User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2021
    10
    Arlo Parks is a poet. Parks’ words and music convince you quickly. Parks is a poignant songwriter. She tackles issues of mental health, human relationships, and discrimination with unprecedented wisdom for a 20 year old. She is an inspiring mouthpiece for young adults.
  2. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    This is an excellent debut album that not only introduces us to Arlo Parks's unique sound and her wispy sweet voice, but also illuminates her concise yet mature lyricism.
  3. Jan 31, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is all around great is you love poetic lyrics and a sound that blends neo-soul and indie. A very solid showing for a debut album. She really shows a full range of emotions from the uplifting Hope to the straight depressing Eugene. For me, the only skippable song is Bluish, but even that is a good song; however, it just isn't up to par with the rest of the album. If this song were better and Arlo were a little more expressive vocally, this would be a 10/10 for me. Great overall and have already recommended to friends. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2021
    8
    A beautiful collection of songs with so many pop references that all those music lovers out there will surely appreciate. Arlo Parks delivers a great personal work with some poetic approach. Amazing voice preoccupied with making awareness about mental health and diverse social problems. Behold a new music star.
  5. Feb 7, 2021
    8
    I was reeled in by the track "Black Dog". Placed dead in the middle of the album, it really is the centrepiece and heart of the record with everything building to and ebbing from this fantastic track. There is plenty of other good material as well to be fair but none of it is on the same level as that particular track. It's a pleasant album, full of solid pop songs with a soul productionI was reeled in by the track "Black Dog". Placed dead in the middle of the album, it really is the centrepiece and heart of the record with everything building to and ebbing from this fantastic track. There is plenty of other good material as well to be fair but none of it is on the same level as that particular track. It's a pleasant album, full of solid pop songs with a soul production applied and probably takes itself more seriously than it should. There is something about it, not just the London accent, that reminds of Lily Allen's "Alright Still" but without the humour. Overall, not groundbreaking and there isn't anything that tops "Black Dog" here but "Collapsed in Sunbeams" is a good listen and is substantial enough to deserve the praise its getting. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2021
    7
    With ‚Under the radar‘ on this.. on first listening ‚Hope‘ stood out for me.. as I liked the melody
  7. Feb 1, 2021
    8
    A great debut. Arlo Parks is an awsome songwriter and it gives me hope about the future of the music

    Real note: 84
  8. Jan 29, 2021
    8
    This surely will be the best debut record of 2021, I’m calling it right now
  9. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    As a very promising young new artist, Arlo Parks meets the challenge of big expectations from the music industry and audiences, but refuses to be intimidated by it. When I first decided I would listen to this album I didn't quite know what to expect, but as I got to the fourth track I was in awe with Arlo's ethereal vocal delivery as well as the powerful nature of the motivational lyrics.As a very promising young new artist, Arlo Parks meets the challenge of big expectations from the music industry and audiences, but refuses to be intimidated by it. When I first decided I would listen to this album I didn't quite know what to expect, but as I got to the fourth track I was in awe with Arlo's ethereal vocal delivery as well as the powerful nature of the motivational lyrics. The rest of the album did not disappoint and I found the whole collection to be an all-encompassing empowering masterpiece. This is, all in all, the very album that we so desperately needed to kick off 2021 with a positive mindset after tumultuous 2020 had us locked up in our homes for months. I'm feeling this is a great start to an amazing career for Arlo Parks. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2021
    8
    Really good. Feeling like it's between an 8 and 9, I'm going to say 8 because at certain parts I maybe got a little bored and it started to all kinda sound the same... but ultimately as it grows on me I might move it up to a 9. It's fresh and deep and vibey in all the right ways. Decent shot at being in my year-end top 10.
  11. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    One of the best albums ever made, quite possibly better than Pet Sounds....
  12. Mar 5, 2021
    8
    She's definitely the next big thing out there! Loved her lyricism, the fact that she's an avid and honest songwriter which makes her artistry even more immaculate.
  13. Mar 25, 2021
    9
    She is one of the rare sincere artists who dare to open up and pours her heart to us with great singing and related lyrics. She has a typical English soul with melancholy in her voice and her lyrics. She is also able to handle to combine sorrow and joy at the same pot that keeps the pot boiling till the last song. She has very talented guitar and bass guitar partners in her band. It's soShe is one of the rare sincere artists who dare to open up and pours her heart to us with great singing and related lyrics. She has a typical English soul with melancholy in her voice and her lyrics. She is also able to handle to combine sorrow and joy at the same pot that keeps the pot boiling till the last song. She has very talented guitar and bass guitar partners in her band. It's so touching and memorable debut album from the year 2021. Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2021
    10
    Collapsed in Sunbeans certamente é o meu disco favorito do ano, até agora. Arlo Parks faz muito em tão pouco tempo, nos tornando confidentes de seus pensamentos e angustas através de uma sonoridade tão leve quanto densa. Esse disco é mágico.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 4, 2021
    72
    The irony of Collapsed in Sunbeams is that Parks’ greatest strength also gives the album its most noticeable weaknesses. We are mainly here for her connecting songwriting, which means that the production – by Gianluca Buccellati – is restrained to allow her direct words to flow at their own behest.
  2. Feb 1, 2021
    70
    There's a confessional quality to these songs that feels real, regardless of whether Parks is telling these stories exactly as they happened or embellishing them for narrative impact. She also keeps the music engaging throughout, using a lot of guitar and piano for melodies and riffs and a rock-solid rhythm section to create strong grooves. It's early in 2021, but this is already a candidate for one of the year's better debuts.
  3. Feb 1, 2021
    70
    The hazy production in Sunbeams does, to an extent, water down some of Parks' poetic musings and reduce them to pleasant background music. Even if there are hardly any low points here, the forceful sentiments of past songs like Angel's Song and Romantic Garbage are sorely absent—both of which are just mellow as this project but more musically rewarding.