enjoyed his album and I think it’s a very fitting ending to Mac’s career. My favourite part about this album was this album was the overall vibe each song gave off, also I really enjoyed the production. I think Mac’s singing sounded a little soft in some parts but not to the extent that it heavily affected the quality of the music. Overall, I really love this album and I’llI really enjoyed his album and I think it’s a very fitting ending to Mac’s career. My favourite part about this album was this album was the overall vibe each song gave off, also I really enjoyed the production. I think Mac’s singing sounded a little soft in some parts but not to the extent that it heavily affected the quality of the music. Overall, I really love this album and I’ll definitely be coming back to it. Expand
  64. Jan 20, 2020
    8
    A well written, produced, and cohesive record. Mac's lyrics paint the saddening and melancholy picture of his mindset during the creation of this record. Brion's production use of synths and string instruments is almost too appropriately paired with Mac's lyricism. Circles is a raw, beautiful, and sonically soothing, yet heartbreaking end to such a young and exceptional artist's career.
  65. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Compelling, captivating and thought-provoking. This album is an inside look into the mind of Mac Miller over a body of work that culminates everything that Mac Miller is in hip-hop. This is a posthumous album done the right way, and a project that Mac Miller himself would be happy to put out. A phenomenal farewell from Malcolm McCormick.
  66. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    Easily his best effort, and even better that it was released on my birthday. I love this guy. R.I.P.
  67. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    Is a magical album, all the songs is so incredible and the harmonies is so amazing, I love this album so real much
  68. Jan 19, 2020
    8
    Circles is a light and sensitive album which shows the beauty of Mac Miller's talent. Every word, verse and hook mean more after his death as we are given an insight into Mac's thoughts before his untimely death. This is a perfect companion to Swimming as both shows very similar styles. This sounds very like a Mac Miller album. Jon Brion and other producers, as well as Mac's family, haveCircles is a light and sensitive album which shows the beauty of Mac Miller's talent. Every word, verse and hook mean more after his death as we are given an insight into Mac's thoughts before his untimely death. This is a perfect companion to Swimming as both shows very similar styles. This sounds very like a Mac Miller album. Jon Brion and other producers, as well as Mac's family, have done a great job in bringing this album together. Expand
  69. Jan 20, 2020
    10
    Its impactful and introspective. Each lyric and sound resonates more each time I listen through.
  70. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Beautiful project that captures the talent of Mac as a full and multifaceted artist.
  71. Jan 22, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truthfully, I would rate this album between an 8 and 9, but I chose 8 because that’s probably closer. I loved Swimming, and I was really excited when I heard this album is a continuation of sorts to Swimming. This project does a great job of making the listener feel close to Mac, and it is very personal. Some of the songs are heartbreaking, but at the same time, it gives me a good sense of closure. Mac’s singing and lyrics are great, the production is great, and I can listen to it all the way through with no complaints. There are a couple of weaker tracks, and it’s not perfect, but it feels complete. I loved this album, and it is one of his best imo. RIP Mac Expand
  72. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    Mac Miller delivers a beautiful album and perfect send off to any Mac Miller fan.

    Best Tracks: Complicated, Blue World, Hand Me Downs, Hands

    Worst Track: I Can See
  73. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    This is definitely one of the best and also one of the saddest albums of 2020. I can't describe to you how much this album means to me, you just need to experience it yourself. One of the best posthumous albums to date.
  74. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    wonderful album, the choice of beats is fantastic, mac great as always

    a pure form of art
    rest in peace
  75. Jan 22, 2020
    8
    Incredibly melancholy, yet beautifully arranged, every moment is absolutely blissful while staying simultaneously downtrodden
  76. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of Macs best albums as far as experimental albums that he did. Brings hard bars and smooth production all the way thru. Slow beautiful lyrics too. Great album Expand
  77. Jan 23, 2020
    9
    This album is great! I loge the production and lyricism and the Singer-Songwriter approach he took on the project. The project has elements of Neo Soul and R&B while still having Mac rap. Definitely Mac’s best album
  78. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Beautiful album, always puts me in a good mood. Best album of the year so far.
  79. Jan 22, 2020
    8
    Its like if Mac was talking to us from heaven, good production and the emotion i this project is very deep.
  80. Apr 29, 2020
    9
    Circles is a phenomenal send off to one of hip hops most recently tragic stories. The album feels totally complete despite being posthumous, and every instrumental perfectly fits Mac’s moods through each track. The tracks nail the swimming in circles theme and does give some hope in tracks like Blue World.
  81. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    The best sendoff I could have ever asked for from one of my favourite artists.
  82. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    Sad to see the late mac Miller lave this earth. This album was great and I’m glad it will be his last
  83. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    You will be missed Mac! Amazing last album. I cried a lot while listening to it.
  84. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    Circles is probably one of the most emotional albums that I have listened to in a long time. His legacy of being a down-to-earth rapper has been accomplished. this post-humous displays mac miller at his best. grabbing what he would have wanted and making it even better. his legacy has definitely been one of the best ones than the others who have passed. The production leave this silkyCircles is probably one of the most emotional albums that I have listened to in a long time. His legacy of being a down-to-earth rapper has been accomplished. this post-humous displays mac miller at his best. grabbing what he would have wanted and making it even better. his legacy has definitely been one of the best ones than the others who have passed. The production leave this silky smooth rhythms that mac accompanies with even silkier rhymes with an admirable flow. RIP mac, you're doing your legacy proud. Expand
  85. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So beautiful with masterful writing and production. Lots of work and passion was took to this album. An album that will have an everlasting impact. Expand
  86. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    As someone who has been listening to Mac Miller since 2011, his passing has been a painful loss. His music has been the soundtrack to many pivotal and intimate moments of my life. I met my best friend through mutual love of his artistry; the highs and lows of both high school and college were amplified by his work. For me, "Swimming" was a score of loss. I related a personal loss of a longAs someone who has been listening to Mac Miller since 2011, his passing has been a painful loss. His music has been the soundtrack to many pivotal and intimate moments of my life. I met my best friend through mutual love of his artistry; the highs and lows of both high school and college were amplified by his work. For me, "Swimming" was a score of loss. I related a personal loss of a long time relationship to many songs off of that record. When Mac himself left this Earth, "Swimming" became both a comfort and a void in my life I didn't know how to fill...

    "Circles" has filled that void. It is far and away Mac's most melodic and detailed album in his discography. He mostly forgoes rapping for singing, and while it won't blow any one away with its technicality, his voice portrays the emotion of his lyrics sincerely. The instrumentation is lush and organic, with influences from Laurel Canyon pop music to modern house and synth-pop, all while building on the rapping and lyricism that made Mac Miller special to begin with. Credit to Jon Brion for helping shape a wonderous soundscape that simultaneously evokes melancholy and hope. Credit more to Mac Miller's family, who honorably and nobly saw his legacy to completion. And that is what this album is at its core; completion. It is the end of the journey for Mac Miller, and while the journey was cut short, the songs he has left behind give the message that all is going to be ok. Death was often on his mind, but it no longer seemed to scare him on this album. Rather, he seems to have concluded that when his time is up, there will be something greater on the other side. The album often feels like a voice from beyond, comforting and knowing, giving confidence that all is alright. Wherever Mac is, he assures us he is at peace. I will always keep Mac's music and legacy in my heart, but this album brought closure to the void left from his passing. I'm not sure I can think of another album that completes an artist's journey as well as this one does. Till we meet in another life Mac, rest in peace.
    Expand
  87. Feb 29, 2020
    9
    This is the best posthumous release we've had in a very long while. It is a very sad and heart breaking project to listen to as he sounds so hopeful for his future on a lot of the tracks. Having said that he also covered a lot of issues he was struggling with on this release which makes this album even more of an emotional experience. This is a very heavy yet smooth listen overall. 9/10.
  88. Jan 25, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums I’ve ever heard and at the moment is getting me through a rough time 10/10
  89. Jan 26, 2020
    9
    Although apparently unfinished, the albums themes, sound and overall composition is beautiful. There Is no other way to put it. The emotion conveyed by each individual song is immense and Mac sounds great on all of the tracks in my opinion. Beats are good. Lyrics are brilliant and tell a story of how Mac was feeling at the time of writing them, but most importantly is just how beautifulAlthough apparently unfinished, the albums themes, sound and overall composition is beautiful. There Is no other way to put it. The emotion conveyed by each individual song is immense and Mac sounds great on all of the tracks in my opinion. Beats are good. Lyrics are brilliant and tell a story of how Mac was feeling at the time of writing them, but most importantly is just how beautiful each song is and. A truly beautiful work of art the legend left behind. Expand
  90. Jan 29, 2020
    9
    This is how you do Posthumous music...I felt like he recorded this up in the heaven. Thankyou Mac
  91. Feb 9, 2020
    10
    Muito bom. Mac lenda eterna... Talento puro e genuíno... Impecável assim como quase tudo q ele criava.
  92. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    What a great way to say goodbye to this phenomenal artist. Couldn't ask for better
  93. Feb 2, 2020
    10
    This album truly shows his growth. Makes me wonder how far he would of gone.
  94. May 13, 2020
    10
    This is his best record with Swimming.The songs are beautiful yet heartbreaking.It is the best record i heard for some time.Rest easy,Malcolm.❤️
  95. Feb 13, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Álbum Prefeito, trás muito emoção sentimento e é muito inovador, merece muito sucesso e notas maiores.. Expand
  96. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    Hermoso álbum, Mac merecía la atención que recibió desde siempre. Te amo por siempre Malcolm❤️
  97. Feb 18, 2020
    10
    beautiful. and a truly incredible thing that the album was able to be produced. lyrically and musically beautiful. RIP Mac, you will forever be appreciated, loved and missed.
  98. Mar 9, 2020
    10
    Bro, this whole album just feels like a warm hug, a goodbye to everyone. he is just talking from his heart. wherever he is i hope he is smiling, rest in peace mac
  99. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Beautifully done. We can relate to his feelings through soothing and calm music. Mac's death had a great impact on me, so it took long for me to listen to his late album. But it was even better than I expected. It's a work of art. Definitely his best, better even than the Divine Feminine which is my favorite album of all times.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 3, 2020
    80
    Despite the sadness that clearly surrounds this project there is plenty of positivity: the production of the album is impeccable, and the overwhelming message that shines through is of hope for the future.
  2. Jan 30, 2020
    85
    Mac’s sixth studio album is a surreal experience that’s filled with opaque contemplation and tragic connotations. ... Loneliness may be our greatest fear other than death. Mac was able to explicitly re-establish this idea through reflective songwriting and gentle crooning. His genius and thoughtfulness will always be remembered. “Circles” is a stark reminder of that.
  3. Jan 21, 2020
    80
    He finds beauty and peace in allowing himself to experience his own emotions. It’s an honest, matter-of-fact account of the grey areas of his life and mind. On Circles, Mac shows the unexpected joy that can be found in the darkest of times.