Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. May 17, 2011
    60
    As such, like Blue Carpet Treatment, Doggumentary is an album that reminds us all why we like Snoop so much, and pleases us through his taste for good music more than his talent for good rhymes.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    60
    Doggumentary's most rewarding moments find him dipping a paw out of his comfort zone.
  3. 60
    While a dozen singles will probably be lifted from Doggumentary, as an album experience it's an utter dogg's breakfast – as might be expected from a project that credits no fewer than 20 different producers and 35 engineers.
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    60
    Navigating this 21-track session is the hard part, but once fans do the necessary trimming and pull out their favorite 14 or so, Doggumentary becomes a fine addition to Snoop's catalog.
  5. Apr 8, 2011
    55
    More than many of Snoop's recent efforts, Doggumentary has something of a sonic identity.
  6. He barely has to try and, to be honest, here it shows.
  7. Apr 12, 2011
    50
    His flow never deviates from that of Doggystyle, but the production on his hits demonstrates an effort to evolve with the times.
  8. Mar 30, 2011
    50
    Doggumentary isn't a frustrating listen because of shortcomings, as many of them that there are; it's frustrating because there are some real glimpses of late-career genius on it that Snoop continues to neglect.
  9. Mar 25, 2011
    50
    Snoop's 11th album unevenly celebrates his all-over-the-map persona.
  10. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    There are moments here that hint at brilliance of the West Coast veteran's early G-funk staples, which only underlines the fact that a more faithful sequel to his magnum opus would best serve his fans and his legacy. Doggumentary is far from that, its major player distracted by his desire to replicate modish hood-bangers and experiment in areas too far from his comfort zone.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    CRITICS ARE FULL OF IT AS USUAL.....Well, I have listened to every single Snoop Dogg album/mixtape I can get my hands on, Snoop is surely myCRITICS ARE FULL OF IT AS USUAL.....Well, I have listened to every single Snoop Dogg album/mixtape I can get my hands on, Snoop is surely my favorite rapper. However, this album is good as long as you take the songs you want, and filter out the **** Wet is a disgrace to Snoop Dogg, however, there are songs like El Lay, This Weed Iz Mine, My Own Way, there are pretty good songs. This album had the **** been cut out would of been perfect. But I think all Snoops albums have always been that way. LISTEN TO IT, DONT LISTEN TO THESE CRITICS. Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2018
    9
    This record is a surprising refresher from Snoop. Doggumentary isn't a disappointment. Love It.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    This album is not Snoop's best, but it is still Snoop. Doggumentary is essentially an album made up of singles, and it covers all bases fromThis album is not Snoop's best, but it is still Snoop. Doggumentary is essentially an album made up of singles, and it covers all bases from Pop (Wet, Boom ft. T-Pain etc.) to some LA rap even, *gasp*, "Country"
    (Superman ft. Willie Nelson). For real Snoop fans, myself included, Gangbang Rookie (ft. Pilot), El Lay, Take U Home and Eyez Closed. Take U Home features Too $hort, Daz and Kurupt, which definitely brings back memories of Dre's "the Chronic", but this particular song has a new feel to it and I seem to be one of the few who enjoys it. The best song on this album has to be Gangbang Rookie. It has a great beat (beats are one of the few things that shine through on this album) and the young "Pilot" adds a new dimension to Snoop's flow on this track. For those looking for more Doggystyle, this isn't it, but Doggumentary does have some merits, and for those keen for some new Snoop, I would suggest just picking a couple of singles instead. 5/10.
    Full Review »