Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Jul 7, 2016
    78
    Casting such a wide net over the span of 20 songs ends up being a gift and a curse as the brighter moments risk getting dimmed out by extremely ambitious attempts that fall short. Running so long ensures filler and repetitive topic material, but overall Snoop makes a strong case against ageism as he fuses the adult contemporary and Gangsta Rap genres.
  2. 75
    Solo albums like 1993’s Doggystyle and 1996’s Tha Doggfather cemented his reputation as one of the hardest in the business, which has allowed him the freedom to be as brash as he wants to be. On Coolaid, Snoop uses that solid footing and wastes no time taking it back to the G-funk era with “Ten Toes Down”.
  3. Jul 27, 2016
    70
    Consider this an exciting double-LP throwback that drops "Even if I die, living legend" during the opening cut and then just gets bigger and bolder from there.
  4. Jul 27, 2016
    60
    The Long Beach rapper hasn’t evolved much from his early years, but that lack of development is negligible when he does the West Coast sound so much justice.
  5. Jul 20, 2016
    60
    The Swizz Beatz-assisted "Let Me See Em Up," "Light it Up" and "Let the Beat Drop (Celebrate)" rarely do much to stand apart from filler. These occasional misses aren't enough to water down the entirety of Coolaid, though, with Snoop's return to G-funk proving refreshing enough to keep listeners' thirst quenched.
  6. Jul 7, 2016
    60
    We get a strong dose of the old school Snoop we love and know while getting a little taste of the more distinguished Doggfather who we hope will eventually provide tracks filled with more wisdom and less weed. Don’t count on the latter though.
  7. 60
    The weightless Light It Up and the Missy/Timbaland throwback Got Those are better, but ultimately length scuppers Coolaid. Its back half loses coherence as Snoop retreats to a default of weed anthems.
  8. Jul 25, 2016
    58
    With Coolaid, arguably Snoop’s first real hip-hop album in half a decade, we find his reinvention back into “Rapper Snoop” to be a bit wobbly.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Jul 17, 2016
    3
    Snoop Dogg hasn't been able to rap in a LOOOONG time. Same s*it from back in the days. No increased technique, no new vocab and certainly noSnoop Dogg hasn't been able to rap in a LOOOONG time. Same s*it from back in the days. No increased technique, no new vocab and certainly no new ideas. This album is the proof of these things. Now, don't get me wrong, he's a legend in the game but now a days, he SUUUUCKS. Even if he's on a feature his game is the worst. Just cuz' I don't like it doesn't mean I'm hating on him. But I hate this album. Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    2
    No. Just no. This album was atrocious. Looking at the cover it gave me some hope he would go back to that doggystyle sound. But no. This albumNo. Just no. This album was atrocious. Looking at the cover it gave me some hope he would go back to that doggystyle sound. But no. This album is hot garbage. Dont even ask me what My Carz was, and that intro. Holy **** this album gives me a headache. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2016
    8
    Pretty good album by Snoop, he's as good as ever in booth, his lyrics are as always sharp and fun and the production is decent to great. AnyPretty good album by Snoop, he's as good as ever in booth, his lyrics are as always sharp and fun and the production is decent to great. Any fan of Snoop will not be disappointed. Full Review »