User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Dopamine Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The debut full-length solo release from former Fifth Harmony singer Normani features guest appearances by Cardi B, James Blake, Gunna, and Starrah.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 14, 2024
    ‘Dopamine’ isn’t a raw confessional either but a balanced, art-directed exercise. It’s a debut that hits the programmed sweet spot, conversant with contemporary trends and greater RnB and soul traditions.
  2. Jun 14, 2024
    All over Dopamine, Normani owns her pleasure with the pride and confidence of the star she was always destined to be.
  3. 80
    It may have taken six years, but ‘Dopamine’ sounds like the (damn) album Normani was meant to make all long.
  4. Jun 17, 2024
    Dopamine is a reflection of who Normani is as an artist at this particular moment in time, and it reinforces the notion that there is indeed value in taking one’s time in order to deliver something of substance.
  5. Jul 9, 2024
    While nothing quite matches the baddie intensity of "Big Boy," Dopamine works nicely, conjuring a vibe of sultry, post-club afterglow.
  6. Jun 14, 2024
    “Dopamine” is an album that could have been a dissection of what she’s been through, or an understanding of how R&B can effectively meet pop on the playing field. But as it stands, it’s simply there, as pleasant as it can be, a token for fans who presaved the album and, more hopefully, a stepping stone to what could one day be her full potential.
  7. Jun 14, 2024
    Dopamine understandably strives hard for perfection, but it can feel strangely anonymous at times – such as the way her yearning for a faraway love on Distance is suffocated by a polished sheen. But when Normani fully lets loose, as on the gyrating Grip, and the house-inflected Take My Time, there’s a real sense of that superstar everyone hoped to see back in 2018 finally taking centre stage on her own damn album.

See all 11 Critic Reviews