User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LucyM
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    Brody has shown her amazing lyrics skills and her dog rough vocals on this new album. She is a punk godess and inspiration too many young people out there. In this album, her lyrics show emotion and thoughtfulness. I recommend this album to every person in the punk/alternative scene.
  2. FabioL
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    Brody has such a unique voice, and the distillers are great musicians. I love this album! That being said, I am more of a fan to her earlier work... there was so much to be said in Sing Sing Death House. Coral Fang is great nonetheless :)
  3. ARC
    Nov 14, 2003
    6
    Not awful per se?but nothing really stands out. Brody's voice is amazingly visceral as always, but the song's just don't hold up as well as their previous work. I've listened to it several times and still can't remember any of the songs on it: they all sort of blur together except for the noise on the last track, which is just annoying. I hope Courtney Love's Not awful per se?but nothing really stands out. Brody's voice is amazingly visceral as always, but the song's just don't hold up as well as their previous work. I've listened to it several times and still can't remember any of the songs on it: they all sort of blur together except for the noise on the last track, which is just annoying. I hope Courtney Love's new album, if it ever gets released, turns out better. Expand
  4. jonnyrotton
    Mar 23, 2004
    0
    THE DISTILLERS HAVE SOLD OUT!!!!! they used to be cool now they suck!!
  5. mrs.chain
    Mar 30, 2004
    1
    the distillers used to be a hardcore punk band, now they fucking suck...some may like this pop-themed album but i sure as hell dont
  6. mrs.chain
    Mar 30, 2004
    1
    the distillers used to be a hardcore punk band, now they fucking suck...some may like this pop-themed album but i sure as hell dont
  7. markyspark
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    distillers are the best
  8. marEYwtfdoucare'
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    l love Brody!
  9. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing album beter than the Sing Sing Death House by far. Best Tracks: Hall Of Mirrors, For Tonight You're Only Here To Know, Coral Fang.
  10. krystalb
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    sounds bad ass!
  11. Kayleigh
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    I loved this CD it is awesome I love Brody heart wrenching screams and her ear popping lyrics!Ryan has gotten wicked on bass along with Tony and Andy doing great on Guitar and Drums!This was an awesome CD and I can't fucking wait for The Distillers to make another one!They pulled it off yet again!
  12. AliciaT
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    Cd is awesome...bottom line. Must admit, it wasn't as raw as their older albums, but it's very bouncy with just a touch of grunge. I dunno if I'd review it as punk, but whatever sound Brody and the band are trying to portray kicks some major as#!
  13. BlancoA.
    Nov 4, 2003
    5
    I have to admit that I'm disappointed with this album after expecting an evolution from "Sing Sing Death House." That album was incredibly hard. This album seems so overproduced. Why do they muck up Brody's voice with overdubs, etc.??? And why the slower stuff?? I'm confused.
  14. DizzleBizzle
    Oct 16, 2003
    7
    More grunge than punk. If you wanna listen to Brody channeling Cobain, you'll love it. Me, I prefered the raw sound of the first, self-titled album. Nothing on "Coral Fang" can compare to Brody screaming "F--- you!" at the top of her lungs at the end of "L.A. Girl."
  15. ZackR
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    This cd is rock one of the best punk cd that had come out yet before Rancids yes this group is mad cool.
  16. DiePleaseDie
    Oct 20, 2003
    0
    This album completely blew, The Distillers sold out their music and souls. Almost the entire CD was terrible songs 8 and 9 were the only decent ones yet the idiots making the cd decided to ad vocal effects to brody's voice which is horrible. And the song with just sound from the guitars and the drums keeping a beat was aweful and useless. Random noises aren't hardcore or punk This album completely blew, The Distillers sold out their music and souls. Almost the entire CD was terrible songs 8 and 9 were the only decent ones yet the idiots making the cd decided to ad vocal effects to brody's voice which is horrible. And the song with just sound from the guitars and the drums keeping a beat was aweful and useless. Random noises aren't hardcore or punk they are shit. Expand
  17. ryrryhrhrh
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    it's good #5 is the best
  18. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2003
    3
    Critics are so eager to either love or hate this album based solely on the over hyped soap opera that is known as brody's life, that few reviewers have actually mentioned listening to this album when they review it. For what it's worth I've bought it, listened to it and I am sincerely thinking of writing to Warner Brothers and asking for my money back. At best this album is Critics are so eager to either love or hate this album based solely on the over hyped soap opera that is known as brody's life, that few reviewers have actually mentioned listening to this album when they review it. For what it's worth I've bought it, listened to it and I am sincerely thinking of writing to Warner Brothers and asking for my money back. At best this album is a showcase for the bands rhythum section (which at times is stellar and at other times threatened to be completely sabatoged by Brody's singing and her and Tony's guitar playing) and at worst, everything that has become stale, stagnent and boring about punk rock. Positive reviews on this album on based on nothing more than the media's desire to paint Brody as some angel/whore who crawled her way out of the gutter to save rock n roll from utter damnation. If they were based on the actual music I highly doubt anyone would give this album a second thought. For Sale one copy of Coral Fang dirt cheap. Expand
  19. Lisa
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    I thought it was fuckin awesome....all their shit is great and their lyrics are as well amazing.
  20. JimB
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    Nothing short of brilliant. A Masterpiece.
  21. samu
    Nov 1, 2003
    9
    i love this album it kicks ass brody is god she has such an wasome vouce and her lyrics are chillin
  22. krystalb
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    sounds bad ass!
  23. krystalb
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    sounds bad ass!
  24. Kim
    Nov 30, 2003
    8
    Don't criticise this album because of her private life. Thats none of your f**king buisness. I pesonally love Rancid and The Distillers and what happens outside of the music buisness is there sh*t. I think this album is good but it does seem to have slowed down, to which the orginal fans will be pretty err cheesed off to say the least. However the tracks are mostly in themselves, Don't criticise this album because of her private life. Thats none of your f**king buisness. I pesonally love Rancid and The Distillers and what happens outside of the music buisness is there sh*t. I think this album is good but it does seem to have slowed down, to which the orginal fans will be pretty err cheesed off to say the least. However the tracks are mostly in themselves, reasonable. First album ruled... Expand
  25. NicholeE
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    very good brody changes style from screaming to actually singing. I give it two thumbs up.
  26. ChadH
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    "Coral Fang" is brilliant, I wouldn't expect anything less from the Distillers. Well, I'd like to see Brody scratch Kelly Osbournes eye's out. Kelly is a whore, a bitch and the ultimate definition of a fake. If she read this, she'd probably go crying to her dying mommy.
  27. BrigitteL
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Best (girl) punk rock album since Hole's Live through this. Well crafted edgy dynamcis with vocals that can make the hair on your skin stand up within 2 seconds and melodies that can light and brightenyour heart.
  28. yoliea
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    It's the emotional rollercoaster that takes you up and down and all the way around with no tracks placed to show you the way but merely a gust of enery that makes your brain's synapses release dopamine.
  29. JacquiB
    Nov 17, 2004
    9
    I think that the distillers fuckin kick ass no matter what they do and although their other two albums were better than this one it still fucking kicks and I'd like to see all of you ass holes who rated it low to write a cd as good as this one.
  30. jordang
    Dec 1, 2004
    1
    this cd is a load of rubbish.if you heared them before they sold out and liked there music then this aint 4 u .if your a good charlotte or greenday follower then ul love it .U dissapointed me BRODY selling out for sgag agen!!!
  31. TristaS
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    You realise the biggest reason people give this album a low rating is because of 1) the distillers supposedly have sold out and slowed down and 2) the mr. armstrong event............. whatever happened to JUST THE FUCKING MUSIC? Honestly, this album is brilliant.... bands have to mix things up once in a while or a certain sound gets repetitive. Look at AFI..... same idea. But they fucking You realise the biggest reason people give this album a low rating is because of 1) the distillers supposedly have sold out and slowed down and 2) the mr. armstrong event............. whatever happened to JUST THE FUCKING MUSIC? Honestly, this album is brilliant.... bands have to mix things up once in a while or a certain sound gets repetitive. Look at AFI..... same idea. But they fucking rock. The Distillers are Gods and Brody is a true Goddess of all she stands for. The music speaks for itself, so open your damn ears. Expand
  32. JamieM
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Phenomenal album. Pure perfection. Not a song on the album to even contemplate skipping. Lack of memorable hooks? I personally beleive the exact opposite, and thats what attracts me to this album, even more so than their previous efforts.
  33. RichardD
    Aug 21, 2005
    9
    America's worst female is back! I love the album.. great vocals, fast Rancid-like riffs and cool drums.. this is the kind of album every punk-rock fan needs to have!
  34. amirn
    Nov 13, 2003
    1
    the 1 is for sound coming out of my speakers. derivative, bland, without hooks, and cast in a positive light by sole virtue of brody's shitty life, the album is a classic case of hype being based on background than the actual music. when a "punk" album makes you fall asleep, you're in trouble. come on kids. there's so much better out there. if you don't know where to the 1 is for sound coming out of my speakers. derivative, bland, without hooks, and cast in a positive light by sole virtue of brody's shitty life, the album is a classic case of hype being based on background than the actual music. when a "punk" album makes you fall asleep, you're in trouble. come on kids. there's so much better out there. if you don't know where to start, maybe fugazi will make you understand what little you know if you actually love this album. Expand
  35. AvaG
    Nov 27, 2003
    9
    I love this CD. Is there anything wrong with being called the new Courtney Love?
  36. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    The Distiller could have been the next Hole or Sex Pistols for that matter. This album was straight up in your face punk rock. No questions ask. A kick ass punk album. I highly recommend it. Highlight tracks: "The Hunger", "Hall of Mirrors", "Love is Paranoid", "Drain the Blood", "Die on a Rope", "Beat Your Heart Out", "Coral Fang", "Dismantle Me", "Death Sex", "The Gallow is God" "ForThe Distiller could have been the next Hole or Sex Pistols for that matter. This album was straight up in your face punk rock. No questions ask. A kick ass punk album. I highly recommend it. Highlight tracks: "The Hunger", "Hall of Mirrors", "Love is Paranoid", "Drain the Blood", "Die on a Rope", "Beat Your Heart Out", "Coral Fang", "Dismantle Me", "Death Sex", "The Gallow is God" "For Tonight You're Only Here to Know." Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. In making a record with such universal themes of love and hate, and sounding so pissed off in the process, Brody has inadvertently made herself the most important new rock star in the world.
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    This is exciting but competent American punk by numbers. [Nov 2003, p.114]
  3. All you have to do is plug Coral Fang in and turn it on to experience [Dalle's] greatness.