• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 30, 2004
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 93
  2. Negative: 16 out of 93

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2013
    8
    After being demonized by American press for her infamous nipplegate (in which Justin stay alive totally fine), this tempting album by Janet Jackson suffered great commercial flop. But the truth is that this is inevitable her best work in the 2000s. Other than the title track and the movie associated "Doesn't Really Matter", "All For You" (a.k.a the ultimate filler collection) is hardly aAfter being demonized by American press for her infamous nipplegate (in which Justin stay alive totally fine), this tempting album by Janet Jackson suffered great commercial flop. But the truth is that this is inevitable her best work in the 2000s. Other than the title track and the movie associated "Doesn't Really Matter", "All For You" (a.k.a the ultimate filler collection) is hardly a satisfying work for such an artist that used to probe into the deepest side of human being, and even the further on plastic R&B 20 Y.O. plus the pre-Lady Gaga era electropop Discipline, none of them reached the height to impress listeners and critics like her old works.

    "Damita Jo", on the other hand, is way more sensual than "All For You" while much more straightforward than "janet.". The reason you don't find such detailed expression like "My hands wrapped around, stroking up and down" in albums like "janet." and "The Velvet Rope" is that the sexuality expressed in these albums are supposed to be tied together with humanity, while the big leap forward found in "Damita Jo" is that she both revealed and created a complete personality of Janet's alter ego, or if you prefer, just the more private side of her life.

    Musically this album is nothing about vanguardism. Some of the materials you may find include 70s disco and 80s R&B ballad which not only are obviously abandoned old materials, and definitely would not hit, even without all the controversy she undergo a few months ago. Let's look at it with another perspective: This album, with all the modern soul elements, have a great consistency, which is great enough to say it's very precisely crafted. Even with all type of futuristic material you can imagine, "Discipline" failed to category itself as a classic, because "Damita Jo" already achieved the state that all the music elements can link up with each other, while expressing a complete personality of our lovely Damita Jo.

    The only other female singer that made her way to demonstrate her life within Music in such a detailed way is Mary J Blige. But ask yourself, are you actually interested in Mary J Blige's sex life? Most likely not.
    Expand
  2. AshleyS
    Mar 29, 2004
    9
    This would be a very good come back for Janet Jackson.
  3. mrdamitajosameasabove
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    This is by far one of her best albums yet. I have no ideal what you all are listening too, but the album is off the map and that actually means excellent
  4. Yolanda
    May 4, 2004
    10
    This CD is excellent please support our sister Janet. Everybody supported R Kelly, and we all know he was the one who did it. Everybody in this life wants to be forgiven for something they did, hey give Janet a chance guys, please purchase her CD. Thankx!
  5. DaleA
    Jun 12, 2004
    3
    The cover should have been a picture of nipplegate, it would have given the album some substance. A couple of good songs, with 20 tracks of filler. Can I get my money back?
  6. GaizekaM
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Its top of the best. I like it very much. Keep it up lady.
  7. aaliyahj
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST CD
  8. JonisH
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    Those reviews are ridiculous! this is one of Janet's best albums to date. THANK god for Janet's "thin, wispy voice", our ears need a break from those screamers and yellers. The Album is SUPERB!
  9. remi
    Mar 29, 2004
    8
    after the Superbowl fallout, i KNEW i had to get the album. it was my way of showing solidarity, as i supported an icon... or so i thought. it was only today that i remembered just how excited i was when i heard in january that she would be releasing an album. i believe my exact words were "Finally! some real female music after all this Beyonce garbage!" and janet delivered... oh, did she after the Superbowl fallout, i KNEW i had to get the album. it was my way of showing solidarity, as i supported an icon... or so i thought. it was only today that i remembered just how excited i was when i heard in january that she would be releasing an album. i believe my exact words were "Finally! some real female music after all this Beyonce garbage!" and janet delivered... oh, did she deliver! the originator of the "baby-maker" (note to Carl Thomas) comes back with some real gems here. but, i digress... let us begin at (you guessed it) the beginning. the atmospheric "looking for love" intro is awesome, although that's more a nod to Jam & Lewis than her. however, she steps up to claim her credit soon after. i always say, "Bold is the artist who dares to have a title-track on a self-titled album." Such a thing smacked of self-indulgence. however, i'm willing to forgive the energetic, surprisingly hip-hop "Damita Jo". i would continue in my track-by-track analysis, but i just remembered ms. jackson's album was 22 tracks long. on the whole, it's an awesome effort. one does cringe, though, asking "can't she talk about anything but sex anymore?" where are the Rhythm Nations and States of the World? the world isn't a better place now than it was in "1814", so why stop commenting on what goes on outside the bedroom. Damita Jo's split in 2; the first half being mainly hip-hop, the 2nd, slow and sexy. of the first half, few songs can match up to the infectious bounce-track, "Strawberry Bounce" and the beautiful R&B gem, "My Baby." 'Bounce gives the odd illusion that Jigga really IS on the track. and 'Baby makes even the coldest, least expressive heart (mine) appreciate it apparent sincerity... but if i hear the admittedly ingenious Kanye recycle another verse from his "Kon the Louis Vuitton Don" mixtape album, i'm gonna kill someone! that said, other standouts include "R&B Junkie" and "Spending Time With You", the latter, reminding us a lot of brother Michael's "Butterflies" the slower half begins with the album's true gem, "I Want You". Janet brings a level of sweet sincerity to Kanye's ingenious throwback that trumps Alicia Keys' also-great offering on "You Don't Know My Name." "Warmth" & "Thinkin' 'Bout My Ex" are acceptable, but the real remaining standouts are "Moist" (which picks up where the insanely sexy "Would You Mind" left off) and "SloLove," whose feelgood sound makes us yearn for a simpler time, being a kid, skipping grade school today and lying in bed, while listening to the rain through our open windows. for that, i say Thank You, Janet Expand
  10. AaronL
    Mar 29, 2004
    2
    OMG - I thought Christina Aguilera's trip into Skankville was bad on her last disc, but Janet has become mayor of Skankville with this dirrrty junk. Besides a couple of nice tracks that reflect the true artist she can be, this is a real disappointment. I don't mind it if an artists explores or questions sexuality in lyrics, but I find it cheap to spew sex-filled lyrics that are OMG - I thought Christina Aguilera's trip into Skankville was bad on her last disc, but Janet has become mayor of Skankville with this dirrrty junk. Besides a couple of nice tracks that reflect the true artist she can be, this is a real disappointment. I don't mind it if an artists explores or questions sexuality in lyrics, but I find it cheap to spew sex-filled lyrics that are only there to shock or get people to buy the disc. Makes me think now that the Super Bowl fiasco was totally planned and not a "costume malfunction." Shameful choices from Janet. Expand
  11. tw
    Mar 31, 2004
    8
    it,s a hot cd, my only problem is i think that she could of talked about something more then sex, i don,t think her fan base will accept it as much knowin that she,s n a relationship there,s nothin 2 wish 4 she,s takin. I really like r/b junkie but out of all the tracks I LOVE track #14 ("THINKIN BOUT MY EX"), it,s cleverly written and totally unexspected, a beautiful BABYFACE song.
  12. KelvinB
    Mar 30, 2004
    8
    This is a great album--much more cohesive than "All for You." "I Want You" cements Janet as a soulful balladeer, "All Night (Don't Stop) is just begging for the dance floor. The title track, at under four minutes, speaks volumes. The ballads are much stronger on "Damita Jo" than All for You. "Thinking About My Ex" is an R&B classic. The album's only shortcoming is a lack of This is a great album--much more cohesive than "All for You." "I Want You" cements Janet as a soulful balladeer, "All Night (Don't Stop) is just begging for the dance floor. The title track, at under four minutes, speaks volumes. The ballads are much stronger on "Damita Jo" than All for You. "Thinking About My Ex" is an R&B classic. The album's only shortcoming is a lack of hard-hitting dance songs, ala "If," "Rhythm Nation" and "All For You." But once you hear Janet purring and harmonizing on "Moist" all is forgiven. Expand
  13. AlanS
    Mar 30, 2004
    8
    I really love the CD despite the unnecessary preoccupation with sex and some of the awkward lyrical phrasing. Janet is awesome.
  14. markyj
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    This is one of Janet's best efforts yet. Dripping with sexuality and her unique way of telling a story. This is one of the best cd's of the year
  15. KendraN
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    I love this album! I can listen to the whole thing and love every second! Go Janet!
  16. BitBurn
    May 31, 2004
    2
    Goodbye glory days - Hello boringness. This CD plain suck. She tries too hard ans it's sooo obvious!! The legend of Janet Jackson will die with this record. Oh well, too bad...
  17. megant
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    i love her song all nite (dont stop) everytime it comes on i just have to get up and sing and dance to it
  18. nikki
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    I love this album, I love every song! This is Janet's best album!
  19. bryana
    Aug 7, 2004
    6
    this is another typical janet album. many songs, only few are good. this is not the type of album you cn play repeatedly without being cloyed. this one is overly sexual too. nice beats for sexhibition, island life, all nite, rnb junkie, and just a little while. but warmth and truly are bland. janet will never be my fave artist. and i expected more from such a big name.
  20. EliotT
    Apr 16, 2005
    5
    This album is nowhere near as good as any of her past work...I can see why the album needed controversy...
  21. ElleC
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    An incredible album that puts the likes of Beyonce, Britney and Madonna to shame. Janet proves that she is the Queen of Pop with this one. Buy it now!!!
  22. JamieB
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    I have to say this album grows on you very quickly. I've had it a week now and love it more and more everyday. Favorite trax are: SloLove (amazingly frothy club number), Thinkin' Bout My Ex (Babyface's best work in years!), Island Life (soulful jam), R&B Junkie (a sure-fire dancefloor hit) and I Want You (great 70's throwback)...Even with Janet's limited vocal I have to say this album grows on you very quickly. I've had it a week now and love it more and more everyday. Favorite trax are: SloLove (amazingly frothy club number), Thinkin' Bout My Ex (Babyface's best work in years!), Island Life (soulful jam), R&B Junkie (a sure-fire dancefloor hit) and I Want You (great 70's throwback)...Even with Janet's limited vocal ability (very pretty voice, not the most powerful on the block), she and her producers know exactly how to squeeze the most bang out of it. She has some of the best vocal arrangements (and unlike Britney and J-Lo, who disguise their severely limited voices by burying them in powerful back up singers), janet sings all her own backgrounds too. The result if pure, sweet magic...Wonderful album. Her best in years... Expand
  23. rickmartin
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    THere are so many good songs on this album. Although janet cant hit those high notes, she really doesnt need to. She is a superstar for a reason. She is an all around entertainer that knows how to make a great album. Strawberry Bounce, All NIte and especially My Baby shows Janet was the first to incorporate amazing hooks and choruses. Ashanti, Beyonce cant compete with the creative power THere are so many good songs on this album. Although janet cant hit those high notes, she really doesnt need to. She is a superstar for a reason. She is an all around entertainer that knows how to make a great album. Strawberry Bounce, All NIte and especially My Baby shows Janet was the first to incorporate amazing hooks and choruses. Ashanti, Beyonce cant compete with the creative power of a SUPERSTAR. Slo Love and like you dont love me R&B junkie Truly and spending time are worth a listen aswell Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Mar 31, 2004
    5
    This ain't no rhythm nation
  25. BrandonM
    Mar 30, 2004
    9
    I have over 80 janet cds from around the world. I'm a fanatic and this is the first album i liked the first time around since the janet album. I can agree it's easy to forget some songs are playing becuase of her beloved gentle rasp, but the majority of these songs bang! All kinds of music moves me and tears are testiment to that.
  26. NseE
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    This is a fantastic cd, surpassed only by 'Control' and 'The velevt rope'. The retro sounding 'I want you' is excellent. The club anthems 'All night (don't stop)', 'R&B Junkie' and 'Slolove' will get your feet moving. The title track is a hybrid of hip hop and R&B. 'Sexhibition' is a clever Prince style number with This is a fantastic cd, surpassed only by 'Control' and 'The velevt rope'. The retro sounding 'I want you' is excellent. The club anthems 'All night (don't stop)', 'R&B Junkie' and 'Slolove' will get your feet moving. The title track is a hybrid of hip hop and R&B. 'Sexhibition' is a clever Prince style number with faint lashings of rock guitar streaming through. 'Spending time with you' sounds uncanilly like brother Michael's 'Butterflies'. 'Moist' is a beautiful ballad. 'My baby' with Kanye West's rapping flowing seamlessly with Janet's singing is another standout. The rock laced, bouncy 'Just a little while' is highly infectious. Forget what most critics are saying, this is an excellent showcase of Ms Jackson's talent. Another winner. Expand
  27. ChristopherL
    Apr 1, 2004
    4
    Not up to par with Jackson's usual excellence. It's an album with trite lyrics, even more lame beats, that's preoccupied with sex. Let's hope this isn't a trend for her music. Bottom line: her first bad album since Dream Street.
  28. SydneyC
    Apr 12, 2004
    6
    I think this is a very sexy CD of which i like. But for a singer as Janet trying to compete with other singers, this CD will not do it. The first two songs she had release have been a mistake. She should release Strawberry bounce and then one she has the attention of music fans, she can follow up with some more slow and intimate. Damita Jo and All for You have been flop CDs in my opinion. I think this is a very sexy CD of which i like. But for a singer as Janet trying to compete with other singers, this CD will not do it. The first two songs she had release have been a mistake. She should release Strawberry bounce and then one she has the attention of music fans, she can follow up with some more slow and intimate. Damita Jo and All for You have been flop CDs in my opinion. I love Janet, but the only thing she can do to promote this CD and to get the sells, is chosing the right songs to release. There are only about 3 or 4 that could make good hits. I don't know why she just didn't make a single with her brother michael, that would have sold!!! Expand
  29. DonaldHJr
    Apr 2, 2004
    7
    Very Good stuff...If you are in the mood for a little melo-drama. She can sing, but needs to take more singing lessons! This is a pop songstress, nothing more or less. A serious one ....not quite there yet.
  30. GilbertC
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    This album is a pure 10! Janet is one of the best of our time and the media needs to leave her alone, no one gave Madonna this much flack during her "sex" book times when she was running the streets buck naked. I feel like the critics aren't giving Janet's new album a chance because of the Supper Bowl, but if you listen to the album you will know that it is HOT!! One of the This album is a pure 10! Janet is one of the best of our time and the media needs to leave her alone, no one gave Madonna this much flack during her "sex" book times when she was running the streets buck naked. I feel like the critics aren't giving Janet's new album a chance because of the Supper Bowl, but if you listen to the album you will know that it is HOT!! One of the best!! With hot club songs, sensual songs, bubbly pop hits, and some great ballads. Quit hatting on Janet, her new album ROCKS!!! Expand
  31. ChristianF
    Apr 7, 2004
    2
    Janet Jackson has shocked us this year to say the least. At first,it was in front of 90 plus million viewers in her desperate ploy for attention during the Superbowl. Well, that certainly did work, and i highly doubt it was a malfunction, C'mon !! That did not even bother me, cause i like music, and i have loved Janet's music for years. Even before the Control album came out and Janet Jackson has shocked us this year to say the least. At first,it was in front of 90 plus million viewers in her desperate ploy for attention during the Superbowl. Well, that certainly did work, and i highly doubt it was a malfunction, C'mon !! That did not even bother me, cause i like music, and i have loved Janet's music for years. Even before the Control album came out and made her the star she deserved to be. I was a fan, a big fan, of Different Strokes, Good Times and her Fame gigs. She was a fresh faced , good natured young woman. Then Control took over airwaves and i was extremely happy for her. She finally got what she deserved ...Mega Stardom. Her Rhythm Nation 1814 album is by far one of the best albums in the Pop Catalog of all time. Years went on and Janet began to , yes, grow-up. Which is fune, it is great to sing about love, and sex. But enough, is most certainly enough. Since All for you in 2001, she has become obsessed with Sex, and it is quite sad. She is such a beautiful, and gifted woman. This new CD, is just disgusting though. I know i had the choice of buying the edited version, by why, why should i ???? It can't be that bad. I was so wrong, it certainly is .THAT BAD !!!! The songs are boring and blatantly perverse, for perverses sake. She has stated that this album is about love, on the countless interviews i saw her on last week. She is wrong, it is about Lust, and Raunch. There are a few standout tracks...for example , Spending Time With You, R& B Junkie, and SLolove, are all worthy Janet songs. Though , they can not save the rest of this debauchery. Poor Janet, and Poor Janet Fans, like me.........I Miss her Much....i really do....come back to us Miss Jackson......and leave the Nasty behind ,please. Expand
  32. MattM
    May 16, 2004
    3
    A detached vocal performance set to dull R&B arrangements, Janet Jackson's "Damita Jo" proves to be an unmitigated drag. With a few sporadically interesting tracks, never has trying too hard sounded this much like not trying hard enough. The album ends on a high note, "Just A Little While," which sadly does not reflect anything else on this bland, outdated record.
  33. brunellk
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    dont hate. just a little while, sexabition, and spending time is worth the money alone
  34. Renee
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    How does she do it? Janet has done it again with Damita Jo. Janet has once again released an album that you can listen to from beginning to end
  35. Biggs
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    Well crafted CD. Janet, Jam, and Lewis have done it again with help from a few others. Janet is a pleasure to listen to. You can feel her energy and space that she is in, LOVE.
  36. PRay
    Jan 25, 2007
    8
    All For You was rubbish, 20yo is rubbish, in contrast Damito Jo is everything that the latter two fail to be, the most naturally sexy, fresh, funky that Janet has sounded in years. Didnt need the marketing stunt if thats what it was. Unlike All For You which had some rubbish sex songs, this has good ones, unllike 20 yo which has some rubbish dance songs and a load of bland songs, Damito All For You was rubbish, 20yo is rubbish, in contrast Damito Jo is everything that the latter two fail to be, the most naturally sexy, fresh, funky that Janet has sounded in years. Didnt need the marketing stunt if thats what it was. Unlike All For You which had some rubbish sex songs, this has good ones, unllike 20 yo which has some rubbish dance songs and a load of bland songs, Damito Jos efforts are all better than all the weak tracks on bothe those albums. Expand
  37. JosephV
    Feb 22, 2007
    7
    Not thrilled by this CD. I think it's her weakest. Maybe I just haven't gotten into it yet...
  38. janetmariahwhitneymadonnadiva
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    perfect 10 album! superbowl aside, ms. jackson created the perfect summer cd! go ms. janet
  39. JayV
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    those critics that have bashed this cd are not evebn paying attention to the music. The superbowl is irrelevant to thw music. THIS IS JANETS BEST CD TO DATE. A true masterpiece.
  40. ZaneH
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    AMAZING
  41. algiet
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    this cd is hot man.janet is straight r & b and i love it.america overreacted about the halftime show to begin with.janet shows on this cd that she is on top of her game.take a seat britney,ashanti and beyonce because the queen of pop is back with grooves to keep your head bobbing whenever you pop the cd in your cd player
  42. MichaelL
    Mar 29, 2004
    9
    It's right up there with the Velvet Rope, but doesn't focus on one continuous emotion. There is a one-two punch rhythm to this CD. Two songs with the same kind of sound are packaged together and then it switches to another style all the way throughout. I personally love All Night( Don't Stop) which then goes right into Junkie. The interludes are a bit weak on this one, but It's right up there with the Velvet Rope, but doesn't focus on one continuous emotion. There is a one-two punch rhythm to this CD. Two songs with the same kind of sound are packaged together and then it switches to another style all the way throughout. I personally love All Night( Don't Stop) which then goes right into Junkie. The interludes are a bit weak on this one, but that is not why you would buy a Janet Cd. Hey Janet, you can come over to my place anytime and I will not complain about any wardrobe malfunctions! Expand
  43. JulioR
    Mar 29, 2004
    8
    The cd is great! There is no one song that isn't catchy, something that past Janet albums laked for. Never been a huge Janet fan, but this one is good, specially that Strawberrybounce!! Just think people is to prejudging her work just for the Superbowl thing. Hope people can put music in one side and recognize it for what it is: a good album.
  44. DrewD
    Mar 31, 2004
    5
    Very disappointing for a Janet Jackson album. Janet has always been a pioneer with her work, but her latest album just shows us that all Janet can offer today, like the rest of what the media mostly offers today, is sex. I understand that Janet writes about what's currently happening in her life and I respect that. Still, her innovation in music and song-writing has faded which is Very disappointing for a Janet Jackson album. Janet has always been a pioneer with her work, but her latest album just shows us that all Janet can offer today, like the rest of what the media mostly offers today, is sex. I understand that Janet writes about what's currently happening in her life and I respect that. Still, her innovation in music and song-writing has faded which is evident through the lyrics in Damito Jo. Utterly depressing. Expand
  45. CurtisB
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    I would love to give it a 20. I've been a Janet fan for a long time, and I have to say that this is her best cd to date. This is also the most mellow cd, that she has made. It has a late 80's early 90's feel to it. The kind of music that makes you feel good, and if you you want to get close to your special person, she has that to. I can listen to this cd over and over I would love to give it a 20. I've been a Janet fan for a long time, and I have to say that this is her best cd to date. This is also the most mellow cd, that she has made. It has a late 80's early 90's feel to it. The kind of music that makes you feel good, and if you you want to get close to your special person, she has that to. I can listen to this cd over and over again. (and I have). Do your thing GIRL!!! Expand
  46. PhillipW
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    DAMN, Janet did it again. This album reminds me of the more soulful and sentual Janet that I remember for the 1993 album Janet. Keep doing you thing Ms. Jackson
  47. NISHNISHF
    May 13, 2004
    10
    Point Blank This CD is tyte!
  48. SamT
    Jun 14, 2004
    5
    Well first of all, I would like to say that I love Janet as much as one of her siblings would if not more and I love her music---BUT.....I am so glad that I named my first daughter, Justice and not Damita Jo, because I would have regretted it after hearing this album. I know Janet is one of the best--(the best in my book) singer/songwriter/dancer/actress/performer/etc. but I have a 6 year Well first of all, I would like to say that I love Janet as much as one of her siblings would if not more and I love her music---BUT.....I am so glad that I named my first daughter, Justice and not Damita Jo, because I would have regretted it after hearing this album. I know Janet is one of the best--(the best in my book) singer/songwriter/dancer/actress/performer/etc. but I have a 6 year old little girl that I named Justice after Janet and I can not and will not let her listen to this album. My daughters--I have three--do not need to hear this stuff. I have talked about Janet to all my children and have expressed my love for her as a person/artist and now I can't say much at all to them. The last three albums have had too much filth in them and I think she should think about all of the young girls that are following her and how they look at her now. I would like to talk to Janet and explain this to her so that she will stop with all of the vulgarity and sexual songs and get back to upbeat, fun songs and some powerful ballads--this is what I look forward to--not porno on cd. Don't get me wrong--I love Janet to death but enough is enough. We could use another Rhythm Nation 1814 (ie. Fun Nation 2005) Expand
  49. ChonteJ
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    this is the cd of the year
  50. JayB
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Janet continues to do what she does best. Damita Jo showcases Janets ever increasing self awareness, while also containing the many sweet R&B tracks that has made her such a success. One of 2004's best R&B albums!
  51. Jan 24, 2015
    8
    Really good action movie. I gave it an 8/10.

    Some of the action scenes were amazingly well choreographed. A few things I'd never seen before, like hitting a guy with the car, guy goes over the top of the car, while John Wick is shooting him through the roof.

    Awesome fun to watch.
  52. Oct 21, 2017
    7
    Ótimo CD, que só não teve um bom desempenho crítico e comercial devido ao Super Bowl 2004, em que Justin Timberlake expôs um seio de Janet e ela foi boicotada nas rádios, MTV, etc.
  53. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    Janet Jackson shows herself confident enough to present her entire sensual soul on this incredible album. One of the best productions of R&B. Would have been acclaimed were it not for critical hypocrisy at a critical time in Jackson's career.
  54. Jun 15, 2019
    0
    Unfortunately for Janet this huge flop had no sales boost after her **** perfomance at super bowl. And luckily for us we didnt need to turn off the radio everytime this witchs voice came out. ZERO
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Strong and sensual.
  2. Without strong rhythmic or melodic hooks, the album's slow grooves blend together and Jackson disappears into the productions.
  3. At 22 tracks, "Damita Jo" has its fair share of hits and misses.