• Record Label: !K7
  • Release Date: May 11, 2012
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. He's just a gifted kid who likes his weed and his words, which he twists with palpable delight around sparse synth beats musical enough to layer on some delight of their own.
  2. May 25, 2012
    90
    The project furthers Top Dawg Entertainment's winning streak and marks the formal arrival of a cornerstone for this organization, an interestingly deep thinker whose determination and expanding consciousness seek to uplift and shape the world around him.
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    81
    This cerebral/visceral friction is one of the most satisfying elements of Black Hippy, and Ab-Soul arguably carries it the furthest of the group.
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Stunning, and at 17 tracks, surprisingly solid.
  5. May 25, 2012
    80
    If Habits & Contradictions was a reinstatement of gangsta rap, then Control System is a giant leap forward in conscious rap.
  6. May 25, 2012
    80
    Control System is one of the better mixtapes to come out this year.
  7. May 25, 2012
    80
    In his most recent solo endeavor, Control System, Soul craftily proves that he is indeed a potent weapon on a team full of heavy artillery.
  8. May 25, 2012
    80
    A few days of repeat spins now have revealed the album to have more depth and sustainability than I first suspected.
  9. The Wire
    Jul 24, 2012
    70
    Ab-Soul music fuses street-level concerns with the sort of erudite, rhyme scheme-fixated wordplay more commonly associated with rapper who value beats and rhymes over life. [Jul 2012, p.71]
  10. May 25, 2012
    60
    Ab-Soul performs well in this complementary role and shows how versatile he really is, almost a west-coast amalgam of Brown and Kanye West, yet still a slightly weaker and more inconsistent sum than the parts.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 95
  2. Negative: 2 out of 95
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    I was slow on the uptake on this MC but coming from the west coast, I am glad I am on board and this album demonstrates why. On Top DawgI was slow on the uptake on this MC but coming from the west coast, I am glad I am on board and this album demonstrates why. On Top Dawg records, he remains under the radar, which maybe good cuz' he makes quality music. Labeled "black hippy" gives and idea of his ID but not totatlly as his mc style is very flexible. With 17 tracks, I can listen to this one all the way thru. Favs include "Terrorist threats", Illuminate", "Showin love" and the remix to "black lip bastard" with Kendrick Lamar. His label mate Kendrick Lamar recently got picked up by Dr Dre and I am sure Ab Soul will follow suit as well. If you like hip hop not about just money, girls and cars this is the artist and record for you. Full Review »
  2. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    This album is flawless. I'm disgusted to see other people rate this album with anything less than 10. If I need to convince you that Ab-soulThis album is flawless. I'm disgusted to see other people rate this album with anything less than 10. If I need to convince you that Ab-soul is one of the greatest lyricists of our time, then you need to get your ears checked (perhaps your brain too) Full Review »
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    The hook on "Track Two" says it all about this MC: This Black Hippy member gives it his all on this record without holding back; he's trulyThe hook on "Track Two" says it all about this MC: This Black Hippy member gives it his all on this record without holding back; he's truly one of a kind. He can be introspective when needed but at the same time drop lines about DMT and weed. He has a bright future ahead of him. Full Review »