• Record Label: Kscope
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2014
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jun 9, 2014
    100
    A darker and more eccentric record than its predecessors, Distant Satellites may not be the album to change all that, but it's still another masterclass in supercharged emotional songwriting and fearless sonic curiosity.
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    90
    The textures here are even a little richer than before, the skill both more and less obvious (they have achieved that sought-after "effortless" quality), the dramatic ebbs and swells even more dramatic, the rock elements even more seamlessly integrated with electronic and orchestral arrangements and songs combining even more smoothly into a fluid whole.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jul 22, 2014
    80
    It's as vast and cosmic as the title suggests. [14 Jun 2014, p.54]
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    80
    While you can’t draw a direct line from PT to Anathema, Steven Wilson’s hand is in some of the mixes, but, by standing on the shoulders of giants, bands such as this one have themselves become gargantuan.
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    80
    Anathema's trademark emotional resonance and musical adventurousness purposefully re-engage earlier electronic forms to make this album a compelling--if controversial--undertaking.
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    80
    Thankfully, the album’s final act is as convincing as its opening movements.
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    74
    Overall, Anathema have struck gold for the third time in a row, but for the first time there are some prominent flaws as well.
  8. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    60
    Plenty here to admire--if you're in your most po-faced mood. [Summer 2014, p.95]
  9. Jun 20, 2014
    60
    A crescendo of electronic drums and stirring strings draws Distant Satellites to a close, and leaves you with the impression that, while inconsistent and desperately overwrought on occasion, Anathema deserve to be heard out with the private members' club that is prog rock in 2014.
  10. Jun 13, 2014
    60
    Anathema may not be at its most compelling on distant satellites, but what is less than optimal for these artists is still several notches above the rest.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    every things great, ok ok...
    but this is not the old anathema,where is that dark atmosphere? where is that deppressive voice?where is that
    every things great, ok ok...
    but this is not the old anathema,where is that dark atmosphere? where is that deppressive voice?where is that painful suicide veil's shout? i cant' remember how many times i cried with that sick last goodbye...
    I know all of them.
    the reality is we can't listen to something brutal like judgment but we still have a great singer :-)
    vincent kavanagh did his job as well as ever! and sure, now the female singer has riper voice than weather systems .sometimes we hear an attractive drum's playing that we never he heard before ,guitar solos are great ,like ever and i swear the "anathema" track will show you the old band's solos ,and yes ,this track is the best in this work.
    Distant Satellites is dreamy, beautiful and hopeful.you must know this is milder than 2012 album ...
    but it's still anathema and you will love this, if you loved two latest albums
    Full Review »