• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2020
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 67
  2. Negative: 40 out of 67
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    Legendary! These guys are the future of British guitar bands and it's a damn same many people can't see that.
  2. Jun 14, 2020
    10
    It's interesting to see all the 0 ratings from people who clearly have little or no understanding of the art of songwriting. Make no mistake, the others (with no hidden agenda) have all rated this album as a 10, and this means something. Even if the album polarises opinion in such a way, those who have been around long enough to see Q magazine give the first Stone Roses album 3 stars, willIt's interesting to see all the 0 ratings from people who clearly have little or no understanding of the art of songwriting. Make no mistake, the others (with no hidden agenda) have all rated this album as a 10, and this means something. Even if the album polarises opinion in such a way, those who have been around long enough to see Q magazine give the first Stone Roses album 3 stars, will know how good this is. A truly energising album littered with great tunes and clever lyrics. Certainly the best 'indie' record so far this year. Does it rekindle the spirit of Britpop, yes it does, but that's not exactly a bad thing, at a time when we all need something to be happy about! I only review albums that I think are genuinely noteworthy and this certainly is. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    unlistenable album, compelte garbage, a sad attempt in creating british indie music, not even close to that. absolutely embarrassing.
  4. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding. My ears are bleeding.
  5. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Album of the year! One of the greatest debuts of the last i dont know years. No fillers. Only superb tunes n singles.
  6. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Everything that's right with indie music today. A genuinely great debut album.
  7. Jun 17, 2020
    9
    Unfortunately, the user score on this album appears to have been destroyed by a swarm of Lady Gaga fans as a result of the competition this album put up against Chromatica in the UK charts. I get that there is probably little crossover of fans of Gaga and Sports Team. So for those who are of a more indie mindset than mindless pop, this is a great album. It has the energy that has needed toUnfortunately, the user score on this album appears to have been destroyed by a swarm of Lady Gaga fans as a result of the competition this album put up against Chromatica in the UK charts. I get that there is probably little crossover of fans of Gaga and Sports Team. So for those who are of a more indie mindset than mindless pop, this is a great album. It has the energy that has needed to return to indie rock for the past decade, when the genre seemed to be consigned to the dustbin of history as a result of the saturation of the market in the late-00s with 'landfill indie.' It also has that The Hives-esque swagger that engages fans and keeps them interested. It has much more nuance than an IDLES album while still having the wit. Fantastic debut, can't wait to hear more.

    P.S. I would like the metacritic moderators to seriously review the user score of this album. The majority of the reviews and ratings appear to have been written by new accounts established purely with the intent of downgrading this album for no reason other than the band challenging Lady Gaga for No.1 Album (as shown by some accounts having 2 reviews; one 0 rating for this and one 10 rating for Chromatica).
    Expand
  8. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    An excellent album. Their talent at songwriting really shines in this release.
  9. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    One of the worst albums I've ever heard. I'm happy that they didn't go number one.
  10. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    it is one of the WORST albums i've ever heard my entire life, im sorry it really is, though they tried but sadly failed. periodtt no caps word to god
  11. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very mediocre, to say the least. Also, they need to be humble and stop shading other artists for chart success. Expand
  12. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    It should be renamed as “Deep Down Sad” because Happy is the last thing I feel after listening to this album. I was shocked at how it made it to #2, but then I saw how cheap the album was.
  13. Jun 13, 2020
    2
    A very uninspired album. I took a couple listens and the vocals were not pleasant and the instrumentation was a bit too noisy for the vocals. I understand they're trying to capture the early 2000s English post punk rock - but it doesn't have the soul same as Mumford & Sons or White Lies.

    This album also doesn't even show the art and the message of the whole album at all. None of the
    A very uninspired album. I took a couple listens and the vocals were not pleasant and the instrumentation was a bit too noisy for the vocals. I understand they're trying to capture the early 2000s English post punk rock - but it doesn't have the soul same as Mumford & Sons or White Lies.

    This album also doesn't even show the art and the message of the whole album at all. None of the songs sound like singles either (no powerful lyrics nor hooks).
    Expand
  14. Jun 14, 2020
    0
    Monotonous, uninspired and quite frankly, offensive! Not a single standout track. Did they even try? I guess they did try! Shame it didn't work out though.
  15. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    Worst ablum ever, not worth the 99p. Couldn't wait for the noise to stop. Didn't know boy bands were still a thing in 2020, yikes.
  16. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    I wouldn't call this music. The album was beyond awful.I wouldn't bother streaming or buying it.
  17. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Some people out here have given them bad reviews due to them "shading" their artist. I think in this scenario we should just focus on music, not the drama or charts. The album was cool, fresh and really indie. Everyone should give it a try, I personally liked it. Great job!

    And no, it wasn't shade, it was an obvious joke. I doubt they hate her or she hates them.
  18. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Incredible debut album from a band that will grow to be a very popular indie guitar band. Unfortunate that some Lady Gaga fans have given the album a low score out of spite. Apparently mentioning who you're in a chart battle with classes as attacking them or using them to gain exposure. Really strong debut from them
  19. Jun 13, 2020
    0
    This sounds like music pretentious theater kids would rave about. Maybe next time their lead singer should be muted? I think that would sound a lot better
  20. Jun 14, 2020
    0
    Uninspired. To call this “music” is ridiculous. Vocal and production not up to standard. Thank you, next
  21. Jun 5, 2020
    10
    In an indie music scene which finally feels like it has some energy, originality and excitement about it for the first time in a long time, Sports Team are one of the most exciting of the bunch. Their live shows have the feeling of a cult secret that is about to explode (somewhat akin to the early days of the Libertines) with energy and enthusiasm and a genuine connection between the bandIn an indie music scene which finally feels like it has some energy, originality and excitement about it for the first time in a long time, Sports Team are one of the most exciting of the bunch. Their live shows have the feeling of a cult secret that is about to explode (somewhat akin to the early days of the Libertines) with energy and enthusiasm and a genuine connection between the band and their fans. Deep Down Happy is the culmination of Sports Team’s journey from a young, raw, energetic band performing in venues seemingly too big for them (but sold them out anyway) to a band that has matured and now feel like a band ready for more mainstream success. Old favourites, Camel Crew and Kutcher are joined by future indie anthems Fishing and Here It Comes Again. The cathartic Here’s the Thing is another stand out track on an album unashamedly fun, sarcastic and irreverent, but also makes some poignant insights into British life. Expand
  22. Jun 14, 2020
    10
    One of the most refreshing indie albums in a long time. It dutifully captures a punk/post-punk sound and choses subject matter that is not only quintessentially British adds a label of humour to the album. A perfect debut
  23. Jun 18, 2020
    0
    The problem with this album and band in general is that they are insufferable to listen to. Whatever interesting lyrics they have to convey gets overshadowed by the terrible sonics and the band's inflated egos. Watching wind chimes blow in the wind is more fascinating. The songs are basic, forgettable; the themes are executed horridly. It's blander than stale toast. The main vocalist hasThe problem with this album and band in general is that they are insufferable to listen to. Whatever interesting lyrics they have to convey gets overshadowed by the terrible sonics and the band's inflated egos. Watching wind chimes blow in the wind is more fascinating. The songs are basic, forgettable; the themes are executed horridly. It's blander than stale toast. The main vocalist has an obnoxious blood-curdling affectation to his vocal tone that scorches through the record, making a mockery of himself the entire duration of it, and not even in a witty ironic sense. Therapy is the only way to cleanse one's soul from the listening experience. There's much to improve on for the next album, but from what we are hearing, their debut unfortunately sounds like the beginning of the end. Expand
  24. Jun 18, 2020
    1
    Was looking forward to this one. Was hoping for something new and exciting and got quite the opposite. I mean this sincerely to the band: if you are going to endlessly hype yourself on socials and get people all worked up.....you can't put out a throw-away album like this. Bad look.
  25. Jun 14, 2020
    4
    I'm not sure what drama there is going on but this album definitely doesnt deserve a 10 or a 0. I wish we could keep drama or politics away. With that said, I heavily prefer their earlier work. I dont really know what they tried to do with this. its not the worst album Ive heard, but thats a low bar to clear. If I want indie rock I think Ill just stick to the greats, heck, even FlorenceI'm not sure what drama there is going on but this album definitely doesnt deserve a 10 or a 0. I wish we could keep drama or politics away. With that said, I heavily prefer their earlier work. I dont really know what they tried to do with this. its not the worst album Ive heard, but thats a low bar to clear. If I want indie rock I think Ill just stick to the greats, heck, even Florence and the Machine have great indie rock in comparison. Hope ST does better in the future. Expand
  26. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    I sat down, put my head phones on, listened to the album in full.. I’m not quite sure how to put it, but it definitly was not nice on my ears. Maybe because I’m not British but either way that is going to be the only time I ever listened to it. Sadly not worth a 2nd listen.
  27. Jul 6, 2020
    8
    I don't get the negative reviews at all, that is rather something personal/political, and not about the music.
    Deep Down Happy is an energetic, fresh indie record, which the scene very much needed. Other than that, they are amazing live.
    Oh and by the way: they are not a boy band. Their drummer is literally a female.
  28. 0f0
    Jun 29, 2020
    10
    One of best slacker/college/indie-rock album of 2020 (with Kiwi Jr., Disq and RBCF). Period.
  29. Jul 8, 2020
    8
    It's about time another decent indie band hit the scene and here they are. Some instantly loveable tunes here and what already sound like, a few classics. On rotation in car most days. It's unbelievable that there's so many negative comments about this album, as its essentially a decent indie record. Anyone with the slightest of musical taste would know this. Who are these people?
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 25, 2020
    80
    The album's length is just about right, going by in an efficient 36 minutes but feeling satisfying at the end, and while fans are bound to pick favorites, there's not a real dud in the bunch.
  2. Jun 22, 2020
    80
    Pleasingly, their debut album suggests there’s enough musical substance to back up their fighting talk.
  3. Jun 16, 2020
    77
    These songs feel immediately familiar and timeless—you could have sworn you heard these melodies on so-and-so’s album from 15 or 25 years ago, but it never feels contrived despite obvious comparisons throughout.