• Record Label: Old West
  • Release Date: Jul 27, 2004
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Old 97s spend their rootsy sixth disc recalling growing up. [30 Jul 2004, p.69]
  2. Spin
    83
    Shift[s] between singer/songwriter Rhett Miller's heartrending country and mojo-fueled power pop. [Sep 2004, p.120]
  3. Under The Radar
    80
    Old 97's have become synonymous with infectious melodies and whip-smart lyrics, and they don't disappoint on album number five. [#7]
  4. The most well-rounded effort of their career: contemplative, spontaneous, goofy, serious, raw and frequently beautiful.
  5. While they may have traded in some of their youthful punk rock spastic enthusiasm, they've replaced it with a world-wise wit and a smart approach to how a rock & roll record should be made in 2004.
  6. Alternative Press
    80
    All [their] cleverness works better than ever before. [Oct 2004, p.142]
  7. Marks the first time the band's sound has taken a step backwards.
  8. Uncut
    70
    There's an effortless clip... that suggests renewed confidence. [Mar 2005, p.93]
  9. Miller's plaintive vocals sell you on the sincerity of his damaged goods.
  10. The Old 97's are a good band, but Drag It Up simply isn't them at their best.
  11. Blender
    60
    The Texas combo strings together images that never add up to cohesive narratives. [Aug 2004, p.137]
  12. Drag It Up is a proper full-length, but it occasionally plays like an odds-and-ends collection.
  13. Drag it Up doesn't have the gut-level impact of the older stuff.
  14. Magnet
    50
    Gradually succumbs to torpor, with track after track given over to midtempos and pretty-yet-languid riffing. [#64, p.104]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. CliffD
    Jan 25, 2005
    8
    This album is an example of how versatile these guys can be. Adelaide is the best song the 97s have ever put together. Tracks such as This album is an example of how versatile these guys can be. Adelaide is the best song the 97s have ever put together. Tracks such as Won't Be Home and Friends Forever take us back to the "Too Far To Care" era. This is a very well rounded album and a great purchase. Full Review »
  2. jjmoney
    Sep 19, 2004
    9
    You either got it or you don't. Hard to explain, but this one stands up with their best. It's not easy to follow a masterpiece.
  3. markf
    Aug 11, 2004
    8
    I hope I don't sound like a broken record, but music reviewers are some of the most-worthless, brain-dead dofuses on the face of the I hope I don't sound like a broken record, but music reviewers are some of the most-worthless, brain-dead dofuses on the face of the Earth. This album doesn't "sound" like the last few. "There's something wrong with it!" The songs seem to change in style from track to track. "It's not 'cohesive'!" Oh my, they let three vocalists sing lead. "There's weak songs!" It doesn't "seem" to progress to a new level. "They're coasting!" There are some quieter, low-key songs. "It's a drag!" (Look at the title, dork.) I'll admit that when I first played the album, I was disappointed. But unlike a "music reviewer", I didn't churn out a piece on auto-pilot that used much less thought than what went into even the "weakest" song on this album. I kept playing it, alongside other googd music, and the thing just grew on me. It's very heartfelt, even when in a couple of instances, it's being humorous ( i.e. "Coahuila".) This album eventually feels as comfortable as sharing problems with your best friend. You know you might not solve anything, but you will get some relief. Plus, there's nothing wrong with ANY of the songs, and after about three listens, it IS cohesive. End of NON-review. Full Review »