• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2017
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 150
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2017
    9
    It's not as fun as something like Midnite Vultures (at least yet, maybe with a few listens?) but it's a 100% chance of having a good time. For the first time Beck music sounds more modern than vintage, he messes with dance rock, mocks hip hop again and makes even some neo-psychedelic stuff like the excelent Dear Life. It's another album in Beck's catalogue that is different than everythingIt's not as fun as something like Midnite Vultures (at least yet, maybe with a few listens?) but it's a 100% chance of having a good time. For the first time Beck music sounds more modern than vintage, he messes with dance rock, mocks hip hop again and makes even some neo-psychedelic stuff like the excelent Dear Life. It's another album in Beck's catalogue that is different than everything he made before. Only Bowie discography was as rich, ecletic and full of colours as his. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2017
    10
    So Beck purists may not like the pop, catchy, immediacy and general up beat feel of this record. I've been a Beck fan but in a way this is the album I have wanted him to make for years. It is great, sensation, short, well produced pop at its finest.

    Think about it, we all know Beck can make difficult, out there genre defining records, but it shows how amazingly good he is at making a
    So Beck purists may not like the pop, catchy, immediacy and general up beat feel of this record. I've been a Beck fan but in a way this is the album I have wanted him to make for years. It is great, sensation, short, well produced pop at its finest.

    Think about it, we all know Beck can make difficult, out there genre defining records, but it shows how amazingly good he is at making a 'commercial' sound he if he wants to. I think this album is anything but dull. As much as I like Morning Phase, that could easily be described as dull. Go buy it!
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Vinte e oito meses após apresentar "Dreams", o single abre-alas de sua nova fase, o ídolo indie Beck distribuiu ao mundo "Colors", o mais solar de todos os seus treze álbuns, discografia destacada pela versatilidade invejável e reconhecida por público e crítica.

    Para melhor entender o passo "arriscado" dado pelo artista norte-americano, é preciso contextualizar. Por um olhar minimamente atento, é notável a constante mutação que a indústria musical vem apresentando desde o início da década. Em paralelo a queda das grandes gravadoras e o formato de oferta convencional, a cena pop se destaca, extendendo seu significado à etimologia do termo que entitula o gênero. Por consequência, dada a pluralidade de ofertas promovida pelas plataformas digitais, fato gerador dos novos hábitos de consumo e a efetivação da democratização do acesso ao fonograma, fez-se necessária aos grandes artistas e produtores a reflexão por um novo posicionamento. Na lógica do "nada se cria, tudo se 'transforma'", o exercício da renovação, métrica adotada e reforçada por Beck desde a concepção de sua carreira, torna-se tendência e cláusula-pétrea para o novo mercado musical, sintoma-diagnóstico ao fato de grande parte das novas obras fonográficas soarem "esquecíveis", por mais interessantes que possam parecer.

    Como um álbum musical pode servir como paradigma para o entendimento do mercado?
    Diante do novo cenário, protagonizado por fãs cada dia mais exigentes, há mais um fato notável em meio aos lançamentos recentes: o trânsito entre gêneros distintos como principal tendência na era do streaming. Com a massiva oferta de conteúdo disponibilizado na internet, constata-se que, à medida que consome música, o ouvinte não se atém a um único catálogo pessoal, navegando em playlists feitas por serviços de streaming, artistas ou pelos próprios usuários das novas plataformas. Como prova deste novo momento, ao abrir o escopo da análise, observa-se que festivais de música de todo o mundo já caminham por esta lógica, abrindo sua programação ao vasto leque de gêneros e públicos diversos (alguém lembra do Metallica no reduto "hipster" chamado Lolla?).

    Uma vez iniciada a transformação dos hábitos de consumo musical, os principais personagens da indústria fonográfica inclinaram-se a experimentar novas células sonoras. Em 2016, ano em que se consolidou tal ruptura, Lady Gaga deu um tempo aos "little monsters" e apresentou o elogiado "Joanne", álbum costurado do folk ao reggaeton; Rihanna, do ode ao twerk celebrado no hit "Work", gravou faixas dignas de clássicos em "ANTI", influenciado pelo soul, R&B e hip-hop; Beyónce, diva-mor do pop mundial, trocou a sensualidade habitual pela sobriedade característica do premiado "Lemonade", eleito “Melhor Álbum Urbano Contemporâneo” de 2016 pelos especialistas da Recording Academy, ente responsável pelo cobiçado gramofone dourado. No mesmo caminho trilhado em tais lançamentos, entre tantos outros, como "Witness", da miss Perry, "A Head Full Of Dreams", álbum colorido-neon do Coldplay, "Gameshow", do indie Two Door Cinema Club, e "Ti Amo", inédito do Phoenix, chegamos a "Colors", a virada de chave alto-astral do até então melancólico Beck.

    Por mais contraditório que “Colors” possa soar, Beck é do tipo raro de artista que sempre teve seu dedo no que quer que seja popular na época, seja com o Alt Rock em meados dos anos 90 com Odelay, o R&B pulsante em Midnite Vultures, do final da década de 90, o Rap nos anos 2000, pulsante em Guero, e agora o Pop "híbrido" dominante na música internacional contemporânea, em “Colors”. Enquanto alguns ainda não assimilam, outros torcem o nariz para a atmosfera proposta pelo novo trabalho, que já vinha sendo apresentada desde meados de 2015, em “Dreams”, e mais evidente em “Wow”, “Dear Life” e “Up All Night”, single mais recente que também integrou a trilha do game “FIFA
    Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2017
    10
    é... colors é bem diferente dos trabalhos anteriores do beck e muitos fãs de longa data dele não aprovaram o trabalho mas eu discordo pois achei a ideia criative e eu amo artistas que sabem se reinventar e trazer um som "arriscado"
  5. Oct 14, 2017
    7
    As a Beck fan, I like this album, but I will admit that it is one of his weaker albums and I'm not sure if I like this change of pace. It's not egregious, but much like Morning Phase it is Beck playing it super safe and not trying to push boundaries. It's basically Beck trying to cash in on all the alternative dance songs that make it onto the alternative radio stations, acts like FosterAs a Beck fan, I like this album, but I will admit that it is one of his weaker albums and I'm not sure if I like this change of pace. It's not egregious, but much like Morning Phase it is Beck playing it super safe and not trying to push boundaries. It's basically Beck trying to cash in on all the alternative dance songs that make it onto the alternative radio stations, acts like Foster the People or Portugal. the Man or even Passion Pit (the album closer Fix Me definitely sounds like a song that could slip into Gossamer). If you like those type of bands, you might like this album. But if you are looking for the man who made boundary pushing albums like Odelay or Midnight Vultures, you'll be left hanging. I mean say what you will about Morning Phase, when looking at his Grammy-winning last album it made sense considering it is a companion piece to his masterpiece Sea Change, Colors is just an attempt at Beck cashing in on different trends without really doing anything all that innovative. That's not saying that the album is bad. For a dance album, it's plenty of fun! The production is colorful at times, the grooves are solid, and the lyrics can be clever a lot of the times. But unfortunately it can't save how safe, generic, and at times stiff this album can be.

    Like I said before, I'm a fan of Beck and I will admit I do enjoy this album overall, but it does not come as close as Mellow Gold or Odelay or Mutations or Sea Change or even Morning Phase. The album is well produced as a dance album and it has it's moments, but for die hard Beck fans, I wouldn't really recommend it honestly. And as a Beck fan, if this is the type of music he'll be making in the 2010s and onward, I don't think I'll like it. Just saying.
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2017
    10
    Colors is a fantastic album. I am a massive Beck fan, loving everything he has done. Among the very best rank Odelay, Sea Change, Guero, Morning Phase, and Mutations, but all of his albums are great in their own way. As a Beck fan, I recognize that every album he records is a vast departure from the last. Really only two are even similar, in Sea Change and Morning Phase, and they wereColors is a fantastic album. I am a massive Beck fan, loving everything he has done. Among the very best rank Odelay, Sea Change, Guero, Morning Phase, and Mutations, but all of his albums are great in their own way. As a Beck fan, I recognize that every album he records is a vast departure from the last. Really only two are even similar, in Sea Change and Morning Phase, and they were recorded more than a decade apart. So I dont understand the people saying he's lost his touch, or not the same. Thats the point. He is never the same, something that makes him great, and vastly unique in today's music.
    Colors is one great song after another, until its over. It might be his most "complete" work to date. The opening title track kicks things into gear, and songs like Seventh Heaven, I'm So Free, Dear Life, No Distraction are intant classics in my book. Dreams is great, and like every other song, extremely upbeat and catchy. Eminently listenable, this is the first album in years where I never want to skip a song looking for a better one. The songs and his vocals, are melodic, fast, and fun. It puts a smile on your face to listen. For the first time in a while, it sounds as though Beck is truely happy in his music. I am too. This may be my new favorite Beck album.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2017
    8
    I'm surprised people aren't pointing out what I think is really obvious: Colors is Beck's first straight-up rock album he's ever released. All of his albums in the past have been at least partially electronic (except for the folk/country/americana albums Sea Change and Morning Phase), but this album is pretty much full instrumentation. He does veer into hip-hop a little bit for the songI'm surprised people aren't pointing out what I think is really obvious: Colors is Beck's first straight-up rock album he's ever released. All of his albums in the past have been at least partially electronic (except for the folk/country/americana albums Sea Change and Morning Phase), but this album is pretty much full instrumentation. He does veer into hip-hop a little bit for the song "Wow". This album is closest in spirit to Midnite Vultures, which is definitely a more idiosyncratic album than Colors. Overall, I think this is a superb, upbeat album. I acknowledge that it is somewhat bland and generic. Beck will probably never make another album like it, given his genre-hopping past. That's part of the fun of listening to Beck: he has so many styles and plays with so many different genres that it's interesting and fun just to hear what he has chosen to do this time, just as it will be interesting and fun to hear what he will do next time. Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2017
    4
    This album is dull and just lacks the sparkle or substance you get from many other Beck albums. There are some good bits, but the bits that are good are really just sections of songs, or sounds used, which are interesting for a few seconds, but then somehow they do not click into a shape that has power.
  9. Oct 19, 2017
    6
    I have been waiting for an album that could fill my expctations after the excellent previous record "Morning Phase". Although "Colors" is very consistent in lyrics and pleasant, seeing that Beck is one of my favorite songwriters, even with "Pop miscellaneous", "indie rock for teenagers", this album does not pass an liability in Beck's Career. Being unnecessary.

    There are only two
    I have been waiting for an album that could fill my expctations after the excellent previous record "Morning Phase". Although "Colors" is very consistent in lyrics and pleasant, seeing that Beck is one of my favorite songwriters, even with "Pop miscellaneous", "indie rock for teenagers", this album does not pass an liability in Beck's Career. Being unnecessary.

    There are only two musics, in my humble opinion, with good hooks and melodies, being "Colors", even Beck's vocals in the chorus' background remind me "These Paths" from Mosquito by YEAH YEAH YEAHS, and "Fix Me", a melancholic ballad with extreme good intentions and powerful lyrics, perhaps I risk to say this track brought to me back the epoch of Sea Change, exaclty the same vibes in "Paper Tiger".

    A conclusion is, Colors is well-composed, whereas the confusion of genres make me feel upset about it. It is good to listen, but is unpleasant call this an good record seeing amazing albuns as "One Foot In the Grave", "Guero", "Sea Change" and "Morning Phase". Colors is nothing if comparing with other Beck's records. Sorry!

    Fav Tracks: "Colors", "Fix me", "I'm So free".
    Expand
  10. Oct 25, 2017
    7
    Being more daring than what it may seem, this work did well with exploring new synthetic sounds and never being satisfied with staying put sonically while delivering excitement and personality through the hidden gem of the harmonic progressions, however the lack of forefront engagement or strong melodic motives despite the attempt to be tuneful made the work settle on simply being niceBeing more daring than what it may seem, this work did well with exploring new synthetic sounds and never being satisfied with staying put sonically while delivering excitement and personality through the hidden gem of the harmonic progressions, however the lack of forefront engagement or strong melodic motives despite the attempt to be tuneful made the work settle on simply being nice glorified background music. My Score: 134/180 (Solid) = 7.4/10 Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2017
    6
    Beck appreciates optimism on youthful, heavy-produced record Colors. He eschew from the simplicity of Morning Phase for a more energetic and youthful record, unburdened by the former album’s success. So much of its freedom, on Wow, the track do sounds like a white guy trying to rap, it’s weirdly likable. And with likability, Up All Night got that first-single-worthy vibe that trulyBeck appreciates optimism on youthful, heavy-produced record Colors. He eschew from the simplicity of Morning Phase for a more energetic and youthful record, unburdened by the former album’s success. So much of its freedom, on Wow, the track do sounds like a white guy trying to rap, it’s weirdly likable. And with likability, Up All Night got that first-single-worthy vibe that truly captures the mood of the whole record, and surprisingly is not the record’s first single. Beck surely wants to showcase a festively good time, and Colors delivers what it should. Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2017
    5
    Beck decides to try to go towards new styles in this album. Sadly there isn't much proper direction or excitement in the album, however his word-play and lyrical structure is very well written along some of the instrumentals. It is quite weak for a usual Beck album though Beck did stretch far and wide to make this album, though if we see what it truly is, it's simply pop rock/synthpop andBeck decides to try to go towards new styles in this album. Sadly there isn't much proper direction or excitement in the album, however his word-play and lyrical structure is very well written along some of the instrumentals. It is quite weak for a usual Beck album though Beck did stretch far and wide to make this album, though if we see what it truly is, it's simply pop rock/synthpop and isn't much more special than a bland record.

    Favourites: Dear Life

    Eh: Colors, Fix Me, Dreams, Square One, No Distraction, Up All Night

    Not my pie: Seventh Heaven, I'm So Free.

    Just my opinion.
    Expand
  13. Oct 21, 2017
    8
    Beck does it again, seems bit more commercial but some of the non hits grow on you. There are many single releases from this album now and in the future. "I feel free" is one example. I do like it when he tests limits but I am certainly not disappointed with this release.
  14. Apr 11, 2018
    8
    Absolutely sensational album, I can't stop listening to it. Real lightning in a bottle stuff. The only thing stopping it from being a bona fide classic is it's unashamedly pop, and at times it feels a little bit like what he thinks people want to hear as opposed to what is in his heart. Having said that, the lyrics are still extraordinary and the musical flourishes have moments ofAbsolutely sensational album, I can't stop listening to it. Real lightning in a bottle stuff. The only thing stopping it from being a bona fide classic is it's unashamedly pop, and at times it feels a little bit like what he thinks people want to hear as opposed to what is in his heart. Having said that, the lyrics are still extraordinary and the musical flourishes have moments of brilliance. If this is a sign of Beck in his older years the future is promising. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2017
    7
    I like this album even if it does feel like Beck is losing his touch a little bit. These tracks are fun and punchy with the same drum tracks popularized in MGMT and Foster the People.
  16. Jul 16, 2018
    7
    Not a classic such previously albums, but has more tasteful melodies than some Beck's stuff and it doesn't loses totally his creativity but here's probably most homogenic and less varying Beck's album, just has some lapse of electro and pop.
  17. Dec 29, 2017
    9
    Colors may be the best album in Beck's repertoire. Mixing a colourful (excuse the pun) amount of synths with his classic rock sound. Best songs: Wow, Dreams, Up All Night.
  18. Oct 23, 2017
    9
    This is a pretty flawless pop album IMO, but you have to be able to appreciate it for what it is. It's not another Morning Phase, which personally I'm fine with since I like a good pop album.
  19. Oct 21, 2017
    7
    Beck mostra nesse CD uma pegada bem mais comercial, mas sem deixar de lado seu estilo. Com canções escritas e produzidas junto com o produtor pop Greg Kurstin, ele faz um dos melhores CDs de 2017.
  20. Oct 13, 2017
    8
    Is it a little more poppy than I'd like it to be, sure but there are 5 maybe 6 extremely good songs here. I'd say that makes a pretty good album...........................................
  21. Oct 18, 2017
    6
    It's always nice to hear an artist who's been around for 25 years not resting on his laurels and choosing to try something new. That said, Colors is not the revelation that many of Beck's previous releases have been. A pretty by the numbers pop rock album, it's easy on the ears but lacks any real flair. Still, it's a good listen if you like Beck, or even if you don't, if what you didn'tIt's always nice to hear an artist who's been around for 25 years not resting on his laurels and choosing to try something new. That said, Colors is not the revelation that many of Beck's previous releases have been. A pretty by the numbers pop rock album, it's easy on the ears but lacks any real flair. Still, it's a good listen if you like Beck, or even if you don't, if what you didn't like about him was his lo-fi/hip-hop/electronic roots. Expand
  22. Feb 27, 2018
    9
    Beck has done it again. Colors feels like Becks big pop opus. Evey song could fit on the radiocharts, but still has the Beck vibe to it. This feels like beck most straight-ahead pop album since Guero. The songs also feel unique, but still manages to feel like an great whole. There are two kinds of Beck on this album. You have your fun and party Beck. Songs like Colors, Dreams (colors mix,Beck has done it again. Colors feels like Becks big pop opus. Evey song could fit on the radiocharts, but still has the Beck vibe to it. This feels like beck most straight-ahead pop album since Guero. The songs also feel unique, but still manages to feel like an great whole. There are two kinds of Beck on this album. You have your fun and party Beck. Songs like Colors, Dreams (colors mix, so no f word), i'm so free and no distraction. Colors feels like an old retro 80's song with an great pan flute lurking beneath the surface. This version of dreams really works with the more trippy aproach. No distraction almost feels like a reggae song. I'm so free may be easily one of the best songs on the album. It has this awesome rap pre-chorus that really works. The other Beck that shows up is more serious and depressed Beck. Seventh Heaven, Dear life and Fix me are those songs. Seventh Heaven feels like a ride through the highs and lows of an relationship, while being hopefull at the same time. Dear life is more of a Beatlesque song about losing your grasp on life. Fix me feels like when the party is over and everybody is going home. The only song I don't fully get is Square one. It 's suddenly about this girl and it felt out of nowhere. The rest of the album is truly worth checking out Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2017
    8
    Colors is a very polished, bright album from start to finish. Beck did a great job at fine tuning his sound to make it more accessible, while still keeping his uniqueness.

    Noteworthy Tracks:

    Colors
    Up All Night
    Fix Me
  24. Oct 13, 2017
    7
    This is a far cry from the introspective, solemn and mature 'Morning Phase' which earned Hansen a Grammy, but it certainly proves his versatility, perhaps at the sacrifice of the album's depth and meaning. Regardless, this is a fun album and an easy listen.
  25. Apr 26, 2018
    5
    My least favourite Beck album so far. I am a huge fan ,but this one doesn't resonate much with me. There is something too contrived, cheesy, I'm not sure what! It's creative, but lacking something that I have loved in his other work. Didn't go see him live this time around because I didn't want to sit through these songs! That said, no one is perfect. Definitely staying tuned and stillMy least favourite Beck album so far. I am a huge fan ,but this one doesn't resonate much with me. There is something too contrived, cheesy, I'm not sure what! It's creative, but lacking something that I have loved in his other work. Didn't go see him live this time around because I didn't want to sit through these songs! That said, no one is perfect. Definitely staying tuned and still loving all his other stuff. Expand
  26. May 4, 2021
    10
    I know what a lot of people said when they heard this album: this album is pop and it doesn't sound like Beck - absolutely different. But I want to say that this album does not look like that, compared to its previous antipode - and this has already caused a lot of positive emotions - and if the Morning Phase was for music lovers, then Colors were for those who live with this music alreadyI know what a lot of people said when they heard this album: this album is pop and it doesn't sound like Beck - absolutely different. But I want to say that this album does not look like that, compared to its previous antipode - and this has already caused a lot of positive emotions - and if the Morning Phase was for music lovers, then Colors were for those who live with this music already in the new musical era.
    I really liked this album. My favorite songs: Dear Life, Dreams, Colors. And the most unloved one, from which I simply turned away at the very first chords, is Seventh Heaven - as for me this is too pop song, and if the songs of Square One and No Distraction were on that brink, then Seventh Heaven was beyond the point of foul.
    The entire album is dedicated to the value of life - when you listen to this album, you understand that life is beautiful and that it is happiness to own this life.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Nov 27, 2017
    60
    Charging power-pop anthems like I’m So Free and Dear Life agree with his current stature as an elder statesman who can try to keep it cool, except that when he veers into strummy gloss pop (Up All Night, Square One) it makes him sound out of touch.
  2. Magnet
    Nov 21, 2017
    80
    Save for the grooving, frizzy "Dreams," the ambient alterna-pop/R&B of Colors is sleek, clean and clear. [No. 148, p.53]
  3. Nov 8, 2017
    40
    The problem with Colors is that where once he innovated, Beck now seems to be imitating the slew of fizzing faceless pop clogging the airwaves buried under a mesh of corporate production.