• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2017
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 13, 2017
    87
    As both a quintessential entry into his catalog and a striking entry into mainstream popular culture, Colors once again cements Beck as a clever, ever-dynamic and enduring artist.
  2. 83
    The glossy production here sometimes neuters Beck's wilder inclinations. ... Still, as his first upbeat album in nearly a decade, Colors proves that Beck is still one of rock's most intrepid inventors. [13 Oct 2017, p.58]
  3. Magnet
    Nov 21, 2017
    80
    Save for the grooving, frizzy "Dreams," the ambient alterna-pop/R&B of Colors is sleek, clean and clear. [No. 148, p.53]
  4. Oct 16, 2017
    80
    Featuring synthy dance beats, electronic flourish and propellant energy, the record sits alongside similarly infectious endeavors from his impressive discography such as “Odelay,” “Midnight Vultures” and “The Information.”
  5. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    The result is his most straight-ahead fun album since the Nineties.
  6. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    It’s largely a plainspoken, cohesive work, closer in spirit to single-minded efforts like Morning Phases, Modern Guilt, or even Sea Change. And really, that’s fine.
  7. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    Colors is Beck at his most exuberant, concocting weird, wonderful dancefloor fillers like a mad disco scientist. Good things come to those who wait.
  8. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    If Beck is Generation X’s answer to David Bowie, then “Colors” is his “Let’s Dance”: an intentionally lightweight, enjoyable mid-career effort with one eye on the dance floor and one on radio playlists. Whether it returns him to his former hitmaker status remains to be seen, but “Colors” definitely succeeds in putting the spring back in Beck’s step.
  9. 80
    As a collection of songs, however, Colors is by far Beck’s most upbeat and enjoyable record from front to back since the ’90s. Repeated listens will no doubt be rewarded.
  10. Q Magazine
    Oct 6, 2017
    80
    His best uptempo record since Odelay. [Nov 2017, p.109]
  11. Uncut
    Oct 6, 2017
    80
    Colors may be less anarchic than his most famous albums from the 1990s, but he emerges as a studio tinkerer who has grown more disciplined but no less eccentric. [Nov 2017, p.24]
  12. Oct 16, 2017
    76
    Colors is a varied and blissful pop album that finds joy in our times, and Beck expectedly makes it interesting and vibrant to experience. He has decided to make something optimistic in the midst of so much unrest, and it succeeds in bringing a celebratory presence to a world that need it
  13. Oct 13, 2017
    75
    He's at his most vibrant when he allows himself to cherry-pick and combine elements from his diverse range of influences. If you've missed Beck the musical collage artist, Colors is the one that should bring you back.
  14. Oct 11, 2017
    75
    Colors is solid--Beck doesn’t make bad records, whatever mode he’s in--and it flirts with greatness, but he’s at his best when he decides to either get loose or get serious, less so when he drives straight down the
  15. Oct 17, 2017
    70
    This is an album that is more than anything about the joy of making music. It’s not perfect, but it is a joyful, engaging listen, a perfect first step in the “I no longer have anything to prove” phase of Beck’s illustrious career.
  16. Oct 12, 2017
    70
    Colors is a breezy, tightly composed party-starter of a record that doesn't demand much of the listener, but gives back generously.
  17. Oct 12, 2017
    70
    While that might mean Colors doesn't offer the depth and intrigue of most Beck albums, it does mean it's a fun confection. It's a record that's designed to be nothing but a good time, and that indeed is all that it is.
  18. Oct 11, 2017
    67
    You can still hear marginal residue of the man who managed to be compared to both Dylan and Prince within the same five-year period. You just won’t find those comparisons so much lately.
  19. Oct 17, 2017
    63
    Beck has been working on Colors since 2013, and by the sounds of a recent interview, spent a lot of time trying to get the balance of “not retro and not modern” just so. He more or less nailed that bit, but what’s lacking from his Big Happy Pop Record is some kind of strong emotion that could elevate these songs above the “well crafted but innocuous” camp--something more than an idea.
  20. Nov 27, 2017
    60
    Charging power-pop anthems like I’m So Free and Dear Life agree with his current stature as an elder statesman who can try to keep it cool, except that when he veers into strummy gloss pop (Up All Night, Square One) it makes him sound out of touch.
  21. 60
    Beck’s Colors is a musical invitation to a soiree that ultimately lacks both substance and staying power, and is crucially missing the self-awareness that something more important is at stake than merely having a good time.
  22. Oct 17, 2017
    60
    Overall it’s a fun album of two halves. The first half tows the line between the cheesy elements of radio pop that even the snarkiest Slayer fan secretly loves, and some truly inspirational, if not fleeting, compositional substance. The second half, although still very much a fun listen, somewhat strays.
  23. Oct 16, 2017
    60
    Infrequently there are bursts of brilliance--the Bowie meets Men at Work-style funk of the title track; Wow’s theatrical reimagining of hip-hop--but happiness does not become the impish shape-shifter.
  24. 60
    All told, it’s pretty crowded territory, with too many jams.
  25. Oct 13, 2017
    60
    There are plenty of hooks and the pace rarely relents, but it’s hard to ever imagine Colors ever being in anyone’s top five favourite Beck albums.
  26. Oct 12, 2017
    60
    Colors suffers for sacrificing personality for immediacy.
  27. Oct 12, 2017
    60
    Colors is extreme, featuring some of the best and worst songs that Beck has ever written.
  28. 60
    At times this slick party vibe sounds like Hall & Oates at their least soulful, which is to say the music has an inevitability to it that initially feels fresh, but starts to wear thin when it’s clear the entire album is cut from the same glitzy cloth.
  29. Mojo
    Oct 6, 2017
    60
    It's a messy, vibrant record, and if his palette occasionally blurs into muddiness, at least he's still trying for a rainbow. [Nov 2017, p.102]
  30. Oct 13, 2017
    50
    At times, it seems as though Beck is grasping at something, anything, to add conflict and tension to this effusive album. But all he comes up with are the most well-worn of sentimental platitudes.
  31. 50
    Colors is the opposite of The Information. The first time you listen to it, you know its average and you keep listening, begging it to give something that hasn’t had its edges shaved off by a production style that strips all weird aesthetics in favor of aerodynamics that no one wanted and no one will like.
  32. Oct 12, 2017
    50
    Whether Colors will be a success within the pop world it is clearly aimed at remains to be seen, but one suspects even pop fans will see through this for it appears to be: an album documenting a mid-life crisis.
  33. Nov 8, 2017
    40
    The problem with Colors is that where once he innovated, Beck now seems to be imitating the slew of fizzing faceless pop clogging the airwaves buried under a mesh of corporate production.
  34. Oct 16, 2017
    30
    Colors dispels a greater notion of contemporary selfhood with its sheer tastelessness. It holds status as the most truly perplexing move from the artist to date. Unfortunately, the result of that move is borderline unlistenable.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 150
  1. Oct 29, 2017
    10
    Colors is a fantastic album. I am a massive Beck fan, loving everything he has done. Among the very best rank Odelay, Sea Change, Guero,Colors is a fantastic album. I am a massive Beck fan, loving everything he has done. Among the very best rank Odelay, Sea Change, Guero, Morning Phase, and Mutations, but all of his albums are great in their own way. As a Beck fan, I recognize that every album he records is a vast departure from the last. Really only two are even similar, in Sea Change and Morning Phase, and they were recorded more than a decade apart. So I dont understand the people saying he's lost his touch, or not the same. Thats the point. He is never the same, something that makes him great, and vastly unique in today's music.
    Colors is one great song after another, until its over. It might be his most "complete" work to date. The opening title track kicks things into gear, and songs like Seventh Heaven, I'm So Free, Dear Life, No Distraction are intant classics in my book. Dreams is great, and like every other song, extremely upbeat and catchy. Eminently listenable, this is the first album in years where I never want to skip a song looking for a better one. The songs and his vocals, are melodic, fast, and fun. It puts a smile on your face to listen. For the first time in a while, it sounds as though Beck is truely happy in his music. I am too. This may be my new favorite Beck album.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2017
    7
    As a Beck fan, I like this album, but I will admit that it is one of his weaker albums and I'm not sure if I like this change of pace. It'sAs a Beck fan, I like this album, but I will admit that it is one of his weaker albums and I'm not sure if I like this change of pace. It's not egregious, but much like Morning Phase it is Beck playing it super safe and not trying to push boundaries. It's basically Beck trying to cash in on all the alternative dance songs that make it onto the alternative radio stations, acts like Foster the People or Portugal. the Man or even Passion Pit (the album closer Fix Me definitely sounds like a song that could slip into Gossamer). If you like those type of bands, you might like this album. But if you are looking for the man who made boundary pushing albums like Odelay or Midnight Vultures, you'll be left hanging. I mean say what you will about Morning Phase, when looking at his Grammy-winning last album it made sense considering it is a companion piece to his masterpiece Sea Change, Colors is just an attempt at Beck cashing in on different trends without really doing anything all that innovative. That's not saying that the album is bad. For a dance album, it's plenty of fun! The production is colorful at times, the grooves are solid, and the lyrics can be clever a lot of the times. But unfortunately it can't save how safe, generic, and at times stiff this album can be.

    Like I said before, I'm a fan of Beck and I will admit I do enjoy this album overall, but it does not come as close as Mellow Gold or Odelay or Mutations or Sea Change or even Morning Phase. The album is well produced as a dance album and it has it's moments, but for die hard Beck fans, I wouldn't really recommend it honestly. And as a Beck fan, if this is the type of music he'll be making in the 2010s and onward, I don't think I'll like it. Just saying.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2017
    4
    This album is dull and just lacks the sparkle or substance you get from many other Beck albums. There are some good bits, but the bits thatThis album is dull and just lacks the sparkle or substance you get from many other Beck albums. There are some good bits, but the bits that are good are really just sections of songs, or sounds used, which are interesting for a few seconds, but then somehow they do not click into a shape that has power. Full Review »